National Geographic Kids Books for Curious Minds | The Review Wire National Geographic Kids Books for Curious Minds | The Review Wire    

Holiday Gifts: National Geographic Kids Books for Curious Minds

This post may contain affiliate links and/or Amazon Affiliate links. Please see my full disclosure policy for details.

National Geographic Kids Books make the best gifts — a thoughtfully selected book will hold a child’s interest long after the new toys have been tossed aside. Nat Geo Kids is featuring EIGHT new titles that are perfect gifts for the explorer in all of us. These books are all big, beautiful and definitely gift-worthy and sure to be loved by bookworms and reluctant readers alike. They are fun, visually stunning, totally engrossing AND educational (but don’t tell kids that last part!).

The Review Wire: National Geographic Kids Books for Curious Minds

New Nat Geo Kids Books:

Explorer Academy: The Nebula Secret by Trudi Trueit

Explorer Academy: The Nebula Secret

Adventure, danger, and a thrilling global mission await 12-year-old Cruz Coronado as he joins an elite school for explorers. Cruz leaves his tranquil home in Hawaii to join 23 talented kids from around the globe to train at the Explorer Academy with the world’s leading scientists to become the next generation of great explorers. But for Cruz, there’s more at stake. No sooner has he arrived at the Academy than he discovers that his family has a mysterious past with the organization that could jeopardize his future. In the midst of codebreaking and cool classes, new friends and augmented reality expeditions, Cruz must tackle the biggest question of all: Who is out to get him, and why? Readers can get in on the excitement with puzzles and codes embedded throughout and book two in this seven-book series! Ages 8-12. MSRP $17

 

To the Moon and Back: My Apollo 11 Adventure A Pop-Up Book by Buzz Aldrin with Marianne J. Dyson

To the Moon and Back My Apollo 11 Adventure A Pop-Up Book

In celebration of the Apollo 11 Mission’s 50th Anniversary and punctuated by intricate pop-ups and paper folds, To The Moon and Back Buzz Aldrin shares his personal stories and reflects upon what historians call “humanity’s greatest adventure.” Never-before-published anecdotes from Aldrin and his family run the range of emotions — funny, sad, dangerous, hair-raising, heartwarming and inspiring — and provide a truly unique, behind-the-scenes look at the mission to the moon.  Additionally, vivid photos, clearly marked diagrams, and elaborate pop-ups illustrate and explain the fascinating science behind this incredible story of human achievement and a build-your-own Apollo 11 lunar module is also included. Ages 8-12. MSRP $32

 

Ultimate Secrets Revealed: A Closer Look at the Weirdest, Wildest Facts on Earth

Ultimate Secrets Revealed A Closer Look at the Weirdest, Wildest Facts on Earth

Did you know that caterpillars liquefy when they turn into butterflies? That humans shed eight pounds of skin every year? That there’s a funky forest in Poland where all the trees are mysteriously crooked? That space smells like burnt plastic? Our world is filled with strange, bizarre, and weird realities. But what do they mean? WHY are they important? And what exactly is the secret behind them? With Q&As with in-the-field experts, fantastic infographics and exciting stories, this book takes readers behind the scenes of the truly bizarre, to reveal the truth behind our planet’s wildest and wackiest. Meet the mind-boggling bacteria that make Yellowstone National Park’s Morning Glory Pool pop with radiant color, discover the mysteries behind the Sphinx of ancient Egypt, learn how tornadoes are so powerful, and so much more! Ages 8-12. MSRP $20

 

Ultimate Predatorpedia: The Most Complete Predator Reference Ever

Ultimate Predatorpedia The Most Complete Predator Reference Ever

Welcome to the amazing world of creatures who prey on others for their survival: from high-profile sharks, lions, tigers, and bears to the tiniest ants, mites, and spiders. Every animal in this book is ferocious, fierce, and fantastic in its own way! With colorful photographs and fun facts, this easy-to-use encyclopedia features profiles accompanied by Did You Know details, and fast facts (including scientific name, size, diet, and habitat), as well as thematic spreads covering topics from predatory techniques to defenses and communication, and much more. Fans of Ultimate Dinopedia, Ultimate Bugopedia, and Ultimate Reptileopedia in the same series, will want to find a place for Ultimate Predatorpedia on their bookshelves. Ages 7-10. MSRP $25

RELATED:  Goddess Girls Series: Pandora the Curious Book Blast

 

National Geographic Kids Why Not?: Over 1,111 Answers to Everything

National Geographic Kids Why Not? Over 1,111 Answers to Everything

The concept is simple. Got a question? Boy, do we have answers! Over 1,111 of them. Why don’t you keep growing your whole life? Check out the human body section. Why aren’t we traveling by jetpack yet? Tech has your answer. Why aren’t school buses red? Flip to the pop culture chapter. Why aren’t dinosaurs still alive? Why can’t you walk on clouds? It’s all there! With hundreds of topics ranging from silly to serious, we’ve got the expert information in a fun Q&A format that will keep kids digging for answers. Answers include all kinds of fascinating extra info like top 10 lists, weird-but-true facts, explorer profiles, and cool activities. Now, go stump your parents! Ages 8-12. MSRP $20

 

Dog Science Unleashed: Fun Activities to Do With Your Canine Companion

Dog Science Unleashed Fun Activities to Do With Your Canine Companion

Dog Science Unleashed shows kids how they can learn about science with the most faithful lab partner they’ll ever have, their dog! Twenty-two safe and pup-friendly activities let young scientists discover how their canine companions think, move, drink, stay warm, get clean and cool off. From determining your dog’s favorite smell to figuring out if your dog is a righty or a lefty, to making a stethoscope to listen to your hound’s heart, Dog Science Unleashed explores the science behind dogs’ senses, how they move, how they learn and much more. Each activity is paired with step-by-step instructions, clear and interesting scientific explanations, and photographs that illustrate important elements of the experiments and observations. Hands-on activities and fun information for budding scientists prompt further learning and offer a look at current, groundbreaking canine research. Ages 8-12. MSRP $13

 

Just Joking Jumbo 2

Just Joking Jumbo 2

Kids will laugh their tail off with a jumbo-size, jam-packed joke book featuring 1,000 jokes and 1,000 photos. With silly facts that are strangely true, laughable lists, conversation jokes, and long-story jokes with hilarious endings, this full-color, supersize book include funny stuff about pets, technology, spooky sensations, adventures, around-the-world wonders, animals, myths and legends, dinosaurs, music, and treasure hunting. It’s the perfect combination of laughing, learning, and maybe jump-starting a career in comedy! Ages 7-10. MSRP $15

 

Fly With Me: A Celebration of Birds Through Pictures, Poems, and Stories by Jane Yolen and her three adult children.

Fly With Me A Celebration of Birds Through Pictures, Poems, and Stories 

This thoughtful and beautifully curated collection of our flying, feathery friends highlights the role birds play in human life from centuries ago to the present day. While it’s beautiful and contains many original poems, it’s also full of valuable real science about these wondrous creatures. From history and behavior to spotting and photographing, there’s something for every bird fan in the flock. Young birders will learn all about migration and the importance of habitat conservation. They’ll find stories about bird rescues and fun facts about the fastest, strongest, and tiniest fliers. They’ll also discover the best bird nests, sweet songs to sing, ways to listen for and identify the birds around them, and more. Written by Jane and her children to honor the late David Stemple, this treasury is sure to become a classic for bird enthusiasts of all ages. Additionally, the release of Fly with Me is timed to Nat Geo’s celebration of the Year of the Bird, their 2018 initiative to bring awareness to the plight of birds around the world. Ages 4-8. MSRP $25

Let’s Chat: Which Book Would Your Child Like the Most?

Stay Connected:

Join the Review Wire Giveaway Groupies Facebook Group Banner. 2jpg        

You Might Also Like

Previous Story
Next Story

10 Comment

  1. Reply
    June S.
    December 1, 2018 at 8:36 pm

    My grandson would probably like all of these good books, but I would read this one to him first; Just Joking Jumbo 2

    Just Joking Jumbo 2

    Kids will laugh their tail off with a jumbo-size, jam-packed joke book featuring 1,000 jokes and 1,000 photos. With silly facts that are strangely true, laughable lists, conversation jokes, and long-story jokes with hilarious endings, this full-color, supersize book include funny stuff about pets, technology, spooky sensations, adventures, around-the-world wonders, animals, myths and legends, dinosaurs, music, and treasure hunting.

  2. Reply
    Jana Leah
    December 2, 2018 at 2:32 pm

    This is a great set of books. My nephew will especially love Ultimate predatorpedia.

  3. Reply
    Beth T.
    December 2, 2018 at 11:00 pm

    Right now I’m considering which books to give to our nieces and nephews for the holidays. When the books have the National Geographic label on them, to me that is an indication of quality photography, journalism, and a promise of a lack of sensationalism that I can feel good about. These titles look like a lot of fun–and not just for the kids in our lives!

  4. Reply
    Deanna Marissa
    December 3, 2018 at 11:47 am

    Such a great collection of Geo informal books. My kids would love reading all these books especially the Dog Science Unleashed – Fun Activities to Do With Your Canine Companion.

  5. Reply
    eve khoo
    December 4, 2018 at 6:02 pm

    my son is always curious and asking lots of questions. Some that i don’t even know the answers to. THese books would be perfect one for him to read!!

  6. Reply
    Shakeia Rieux
    December 5, 2018 at 9:46 pm

    My nieces would like Just Joking Jumbo 2 the most.

  7. Reply
    Beth T.
    December 6, 2018 at 11:36 pm

    I just put “Dog Science Unleased” on my shopping list. What a fun book! It’s always great to find books that encourage kids & families to interact with their dogs in active and positive ways. That is good for the pet and good for the people.

  8. Reply
    athena graeme
    December 7, 2018 at 6:35 am

    I am so glad to see NatGeo still going strong. SO many of the magazines I loved as a kid are gone. I’m glad I’ll get to share these with my daughter.

  9. Reply
    Beth T.
    December 8, 2018 at 2:18 am

    “To the Moon and Back” is a pop up book? How wonderful! Pop up books are so inviting and intriguing, to kids and adults alike. Have you ever encountered a pop up book and not wanted to see the mechanism in action? They’ve been around for a very long time; I saw a display at the Smithsonian showing an old medical book with pop-up demonstrations of the anatomy of the heart It was from the 1600s and was made by Rene Descartes.

  10. Reply
    Deanna Marissa
    December 8, 2018 at 5:35 pm

    My kids are always curious about different birds and their voices. Fly With Me – A Celebration of Birds Through Pictures, Poems, and Stories would make perfect gift for them.

Leave a Reply