Vonage Review: Voice, Text and Video Mobile App Vonage Review: Voice, Text and Video Mobile App    

Vonage Review: Voice, Text and Video Mobile App

This post may contain affiliate links and/or Amazon Affiliate links. Please see my full disclosure policy for details.

If you have watched TV you have seen the Vonage commercials the purport to save you money by switching your home phone to their service. They have a strong brand and were one of the original VOIP (voice over internet protocol – basically internet phone for non-techies) providers and they are still going strong.

Vonage has recently launched a mobile calling app that allows you to keep and use your existing mobile number while making calls using WiFi or your phone’s data connection. I spent about a month using the App on my iPhone 4S and my son’s iPhone 5. The app is feature packed, easy to use and significantly extends the utility of your mobile. The app is also available for Android.

Vonage Mobile App

The app was easy to download and install from the iOS app store. It is a small app at 24MB so it won’t hog space on your phone. After the app is installed, you activate it with your mobile number. Vonage will then send a confirmation code via SMS to your handset to finalize set up. This is an important security step because the app permits you to place calls that will appear to come from you mobile…because they do. This is a key difference from other mobile calling apps such as Skype that require you to have a second number. Your callers will never know that you are using a virtual phone app.

With many of us, your author included, paying for unlimited calling plans, you may wonder why having the ability to call using WiFi would be relevant or important. In our real life testing, my home office has spotty cell coverage and callers will often complain that they can’t hear me clearly. While using the Vonage app over my WiFi, I was able to make crystal clear calls without any trouble.

The app also included the ability to place video calls to other Vonage app users similar to Apple’s FaceTime or Skype mobile. The calls connected quickly and clarity was typically very good. Of course, your results will be tied to the quality of your data connection, either through WiFi or your mobile DATA plan. There is the option to send a text message to others that have the app. How useful this will be in a world with so many different text message options is debatable.

RELATED:  Disney's Peter Pan App Review

Vonage App

The video calling seems redundant as well to your author, a FaceTime user until you consider that not everyone has an iOS. The ability to start a video call to someone on another platform without having to remember their Skype ID, but just use their mobile number is simple and easy.

The app can link to your contacts if you give it permission, conveniently tells you the quality of your data connection and has a user interface that is clean and easy to use.

Call to other Vonage app users anywhere on the planet as the calls are always free to an international destination much less costly than your mobile rates or, incredibly, even Skype. If you want to call internationally from your mobile without pinching your wallet, you simply cannot beat the ease and reliability of Vonage. Call credits can be purchased from the app and billed to your iTunes account.

Vonage is running a limited time promotion that includes 3000 calling minutes each month for calls in the US. This really extends the utility of the app and permits you to limit the use of your plan minutes if you are not on unlimited.

I use many apps and can highly recommend Vonage Mobile Calling to help extend the usefulness of your phone.

Get The App:

iTunes Giveaway

Stay Connected:

Giveaway: CLOSED

THIS GIVEAWAY IS NOW CLOSED: WINNER KATHIE C

One reader will receive a $50 iTunes or Google Play Gift Card. See form for Entry Details. Open to U.S. You must be 18 years old to enter to win. Ends 9.6.13

Disclosure: An email address is required to enter. The winner will be chosen randomly through Giveaway Tools and contacted via email. A reply to the winning email is required within 48 hours before a new winner is chosen. One person entering per household, please. U.S. only. This giveaway ends at 11:59 PM EST on Sept 6, 2013. I was provided with product for this review. All views and opinions with regard to Vonage Review or the company are my own and were not influenced by the company.

Get Email Updates! 

Sign up to Receive the Latest with The Review Wire Newsletter!

 

Join the Review Wire Giveaway Groupies Facebook Group Banner. 2jpg        

You Might Also Like

Previous Story
Next Story

150 Comment

  1. Avatar
    Jill H
    August 22, 2013 at 8:50 am

    I would love for my kids to be able to call my family whenever they want. With the app, they could call them themselves.

  2. Avatar
    Darby
    August 22, 2013 at 10:07 am

    I would call my mom and hubby!

  3. Avatar
    Kelly D
    August 22, 2013 at 11:13 am

    I would talk to my parents, I like that the calls are so clear.

  4. Avatar
    wendy b
    August 22, 2013 at 3:31 pm

    I would like to talk with my niece. This looks like an awesome plan.

  5. Avatar
    ellen casper
    August 22, 2013 at 5:05 pm

    I would like to talk or text for free with the Vonage App with my son who is a senior in college in another state.

  6. Avatar
    Stacy T
    August 22, 2013 at 5:10 pm

    I’d like to let me kids talk/text to their grandparents that live out of state.

  7. Avatar
    molli vandehey
    August 22, 2013 at 5:15 pm

    i would talk to my mom. she lives 3000 miles away, so we dont see each other often.

  8. Avatar
    lisagee1234
    August 22, 2013 at 5:18 pm

    I’d like to call my brothers.

  9. Avatar
    Candice
    August 22, 2013 at 5:38 pm

    I would like to talk with my niece. She texts all the time!

  10. Avatar
    RJ Legamaro
    August 22, 2013 at 5:50 pm

    I would use the app to talk to my parents.

  11. Avatar
    Becky Richied
    August 22, 2013 at 5:52 pm

    I would love to talk with my best girls over on the east coast!! we could have a blast 🙂

  12. Avatar
    Julie Lynn Bickham
    August 22, 2013 at 5:59 pm

    Would like to talk with my sister in law. She is stationed in Virginia so it would be great to talk to her more.

  13. Avatar
    Janet W.
    August 22, 2013 at 6:24 pm

    I’d like to talk/text with my daughter who live across the country!

  14. Avatar
    Carrie Phelps
    August 22, 2013 at 7:40 pm

    Definitely my three favorite people; my grandchildren!

  15. Avatar
    laurie nykaza
    August 22, 2013 at 8:07 pm

    my mom we would love to use it!

  16. Avatar
    Janet F
    August 22, 2013 at 8:36 pm

    I would like to talk with my sister, my niece and my nephew.

    janetfaye (at) gmail (dot) com

  17. Avatar
    Tina
    August 22, 2013 at 9:34 pm

    I’d have fun texting my niece.

  18. Avatar
    Jennifer B
    August 22, 2013 at 10:16 pm

    I would love to talk to my grandma, I only get to see her once a year because we live so far apart

  19. Avatar
    Marian Boll
    August 22, 2013 at 10:21 pm

    My son who lives several states away

  20. Avatar
    candy kratzer
    August 22, 2013 at 10:33 pm

    Love it!

  21. Avatar
    rich morris
    August 22, 2013 at 11:06 pm

    I would love to talk with my Uncle using Vonage.

  22. Avatar
    kymi a
    August 23, 2013 at 2:52 am

    I would call my BFF in WA. We can sure yap! lol

  23. Avatar
    Lacey Burd
    August 23, 2013 at 8:45 am

    My dad’s entire side of the family lives in TN, so I would use it to talk to them. I don’t have an iPhone, so we would definitely use the video chat when talking to my grandparents. I think this would be a great way for my daughter to get to know her great-grandparents!

  24. Avatar
    Julienne
    August 23, 2013 at 9:41 am

    I’d call my cousins in Italy

  25. Avatar
    dynab1
    August 23, 2013 at 10:19 am

    I would talk to my younger sister and nephew in Oklahoma.

  26. Avatar
    Adrianne B
    August 23, 2013 at 11:17 am

    I would like to talk/text with my mother for free. It would be great to not have to worry about the bills seeing as I talk to her every day!

  27. Avatar
    Thomas Murphy
    August 23, 2013 at 11:34 am

    I would like to talk to my mom who moved out of state with the Vonage App.

  28. Avatar
    Amanda Sakovitz
    August 23, 2013 at 11:39 am

    I would love to talk and text with my cousin with the app!

  29. Avatar
    laurie damrose
    August 23, 2013 at 12:15 pm

    My niece in the US Navy!

  30. Avatar
    chris z
    August 23, 2013 at 1:42 pm

    I would like to talk to my mom

  31. Avatar
    Jennifer Aldridge
    August 23, 2013 at 4:26 pm

    I have the same problem with spotty reception in my home office that’s located in the basement. What a perfect solution this would be!

  32. Avatar
    Jill Edwards
    August 23, 2013 at 5:06 pm

    I would love to use it for talking to my family on the east coast.

  33. Avatar
    latoya
    August 23, 2013 at 5:17 pm

    I live in a different city than my parents, so I would probably use it to talk to my mom and dad.

  34. Avatar
    Susan White
    August 23, 2013 at 5:39 pm

    I would love to talk to my cousins. Can’t pick just one.

  35. Avatar
    Olivia D Hamilton
    August 23, 2013 at 7:56 pm

    I would love to talk or text my mother more often. She lives about a 45 min drive away so i dont get to see her much. Thank you for the chance!

  36. Avatar
    Karen
    August 23, 2013 at 9:02 pm

    I’d love to talk to my mom. I call her almost every day. She’s one of my best friends, so we talk a LOT. So free calling would be fabulous!

  37. Avatar
    Daraya
    August 23, 2013 at 11:48 pm

    I would love to call my grandmother more often – she lives in a different continent!

  38. Avatar
    Janet F
    August 24, 2013 at 1:51 am

    I would like to text my son.

    janetfaye (at) gmail (dot) com

  39. Avatar
    isis
    August 24, 2013 at 4:39 am

    My whole family is abroad so this would really help! It’ll make it easier for me to talk to my mom, my brothers and sisters.

  40. Avatar
    mike b
    August 24, 2013 at 5:49 am

    old friends

  41. Avatar
    Amanda Sakovitz
    August 24, 2013 at 11:07 am

    i would like to talk to my cousins

  42. Avatar
    Irene Cypher
    August 24, 2013 at 3:22 pm

    Well. there are 3 people I would like to talk to~my children who are all grown up and live far away from me.

  43. Avatar
    Alyshia
    August 24, 2013 at 5:55 pm

    This app is neat I would love to let my kids talk to their grandmother with this app.

  44. Avatar
    peter gladue
    August 25, 2013 at 4:27 am

    My sister’s kid, Adrianna is just starting High School. I just want to be a helpful voice of reason for her

  45. Avatar
    kymi a
    August 25, 2013 at 4:42 am

    My BFF in WA we would love to use this service!

  46. Avatar
    Chris Martinez
    August 25, 2013 at 4:58 am

    I’d like to talk to my mother in New Mexico for free.

  47. Avatar
    Cindy
    August 25, 2013 at 5:27 am

    I would call my mom.

  48. Avatar
    Kelley Chapman
    August 25, 2013 at 9:13 am

    My sons who are grown and don’t live at home anymore

  49. Avatar
    Debra S
    August 25, 2013 at 12:57 pm

    I have a daughter who had to move to Florida… we live in MN. So I love to call her often!! And the two grandkids there now. *sigh* So happy when the kids DO super well in life, but sad when it entails long distances.

  50. Avatar
    Sharon Kaminski
    August 25, 2013 at 1:17 pm

    I would like to talk to my family in Mexico. Thanks.

  51. Avatar
    Nia Lawrence
    August 25, 2013 at 1:52 pm

    I would call my mom and husband!

  52. Avatar
    Rebecca Turner
    August 25, 2013 at 2:06 pm

    I would text my son and my husband.

  53. Avatar
    Amanda Sakovitz
    August 25, 2013 at 2:14 pm

    id call my mom and dad

  54. Avatar
    Michelle Hudak
    August 25, 2013 at 2:39 pm

    My son in New York would be my main Vonage recipient

  55. Avatar
    Paol Trenny
    August 25, 2013 at 2:47 pm

    I would like to talk to my great aunt

  56. Avatar
    Thomas Murphy
    August 25, 2013 at 4:59 pm

    8/25- I would like to talk to my mom who moved out of state with the Vonage App.

  57. Avatar
    tracy
    August 25, 2013 at 5:48 pm

    My parents down South

  58. Avatar
    Katrina A.
    August 25, 2013 at 10:25 pm

    We would be calling our family in Oregon. We have no long distance so cannot call them often.

  59. Avatar
    Kim Pinch
    August 25, 2013 at 10:33 pm

    I would use this app to talk to my daughters.

  60. Avatar
    Crystal Medina
    August 26, 2013 at 12:03 am

    I would call my Mom & Hubby

  61. Avatar
    Tiffany
    August 26, 2013 at 12:06 am

    I would call my sister

  62. Avatar
    Michelle Hudak
    August 26, 2013 at 12:50 am

    I’d talk to my aunt in Kansas

  63. Avatar
    Jamie Herda
    August 26, 2013 at 3:37 am

    I would call my grandma the most! She is 92 years young and I cherish every single call with her.

  64. Avatar
    lolaphong
    August 26, 2013 at 7:49 am

    My boyfriend. I’m love him, but these long-distance relationships are tough. Never enough time in the day to
    accomplish every thing I want to,

  65. Avatar
    tracey byram
    August 26, 2013 at 8:45 am

    I’d like to talk to my brother in Florida.

  66. Avatar
    Sacha Schroeder
    August 26, 2013 at 2:46 pm

    I would love this app to talk and text with my step mom. We talk on a daily basis so this would be perfect for us!

  67. Avatar
    Addison Kat
    August 26, 2013 at 2:56 pm

    I’d like to talk to my mom

  68. Avatar
    Thomas Murphy
    August 26, 2013 at 3:57 pm

    8/26- I would like to talk to my mom who moved out of state with the Vonage App.

  69. Avatar
    Amanda Sakovitz
    August 26, 2013 at 7:30 pm

    id call my mom and dad 8.26

  70. Avatar
    cole
    August 26, 2013 at 7:45 pm

    There are a few people I call. I have a good friend in Texas, for instance.

  71. Avatar
    tina reynolds
    August 26, 2013 at 8:23 pm

    I would like to talk to my brother more

  72. Avatar
    Victoria Carlson
    August 26, 2013 at 10:10 pm

    I would love to talk and text with my husband for free using vonage! We would save a lot of money for sure!

  73. Avatar
    Jennifer P
    August 27, 2013 at 3:04 am

    I’d like to talk to my best friend Marc. He’s going to be moving to Hawaii soon. Vonage would make keeping in touch easier. Thanks for the giveaway.

  74. Avatar
    Tamra H
    August 27, 2013 at 12:10 pm

    I would love to speak with my family in Canada. We normally only talk over email, so that would be a nice change!

  75. Avatar
    angel d
    August 27, 2013 at 12:30 pm

    i would talk to my best friend or husband with it.

  76. Avatar
    Amanda Sakovitz
    August 27, 2013 at 1:46 pm

    I would call my cousin amy with the app!

  77. Avatar
    Stephanie Hirsch
    August 27, 2013 at 6:20 pm

    I’d like to use the Vonage app to talk to my Dad when he is in Cozumel Mexico.

  78. Avatar
    Lisa B.
    August 27, 2013 at 6:36 pm

    My mom and dad in California!

  79. Avatar
    Thomas Murphy
    August 27, 2013 at 7:11 pm

    8/27- I would like to talk to my mom who moved out of state with the Vonage App.

  80. Avatar
    Daniel M
    August 27, 2013 at 9:37 pm

    my sis who’s across the country

  81. Avatar
    Wendy Pesce
    August 28, 2013 at 11:28 am

    My hubby travels a lot, so this would be perfect for us to be able to keep in touch while is is away on business

  82. Avatar
    Gina Brickell
    August 28, 2013 at 1:05 pm

    I would love to talk and text with my mother. Even though I see her daily, I still call her on all my breaks and send her texts throughout the day 🙂

  83. Avatar
    Kathie Craig
    August 28, 2013 at 2:41 pm

    I would call my parents. They only live an hour away but we do not get to see each other very often.

  84. Avatar
    Thomas Murphy
    August 28, 2013 at 3:32 pm

    8/28- I would like to talk to my mom who moved out of state with the Vonage App.

  85. Avatar
    Amanda Sakovitz
    August 28, 2013 at 3:48 pm

    I would call my cousin in California

  86. Avatar
    martha
    August 29, 2013 at 1:28 am

    my family over in alaska,,,,Thanks

  87. Avatar
    sandra
    August 29, 2013 at 10:17 am

    i’d like to call my sister and her little girls becauase they’re so cute

  88. Avatar
    Vicki Hale
    August 29, 2013 at 11:34 am

    Happy Thursday! I would use this to talk with my parents, who live 3 hours away. And, I don’t see them very often. Thanks. Vicki.

  89. Avatar
    Amanda Sakovitz
    August 29, 2013 at 4:39 pm

    i would love to talk to my cousins

  90. Avatar
    Thomas Murphy
    August 29, 2013 at 6:40 pm

    8/29- I would like to talk to my mom who moved out of state with the Vonage App.

  91. Avatar
    Mia
    August 29, 2013 at 11:49 pm

    I want to talk to my parents for free.

  92. Avatar
    Janet F
    August 30, 2013 at 6:44 am

    I would like to talk to my nephew.

    janetfaye (at) gmail (dot) com

  93. Avatar
    Amanda Sakovitz
    August 30, 2013 at 5:35 pm

    I would love to talk to my cousins in michigan

  94. Avatar
    JamD
    August 31, 2013 at 8:30 am

    I would like to chat with my cousins.

  95. Avatar
    April Yedinak
    August 31, 2013 at 11:08 am

    I would like to talk to my grandma.

  96. Avatar
    Rachel McGuire
    August 31, 2013 at 3:03 pm

    That would be both of my sons. One is in college the next city over and the other one is living across the US. He’s in the army.

  97. Avatar
    Janet F
    August 31, 2013 at 6:12 pm

    I would like to talk for free to my nephew.

    Janetfaye (at) gmail (dot) com

  98. Avatar
    Jennifer H
    September 1, 2013 at 1:31 am

    I would like to talk to my brothers
    jenhedger at hotmail dot com

  99. Avatar
    Seyma Shabbir
    September 1, 2013 at 1:42 am

    I would love to talk to my parents!

  100. Avatar
    pinky sade
    September 1, 2013 at 8:25 am

    I would be calling my parents and my sister who lives overseas.

  101. Avatar
    Andria L
    September 1, 2013 at 1:43 pm

    I would like to chat most with my DAD! I love talking to him

  102. Avatar
    Linda W.
    September 1, 2013 at 5:19 pm

    My mother and my husband.

  103. Avatar
    Amanda Hoffman
    September 1, 2013 at 7:29 pm

    my family

  104. Avatar
    Claire Rheinheimer
    September 1, 2013 at 8:09 pm

    I’d like to talk to and text my 2 daughters and my husband for free. And of course my best friend.

  105. Avatar
    Micah
    September 1, 2013 at 8:41 pm

    I have family all over the place.

  106. Avatar
    Ang MKenna
    September 2, 2013 at 12:19 am

    I would love to call my mom and text with my grown children. I would love to talk to my brothers and sisters. I would love to converse with long lost friends with vonage.

  107. Avatar
    Audra Weathers
    September 2, 2013 at 9:34 am

    I’d like to talk to my Mom with the plan. I like that it works with Skype.

  108. Avatar
    Renee Richardson
    September 2, 2013 at 10:12 am

    I would love to talk to my sister who lives across the country. Thanks for the wonderful giveaway 🙂

    Renee
    fattybumpkins at yahoo dot com

  109. Avatar
    cindy
    September 2, 2013 at 11:14 am

    i would talk to my grandparents who are in their 80’s if their home telephone was not working, which is pretty often.

  110. Avatar
    LennyG
    September 2, 2013 at 12:35 pm

    My Kid, in Africa

  111. Avatar
    Mia
    September 2, 2013 at 2:15 pm

    I would want to talk to my parents!

  112. Avatar
    richelle bowers
    September 2, 2013 at 6:12 pm

    my husband and mother I would talk to for free.

  113. Avatar
    Amanda Sakovitz
    September 2, 2013 at 7:31 pm

    I would call my friends

  114. Avatar
    Tammy Woodall
    September 2, 2013 at 7:39 pm

    I would like to talk (& text) my Brother. Thanks for the information on the Plan.

  115. Avatar
    amy williams
    September 3, 2013 at 1:30 am

    I live close to all of my family but I would use it to talk to all of them thanks for the chance.

  116. Avatar
    James
    September 3, 2013 at 2:13 am

    Calls from our little one to grandma.

  117. Avatar
    Tara G
    September 3, 2013 at 2:01 pm

    I would like to talk and text with our family in Wisconsin.

  118. Avatar
    Janet F
    September 3, 2013 at 2:40 pm

    I would like to talk to my Aunt.

    janetfaye (at) gmail (dot) com

  119. Avatar
    Jessie C.
    September 3, 2013 at 6:05 pm

    Hubby and my parents

  120. Avatar
    Amanda Sakovitz
    September 3, 2013 at 7:40 pm

    I would call my family

  121. Avatar
    Carey P
    September 3, 2013 at 9:09 pm

    my cousin or best friends back home in CA

  122. Avatar
    Blessed
    September 3, 2013 at 11:25 pm

    I could use it to talk to my sister!

  123. Avatar
    kolpin
    September 4, 2013 at 1:02 pm

    i’d like to use this to talk to my dad, who lives in another country.

  124. Avatar
    Amanda Sakovitz
    September 4, 2013 at 7:17 pm

    I would call my family!

  125. Avatar
    Heather R
    September 4, 2013 at 7:41 pm

    I would use it to talk with my mom and sister!

  126. Avatar
    Melissa Nagy
    September 4, 2013 at 7:54 pm

    I would like to talk or text my husband using the Vonage app.

  127. Avatar
    kim burnett
    September 4, 2013 at 10:51 pm

    I would call my mom

  128. Avatar
    Janet F
    September 5, 2013 at 7:53 am

    I would like to text my niece.

    janetfaye (at) gmail (dot) com

  129. Avatar
    Samantha Daleo
    September 5, 2013 at 10:20 am

    I would like to talk to my family in CA. We moved to KY 2 years ago and they they are all very missed.

  130. Avatar
    Lesley F
    September 5, 2013 at 12:48 pm

    I would talk to my sister in Texas

  131. Avatar
    Daniel M
    September 5, 2013 at 3:05 pm

    all my family in florida

  132. Avatar
    Kate F.
    September 5, 2013 at 3:12 pm

    I would talk with my cousins in California.

  133. Avatar
    ewhatley
    September 5, 2013 at 4:11 pm

    I would love to have more phone time with my best friend, Gayle, since she moved away this year.

  134. Avatar
    Jill Myrick
    September 5, 2013 at 8:17 pm

    I would love to talk to and text my oldest daughter who lives out of state with the Vonage App.

    jweezie43[at]gmail[dot]com

  135. Avatar
    Amanda Sakovitz
    September 5, 2013 at 8:24 pm

    id love to talk to my cousins 9.5

  136. Avatar
    David Carlson
    September 5, 2013 at 9:56 pm

    I would like to talk and text with my wife for free.

  137. Avatar
    Anna H.
    September 5, 2013 at 11:26 pm

    I’d talk to my best friend!

  138. Avatar
    Heather
    September 5, 2013 at 11:38 pm

    I would like to talk to my mom and my aunt.

  139. Avatar
    Kari
    September 6, 2013 at 8:07 am

    My teenage daughter has become friends with a foreign exchange student who is at her school. I know that she would love to be able to stay in touch with her once she goes back home to Taiwan.

  140. Avatar
    Amy
    September 6, 2013 at 8:56 am

    I would talk to my parents and family in Europe.

  141. Avatar
    liz l
    September 6, 2013 at 10:56 am

    My best friend. We do not talk as much as we used to

  142. Avatar
    Amanda Sakovitz
    September 6, 2013 at 4:59 pm

    I would love to talk to my cousins in michigan!

  143. Avatar
    Camille
    September 6, 2013 at 6:43 pm

    I would talk to my best friend, Kat.

  144. Avatar
    Jacob LaFountaine
    September 6, 2013 at 9:17 pm

    I would talk to my girl Erin.

  145. Avatar
    Jennifer P
    September 6, 2013 at 9:23 pm

    I’d text my sister and we’d be able to talk/ text for longer.

  146. Avatar
    Thomas Murphy
    September 6, 2013 at 9:30 pm

    9/6- I would like to talk to my mom who moved out of state with the Vonage App.

  147. Avatar
    Candace
    September 6, 2013 at 10:24 pm

    I would talk to my cousins 850 miles away 🙂

  148. Avatar
    Kimberly Schotz
    September 6, 2013 at 10:40 pm

    I would like to talk to my sister in law in Texas

  149. Avatar
    Dorothy Turner
    September 6, 2013 at 11:07 pm

    I have family in 3 different states, it would be a blessing to communicate that way!

  150. Avatar
    Tabathia B
    September 6, 2013 at 11:45 pm

    My cousin’s daughter just had a baby and so she is a first time grandmother plus her mother just died so I would love to be able to talk to her without worrying about calling during a certain time

Comments are closed.