Kidtoons: Spookley the Square Pumpkin | The Review Wire Kidtoons: Spookley the Square Pumpkin | The Review Wire    

Spookley the Square Pumpkin

This post may contain affiliate links and/or Amazon Affiliate links. Please see my full disclosure policy for details.

Poor Spookley is a pumpkin whose shape is square rather than round. He’s teased and taunted by other mean round pumpkins. But he receives help from a Scarecrow and his 2 bat side-kicks and 3 very funny spiders.

 Spookley, the Square Pumpkin DVD

  1. The film is about being different and learning to accept those differences.  Spookley is square in a world where every other pumpkin is round, and that makes him ashamed.  Through the story, he learns that it is this very uniqueness that enables him to save the day for all other pumpkins.  This story can be used to illustrate many kinds of differences that your kids may see in their own lives: disabilities, race, language or cultural traditions.
  2. By learning to accept someone who is not like them, the other pumpkins learn that being different is not better or worse, it’s just different.
  3. Finally, there’s an important lesson here about understanding that actions can cause hurt feelings.  When Big Tom and Little Tom tease and embarrass Spookley, it makes him want to quit the Jack-A-Lympics. Luckily he doesn’t because it’s Spookley who comes to rescue when the storm hits.  The pumpkins come to understand Spookley’s unique value and apologize for their hurtful behavior, which is a great example for your kids.
RELATED:  Downloadable E.T. Pumpkin Stencil

Buy It: Spookley, the Square Pumpkin

Join the Review Wire Giveaway Groupies Facebook Group Banner. 2jpg        

You Might Also Like

Previous Story
Next Story

94 Comment

  1. Avatar
    Karen
    October 13, 2010 at 9:14 am

    I like the drop down menu to easily find where you can see the film…looks like the only thing in SW Ohio is in Milford.

  2. Avatar
    Karen
    October 13, 2010 at 9:15 am

    I subscribe to your RSS feed

  3. Avatar
    Karen
    October 13, 2010 at 9:15 am

    I am a member of your Blog Frog

  4. Avatar
    Sylvia
    October 13, 2010 at 1:19 pm

    I like the coloring contest

  5. Avatar
    Sylvia
    October 13, 2010 at 1:19 pm

    I subscribe by email

  6. Avatar
    Jennifer Barr
    October 13, 2010 at 1:56 pm

    i like how they have a coloring contest

  7. Avatar
    Jennifer Barr
    October 13, 2010 at 1:56 pm

    Follow CintiCoupons on Twitter
    @jennifer573

  8. Avatar
    Jennifer Barr
    October 13, 2010 at 1:57 pm

    ike Cincinnati Coupons on Facebook,

  9. Avatar
    Jennifer Barr
    October 13, 2010 at 1:59 pm

    Subscribe to Cincinnati Coupons by RSS Feed or FREE Email Subscription.

  10. Avatar
    Jennifer Barr
    October 13, 2010 at 2:01 pm

    follow via blog frog

  11. Avatar
    Jo
    October 13, 2010 at 2:47 pm

    I like that they have a coloring contest
    strezo@sbcglobal.net

  12. Avatar
    Jo
    October 13, 2010 at 2:53 pm

    email subscriber
    strezo@sbcglobal.net

  13. Avatar
    Louis H
    October 13, 2010 at 4:27 pm

    I like that they offer kid friendly matinées at theatres

  14. Avatar
    Louis H
    October 13, 2010 at 4:28 pm

    following you on twitter @left_the_stars

  15. Avatar
    Louis H
    October 13, 2010 at 4:29 pm

    I like Kidtoons on facebook (Louis Here) + wall post

  16. Avatar
    asha marie
    October 13, 2010 at 4:39 pm

    I like that you can find the nearest movie in your state with the drop down menu.
    asha.marie@hotmail.com

  17. Avatar
    asha marie
    October 13, 2010 at 4:46 pm

    i follow on twitter
    @ashabutterflys

  18. Avatar
    asha marie
    October 13, 2010 at 4:47 pm

    i tweeted
    @ashabutterflys

  19. Avatar
    asha marie
    October 13, 2010 at 4:49 pm

    i follow Cincinnati Coupons on Facebook
    asha.marie@hotmail.com

  20. Avatar
    asha marie
    October 13, 2010 at 4:50 pm

    Subscribe to Cincinnati Coupons by email
    asha.marie@hotmail.com

  21. Avatar
    asha marie
    October 13, 2010 at 4:51 pm

    i follow on blogfrog
    asha

  22. Avatar
    Lesley M.
    October 13, 2010 at 5:09 pm

    I like their newsletter!

  23. Avatar
    Lesley M.
    October 13, 2010 at 5:11 pm

    Facebook follower!

  24. Avatar
    Lesley M.
    October 13, 2010 at 5:11 pm

    Twitter follower!

  25. Avatar
    Lesley M.
    October 13, 2010 at 5:12 pm

    Joined the Blog Frog!

  26. Avatar
    Shane R.
    October 13, 2010 at 5:13 pm

    We subscribe!

  27. Avatar
    Shane R.
    October 13, 2010 at 5:13 pm

    We like the site’s newsletter!

  28. Avatar
    Shane R.
    October 13, 2010 at 5:14 pm

    Follower on Facebook!
    (Sha Rosa)

  29. Avatar
    Christie
    October 13, 2010 at 5:46 pm

    email subscriber

  30. Avatar
    Christie
    October 13, 2010 at 5:47 pm

    Dr. Donna’s Letter to Parents about movies seems like it’s really helpful.

  31. Avatar
    Christie
    October 13, 2010 at 5:48 pm

    FB fan

  32. Avatar
    Brooke C
    October 13, 2010 at 6:47 pm

    I like that you can easily find a theatre near you.

  33. Avatar
    Brooke C
    October 13, 2010 at 6:48 pm

    I follow you on twitter
    @italiaange80

  34. Avatar
    Brooke C
    October 13, 2010 at 6:48 pm

    I like you on facebook
    (brooke comperchio)

  35. Avatar
    Brooke C
    October 13, 2010 at 6:48 pm

    I subscribe via email

  36. Avatar
    Lara
    October 13, 2010 at 8:36 pm

    I love their birthday club!
    momdram@gmail.com

  37. Avatar
    Lara
    October 13, 2010 at 8:36 pm

    I follow you on twitter
    @momdram
    momdram@gmail.com

  38. Avatar
    Lara
    October 13, 2010 at 8:37 pm

    I like you on facebook
    momdram@gmail.com

  39. Avatar
    Lara
    October 13, 2010 at 8:37 pm

    I like kidtoons on facebook and posted on their wall
    momdram@gmail.com

  40. Avatar
    Donna Warrington
    October 13, 2010 at 9:58 pm

    I like how Dr. Donna talks to parents about the movie, when I small child is involved, it’s nice to have someone tell you about the movie and if it’s a good movie for small children.

    Donna

  41. Avatar
    Donna Warrington
    October 13, 2010 at 9:59 pm

    I follow you on Twitter as 2Cats2See

    Donna

  42. Avatar
    Donna Warrington
    October 13, 2010 at 9:59 pm

    I’m a facebook fan.

    Donna Hufman Warrington

  43. Avatar
    Donna Warrington
    October 13, 2010 at 10:00 pm

    I subscribe through e-mail

    Donna

  44. Avatar
    Donna Warrington
    October 13, 2010 at 10:00 pm

    I “like” Kidstoon on facebook and I left a comment

    Donna Hufman Warrington

  45. Avatar
    Ronda
    October 13, 2010 at 11:49 pm

    I like that they have a coloring contest.

    rrudnick@netnet.net

  46. Avatar
    Ronda
    October 13, 2010 at 11:50 pm

    I subscribe to your emails.

    rrudnick@netnet.net

  47. Avatar
    Kelly Ann T.
    October 13, 2010 at 11:57 pm

    I learned that Participating Kidtoons theatres showcase a fun, affordable family friendly matinee movie and provide a family experience filled with entertaining, kid-friendly characters, as well as cartoon shorts, music videos and sing-alongs before each movie. We even have fun giveaways for the kids, such as stickers, temporary tattoos, activity books or toys after every film.

  48. Avatar
    Annette S
    October 14, 2010 at 3:36 pm

    I like kidtoons, because we can see what kid friendly movies will be in town, and what they are about

  49. Avatar
    Annette S
    October 14, 2010 at 3:37 pm

    we love spookley the square pumpkin, we saw it this weekend, it was really cute

  50. Avatar
    Megan C.
    October 14, 2010 at 8:47 pm

    I like that they give your kid a free movie pass on their birthday. That’s really nice.

    megaca_2004@yahoo dot com

  51. Avatar
    Megan C.
    October 14, 2010 at 8:49 pm

    I liked Kidtoons and posted on their wall.

    megaca_2004@yahoo dot com

  52. Avatar
    felecia
    October 15, 2010 at 3:06 pm

    I like the weekly coloring contest.

  53. Avatar
    felecia
    October 15, 2010 at 3:06 pm

    email subscriber

  54. Avatar
    felecia
    October 15, 2010 at 3:07 pm

    joined blog frog

  55. Avatar
    valerie2350
    October 18, 2010 at 2:01 am

    I like the coloring contest pictures

  56. Avatar
    valerie2350
    October 18, 2010 at 2:01 am

    follow you on twitter

  57. Avatar
    valerie2350
    October 18, 2010 at 2:02 am

    like you on FB

  58. Avatar
    valerie2350
    October 18, 2010 at 2:03 am

    rss feed subscriber

  59. Avatar
    Kelly
    October 18, 2010 at 8:36 am

    I like that they give free stuff on kids birthdays!

  60. Avatar
    Kelly
    October 18, 2010 at 8:38 am

    Like you on facebook

  61. Avatar
    Kelly
    October 18, 2010 at 8:38 am

    Like Kidtoons on facebook

  62. Avatar
    Rebecca Williams
    October 18, 2010 at 11:04 pm

    Because of the website its easy to find a theatre near you

  63. Avatar
    Rebecca Williams
    October 18, 2010 at 11:05 pm

    Following CintiCoupons on Twitter @beccaann38
    twitter email: beccaann38 at hotmail dot com
    contact me: rebeccaw2005 at hotmail dot com

  64. Avatar
    Julie L
    October 19, 2010 at 12:05 pm

    ave Motion Pictures Ann Arbor 20
    4100 Carpenter Rd, Ypsilanti, MI is the nearest theatre to me-like to take my nephews to see it-thanks

  65. Avatar
    Julie L
    October 19, 2010 at 12:05 pm

    like u on fb-Julie S Laws

  66. Avatar
    Julie L
    October 19, 2010 at 12:10 pm

    email subscriber

  67. Avatar
    Christina Anne D.
    October 19, 2010 at 2:58 pm

    I like their movie reviews:) annejk112233(at)yahoo(dot)com

  68. Avatar
    Christina Anne D.
    October 19, 2010 at 2:58 pm

    I follow u on Twitter (I’m wowtotweet) annejk112233(at)yahoo(dot)com

  69. Avatar
    Christina Anne D.
    October 19, 2010 at 3:02 pm

    I like Cincinnati Coupons on FB (I’m anne dall on FB) annejk112233(at)yahoo(dot)com

  70. Avatar
    Jody H
    October 19, 2010 at 3:02 pm

    I like the fun colors, shapes and stories with Spookley. I also really like that they host a weekly coloring contest. My kids would love that.

  71. Avatar
    Jody H
    October 19, 2010 at 3:04 pm

    I subscribe with email. hickenfam at hotmail dot com

  72. Avatar
    katklaw777
    October 19, 2010 at 3:05 pm

    I like the Kidtoons vault that shows the past movies and reviews. thanks

  73. Avatar
    katklaw777
    October 19, 2010 at 3:05 pm

    I subscribe via email.

  74. Avatar
    Christina Anne D.
    October 19, 2010 at 3:09 pm

    I joined your blog frog. annejk112233(at)yahoo(dot)com

  75. Avatar
    Christina Anne D.
    October 19, 2010 at 3:09 pm

    I’m a subscriber to your email. annejk112233(at)yahoo(dot)com

  76. Avatar
    Amy F
    October 19, 2010 at 3:36 pm

    I like knowing I can find a theatre near you
    amyfedorchak1 AT gmail DOT com

  77. Avatar
    Amy F
    October 19, 2010 at 3:37 pm

    follow you on twitter @highlight4u
    amyfedorchak1 AT gmail DOT com

  78. Avatar
    Amy F
    October 19, 2010 at 3:39 pm

    Like Cincinnati coupons on facebook Amy F
    amyfedorchak1 AT gmail DOT com

  79. Avatar
    Amy F
    October 19, 2010 at 3:39 pm

    subscribe email
    amyfedorchak1 AT gmail DOT com

  80. Avatar
    Sarah L
    October 19, 2010 at 4:19 pm

    I like the coloring pages

  81. Avatar
    Sarah L
    October 19, 2010 at 4:20 pm

    Facebook Fan

  82. Avatar
    Andrea T
    October 19, 2010 at 5:48 pm

    I like that they post family matinees – Spookley and Thomas are coming to a theater not too far away and I had no idea!

  83. Avatar
    Andrea T
    October 19, 2010 at 5:48 pm

    I follow you on twitter (thriftygrrrl)

  84. Avatar
    Kristie
    October 19, 2010 at 6:29 pm

    I like that they have a coloring contest-my kiddos love doing those! 🙂

  85. Avatar
    marci
    October 19, 2010 at 7:15 pm

    i like that they have a coloring contest on their page 🙂

    marci
    tristatecruisers at yahoo dot com

  86. Avatar
    marci
    October 19, 2010 at 7:16 pm

    follow u on FB 🙂

    marci
    tristatecruisers at yahoo dot com

  87. Avatar
    marci
    October 19, 2010 at 7:17 pm

    follow kidtoons on FB 🙂

    marci
    tristatecruisers at yahoo dot com

  88. Avatar
    marci
    October 19, 2010 at 7:17 pm

    subscribe via e-mail 🙂

    marci
    tristatecruisers at yahoo dot com

  89. Avatar
    tina reynolds
    October 19, 2010 at 7:51 pm

    I like the site loads fast and is easy to use I also think the coloring contest is really cute

  90. Avatar
    tina reynolds
    October 19, 2010 at 7:55 pm

    i follow on twitter

  91. Avatar
    tina reynolds
    October 19, 2010 at 8:03 pm

    i subscribe thanks

  92. Avatar
    tina reynolds
    October 19, 2010 at 8:04 pm

    i like on facebook (mrstinareynolds)

  93. Avatar
    Janet F
    October 19, 2010 at 9:38 pm

    I like that they have a weekly coloring contest.

    janetfaye (at) gmail (dot) com

  94. Avatar
    Janet F
    October 19, 2010 at 9:39 pm

    I like Cincinnati Coupons on FB – Janet Fri

    janetfaye (at) gmail (dot) com

Comments are closed.