Key To Taking Pictures Like a Professional Photographer Key To Taking Pictures Like a Professional Photographer    

Katie Evans: The Key To Taking Pictures Like a Professional Photographer E-Book Review

This post may contain affiliate links and/or Amazon Affiliate links. Please see my full disclosure policy for details.

The Key to Taking Pictures Like a Professional Photographer Review

What I truly love about photography is the ability to capture the story of my own family. I treasure the pictures that I have of my kids, our interactions together and their sweet personalities.  It’s so important to me to be able to document their lives (and our life), in this way. I want to offer all the information I have in my repertoire so that you, too, can create an album of treasured memories to last a lifetime. – Katie Evans

I am a huge scrapbooker. I love taking pics of the kids every day. I have been taking a picture a day for two years now, and I can honestly say, I still would love to take photography lessons. I take ok pictures & I love staging the kids for holidays & birthdays. That is when I get the best shots. My everyday photos is what I need help with. I got a new Nikon D500 digital camera last year for Christmas, and I still don’t know how to use all the settings correctly. I stumbled onto Katie Evans blog through Ali Edwards, another excellent photographer/scrapbooker. I immediately fell in love with the shots of her kids. Here is one from her from this Halloween, and here is one of mine:

RELATED:  McDonald's Happy Meal Books: Fun Family Reading

The Key to Taking Pictures Like a Professional Photographer ReviewCandy Corn

Katie Evans has come out with the book, The Key To Taking Pictures Like a Professional Photographer: The Step By Step Guide To Understanding Your Camera and Taking Amazing Pictures. I received an ebook, which I was excited about, and couldn’t wait to read it. The book is broken down into seven chapters. The two chapters, I keep going back to are Exposures and Camera Settings. The things I need the most help with.The Key to Taking Pictures Like a Professional Photographer Review

Overall this book is excellent! There are lots of pictures to help explain along the way. That is what I like to see, before and after photos of what the author is talking about. I did try the milk carton trick by, cutting the handle off a milk carton to place over the flash to soften the picture. I can tell that the second picture is more accurate to the actual color.

The Key to Taking Pictures Like a Professional Photographer ReviewThe Key to Taking Pictures Like a Professional Photographer Review

Here are a few more of my pictures only “fixed up.”

The Key to Taking Pictures Like a Professional Photographer ReviewThe Key to Taking Pictures Like a Professional Photographer ReviewThe Key to Taking Pictures Like a Professional Photographer Review

 Stay Connected: Visit Katie Evans Photography on Facebook

Buy ItThe Key To Taking Pictures Like a Professional Photographer: The Step By Step Guide To Understanding Your Camera and Taking Amazing Pictures. Also available on Amazon

 

Join the Review Wire Giveaway Groupies Facebook Group Banner. 2jpg        

You Might Also Like

Previous Story
Next Story

27 Comment

  1. Avatar
    KimiPitt
    November 25, 2011 at 10:49 am

    Biggest challenge would be all the buttons and setting on my camera that I have no clue what they are for. *smile*

  2. Avatar
    KimiPitt
    November 25, 2011 at 10:55 am

    I’m a follower on facebook

  3. Avatar
    Jody H
    November 29, 2011 at 12:34 am

    My biggest challenge is not getting good photos. I have a good camera so I know it must be something I’m doing wrong. This looks like a great book. hickenfam at hotmail dot com

  4. Avatar
    Jody H
    November 29, 2011 at 12:37 am

    I follow on twitter (hifam).
    hickenfam at hotmail dot com

  5. Avatar
    Jody H
    November 29, 2011 at 12:37 am

    I follow you on fb (jody g h…).
    hickenfam at hotmail dot com

  6. Avatar
    Jody H
    November 29, 2011 at 12:38 am

    I subscribe with google reader.
    hickenfam at hotmail dot com

  7. Avatar
    Carla Aldrich
    November 30, 2011 at 4:51 pm

    My biggest photography challenge is what I have in the background that seems to ruin the eye- for example, my daughter is 3 months and I have tried taking home “studio” pics by placing a cute sheet over the baby bouncer then sitting her in it. She is cute, but the background looks like I did exactly that- lumps in the sheet where I tried to prop it up behind her head…I guess hard to explain! I really like the light suggestion! Great!
    carla-aldrich@hotmail.com

  8. Avatar
    Carla Aldrich
    November 30, 2011 at 4:52 pm

    I am a The Review Wire Twitter follower @carla_aldrich
    carla-aldrich@hotmail.com

  9. Avatar
    Carla Aldrich
    November 30, 2011 at 4:52 pm

    I already liked you on Facebook (as Carla Aldrich) and left a comment
    carla-aldrich@hotmail.com

  10. Avatar
    Carla Aldrich
    November 30, 2011 at 4:52 pm

    I already subscribed to you via RSS Google Reader
    I also already subscribed via Feedburner email and I confirmed subscription.
    carla-aldrich@hotmail.com

  11. Avatar
    clarissa
    November 30, 2011 at 10:35 pm

    does super wiggly children that at times cry and pout about having their pictures taken count?

  12. Avatar
    clarissa
    November 30, 2011 at 10:35 pm

    twitter follow you

  13. Avatar
    clarissa
    November 30, 2011 at 10:36 pm

    subscriber

  14. Avatar
    clarissa
    November 30, 2011 at 10:36 pm

    facebook like you

  15. Avatar
    clarissa
    November 30, 2011 at 10:36 pm
  16. Avatar
    June
    December 1, 2011 at 8:50 am

    Could really use this!

  17. Avatar
    latanya
    December 1, 2011 at 2:52 pm

    Lighting is my challenge

  18. Avatar
    latanya
    December 1, 2011 at 2:52 pm

    I follow you on twitter

  19. Avatar
    latanya
    December 1, 2011 at 2:53 pm

    I like you on fb

  20. Avatar
    latanya
    December 1, 2011 at 2:54 pm

    I Subscribe to The Review Wire by RSS Feed

  21. Avatar
    Donna C
    December 3, 2011 at 7:57 pm

    Small children, and manual settings are the most difficult for me. The book looks interesting and I’d love to win.
    However…..I won’t be doing 6 separate posts to do it in like the others….! 😉

  22. Avatar
    Corinna
    December 4, 2011 at 10:40 am

    My biggest challenge is coming up with an interesting composition; I am rarely satisfied in this regard.

  23. Avatar
    Kathy Weeks
    December 4, 2011 at 8:01 pm

    Low lighting in my home (especially in the winter) is definitely a challenge.

  24. Avatar
    Lily Kwan
    December 9, 2011 at 11:27 am

    My biggest photography challenge is deciding how to frame a shot.

  25. Avatar
    Lily Kwan
    December 9, 2011 at 11:29 am

    I follow you on Twitter under the username likwan.

  26. Avatar
    Lily Kwan
    December 9, 2011 at 11:35 am

    I follow you on Facebook under the username likwan.

  27. Avatar
    Lily Kwan
    December 9, 2011 at 11:36 am

    I subscribed by email.

Comments are closed.