Ripley's Believe It or Not Book Review: Dare to Look Ripley's Believe It or Not Book Review: Dare to Look    

Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Book Review: Dare to Look

This post may contain affiliate links and/or Amazon Affiliate links. Please see my full disclosure policy for details.

What immediately comes to mind when you hear “Ripley’s Believe it or Not”?  Weird, gross, bizarre, cool, outrageous are just a few words that come to my mind!  Well, if you have ever seen or heard of the many Ripley’s Believe it or Not products (i.e. books, museums, & shows (remember the one that Superman Dean Cain the hottie used to narrate?)), you know as well as I do that they are the ultimate in weird information.

Ripleys Dare To Look

Ripley’s latest installment “Ripley’s Believe it or Not–Dare to Look” goes even further that just reading the book, it includes a 3-D iPhone & Android app to accompany the eye catching hard cover magazine sized book.  Once you download the app, you can dive in deeper to uncover even more interesting facts about some your favorite topics in the book. The book consists of 12 chapters with interesting and bizarre content such as:

Chapter 1 is called  Believe It!  This chapter features lifelike chocolate babies, and Fish crossing a street.

Chapter 5 is called Body.  This chapter features the Albino family, Amazing wolf boy and Back from the dead.

For you techies out there, Chapter 9 Digital is for you!  Showing jeans with a built in keyboard, Apps for chickens and the Facebook ghost.

By far the boys favorite  of the 12 chapters  is Chapter 11, the Food chapter.  This chapter features Body part cakes, Pumpkin zombies, Lizard in bag of supermarket salad, a Bug pizza & a giant gummi snake.

As a mother to 3 boys, you can only imagine how much fun the boys had together going through the book, and trying to stuff it in one another’s faces, as if those gross human looking cupcakes were going to get all over one of them!  All in all, this book would be a great gift to give to a teen for Christmas.  It’s usually so hard to shop for teens, but this seems to hit the spot, especially with boys!  Just think, it’ll get the kids reading, isn’t that what every mother wants?!

RELATED:  Mill Creek Entertainment: TVFlashbacks Kids Animated DVDs

 

 

Stay Connected:

App:

Giveaway:CLOSED

THIS GIVEAWAY IS NOW CLOSED: WINNER Joy Quinnan

One reader will receive Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Dare To Look Book {RV $29}. See form for Entry Details. Open to U.S. residents. You must be 18 years old to enter to win. Ends 10.29.13

All entries will be verified. Only one entrant per mailing address per giveaway. If you have won the same prize on another blog, you will not be eligible to win it again. The winner will be chosen randomly through Giveaway Tools and contacted via email. A reply to the winning email is required within 48 hours before a new winner is chosen. One person entering per household please. U.S.residents only. This giveaway ends at 11:59 PM EST on Oct 29, 2013.

Disclosure: I was provided with product for this review. All views and opinions with regard to Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Dare To Look Book review or the company are my own and were not influenced by the company. I am not responsible for shipment of the prize.

Join the Review Wire Giveaway Groupies Facebook Group Banner. 2jpg        

You Might Also Like

Previous Story
Next Story

87 Comment

  1. Avatar
    kristin sims
    October 15, 2013 at 4:07 am

    i think my mother in law’s length of time she spends blowing her nose in the morning could easily win a chapter in Ripley’s book, thank you.

  2. Avatar
    Sherry Compton
    October 15, 2013 at 7:54 am

    They have some pretty weird things in those books; I don’t think we have anything quite that weird.

  3. Avatar
    Derrick Johnson
    October 15, 2013 at 12:02 pm

    I have nothing weird going on in my family but I do love Ripley’s books! I love reading their unusual stories and strange facts and growing up I always watched the ‘Believe It Or Not’ TV series w/Jack Palance. I would LOVE to win this book!

  4. Avatar
    Sacha Schroeder
    October 15, 2013 at 12:09 pm

    I am so lame. I can’t think of anything but my son LOVES the Ripley books. It would be so much fun to give this to him for Christmas!

  5. Avatar
    Debby Chandler
    October 15, 2013 at 2:56 pm

    well, no I can’t really think of anything that would be put in the book except maybe my cat can almost say mama. We’re working on it Lol

  6. Avatar
    Julie Lynn Bickham
    October 15, 2013 at 5:06 pm

    Well my daughter was born with 6 fingers on each hand, 6 toes on each foot. Also has webbed toes on both feet and has extra bones in her feet. Don’t know how that happened, my other two came out perfect lol.

  7. Avatar
    Shemp DeYoung (@shempgames)
    October 15, 2013 at 5:42 pm

    I can’t think of anything in our family that would qualify for Ripley’s, but I do know these books are fun. I liked them as a kid and my son does now.

  8. Avatar
    Claire Rheinheimer
    October 15, 2013 at 6:01 pm

    I can’t think of anything that would go in the book. My 2 year old son is crazy smart, but I know there are smarter kids out there. lol

  9. Avatar
    julia
    October 15, 2013 at 6:41 pm

    No I do not have anything. My kids love looking at all this stuff though.

  10. Avatar
    Kelly Nicholson
    October 15, 2013 at 7:55 pm

    no,i dont know anybody that is so messed up that i may need to walk faster to my car,but there are so really freaky people who live down the street..does that count?

  11. Avatar
    Lesley M
    October 15, 2013 at 8:19 pm

    I am not cool enough to know anyone or anything that could be in Ripleys. But I am excited to look through the book!

  12. Avatar
    Becky Cole
    October 15, 2013 at 9:33 pm

    I do not know of anybody that can do anything weird…. my family is pretty boring. LOL

  13. Avatar
    Jessamine D.
    October 15, 2013 at 11:40 pm

    I’ve never read a Ripley’s believe it or not book but I remember when I was little, there was a Ripley’s Believe it or Not museum in our country (Philippines) and we’ve been there 2x or 3x I think. The inside of the museum creeped me out a bit but at the same time it seemed cool. 🙂

  14. Avatar
    Gianna
    October 16, 2013 at 12:14 am

    Maybe my son. He can burp and fart at the same time.. I didn’t know that was possible.

  15. Avatar
    Jan
    October 16, 2013 at 12:42 am

    The only odd thing about my family is that we all have different blood types and are all from the same mother and father, and no adoptions lol Mom=A+ Dad=B+ Me=A- Sister=B- last sister=AB- To make it even stranger, my B- sister married a man with B+ blood and they had a baby with O+ blood, lol

  16. Avatar
    sandra davis
    October 16, 2013 at 1:45 am

    I can’t really think of anything odd or unusual about my family. My son would love this book though. Thank you for the chance.

  17. Avatar
    tara darity
    October 16, 2013 at 9:11 am

    don’t think we have anything cool enough for that book! would love to see it!

  18. Avatar
    rosemary Todasco
    October 16, 2013 at 12:20 pm

    wow

  19. Avatar
    Tami Vollenweider
    October 16, 2013 at 2:35 pm

    I don’t know of anybody that does something crazy or weird!

  20. Avatar
    Kellie Conklin
    October 16, 2013 at 10:54 pm

    I don’t really have anything that abnormal but once when my family went to Arbys I found a glove in my chicken sandwich! It was pretty disgusting. This books looks great, thanks for the review!

  21. Avatar
    Kimberly Schotz
    October 17, 2013 at 1:08 am

    I have fingers that are double jointed but that isn’t very exciting

  22. Avatar
    Paol Trenny
    October 17, 2013 at 3:37 pm

    I do not any offbeat or exciting that could be featured in Ripley

  23. Avatar
    Melissa Hartley
    October 17, 2013 at 8:32 pm

    Nothing weird, gross, or abnormal in my family but would still love tow in this book for one of my sons 🙂
    Thank you

  24. Avatar
    Susan Broughton
    October 17, 2013 at 8:57 pm

    I’m sorry but nothing unusual here. I’ve always watched in wonder at people that could do or have something weird but as for me nothing at all just down the middle, average person.

  25. Avatar
    Marian Boll
    October 17, 2013 at 11:43 pm

    I got nothin….sorry

  26. Avatar
    Amy Martin
    October 17, 2013 at 11:49 pm

    Nope, I don’t have anyone that weird or gross in my life.

  27. Avatar
    HilLesha
    October 18, 2013 at 3:36 am

    I can’t think of anything that is unusual about myself that is enough to be featured in a book, but I still enjoy reading about such oddities, nonetheless. 🙂

  28. Avatar
    Vicki Wurgler
    October 18, 2013 at 8:15 am

    we have nothing weird going on in our family

  29. Avatar
    Carla D.
    October 18, 2013 at 9:53 am

    No, no one comes to mind to possibly have featured in a Ripley’s book.

  30. Avatar
    debbie
    October 18, 2013 at 12:16 pm

    Sorry, nothing that strange to report.

  31. Avatar
    Tanya White
    October 18, 2013 at 1:51 pm

    No I’m not cool enough to know anyone like that.

  32. Avatar
    Darlene Carbajal
    October 18, 2013 at 2:27 pm

    Not that I know of.

  33. Avatar
    Brandy Davis
    October 18, 2013 at 3:45 pm

    We are a rare breed around here, but nothing that comes close. LOL

  34. Avatar
    lisa lo
    October 18, 2013 at 5:17 pm

    No things I can think of..

  35. Avatar
    Don D
    October 18, 2013 at 8:49 pm

    Once my son got a bee sting on his knee that got infected and he hid this from me. Once I discovered the knee, it looked like a grapefruit on his knee. The amount of “cottage cheese” that the doctor removed from his knee was incredible and disgusting.

  36. Avatar
    Pauline Milner
    October 19, 2013 at 12:42 pm

    Fortunately, I do not think that I have anything that unusual in my life. I do love reading about other people who have weird and wonderful stuff. Thanks for offering this great giveaway opportunity. Keep up the terrific blogging.

  37. Avatar
    Denise Welch
    October 19, 2013 at 7:07 pm

    No have nothing i can think of but like t read this book

  38. Avatar
    Wendy Hark
    October 19, 2013 at 8:05 pm

    No I don’t have anything that qualifies for the book

  39. Avatar
    ericka coello
    October 20, 2013 at 3:24 am

    no, I’m a pretty common person

  40. Avatar
    Gretchen Gerth
    October 20, 2013 at 6:24 pm

    Jeez, when you put it this way my family is pretty normal. I guess perspective is everything. My granddaughter attempts to bend herself into pretzels but that is as Believe It or Not as we get.

  41. Avatar
    Mary Dailey
    October 20, 2013 at 7:46 pm

    I accidentally taped myself snorting my sinuses when i thought I was taking a photo with my new phone. It was shocking! lol

  42. Avatar
    natalie nichols
    October 20, 2013 at 11:28 pm

    I think my kiddo could make a world record with his temper tantrums.

  43. Avatar
    nickie
    October 21, 2013 at 10:40 am

    Nope nothing, but my son loves gross stuff.

  44. Avatar
    sandra
    October 21, 2013 at 2:38 pm

    sadly, i do not have anything that could be featured in ripley’s.

  45. Avatar
    Abigail
    October 21, 2013 at 3:28 pm

    Happily – nothing comes to mind worthy of Ripleys!

  46. Avatar
    Stephanie Larison
    October 22, 2013 at 1:29 am

    No, I wish I was that cool to be in the book, lol.

  47. Avatar
    Megan Parsons
    October 22, 2013 at 9:42 pm

    I can’t think of anything off the top of my head, but I LOVE these books and would love to win one!

  48. Avatar
    Tyneisha Fondren
    October 23, 2013 at 2:05 pm

    I don’t THINK we have anything funky like that going on in our family but I did used to be fascinated with watching a live autopsy..never could get a morgue to let me in though lol.

  49. Avatar
    crystal smith
    October 23, 2013 at 6:59 pm

    Well Ive racked my brain and I really cant think of anything I know of to contribute to a Ripley’s book 🙁 but I guess that what makes reading them so special- theyre definitely filled with things we normally wouldnt come across lol

  50. Avatar
    Karen F
    October 23, 2013 at 7:00 pm

    I can’t think of anything weird enough to go in the book unless you could put some of my relatives in there, cause some of them are pretty odd.

  51. Avatar
    jessica edwards
    October 23, 2013 at 9:32 pm

    At least one member of my family (including me) for the past 5 generations, has one blue eye and one green eye.

  52. Avatar
    Jennifer H
    October 24, 2013 at 1:44 pm

    I can’t think of anybody or anything that would belong in
    ripleys book

  53. Avatar
    al
    October 24, 2013 at 9:52 pm

    I don’t think so.

  54. Avatar
    Patty White
    October 25, 2013 at 10:11 am

    I don’t know anyone that has anything weird or gross about them.

  55. Avatar
    Kathleen
    October 26, 2013 at 8:25 pm

    I can’t think of anything weird or gross. But when I was a kid I had a friend that I spent a lot of time at her house. (after school, sleepovers, family outings, etc) Anyway they had this HUGE family size trampoline that we were always bouncing, jumping and flipping on. One Friday after school we decided to break the record for hours spent on a trampoline. We lasted pretty long, but I can’t remember how long now… lol kids…

  56. Avatar
    Heather B
    October 26, 2013 at 9:17 pm

    I can’t think of anything anyone in my family does that could be in Ripley’s

  57. Avatar
    Melissa Nagy
    October 26, 2013 at 10:50 pm

    I honestly can’t think of anything deserving enough to be in this book. I always obsess over the pictures but don’t know how I would handle seeing some of those things in real life.

  58. Avatar
    Mary v
    October 27, 2013 at 9:55 am

    Nothing weird, gross, or bizarre, but I have a nephew who’d love to read this book.

  59. Avatar
    brittney
    October 27, 2013 at 3:33 pm

    we don’t have anything that weird.. although im not sure i would admit it if we did lol

  60. Avatar
    Patricia Wojnar Crowley
    October 27, 2013 at 8:43 pm

    I don’t know anyone who belongs in this book!

  61. Avatar
    Natasha
    October 28, 2013 at 7:09 am

    I really havent but my son would love this book!

  62. Avatar
    Jane Ritz
    October 28, 2013 at 9:40 am

    My daughter could burp the ABC’s. Yes, that’s gross.

  63. Avatar
    Debra Hall
    October 28, 2013 at 10:41 am

    no nothing gross here ..that i know of

  64. Avatar
    Sharon Kaminski
    October 28, 2013 at 11:34 am

    Sorry I cannot think of anything that my family can put into the ripley believe it or not.

  65. Avatar
    Daniel M
    October 28, 2013 at 12:13 pm

    nope, nothing like that around here in normalsville

  66. Avatar
    Paula Hafner
    October 28, 2013 at 12:21 pm

    I think my 6 year old son should be in Ripley’s for being able to ask the most question in a 24 hour period. Thank goodness for Google! We love Ripley’s we went to visit one of the museums this summer.

  67. Avatar
    Susan Smith
    October 28, 2013 at 3:05 pm

    Nothing weird, gross, or abnormal in my family

  68. Avatar
    Francine Anchondo
    October 28, 2013 at 3:45 pm

    The only odd thing i can do is I am double jointed nothing to weird.Nothing to make that book.

  69. Avatar
    Brittney House
    October 28, 2013 at 10:43 pm

    No, I do not have anything but I enjoy reading/seeing bizarre things.

  70. Avatar
    kris m
    October 29, 2013 at 12:32 am

    I dont have anything but I love reading other peoples believe it or nots

  71. Avatar
    theodore esteghamat
    October 29, 2013 at 1:32 am

    I’m too lame and boring for Ripley to contact me but I’d still love to win the book.

  72. Avatar
    Casandra
    October 29, 2013 at 1:45 am

    I think its probably a blessing that I have nothing to contribute to this book. I think my kids are trying to challenge that fact, but so far so good!:)

  73. Avatar
    LT
    October 29, 2013 at 2:27 am

    notreallly

  74. Avatar
    Joy Q
    October 29, 2013 at 10:30 am

    No, I don’t have anything or know anyone that is weird enough to make it into a Ripley’s book.

  75. Avatar
    susan smoaks
    October 29, 2013 at 11:31 am

    we have a dog that has some really long toe nails but other than that nothing that could be featured in the ripley’s believe it or not books.

  76. Avatar
    Leslie Davis
    October 29, 2013 at 12:13 pm

    Nothing comes to mind that’s weird enough.

  77. Avatar
    Aimee C
    October 29, 2013 at 12:20 pm

    My cat just passed away and when we went to bury him we dug up a wart hog creature head..right in our backyard. Very weird

  78. Avatar
    amanda whitley
    October 29, 2013 at 12:20 pm

    i have some really weird people in my family but nothing worthy of ripleys lol.

  79. Avatar
    Leslie L Stanziani
    October 29, 2013 at 12:24 pm

    I do not have anything that would be Ripley’s worthy but I do have a 6 year that makes up the oddest, most nonsense,cross the road jokes.He even has inanimate objects cross the road for the strangest reasons.

  80. Avatar
    Lanicsha Wynn
    October 29, 2013 at 12:32 pm

    Nothing compared to what is featured in Ripleys believe it or not. However some people think it’s weird that I am double jointed.

  81. Avatar
    Diane S
    October 29, 2013 at 4:28 pm

    I would like to think the amount of time my niece spends giggling would be in there. She is such a happy young lady.

  82. Avatar
    Laurie Emerson
    October 29, 2013 at 5:46 pm

    My daughter told that a few kids had a boogie throwing contest at recess to see who could throw a boogie the farthest.

  83. Avatar
    linda w.
    October 29, 2013 at 6:42 pm

    My daughter sometimes tried to break the record for how many knots she can create in her hair at night when she twirls it or how many days she can go without taking a bath (never works with me). Nothing gross though

  84. Avatar
    AEKZ2
    October 29, 2013 at 9:39 pm

    Nothing weird to report here.

  85. Avatar
    Tara C
    October 29, 2013 at 9:57 pm

    Sadly, I do not in fact have anything interesting enough in my life to make it into a Ripley’s book. I think I’m okay with that, though!

  86. Avatar
    Lily Kwan
    October 29, 2013 at 10:05 pm

    I can’t think of anything.

  87. Avatar
    Michelle Tucker
    October 29, 2013 at 10:28 pm

    I honestly can’t think of anything that might be weird enough to go into the book. It’d be cool if I did.

Comments are closed.