Crayola Digital Light Designer Video Review & Marker AirBrush Review - The Review Wire Crayola Digital Light Designer Video Review & Marker AirBrush Review - The Review Wire    

Crayola Digital Light Designer: Video Review & Crayola Marker AirBrush

This post may contain affiliate links and/or Amazon Affiliate links. Please see my full disclosure policy for details.

I have seen the Crayola commercials for both of these recently and so have my kiddos. My youngest, who is five keeps asking for the Light Designer and my nine-year-old wants the airbrush. I asked him, “What do you want to airbrush?” His response, “Mom, I could make my own t-shirt that says Smitty Werbenjagermanjensen and I can just make designs.”  So when I was given the opportunity to review both of these, I took it!

 Crayola Store Digital Light Designer {RV $50}

As soon as I turned this on and saw all the icons, I knew I was in trouble. For this toy, you definitely need the directions! There are a lot of different icons for the different ways to play like free draw, animation, and games. It took me quite awhile to learn how to even get it working. It is loud as you can hear in the video and you do need to use in a dimly lit area where there will not be any light interference. It does require 4 D and 2 AAA batteries, so make sure to add them in the package if giving as a gift. There is nothing worse than not having batteries on Christmas Morning! It seems like it would be a fun toy but for me, there were too many downsides being able to enjoy it. My five year old got easily discouraged because he got tired of tapping around to try and get it to do anything. Of the designs we did create, we did like the animation like making it change colors or rotate. This might be better suited for older children, maybe 7-9.

RELATED:  A Monster In Paris Activity Pages

For the first time, kids can create with colored LEDs on a 360-degree domed drawing surface. Three different modes let kids create dynamic free-hand drawings, activate amazing animations and have hours of fun playing interactive drawing games. Using the digital light stylus, kids can select colors and line width to begin free-drawing anywhere on the domed surface. Extending the fun, even more, the Digital Light Designer also comes with 8 different interactive games and activity apps! 

Crayola’s Marker Airbrush {RV $23}

Crayola Marker Airbrush Set

Like I said, my son has been wanting one of these but to me, it looked more like a hassle. But once I got it set up it was really easy to use. I do suggest laying newspaper down under your work surface for easier cleanup! At first, I couldn’t get it to spray until I realized that you only need to pull the trigger only halfway to make it work. This will come in handy for that Smitty Shirt he wants!

With Crayola’s new Marker Airbrush, kids can also feed their love for creating with markers, producing amazing airbrush effects on paper, fabrics, and windows, using their favorite Crayola Broadline Markers. The Marker Airbrush is kid-powered (no batteries needed!), and works with a simple hand pump. Simply attach any Crayola Broadline Marker (including Crayola Pipsqueak and Fabric Broadline markers!), pump it up, and spray away!

Buy It: Crayola on Amazon 

Join the Review Wire Giveaway Groupies Facebook Group Banner. 2jpg        

You Might Also Like

Previous Story
Next Story

47 Comment

  1. Avatar
    Ashley Hatten
    December 14, 2012 at 8:27 am

    I like the glow board

  2. Avatar
    Leann L
    December 14, 2012 at 9:01 am

    I like the Sidewalk Tattoos – Disney Cars.

  3. Avatar
    Cassandra Sm
    December 14, 2012 at 12:02 pm

    I think that the make your own Art Chest is awesome, than you could get a plethra of things that you would want for the kiddos and itd all be a personal thing you choose=)

  4. Avatar
    Elle
    December 14, 2012 at 12:53 pm

    I like the Color Wonder Floor Puzzle.

  5. Avatar
    Tara A.
    December 14, 2012 at 2:38 pm

    I love the Crayola Glow Station.

  6. Avatar
    sandra davis
    December 14, 2012 at 6:30 pm

    i like the Crayola Color Explosion Glow Dome

  7. Avatar
    susan hartman
    December 14, 2012 at 11:31 pm

    Crayola Color Explosion 3D

  8. Avatar
    jeanette sheets
    December 14, 2012 at 11:39 pm

    the sidewalk tatoos

  9. Avatar
    JJ Caraway
    December 15, 2012 at 8:26 am

    I would like to have the Ultimate Art Case

  10. Avatar
    melissa teears
    December 15, 2012 at 10:06 am

    Light tracer for boys

  11. Avatar
    Debra S
    December 15, 2012 at 11:04 am

    Oh yes, WHAT kid would not like the Ultimate art kit? I also need to get the kids some refills of things, like to their glow dome! don’t forget rechargeable batteries!!

  12. Avatar
    Betty Jenks
    December 15, 2012 at 3:05 pm

    Our granchildren would sure love this.

  13. Avatar
    Donna L
    December 15, 2012 at 7:00 pm

    I also like the Crayola Color Explosion Glow Dome.

  14. Avatar
    lisa lo
    December 15, 2012 at 9:25 pm

    3D Chalk – Underwater Adventure Activity
    looks pretty interesting.

  15. Avatar
    Sandra Blanton
    December 16, 2012 at 7:01 am

    Hannah Montana Cut-N-Create

  16. Avatar
    sandra
    December 16, 2012 at 9:30 am

    love the Color Wonder Magic Paint Palette

  17. Avatar
    Gayle
    December 16, 2012 at 10:19 am

    Crayola Color Twister Spin Art

  18. Avatar
    rebeka deleon
    December 16, 2012 at 12:28 pm

    the toy story glow board

  19. Avatar
    Mary Gallardo
    December 16, 2012 at 1:34 pm

    The Toy Story glow board looks pretty neat!

  20. Avatar
    John Builes
    December 16, 2012 at 4:37 pm

    Wonderful prize.

  21. Avatar
    Jessica R.
    December 16, 2012 at 5:04 pm

    I like the Color Wonder Magic Paint Palette

  22. Avatar
    Judy-Ree
    December 16, 2012 at 6:28 pm

    I think my nephews would love the Crayola® Color Explosion® Glow Dome.

  23. Avatar
    Megan Parsons
    December 17, 2012 at 10:07 am

    I like the Crayola® Color Explosion® Glow Dome

  24. Avatar
    Selinda
    December 17, 2012 at 4:24 pm

    I also like the Color Wonder Magic Paint Palette!

  25. Avatar
    Jessamine Marie Ricafort Dungo
    December 17, 2012 at 4:57 pm

    My daughter would love the Model Magic Jewelry Boutique 🙂

  26. Avatar
    Katie Hughes
    December 17, 2012 at 11:12 pm

    My five year old would love this!

  27. Avatar
    Sherrie C.
    December 18, 2012 at 1:04 pm

    My granddaughter would love Crayola® Beginnings™ Color Me A Song!

    callawishes(at)hotmail(dot)com

  28. Avatar
    Chelsea
    December 19, 2012 at 12:10 am

    I would love the Crayola® Dry-Erase Activity Center

  29. Avatar
    judy gardner
    December 20, 2012 at 8:57 pm

    love the sketcher projector

  30. Avatar
    Kerry G.
    December 22, 2012 at 8:08 am

    My son would love the Crayola® Toy Story Glow Board

  31. Avatar
    Samantha Daleo
    December 22, 2012 at 9:48 pm

    I like the Toy Story Glow Board.

  32. Avatar
    Barbara Montag
    December 23, 2012 at 12:40 am

    I also like this – Crayola® 12″ Crafting Kit – Pages in Motion!
    Thank you.

  33. Avatar
    Mary Williams
    December 26, 2012 at 10:09 am

    My son would love the Glow Explosion Spin Magic!

  34. Avatar
    Gianna
    December 26, 2012 at 2:13 pm

    Crayola crayon maker.

  35. Avatar
    ulie murphy
    December 27, 2012 at 6:17 am

    sketcher projector

  36. Avatar
    kelly willis
    December 27, 2012 at 1:02 pm

    Telescoping Crayon Tower – 150 ct. Story Studio

  37. Avatar
    richelle bowers
    December 27, 2012 at 4:54 pm

    glow station

  38. Avatar
    Julie Lynn Bickham
    December 27, 2012 at 6:04 pm

    My daughter would love the Crayola Model Magic Presto Dots Petals Flowers.

  39. Avatar
    Seyma Shabbir
    December 27, 2012 at 10:07 pm

    The Sketcher projector

  40. Avatar
    Barbara A. Ramirez
    December 28, 2012 at 12:38 am

    The Ultimaate Art Kit! Nice..

  41. Avatar
    Kambrea
    December 28, 2012 at 7:14 am

    The glow dome is really neat!

  42. Avatar
    Amber
    December 28, 2012 at 11:58 am

    Glow Station!

  43. Avatar
    Lisa Williams
    December 28, 2012 at 12:25 pm

    The Crayon Maker and the Sketcher Projector are very cool!

  44. Avatar
    Luda
    December 28, 2012 at 4:52 pm

    Crayola® Crayon Maker with Story Studio would be fun for kids!

  45. Avatar
    Candace
    December 28, 2012 at 5:20 pm

    The glow book

  46. Avatar
    Alex Roach
    December 28, 2012 at 8:52 pm

    I would get the glow station!

  47. Avatar
    Sarah
    December 28, 2012 at 10:30 pm

    Digitools is great! One day I am going to get this for my 5 yr old daughter, who has taken my iPad completely over.

Comments are closed.