Free Birds Movie Printable Activity Packet + 10 Things You Probably Didn't Know About Turkeys Free Birds Movie Printable Activity Packet + 10 Things You Probably Didn't Know About Turkeys    

Free Birds Movie Printable Activity Packet + 10 Things You Probably Didn’t Know About Turkeys

This post may contain affiliate links and/or Amazon Affiliate links. Please see my full disclosure policy for details.

The Free Birds movie is an animated adventure about two turkeys from opposite sides of the tracks who travel back in time in order to keep their species off the Thanksgiving menu. Featuring an all-star voice cast, including Owen Wilson, Woody Harrelson, and Amy Poehler, Free Birds is loaded with laughs and stuffed with fun for the whole family!

Just click on the image to download 8 pages of “Free Bird” Fun!Free Birds Activity Pack from The Review Wire

Ten Things You Probably Didn’t Know About Turkeys

FREE BIRDS

  1. Turkeys need to be trained to eat. In order for turkeys to reach their biggest size, they must be taught to eat small meals throughout the day, instead of their natural routine of consistently gorging themselves on food.
  2. A turkey’s snood (red thing attached to the beak) serves no functional purpose.
  3. A turkey’s gobble can be heard from a mile away. Talk about a loud mouth!
  4. Young turkeys are called “poults.”
  5. Turkeys were domesticated by Native Americans in pre-Columbian Mexico, more than 500 years ago. They arrived in Spain in 1519 and quickly spread to the rest of Europe.
  6. Turkeys prefer to sleep in trees. They do this as a way of avoiding predators in the wild.
  7. Female turkeys (hens) do not gobble. Instead, they communicate through low-chirps and clicking noises.
  8. Wild turkeys can fly. They are actually quite fast, reaching speeds as fast as 55mph.
  9. Turkeys can blush. This usually takes place when they are frightened, agitated, excited, or ill. And here we thought they were just bashful!
  10. A turkey’s stomach has a container called the gizzard. It contains small stones the turkey has swallowed which help aid in breaking down food for digestion since the birds do not have teeth.
RELATED:  12 Strong Movie

Stay Connected: #FreeBirdsDVD

 Giveaway:CLOSED

THIS GIVEAWAY IS NOW CLOSED: WINNER BRIAN EASON

One reader will receive Free Birds Blu-ray DVD {$39.99}. See form for Entry Details. Open to U.S. residents. You must be 18 years old to enter to win. This giveaway ends at 11:59 PM EST on 2.19.14

All entries will be verified. Only one entrant per mailing address per giveaway. If you have won the same prize on another blog, you will not be eligible to win it again. The winner will be chosen randomly through Giveaway Tools and contacted via email. A reply to the winning email is required within 48 hours before a new winner is chosen. One person entering per household please. The Review Wire is not responsible for shipment of prize.




Join the Review Wire Giveaway Groupies Facebook Group Banner. 2jpg        

You Might Also Like

Previous Story
Next Story

115 Comment

  1. Avatar
    Mami2jcn
    February 6, 2014 at 8:08 am

    I would name him Mr. Gobbler.

  2. Avatar
    Jane Ritz
    February 6, 2014 at 1:26 pm

    I would name my turkey Feathers.

  3. Avatar
    Cynthia R
    February 6, 2014 at 3:54 pm

    If I had a turkey I would name it Sweet Pea.

  4. Avatar
    natalie yeoman
    February 6, 2014 at 5:00 pm

    fluffy is what i would name it

  5. Avatar
    Debra F
    February 6, 2014 at 5:11 pm

    If I had a turkey — I’d call him Thanksgiving! Course, by Thanksgiving I’d never be able to eat him/her!

  6. Avatar
    lissa crane
    February 6, 2014 at 5:19 pm

    If I had a turkey I would name him Tom! Since I don’t eat meat, and my kids would love it, I would have to keep him as a pet!

  7. Avatar
    Dawn Ganey
    February 6, 2014 at 5:24 pm

    My turkey would be named gobbler.

  8. Avatar
    steven weber
    February 6, 2014 at 5:27 pm

    I’d name it Tom..

  9. Avatar
    Will G
    February 6, 2014 at 5:55 pm

    I would name my turkey, “Dinner”.

  10. Avatar
    felecia
    February 6, 2014 at 6:00 pm

    I would name her Lucky.

  11. Avatar
    Sally
    February 6, 2014 at 6:37 pm

    If I had turkey I would name it Feathers!

  12. Avatar
    Wendy Mastin
    February 6, 2014 at 7:15 pm

    I would name my turkey: Gizzard

  13. Avatar
    Todd Lovessweeps
    February 6, 2014 at 7:34 pm

    I would name my turkey Jiblets.

  14. Avatar
    D Schmidt
    February 6, 2014 at 7:34 pm

    If we had a turkey we would name him Trevor I think.

  15. Avatar
    lisa
    February 6, 2014 at 7:42 pm

    I might name him Gobblers.

  16. Avatar
    Bernie W
    February 6, 2014 at 8:04 pm

    If I had a turkey I would name him Tom.

  17. Avatar
    Vicki Wurgler
    February 6, 2014 at 8:08 pm

    I would name him Tom

  18. Avatar
    Meghan
    February 6, 2014 at 8:13 pm

    I would totally name my turkey Cornelius.

  19. Avatar
    Billie Wilson
    February 6, 2014 at 8:30 pm

    If I had a turkey his name would be stuffins

  20. Avatar
    Stacey B
    February 6, 2014 at 9:36 pm

    If I had a turkey I’d name him Ronald. No particular reason why, just seems odd and fitting.

  21. Avatar
    Cheryl Abdelnour
    February 6, 2014 at 9:43 pm

    IF I HAD A TURKEY I WOULD NAME HIM GOBBLE GOBBLE.

  22. Avatar
    Birdiebee
    February 6, 2014 at 10:27 pm

    If I had a turkey, I would name him/her Yum Yum.

  23. Avatar
    Jackie
    February 6, 2014 at 10:52 pm

    If I had a turkey, I would name him Chuck.
    Thanks!

  24. Avatar
    samantha Wagner
    February 6, 2014 at 10:58 pm

    I would name him gobble goodness

  25. Avatar
    Anita
    February 6, 2014 at 11:21 pm

    Thanksgiving, or TG for short.

  26. Avatar
    Heather B
    February 7, 2014 at 12:11 am

    If I had a Turkey I would name him Tom.

  27. Avatar
    Mayla M
    February 7, 2014 at 1:59 am

    I think it would be fun to call him Rooster.

  28. Avatar
    sandra davis
    February 7, 2014 at 3:07 am

    I would name my turkey Rosco

  29. Avatar
    Wes Hovorka
    February 7, 2014 at 5:06 am

    If I had a turkey I would name it gobbles. GOBBLES!!!

  30. Avatar
    sandra davis
    February 7, 2014 at 8:54 am

    I would name a turkey Tom

  31. Avatar
    bill norris
    February 7, 2014 at 1:36 pm

    Dinner is what I would name him….Im not sentimental.

  32. Avatar
    Gwen H.
    February 7, 2014 at 7:31 pm

    If I had a turkey I would name her Princess Gobble. She would live quite the long life but outside in her castle.

  33. Avatar
    Lori Thomas
    February 7, 2014 at 7:39 pm

    I`d name my Turkey,Winston

  34. Avatar
    Sacha Schroeder
    February 7, 2014 at 8:58 pm

    If I had a turkey I would name him Thanksgiving or Gobble. LOL! I have no idea. I asked my daughter and she said she’d name it nugget!

  35. Avatar
    angel d
    February 7, 2014 at 10:23 pm

    i would name it feathers.

  36. Avatar
    Kelly D
    February 7, 2014 at 10:33 pm

    I would name it plucky.

  37. Avatar
    wen budro
    February 8, 2014 at 2:41 am

    If I had a turkey- I would name him Henry.

  38. Avatar
    Carrie Phelps
    February 8, 2014 at 6:38 am

    The first name that comes to mind is Tom Turkey!

  39. Avatar
    Adrienne Gordon
    February 8, 2014 at 7:57 am

    My turkey would be named Mr. McLeggins.

  40. Avatar
    Dorothy Teel
    February 8, 2014 at 11:17 am

    I would name my turkey Tom Terrific Turkey Teel…

  41. Avatar
    Tim
    February 8, 2014 at 11:57 am

    My turkey name would be Tasty.

  42. Avatar
    Brittney House
    February 8, 2014 at 12:44 pm

    I would call it Sir Gobblesworth.

  43. Avatar
    Michael Bratek
    February 8, 2014 at 12:56 pm

    I would name my turkey wishbone, because of their lucky bone.

  44. Avatar
    cyndi br
    February 8, 2014 at 3:02 pm

    if I had a turkey I would name it Gobbles

  45. Avatar
    Kathleen
    February 8, 2014 at 3:47 pm

    If I had a turkey, I would name it Sir Gobble-a-lot.

    kport207 at gmail dot com

  46. Avatar
    Sherry Compton
    February 8, 2014 at 4:28 pm

    You know it would have to be Turk the Turkey.

  47. Avatar
    velder dixon
    February 8, 2014 at 5:47 pm

    if i had a turkey i would name it gobbles

  48. Avatar
    April Brenay
    February 8, 2014 at 7:16 pm

    I’d name my Turkey Goblet! lol

  49. Avatar
    June S.
    February 8, 2014 at 7:27 pm

    My turkey name would be Buddy.

  50. Avatar
    Mary Casper
    February 8, 2014 at 7:48 pm

    I would name him Tom…Just because I cant think of anything else

  51. Avatar
    Angela Ke
    February 8, 2014 at 9:53 pm

    The first thing to come to mind is Turkey Bird and 2nd is dinner. But my husband would make a pet of it for sure. It would never be dinner just like the chickens.

  52. Avatar
    Claudia
    February 8, 2014 at 11:23 pm

    I would name it Ed , Thank you for the opportunity to win!

  53. Avatar
    Inspired Kathy
    February 8, 2014 at 11:51 pm

    Kevin – because my daughter would choose that for the name.

  54. Avatar
    Kelly Nicholson
    February 8, 2014 at 11:59 pm

    Please use full complete sentences and tell me if you had a Turkey what would you name it?

    i would call my Turkey “Thursday Dinner”.and he would be fed very well during the summer and early fall!

  55. Avatar
    Christine Waddell
    February 9, 2014 at 2:02 am

    If I had a turkey, I would name him Dinner.

  56. Avatar
    Kathie Craig
    February 9, 2014 at 2:32 am

    If I had a turkey, it would be a female. You can not have Tom’s without girl power. Her name would be Thomasina and she would be the Queen of Turkey’s.

  57. Avatar
    Cassandra Eastman
    February 9, 2014 at 11:57 am

    We have had Turkeys, but ours was really mean haha! I think my parents called him Tom!

  58. Avatar
    linda w.
    February 9, 2014 at 12:06 pm

    I’m sure the kids would come up with something but i would name him Fred.

  59. Avatar
    Fawn H
    February 9, 2014 at 12:23 pm

    If I had a pet turkey, I would name him Sir Winston.

  60. Avatar
    Stephanie Galbraith
    February 9, 2014 at 3:49 pm

    Mr Gobles.

  61. Avatar
    terra
    February 9, 2014 at 3:51 pm

    George!!

  62. Avatar
    nuronerd
    February 9, 2014 at 5:29 pm

    If I had a turkey I would name it Sir Fredrick Gobbles.

  63. Avatar
    Samantha Daleo
    February 9, 2014 at 6:07 pm

    If I had a turkey I would name it Goober. I have no idea why, but that’s what I think of think of naming a turkey!

  64. Avatar
    Jacqueline W.
    February 9, 2014 at 6:30 pm

    If I had a Turkey, I most likely would call him “Pecker”.

  65. Avatar
    Jessamine D.
    February 9, 2014 at 8:43 pm

    If we had a Turkey, my daughters will call her Roxy. 🙂

  66. Avatar
    polly
    February 9, 2014 at 9:29 pm

    My turkey’s name would be Feathers

  67. Avatar
    Lora W.
    February 10, 2014 at 4:18 am

    Not very original, I would name him Tom Turkey.

  68. Avatar
    Gustavo Lopez Montes
    February 10, 2014 at 4:39 am

    I would name my turkey Falcon.

  69. Avatar
    Terry Maigi
    February 10, 2014 at 8:32 am

    I would name mine Gobbles!

  70. Avatar
    Lesley F
    February 10, 2014 at 10:01 am

    I would name him Tom of course!

  71. Avatar
    Monique Rizzo
    February 10, 2014 at 2:37 pm

    I would name my turkey Gobble Gobble. I asked my niece and she said she would name hers Sam. LOL
    Thanks for the chance. mogrill12@gmail.com

  72. Avatar
    heather eg kaufman
    February 10, 2014 at 2:43 pm

    gobble wobbly

  73. Avatar
    harold
    February 10, 2014 at 9:34 pm

    I would name it Butterball Junior.

  74. Avatar
    Stevie
    February 10, 2014 at 9:54 pm

    For some reason I keep thinking of Turkey Lurkey

  75. Avatar
    Desiree Dunbar
    February 11, 2014 at 8:38 am

    I’d name it Big T.

  76. Avatar
    Amanda Boerst
    February 11, 2014 at 5:43 pm

    If I had a turkey I would name it Lucille 🙂

  77. Avatar
    Darlene Jones-Nelson
    February 11, 2014 at 7:15 pm

    If I had a turkey I would name him Glenn

  78. Avatar
    sara haaf
    February 12, 2014 at 1:45 pm

    If I had a turkey I would name it GOBBLES!!

  79. Avatar
    jessica edwards
    February 13, 2014 at 12:55 pm

    tettrazini

  80. Avatar
    Jessica Whitehouse
    February 13, 2014 at 8:44 pm

    Hmmm…. we did have a turkey at one time. My sister caught it when they had a “turkey toss” downtown in our small town (all the way back in the early 80’s). We named it “Thanksgiving Dinner”

  81. Avatar
    Tammy H
    February 13, 2014 at 11:15 pm

    If I had a turkey, his name would be Mr Bird

  82. Avatar
    Rebecca Orr
    February 14, 2014 at 1:03 pm

    I have never really thought about it. Lol I think I will go with Giblet, thanks!

  83. Avatar
    Lisa V.
    February 14, 2014 at 7:05 pm

    I’d probably name it Drumstick.

  84. Avatar
    Daniel M
    February 14, 2014 at 9:50 pm

    I would name it tasty!

  85. Avatar
    Shelley P
    February 15, 2014 at 4:06 am

    I would name my turkey Hank.

  86. Avatar
    Rebecca Parsons
    February 15, 2014 at 10:49 am

    If I had a pet turkey I would definitely name it Lucky! Only because it would be lucky I didn’t eat it!

  87. Avatar
    Janice Dean
    February 15, 2014 at 2:57 pm

    If I had a turkey I would name him “Dinner”.

  88. Avatar
    Robin
    February 16, 2014 at 3:05 pm

    If I had a turkey I’d probably name him Tom

  89. Avatar
    Cory
    February 16, 2014 at 5:00 pm

    If I had a turkey, I would name it LouLou.

  90. Avatar
    tina reynolds
    February 16, 2014 at 7:48 pm

    I would name him turkey lurkey 😉 Silly and fun.

  91. Avatar
    Samantha
    February 16, 2014 at 7:56 pm

    I would name him Bob!

  92. Avatar
    Erica C.
    February 17, 2014 at 4:52 am

    I would probably name him something stupid like Gobble.

  93. Avatar
    Merry
    February 17, 2014 at 5:08 pm

    If I had a turkey I would name it Lucky.

  94. Avatar
    kortney Picker
    February 17, 2014 at 6:21 pm

    If I had a turkey I would name it Dinner, jk lol! I have no idea I can’t really see myself ever owning a turkey!

  95. Avatar
    liz l
    February 18, 2014 at 12:38 am

    Either Mr Gobble or Pilgrimy

  96. Avatar
    Linda Bradshaw
    February 18, 2014 at 1:41 am

    I would name him…Bob, lol.

  97. Avatar
    Debra Hall
    February 18, 2014 at 12:42 pm

    mr gobbler sounds pretty my son would name him dinner

  98. Avatar
    Mary Cloud
    February 18, 2014 at 2:39 pm

    If I had a turkey I would call him Thomas
    annabella @ centurytel dot net

  99. Avatar
    Rebecca Peters
    February 18, 2014 at 3:53 pm

    My kids said they would name it Jeffery

  100. Avatar
    kris m
    February 18, 2014 at 7:52 pm

    Thankisgiving hubby says..since that would be dinner! lol

  101. Avatar
    cheryl s
    February 18, 2014 at 9:31 pm

    Polly

  102. Avatar
    Rose Santuci-Sofranko
    February 18, 2014 at 9:40 pm

    LOL, if I had a turkey I may name it “Fluffy”… we do have LOTS of wild turkey’s around here already.

  103. Avatar
    karla
    February 18, 2014 at 10:12 pm

    I would name our turkey Goober!

  104. Avatar
    Jasmine P
    February 18, 2014 at 11:16 pm

    I would name it Jerry!

  105. Avatar
    Mihaela Day
    February 19, 2014 at 4:26 am

    If I had a turkey I would name him George 🙂

  106. Avatar
    susan smoaks
    February 19, 2014 at 2:36 pm

    If I had a turkey I would name her clementine. I like the name and i think it would be funny to have a turkey named clementine.

  107. Avatar
    Jacob LaFountaine
    February 19, 2014 at 5:45 pm

    I would name my turkey Sir Delicious of Bastings. He would be tasty

  108. Avatar
    Rosey
    February 19, 2014 at 8:16 pm

    If I had a turkey I would name it, ‘Not Your President’s Turkey’ because he would have no pardon. 😉

  109. Avatar
    Lt
    February 19, 2014 at 8:45 pm

    I would name my turkey Feathers.

  110. Avatar
    Vikki Billings
    February 19, 2014 at 9:13 pm

    I would name is Gobble!

  111. Avatar
    AEKZ2
    February 19, 2014 at 9:26 pm

    I would name my turkey Gilbert

  112. Avatar
    Lily Kwan
    February 19, 2014 at 9:58 pm

    I would name it Mr. Gobbles.

  113. Avatar
    Christie Kammerer
    February 19, 2014 at 10:39 pm

    If I had a turkey I would name him casserole because that’s what he will be.

  114. Avatar
    Brian E.
    February 19, 2014 at 10:40 pm

    Thanks for the giveaway…we would name our turkey “Hungary”

  115. Avatar
    Joy Q
    February 19, 2014 at 11:35 pm

    I would name my turkey Bob.

Comments are closed.