GlideBikes: Balance Bike | The Review Wire GlideBikes: Balance Bike | The Review Wire

GlideBikes: Balance Bike

This post may contain affiliate links and/or Amazon affiliate links; I will be compensated if you make a purchase after clicking on my links. Please see my full disclosure policy for details.

Glide Bike inventor, Ed Mondello, set out to create a balance bike for his daughter when he wanted to teach her how to ride. “I was convinced that the weight of the steel frame was hindering her ability to control the bike and that the training wheels were delaying the learning process by preventing the feel of balancing. I knew there had to be a better way.” and so the Glide Bike was created.

Mini-Glide-Bike

Glide Bikes do not have peddles or training wheels. It is a balance bike or training bike that helps kids learn to balance and steer a bike safely. With Glide Bikes, kids learn to balance first, with no pedals or training wheels to get in the way. Children start by sitting and walking the bike with their feet. Then when they are ready they can “glide” by lifting their feet off the ground and placing them on the pegs.

RELATED:  Bright\Cycle Falcon LED Bike Light Review

I received the Mini Glide Bike for my three-year-old to try. The Mini is designed for kids 2-5 years old and up to 100 pounds. The Glide Bike has foot pegs for gliding so the kids can put their feet up to help them glide and an adjustable handlebar which helps the bike grow with your child, plus it ensures your child gets the right fit. There is also a hand brake. I can’t believe how light weight it is either, only 8 pounds. Which is nice considering how many times I have had to pull him out from under it. The lightweight frame will also come in handy when we want to take it to the park this spring. Glide Bikes also offers The Go Glider for kids 5-10.

Buy It:

  • Glide Bikes can be purchased on Amazon

Stay Connected:

Join the Review Wire Giveaway Groupies Facebook Group. 2jpg        

You Might Also Like

Previous Story
Next Story

89 Comment

  1. Avatar
    Ann B
    March 9, 2011 at 5:57 am

    I learned that kids as early as 24 months can learn to glide a balance bike with practice.

  2. Avatar
    Kevin E
    March 9, 2011 at 9:53 am

    I learned that the unique downhill mountain bike geometry gives rider a lower center of gravity for greater stability and safer balancing.

  3. Avatar
    Betsy Hoff
    March 9, 2011 at 10:59 am

    I learned that Kids as early as 24 months can learn to glide a balance bike with practice.

  4. Avatar
    Libby
    March 9, 2011 at 12:04 pm

    I learned that the Glide Bike is rated 5 out of 5 for being an Amazing Confidence Builder!

  5. Avatar
    Libby
    March 9, 2011 at 12:42 pm

    I tweeted about the giveaway.

  6. Avatar
    Christie
    March 9, 2011 at 8:43 pm

    They have a funny prototype test video

  7. Avatar
    Raven In A Blue Room
    March 10, 2011 at 1:51 am

    I learned that Glide Bikes™ are the only Balance Bikes with a Lifetime Warranty

    Thank you for hosting this giveaway

    Louis
    schnitzomage {at} gmail {dot} com

  8. Avatar
    SANDY
    March 10, 2011 at 2:53 am

    I learned that Kids as early as 24 months can learn to glide a balance bike with practice.

  9. Avatar
    Kathy Dunaway
    March 10, 2011 at 9:28 am

    I learned that the mini comes in 3 colors,red,blue and pink. Thanks for the giveaway:)

  10. Avatar
    Lena
    March 10, 2011 at 2:14 pm

    I learned that Kids as early as 24 months can learn to glide a balance bike with practice

  11. Avatar
    McKim
    March 10, 2011 at 2:37 pm

    I learned that kids as early as 24 months can learn to glide a balance bike with practice.

  12. Avatar
    Monique RIzzo
    March 10, 2011 at 2:56 pm

    I learned kids can learn as early as 24months.
    Thanks for the chance.
    mogrill@comcast.net

  13. Avatar
    susan varney
    March 10, 2011 at 5:14 pm

    very durable mverno@roadrunner.com

  14. Avatar
    polly
    March 10, 2011 at 6:56 pm

    kids as early as 24 months can learn to use the glide bikes.

  15. Avatar
    Christine
    March 10, 2011 at 7:57 pm

    Kids as early as 24 months can learn to glide a balance bike with practice.

  16. Avatar
    Mia J
    March 10, 2011 at 8:14 pm

    They have three sizes of bikes for kids from 2 – 10+.

  17. Avatar
    Anastasia @ Eco-Babyz
    March 10, 2011 at 8:45 pm

    I learned it is rated 5 out of 5 for being an Amazing Confidence Builder 🙂

  18. Avatar
    Julie
    March 10, 2011 at 9:32 pm

    I learned that kids can ride as early as 24 months, and builds confidence. Thanks!

  19. Avatar
    Nadi
    March 10, 2011 at 10:24 pm

    I learned that Glide Bikes will balance at just 1.5 MPH, making them really safe.

  20. Avatar
    Mary Elderton
    March 10, 2011 at 10:54 pm

    These carry a Lifetime Warranty! Awesome!

  21. Avatar
    ShootingStarsMag
    March 10, 2011 at 11:48 pm

    I know a little one that will be 2 this year. it would make a great gift. I learned-

    Glide bikes utilize Downhill mountain bike geometry to achieve a very low speed balance point of less than 2mph and are light weight 8lbs for the Mini Glider and 10 for the Go Glider.

  22. Avatar
    Kelly Ann T.
    March 11, 2011 at 12:00 am

    I learned special needs kids benefit from this bike because of the low center of gravity.

  23. Avatar
    carole
    March 11, 2011 at 12:17 am

    glide bikes was started in wilmington,N.C.
    gram122@comcast.net

  24. Avatar
    Aimee E.
    March 11, 2011 at 7:21 am

    I learned that kids as early as 24 months can use this bike.

  25. Avatar
    The Knapps
    March 11, 2011 at 7:26 am

    I learned they have a lifetime warranty…good thing to have!

    danielleaknapp at gmail dot com

  26. Avatar
    crystle tellerday
    March 11, 2011 at 9:22 am

    the bikes are made in Wilmington north Carolina

  27. Avatar
    sara
    March 11, 2011 at 11:07 am

    I learned that, “Downhill Mountain Bike Geometry (65° seat and head tube angles) is designed to give the bike the slowest balancing speed possible.”

  28. Avatar
    Linda
    March 11, 2011 at 11:10 am

    I learned that it is an Amazing Confidence Builder!

  29. Avatar
    Pat
    March 11, 2011 at 11:34 am

    I learned that the bikes have durable 12″ EVA foam tires that never need air

  30. Avatar
    Denise B.
    March 11, 2011 at 4:19 pm

    The first glider prototype on the same geometry as a downhill mountain bike.

  31. Avatar
    Kathy
    March 11, 2011 at 5:32 pm

    GIves the rider a lower sense of gravity to make balancing easier

  32. Avatar
    Balance Bike Man
    March 11, 2011 at 9:03 pm

    I love Glide bikes. They are well made and are perfect as first bikes for maturing children. You will love them too.

  33. Avatar
    Katie
    March 11, 2011 at 10:54 pm

    I learned they were invented by Ed Mondello.

  34. Avatar
    Michelle
    March 12, 2011 at 6:42 am

    I learned that even kids as young as 2 years of age can begin riding, given that the 2010 model has been redesigned to allow the seat to lower to 12″ and the handle bars to adjust to accommodate the very youngest riders. Thanks for the giveaway!

  35. Avatar
    Jennie Shellenberger
    March 12, 2011 at 7:21 am

    I learned about how the kids can learn to balance at very low speeds by using the glide bike… something that is very useful when moving on to a pedal bike!

  36. Avatar
    Jen Smith
    March 12, 2011 at 9:30 am

    I learned that the bikes are lightweight–8 lbs for the smaller one and 10 lbs for the bigger one. This would be fantastic for my son, and eventually, for my daughter!!!

  37. Avatar
    amber
    March 12, 2011 at 9:47 am

    I learned that children as small as 2 can use these bikes.

  38. Avatar
    Jill
    March 12, 2011 at 10:36 am

    I learned that toddlers can start learning at 24 months which is great because my twins are almost ready to start!

  39. Avatar
    Laura Carey
    March 12, 2011 at 2:10 pm

    I cannot believe that a 2 yo could use this! How great! Thanks so much!

  40. Avatar
    Claudia
    March 12, 2011 at 4:24 pm

    I found out that the glide bikes come in different sizes, so not only can tiny kids (24mo) use a glide bike, but that older kids can get one that fits them too. In my balance bike research I don’t think I’ve seen another brand that has various sizes.

  41. Avatar
    Michelle
    March 12, 2011 at 7:30 pm

    I learned that you can be pretty young to ride these bikes (24 months!!)
    Michelle

  42. Avatar
    rebecca
    March 12, 2011 at 8:46 pm

    This allows a child to perfect their skill of balance before adding pedaling. I so wish this had been available for my children, and even my first grandchild.

    spiersrp at gmail dot com

  43. Avatar
    Katie Walker
    March 12, 2011 at 10:31 pm

    I learned that kids can go incredibly fast! It’s crazy though how much control they have!

  44. Avatar
    Rachel C
    March 12, 2011 at 10:44 pm

    I learned that there’s also a super glider for kids 10 and older.

  45. Avatar
    alison
    March 12, 2011 at 11:31 pm

    i learned that kids as early as 24 months can learn to glide.

  46. Avatar
    alison
    March 12, 2011 at 11:33 pm

    kids as early as 24 months can learn to glide on this

  47. Avatar
    Amber Kelly
    March 12, 2011 at 11:48 pm

    I learned it is rated 5 out of 5 for being an Amazing Confidence Builder!!!

  48. Avatar
    beth
    March 13, 2011 at 1:17 am

    I learned that kids can balance on a Glide bike at a very low speed.

  49. Avatar
    Gayle
    March 13, 2011 at 10:24 am

    I learned that GlideBikes make three sizes.

  50. Avatar
    Judy
    March 13, 2011 at 1:06 pm

    I learned the 2010 model can have an even lower seat than other glider bikes- better for smaller kids/younger kids.

    I soooo would love this for spring this year!

  51. Avatar
    Marcy
    March 13, 2011 at 1:28 pm

    I have been looking for one of these for my nephew! It was nice to see that they are only 8lbs!

  52. Avatar
    Judy Ward
    March 13, 2011 at 9:14 pm

    Kids as young as 24 months can use Glide Bikes.

  53. Avatar
    Erin
    March 13, 2011 at 10:43 pm

    I learned that kids as early as 24 months can learn to glide a balance bike.

  54. Avatar
    Adrienne Bireley
    March 13, 2011 at 11:52 pm

    I learned that I could start a kid to ride as early as 24 months. Wow.

  55. Avatar
    Amy Hint
    March 14, 2011 at 11:48 am

    I learned that “Glide Bikes will balance at just 1.5 MPH, which means that they are the safest Balance Bikes on the market.” That is pretty amazing!

  56. Avatar
    Heathery
    March 14, 2011 at 12:31 pm

    I learned that my niece could already be riding a bike! (She just turned 3)
    myheehaw@hotmail[dot]com

  57. Avatar
    Jill Myrick
    March 14, 2011 at 2:46 pm

    I learned that in 2007 Hand brakes and foot pegs were added to give the rider a feel for where pedals would be.

    jweezie43[at]gmail[dot]com

  58. Avatar
    Aleks
    March 14, 2011 at 3:30 pm

    I like the mini glide bike. Thanks for the chance!

  59. Avatar
    Janice
    March 14, 2011 at 3:35 pm

    I learned that these bikes have a lifetime warrenty as long as you own them! That’s great!

  60. Avatar
    Katie
    March 14, 2011 at 3:48 pm

    I learned that each bike they sell carries a LIFETIME warranty! Thats awesome!

  61. Avatar
    Mir
    March 14, 2011 at 5:32 pm

    Triples Paisleys in Kiwi

  62. Avatar
    Kelly D
    March 14, 2011 at 5:56 pm

    I learned that Kids as early as 24 months can learn to glide a balance bike with practice.

  63. Avatar
    Gwen
    March 14, 2011 at 7:24 pm

    I learned they offer a life time warranty (excluding normal wear and tear) to the original owner.

  64. Avatar
    sarah t
    March 14, 2011 at 8:46 pm

    i learned that Balance bikes are small enough so children can walk the bicycle while sitting comfortably with both feet on the ground

  65. Avatar
    Jaclyn Reynolds
    March 14, 2011 at 9:20 pm

    Lifetime warranty! I’d love one for my youngest son!!

  66. Avatar
    karen b
    March 14, 2011 at 9:28 pm

    I learned that kids as early as 24 months old can learn to ride the mini glide bike, this is truly amazing. Thanks for the giveaway

    karenb834atyahoo.com

  67. Avatar
    Rosey
    March 14, 2011 at 10:13 pm

    No chain? I LOVE that.
    I learned that “Glide bikes utilize Downhill mountain bike geometry to achieve a very low speed balance point of less than 2mph and are light weight 8lbs for the Mini Glider and 10 for the Go Glider.”

  68. Avatar
    Gladys Parker
    March 15, 2011 at 12:34 am

    They help kids learn to balance, children as young as 24 mos with practice can ride a Glide bike

    Gladys P
    sueparks2003 at gmail dot com
    sps1113 at yahoo.com
    @sueparks2003

  69. Avatar
    Gladys Parker
    March 15, 2011 at 12:35 am

    Follow on GFC
    Gladys P
    sueparks2003 at gmail dot com
    sps1113 at yahoo.com
    @sueparks2003

  70. Avatar
    Chrysa
    March 15, 2011 at 12:50 am

    I learned that even 2 year olds can ride!

  71. Avatar
    Tina Reynolds
    March 15, 2011 at 4:09 am

    They have maintenance free tires and certified, lead free metallic paint really great features thanks for the chance to win eaglesforjack@gmail.com this would be great for my son

  72. Avatar
    Diana Bradford Hatch
    March 15, 2011 at 8:54 am

    I learned these bikes do not have pedals!

  73. Avatar
    Alicia C.
    March 15, 2011 at 11:51 am

    I learned that what makes Balance Bikes balance is their low center of gravity – similar to that of mountain bikes.

    ohmiss14 at yahoo dot com

  74. Avatar
    susan smoaks
    March 15, 2011 at 1:17 pm

    i learned that the inventor made the balance bike after getting his daughter a new bike and she kept hurting herself while trying to learn balance!

  75. Avatar
    Carrie
    March 15, 2011 at 2:20 pm

    I learned that there are 3 different sizes

  76. Avatar
    DanV
    March 15, 2011 at 2:21 pm

    I learned that kids as early as 24 months can learn to glide a balance bike with practice.

  77. Avatar
    Betty C
    March 15, 2011 at 2:42 pm

    I learned that the bikes are very light weight 8lbs for the Mini Glider and 10 for the Go Glider.

  78. Avatar
    domestic diva
    March 15, 2011 at 3:22 pm

    I learned that it helps kids learn to balance before they have to focus on pedaling. Looks great!

  79. Avatar
    kathy pease
    March 15, 2011 at 3:37 pm

    Downhill Mountain Bike Geometry (65° seat and head tube angles) is designed to give the bike the slowest balancing speed possible. Regular Mountain Bike Geometry is 68-69° seat and head tube angle. Road Bike Geometry is 70-71° seat and head tube angle.

  80. Avatar
    Happi Shopr
    March 15, 2011 at 3:37 pm

    “Super Glider™
    Designed for riders 5′ to 6′ 2″, the Super Glider is just right for older learners and Special Needs youths and adults.”

  81. Avatar
    Evie
    March 15, 2011 at 3:41 pm

    I learned that they come in a size that would work for my newly 2 year old twins.

  82. Avatar
    kathleen
    March 15, 2011 at 3:41 pm

    i learned Glide Bikes started selling the biknes in New Zealand and other global markets in 2010

  83. Avatar
    kathleen
    March 15, 2011 at 3:42 pm

    i learned Glide Bikes started selling the bikes in New Zealand and other global markets in 2010

  84. Avatar
    Evie
    March 15, 2011 at 3:42 pm

    I learned that they come in a size appropriate for my 2 year old twin boys.

  85. Avatar
    Elizabeth N.
    March 15, 2011 at 3:43 pm

    I was impressed to learn that the bikes come with a limited life time warranty.

  86. Avatar
    Diane Baum
    March 15, 2011 at 3:59 pm

    I learned that they can start bike riding at 2 years old

  87. Avatar
    Kimberly
    March 15, 2011 at 5:56 pm

    I learned that Glide Bikes are designed with downhill Mountain bike geometry!
    kcoud33 at gmail dot com

  88. Avatar
    cindy w
    March 15, 2011 at 6:31 pm

    I learned that balance bike improve bilateral coordination

  89. Avatar
    Mandy
    March 15, 2011 at 7:06 pm

    I learned children start by walking the bike

Comments are closed.