Head Back To School With Educational Insights Products Head Back To School With Educational Insights Products    

Head Back To School With Educational Insights Products (Review)

This post may contain affiliate links and/or Amazon Affiliate links. Please see my full disclosure policy for details.

At Educational Insights, our products are designed by seasoned educators and parents who know that, first and foremost, learning must be fun.

There are several very fun but educational games that I received from Educational Insights to try out:

GeoSafari Tuff ScopeGeoSafari Tuff Scope (39.99)

Explore images up to 400x their original size with Tuff Scope! This two-in-one microscope is perfect for classroom projects or magnification on the go! Simply set up as a classroom station or remove the microscope from the base and send kids outdoors to explore. When used with the GeoSafari® Tuff Cam digital video camera, GeoSafari Tuff Scope transforms into a digital microscope, projecting magnified images onto a computer screen or projector. Also features 2x continuous optical zoom, transmissive and reflective LED lighting, and a storage drawer.

This says for ages 5 and up, I let my 8 and 4 -year-old try it out. It is easy to use and assemble. There are 3 main parts, the eyepiece which is optional and can be used with the GeoSafari Tuff Camera, the Microscope which can also be used as a handheld and the Base. The microscope just snaps into the base, super easy. There are 3 zooming features, 100x, 200x and 400x which is clearly labeled on the dial. The microscope comes with 1 pre-made slide of cotton and 2 blank slides. The LED light can view transparent or non-transparent specimens. I like how it is small, easy to use and very durable. My little one has been carrying the handheld around trying to look at things. An additional feature, I hope to use in the future is hooking it up with the camera. I also had the chance to review the Talking Electron Microscope a while back if you would like to read about it.

Smens (24.99)

Smens

The latest release from the best-selling manufacturer of Smencils, Smens are gourmet scented pens made from recycled newspapers. Available scents include Red Licorice, Creamsicle, Aloha, Mystery Scent, Banana Fo Fana, Mocha, Passion Fruit, Ninja Berry, Pink Lemonade, and Black Licorice. Each Smen is individually wrapped in a stay-fresh biodegradable plastic tube and is guaranteed to keep its scent for two years.

I remember when I was young, my dad would bring me home a grape smelling purple pencil from the flea market every time he went. I would always take them to school and all the kids would comment because it was such a strong scent. I love these pens, they all smell delicious, well except for licorice! My kids have loved using the Smens Pencils and now these pens.

Inside Out Lenticular Human Body PosterInside Out Lenticular Human Body Poster (19.99)

A seriously awesome poster for any science fan! Don’t look away! A magical way to present the various layers of the human body, the Lenticular Human Body Poster shifts from two kids to their skeletal systems, muscular systems, and organs. You won’t believe your eyes! Grades 1+/Ages 6+

This poster is like 3D magic! when you look at it from different angles you can see all the different human body aspects. It is pretty big too, 19’W BY 27’H.

 

Kabam!KaBAM! (12.99)

The fastest word-builders win this quick-thinking, head-to-head word game. Two players or teams draw cards and set them down next to each other, face up. Each card features word parts including suffixes, prefixes, single vowels, consonants, and diphthongs. Be the first to build a word by adding one or more letters to the letters on the cards, and you win the round. Now you can play our infamous Facebook Wordplay Wednesdays at home! Ages 7+

This is definitely a thinking game! It took my 8- year-old awhile to try to come up with some words but we all had a fun time trying to beat each other. Plus we were playing for candy so that helped!

 

Ring the Bell Electronic Goal TrackerRing the Bell Electronic Goal Tracker (32.99)

Fun sounds and an exciting carnival theme take the goal chart to a whole new level! Write the goal and reward at the top then mark the milestones along the side of this freestanding electronic tracker. Each time a milestone is achieved, the “puck” slides up closer to the goal, activating fun sounds and blinking lights. When the goal is achieved, kids are rewarded with a sound and light show. Grades 1+

We used this for my 4-year-old and gave him the goal of cleaning his room every night for a week to earn a prize, for him, it was new army pants(that’s a whole other post on kids and fixations!). He liked watching the puck inch closer to the top. I am going to use this more often with him, maybe try to break the habit of leaving his clothes all over the floor!

RELATED:  Strawberry Shortcake Coloring Page and Berry Big Help DVD

Batter Up! Whole Class GameBatter Up! Whole Class Game (24.99)

More of an educational item – but get creative and you can turn this product into an awesomely fun activity! This fun, reusable game provides a quick and convenient alternative to a common classroom whiteboard game. Simply divide up into two teams, write names on the included write-on/wipe-off pieces, and ask any question. If it is answered correctly, spin the spinner to determine the “play”. The team with the highest score at the end of the game wins! A great way to practice any subject. Grades 1+

 

Hot Dots Getting Ready for School KitHot Dots Getting Ready for School Kit (39.99)

The kit includes activity cards that targets colors, letters, numbers, shapes, patterns and more in an engaging game play format. Features Ace – the Talking, Teaching Dog™ – an interactive stylus that uses fun sound effects, encouraging phrases, and blinking lights to guide children through 160 different activities; additional pens available separately to allow multiple children to use kit at once. Provides immediate feedback that rewards progress and corrects mistakes so children can learn at their own pace. Includes 80 richly illustrated, double-sided Activity Cards that are pressure-sensitive and work with Talking Hot Dots Pen

I reviewed the Hot Dots Jr. alphabet not too long ago and my son just loves playing with it. This set os just great so many different cards: shapes, numbers, letters and more. The cards offer different questions like match the uppercase to the lowercase or find the letters that match the ones in the box. It states that it is for 4-6, which he is in and to my surprise is getting allot of them correct! The Hot Dots Jr. Pen talks, lights up and even buzzes when he answers the questions. It lights up red and says incorrect, nope or sorry when the question has been answered incorrectly. Or lights up green and says, way to go, good job or you got it. The pen can be set up in the sound position for what you would like to hear, like sound effects or talking. The only difficulty we have been having is getting use to holding the pen straight up and down so it can read the dots. It is instinctive to hold the pen at an angle, which can cause an incorrect answer.

Math Slam (39.99)

Math Slam

Read the question, scan the possible answers, and slam the one that’s correct! Better move quickly, though, each game of 10 questions is timed— the faster you get through the questions, the better your score! Incorrect responses are recycled until they are correctly answered. Three levels, flashing lights, and fun sound effects keep players interested.

I let my 8 year old try this out. I have been making him “play” with everyday now to try to get ready for school this week. If you watch the video there are several different play modes. I would like to see a game with multiplication, so we can practice the math facts.

Buy It

Stay Connected 

 

GIVEAWAY! CLOSED

THIS GIVEAWAY IS NOW CLOSED  – #274 DANA – I SENT YOU AN EMAIL!

1 winner will receive ONE OF EVERY GAME LISTED (GeoSafari Tuff Scope, Smens, Inside Out ™ Lenticular Human Body Poster , Kabam!, Ring the Bell Electronic Goal Tracker, Batter Up! Whole Class Game, Hot Dots Getting Ready for School Kit and Math Slam) (RV $236)!

To Enter: Visit Educational Insights and let me know other cool products your child would love to have

Thank You Educational Insights for this great giveaway!

This giveaway is open to US Residents until 9:00 pm Eastern on 8/31/2011. The winner will be chosen using the random.org generator. The winner will have 48 hours to respond to my email before a new winner is selected. Good luck and don’t forget to leave your email if it is not on your profile. I will contact the winner via email.

Disclosure: I was provided with product for this review. All views and opinions with regard to the Educational Insights Review or the company are my own and were not influenced by the company.

Sign up to Receive Daily Updates with The Review Wire Newsletter!




Join the Review Wire Giveaway Groupies Facebook Group Banner. 2jpg        

You Might Also Like

Previous Story
Next Story

98 Comment

  1. Avatar
    Tara Berke Torres
    August 21, 2011 at 11:35 pm

    My kids would love the temperature charts… they love that stuff.

  2. Avatar
    Some Lucky Dog
    August 22, 2011 at 2:39 am

    Awesome giveaway! We’d love the GreenThumb Classroom Greenhouse, too!
    someluckydog at gmail dot com

  3. Avatar
    Kristie Betts
    August 22, 2011 at 9:50 am

    My kids would love the World Foam Map Puzzle, I have 3 kids and they all love learning and we all love working puzzles together. Thanks for the chance to win 🙂

  4. Avatar
    tess
    August 22, 2011 at 10:16 am

    i like the presto o change game- deals with money
    tcogbill at live dot com

  5. Avatar
    Suz Saves
    August 22, 2011 at 10:54 am

    Thanks for this amazing giveaway – I would love to win! My family loves board games and Heximania looks like fun!

    resays81187 (at) mypacks (dot) net

  6. Avatar
    Veronica L
    August 22, 2011 at 1:41 pm

    My kids would also love to have their Bank AmeriKid ATM™, thanks 🙂

  7. Avatar
    Sarah Coulsey
    August 22, 2011 at 2:06 pm

    I would love to get my boys the Hot Dots Jr. Phonics Fun

    sarahcoulsey03 at gmail dot com

  8. Avatar
    Erinn S
    August 22, 2011 at 5:22 pm

    Space Faces looks fun!

  9. Avatar
    AMY W.
    August 22, 2011 at 6:01 pm

    My kids would love to have the Classroom Jeopardy for homeschool review.

  10. Avatar
    Velvet
    August 22, 2011 at 6:05 pm

    My kids would love the Playfoam Creativity Kit

  11. Avatar
    Linda Hawes
    August 22, 2011 at 6:52 pm

    would love the Bank AmeriKid ATM
    lindanuhawes@gmail.com

  12. Avatar
    Jeryl M.
    August 22, 2011 at 7:33 pm

    My child would like to have classroom jeopardy.

    jeryl.marcus@gmail.com

  13. Avatar
    Sylvia
    August 22, 2011 at 7:35 pm

    We would like the Estimation Station

  14. Avatar
    alison
    August 22, 2011 at 8:14 pm

    i’d love hot dots

  15. Avatar
    TawndaM
    August 22, 2011 at 10:22 pm

    oh… wow… they even have GeoSafari® Omega Reflector Telescope

  16. Avatar
    Jenny
    August 22, 2011 at 11:17 pm

    My son would love the Dino Checkers!

  17. Avatar
    LaVonne
    August 23, 2011 at 12:07 am

    Classroom cafe dining set is pretty fun!

  18. Avatar
    Mia J
    August 23, 2011 at 12:39 am

    My daughter would love the How and Why Science Exploration Kit.

  19. Avatar
    Kristi C
    August 23, 2011 at 7:04 am

    My son would love the Design & Drill® Activity Center.

  20. Avatar
    Samantha C.
    August 23, 2011 at 10:23 am

    The Temperature Charts look fun!

  21. Avatar
    sandy
    August 23, 2011 at 10:55 am

    I would also like the Bank AmeriKid ATM™

  22. Avatar
    felecia
    August 23, 2011 at 2:16 pm

    I like the Sneaky, Snacky Squirrel Game

  23. Avatar
    Zabrina Caldwell
    August 23, 2011 at 3:31 pm

    I would love to have the Phonics Pad! My daughter is in speech classes right now this would help so much!
    zcscooby@msn.com

  24. Avatar
    Lisa R
    August 23, 2011 at 3:44 pm

    My kid would love the Sonic Sleuth by Geosafari

    lisarup1 at aol dot com

  25. Avatar
    Amanda Starr
    August 23, 2011 at 8:05 pm

    GeoSculpt 3-D Project Kit

  26. Avatar
    Shanna Uptergrove
    August 23, 2011 at 9:01 pm

    My kids would like Race to the top and Spin the Wheel! there are so many neat things!! shanna.u@gmail.com

  27. Avatar
    Jennelle S
    August 23, 2011 at 9:23 pm

    Another product they’d like is the Hydroponics Lab.

    jlynettes @ hotmail . com

  28. Avatar
    HeatherM
    August 23, 2011 at 10:26 pm

    my daughter would love the career hats

  29. Avatar
    Sherry S.
    August 23, 2011 at 10:30 pm

    They would love the Everyday Uses Rock & Card Set.
    sstrode at scrtc dot com

  30. Avatar
    Janice
    August 23, 2011 at 10:59 pm

    I liked the spinning wheel for games.

  31. Avatar
    Dominique
    August 24, 2011 at 1:16 am

    My niece would love the GreenThumb Classroom Greenhouse. I spend a lot of time outside gardening, and she recently has taken an interest in gardening as well from watching me. She’s been trying to grow her own flowers and veggies.

  32. Avatar
    Vicki Wurgler
    August 24, 2011 at 10:14 am

    I like the Classroom Café Dining Play Set

  33. Avatar
    Liz
    August 24, 2011 at 12:18 pm

    I like the Go Nuts Game. It looks adorable

  34. Avatar
    Shanna Uptergrove
    August 24, 2011 at 12:24 pm

    My kids would love What’s the Word and Race to the Top! shanna.u@gmail.com

  35. Avatar
    Tami Vollenweider
    August 24, 2011 at 6:33 pm

    i like the World Foam Map Puzzle

  36. Avatar
    Heidi Daily
    August 25, 2011 at 12:32 pm

    My daughter would also love the hot dots jr phonics set

  37. Avatar
    Pam L.
    August 25, 2011 at 11:20 pm

    I like the classroom jeopardy

  38. Avatar
    Andrea
    August 26, 2011 at 2:02 am

    Sneaky Snacky Squirrel Game – Yes! As soon as I saw, “Go Nuts” I knew my son would love that! He “goes nuts” every day! And the game looks fun!

  39. Avatar
    JLJMommy
    August 27, 2011 at 2:46 am

    My kids would like the Picture Perfect Mosaics set.
    ktiegen at yahoo dot com

  40. Avatar
    jr911
    August 27, 2011 at 7:58 am

    I like the Horizontal Space Place™ Storage Chart

  41. Avatar
    stacy h
    August 27, 2011 at 10:03 am

    love the teachable touchables!
    hancoci_s at msn dot com

  42. Avatar
    Mary J
    August 27, 2011 at 11:47 am

    My family would enjoy the geo safari sea scope.

  43. Avatar
    Pam S (pams00)
    August 27, 2011 at 3:39 pm

    M son would enjoy the How and Why Science Exploration Kit

    pams00 @ aol.com

  44. Avatar
    trish
    August 27, 2011 at 9:08 pm

    I would love to have the World Foam Map Puzzle, as we have been doing a lot of mapping. thank you for the wonderful giveaway!!

  45. Avatar
    Toni Allen
    August 27, 2011 at 10:09 pm

    i would get the quiz phone for my granddughter

  46. Avatar
    Marlene Breakfield
    August 28, 2011 at 5:31 pm

    Love the GreenThumb Classroom Greenhouse!
    marlenebreakfield(at)yahoo(dot)com

  47. Avatar
    EMMA L HORTON
    August 28, 2011 at 6:44 pm

    THE Bank AmeriKid ATM

  48. Avatar
    Stephanie V.
    August 28, 2011 at 9:38 pm

    GreenThumb Classroom Greenhouse

  49. Avatar
    allison
    August 28, 2011 at 11:35 pm

    I love playfoam

  50. Avatar
    Stephanie G
    August 29, 2011 at 12:07 am

    My daughter would love to have the BankAmeriKid ATM

  51. Avatar
    Maria Gabriel
    August 29, 2011 at 1:10 am

    My son would love the Teachable Touchables.

    Great giveaway!

  52. Avatar
    charline
    August 29, 2011 at 7:16 am

    the boys would love the skull and brain model
    stanleybilly(at)bellsouth(dot)net

  53. Avatar
    sandra
    August 29, 2011 at 8:12 am

    i also love the Kanoodle™

  54. Avatar
    crystle tellerday
    August 29, 2011 at 8:23 am

    green-thumb classroom greenhouse

  55. Avatar
    Caryn S
    August 29, 2011 at 8:44 am

    I’d love to try their play foam

  56. Avatar
    Paula Lee
    August 29, 2011 at 9:25 am

    The Playfoam Combo 20-Pack.

  57. Avatar
    Leslie
    August 29, 2011 at 10:50 am

    My boy would love the GeoSafari Sonic Sleuth.

  58. Avatar
    Tammy Darling
    August 29, 2011 at 1:56 pm

    I like the How and Why Science Exploration Kit !

  59. Avatar
    Kathy Dunaway
    August 29, 2011 at 4:29 pm

    My son would love the Science of Special Effects. Thanks for the giveaway:)

  60. Avatar
    Jill Myrick
    August 29, 2011 at 6:50 pm

    We also like the Magic Show 75 Tricks Set.

    jweezie43[at]gmail[dot]com

  61. Avatar
    Denise B.
    August 29, 2011 at 7:02 pm

    We could also use the “Geo Safari Talking Globe”.

  62. Avatar
    Diane R.
    August 29, 2011 at 10:56 pm

    I thinkt the GeoSafari AntZone is something my grandson would really like.

  63. Avatar
    Jill L
    August 30, 2011 at 9:32 am

    My daughter would love the Magic Show!, 75 Tricks

  64. Avatar
    Dena Anderson
    August 30, 2011 at 9:40 am

    I like the playfoam creativity kit. My kids love play foam. denamarieanderson(at)hotmail(dot)com

  65. Avatar
    Cecile
    August 30, 2011 at 10:03 am

    I like the Space Faces

  66. Avatar
    Shopping for Savings
    August 30, 2011 at 11:27 am

    I like the Bank AmeriKid ATM
    lmclockedile[at]gmail[dot]com

  67. Avatar
    Michael
    August 30, 2011 at 12:45 pm

    GeoSafari Tuff Cam

  68. Avatar
    Ericka
    August 30, 2011 at 1:16 pm

    My kids would also love the Smencils 🙂
    ericka082 at gmail dot com

  69. Avatar
    Heath Vincent
    August 30, 2011 at 3:31 pm

    GeoSafari® Jr. BugWatch™ She loves bugs. i hate them… but she loves them.

  70. Avatar
    erma
    August 30, 2011 at 3:47 pm

    My kids would love to have their Bank AmeriKid ATM.

  71. Avatar
    Kathleen
    August 30, 2011 at 4:37 pm

    Word Show™ Vocabulary Game

    kport207 at gmail dot com

  72. Avatar
    ACMommy3
    August 30, 2011 at 5:10 pm

    This is such a great giveaway package! I also like their World Foam Map puzzle and the preschool Laundry Jumble game. 🙂

  73. Avatar
    Diane Baum
    August 30, 2011 at 5:13 pm

    They love the World Foam Map Puzzle,

  74. Avatar
    mistysunrise
    August 30, 2011 at 6:40 pm

    I like the math shark

    itsjustme62613 at gmail.com

  75. Avatar
    Jammie
    August 30, 2011 at 7:02 pm

    my daughter would also love to have the Igneous Rock Collection

  76. Avatar
    Jean Lynd
    August 30, 2011 at 7:48 pm

    would love the USA foam map puzzle for my kids – I homeschool, so I’d love all this stuff!

  77. Avatar
    Tia
    August 30, 2011 at 9:12 pm

    My son would love the Everyday Uses Rock & Card Set.

  78. Avatar
    meme
    August 30, 2011 at 9:34 pm

    I like the Sneaky Squirrell game and the Green Thumb Classroom Greenhouse

  79. Avatar
    James Cox
    August 30, 2011 at 10:28 pm

    My daughters worst subject is math so I would like to get the Big Money Magnetic Coins and Bills.

  80. Avatar
    Dana M.
    August 30, 2011 at 11:30 pm

    My daughter would love the Playfoam® Creativity Kit!

    LittleLadybug_17(at)yahoo(dot)com

  81. Avatar
    Donna/Happy Booker
    August 30, 2011 at 11:39 pm

    There are so many things on this website my son would love. But I think I would like to have that Classroom Jeopardy, that would be great for his classroom! I think all the kids would enjoy playing that.

    Donna @ The Happy Booker
    ahappybooker at gmail dot com

  82. Avatar
    Erin Slattery
    August 31, 2011 at 12:52 am

    VersaPegs would be really cool also.

  83. Avatar
    Summer M.
    August 31, 2011 at 1:26 am

    I love the Sneaky Squirrel game!

  84. Avatar
    susan smoaks
    August 31, 2011 at 10:09 am

    i would also love to get the Bank AmeriKid ATM™

  85. Avatar
    Kristie
    August 31, 2011 at 10:19 am

    My kids would enjoy the Playfoam® Combo 8-Pack!

  86. Avatar
    Kate
    August 31, 2011 at 11:47 am

    BLURT! WOUld be fun for all ages.

  87. Avatar
    Happi Shopr
    August 31, 2011 at 1:02 pm

    I like the GreenThumb Classroom Greenhouse

  88. Avatar
    Ruth Hill
    August 31, 2011 at 1:41 pm

    I love their rockets, and my daughter would too!

  89. Avatar
    pamela james
    August 31, 2011 at 2:07 pm

    The Blurt game

    pjames330 at aol dot com

  90. Avatar
    McKim
    August 31, 2011 at 2:41 pm

    I like the You’re Bugging Me! Color Matching Game

  91. Avatar
    Miranda Ward
    August 31, 2011 at 3:53 pm

    My daughter could use this Hot Dots® Jr. Card Set Beginning Phonics

    freebiegoddess03@aol.com

  92. Avatar
    tina reynolds
    August 31, 2011 at 5:26 pm

    I really like GeoSafari® Dino Digs Velociraptors thanks for the chance to win for my kids eaglesforjack@gmail.com

  93. Avatar
    Vanessa
    August 31, 2011 at 5:59 pm

    My son wants the inside out human body poster so bad!! momlovesdeals at gmail dot com

  94. Avatar
    Donna K
    August 31, 2011 at 8:25 pm

    I would like the Playfoam® Combo 20-Pack

  95. Avatar
    bRANDI
    August 31, 2011 at 8:32 pm

    I would love to have theHOt Dots! Looks awesome!

    brandi.westmoreland(at)gmail(dot)com

  96. Avatar
    DanV
    August 31, 2011 at 8:39 pm

    We’d like GeoSafari® Mystery Rock®

  97. Avatar
    Janelle Ashton
    August 31, 2011 at 10:45 pm

    GFC follower: Janelle!
    They’d love to have the Loud & Clear Microphone!
    Chanticlear1(at)gmail(dot)com
    Best wishes and thanks for this fabulicious giveaway!

  98. Avatar
    Janelle Ashton
    August 31, 2011 at 10:47 pm

    They’d love to have the Loud & Clear Microphone!
    Chanticlear1(at)gmail(dot)com
    Best wishes and thanks for this fabulicious giveaway!

Comments are closed.