Workman Publishing: Science Books for Kids Workman Publishing: Science Books for Kids

Workman Publishing: Science Books for Kids

This post may contain affiliate links and/or Amazon Affiliate links. Please see my full disclosure policy for details.

 Workman Publishing Company, is the creator of award-winning calendars, cookbooks, parenting, pregnancy guides, and fun, educational children’s titles, as well as gardening, humor, self-help, and business books.

I received three books to review from Workman Publishing, there were so many to choose from but I choose some for my boys. I received these over the holidays so they had plenty of time to try a lot of the science experiments out.

STAR WARS: A SCANIMATION BOOKSTAR WARS: A SCANIMATION BOOK:

Imagine: the first Star Wars book that actually moves, bringing to life the most memorable scenes from the epic: Obi-Wan battles Darth Maul, The Millennium Falcon zooms away from an exploding Death Star, Luke rides a galloping Tauntaun, Yoda twirls his green lightsaber, Boba Fett blasts up, up and away!

I got this Star Wars Book for my three-year-old. He has a book similar to this but it about sports. He loves dueling it out with the lightsabers with his brothers so I knew he would like this book. The pictures are very cool! With every little move of the page, the images seem to come alive. Available on Amazon.

POTATO CHIP SCIENCEPOTATO CHIP SCIENCE:

Potato Chip Science is the book and kit that’s an irresistible introduction to science for 8- to 12-year-olds. Here are 29 incredible experiments—plus one edible project—that use potato chips, potatoes, potato chip bags, tubes, and lids. Included in the bag are a 96-page two-color book and a dozen items that kids can use for “snacktivities”.

My eleven-year-old loves science! It has so many science kits, test tubes and things “growing”, we had to set up a Science Area in the basement just for him. My only concern was when he came running upstairs with a bubbling substance overflowing from the test tube! Luckily all his chemicals are safe…I hope. Potato Chip Science actually comes in a giant potato chip bag, how clever. The best part is that almost all the parts you need for the experiments are included in the bag, except for the smaller everyday household items. One of the experiments he liked was the Potato Battery. Not only are there step by step instructions, but pictures of the experiment and what items are needed. Available on Amazon.

RELATED:  Penguins of Madagascar Printable Activitiy Pages #PenguinsInsiders

Potato Chip Science: 29 Incredible Experiments

 

THE BOOK OF TOTALLY IRRESPONSIBLE SCIENCETHE BOOK OF TOTALLY IRRESPONSIBLE SCIENCE:

Introducing 64 valuable science experiments that snap, crackle, pop, ooze, crash, boom, and stink! From Marshmallows on Steroids to Home-Made Lightning, the Sandwich Bag Bomb to Giant Air Cannon, The Book of Totally Irresponsible Science awakens kids’ curiosity while demonstrating scientific principles like osmosis, air pressure, and Newton’s Third Law of Motion.

I guess the best part is that every experiment my son does, demonstrates real science. I just have to keep telling myself that! Each experiment has a Take Care Bubble to let you know what exactly to watch out for in the experiment. It also has a Scientific Excuse Bubble to let you know the reason behind the experiment. A few experiments he tried included Frankenstein’s Hand where you mixed vinegar and baking soda to watch the rubber glove wave from the top of a glass. And the bacon Smokescreen, we were making bacon anyway, you need the grease, string to act as a wick and aluminum foil. At least, he thought it was cool! Available on Amazon.

 

GIVEAWAY!CLOSED

THIS GIVEAWAY IS NOW CLOSED – WINNER # 54 CRYSTAL – I SENT YOU AN EMAIL!

1 winner will receive both Potato Chip Science and Totally Irresponsible Science, (RV $31)!

To Enter: Visit Workman Publishing and let me know what other books you found that seem interesting

Thank You Workman Publishing  for this great giveaway!

Extra Entries: These are to be completed only after initial entry. All entrants that do not do the initial entry will be disqualified. Please leave a separate comment for each extra entry.

This giveaway is open to US Residents until 9:00 pm Eastern on 2/22/2011. The winner will be chosen using the random.org generator. The winner will have 48 hours to respond to my email before a new winner is selected. Good luck and don’t forget to leave your email if it is not on your profile. I will contact the winner via email.

Disclosure: I was provided with product for this review. All views and opinions with regard to the products or the company are my own and were not influenced by the company.

   

You Might Also Like

Previous Story
Next Story

106 Comment

  1. Christine W
    February 16, 2011 at 3:47 am

    I have been wanting the book AMAZING COWS. I could really use both Potato Chip Science and Totally Irresponsible Science books in the classroom.

  2. Christine W
    February 16, 2011 at 3:48 am

    Follow CintiCoupons on Twitter

  3. Christine W
    February 16, 2011 at 3:52 am

    I like Cincinnati Coupons on Facebook and left a comment.

  4. Christine W
    February 16, 2011 at 3:53 am

    Subscribe to Cincinnati Coupons by RSS Feed and FREE Email Subscription.

  5. Cindy
    February 16, 2011 at 5:39 pm

    The Little Book of Big Brain Games.

  6. Cindy
    February 16, 2011 at 5:44 pm

    Like you on FB.

  7. Cindy
    February 16, 2011 at 5:44 pm

    Email subscriber.

  8. carole
    February 16, 2011 at 6:06 pm

    I like the cake doctor
    carole
    gram122@comcast.net

  9. carole
    February 16, 2011 at 6:08 pm

    email subscriber
    carole
    gram122@comcast.net

  10. Heidi W.
    February 16, 2011 at 7:32 pm

    I would love the book 1,000 Garden Ideas By Stafford Cliff

  11. Heidi W.
    February 16, 2011 at 7:34 pm

    I”m a Facebook fan.

  12. andrea v
    February 16, 2011 at 9:44 pm

    1,000 Places to See in the U.S.A. & Canada Before You Die

  13. andrea v
    February 16, 2011 at 9:45 pm

    follow you on twitter-vickers2622

  14. andrea v
    February 16, 2011 at 9:45 pm

    email subscriber

  15. kelly
    February 16, 2011 at 9:49 pm

    The Little Book of Big Brain Games!!

  16. kelly
    February 16, 2011 at 9:50 pm

    EMAIL SUBSCRIBER

  17. Gale
    February 17, 2011 at 11:35 am

    10 Minute puppets look interesting!

  18. mistee
    February 17, 2011 at 8:58 pm

    I like the 1,000 Places to See in the U.S.A. & Canada Before You Die book, and the Little Book of Big Brain Games.

    misteedawnw at aol dot com

  19. Lorna Schuster
    February 17, 2011 at 9:49 pm

    I had not heard of “Curly Girl: The Handbook” until viewing the Workman Publishing website –I need that book!

    losweep @ gmail dot com

  20. Lorna Schuster
    February 17, 2011 at 9:51 pm

    I already follow Cinti Coupons on Twitter @losweep

    losweep @ gmail dot com

  21. Holly G.
    February 18, 2011 at 2:27 am

    My family would have lots of fun with the Backyard Explorer Kit and The Bones Book & Skeleton.

  22. Ron C
    February 18, 2011 at 2:58 am

    I’d love to win these. I do science experiments with my son every week.
    I also like Number Jugglers

  23. lisa
    February 18, 2011 at 8:24 am

    The Little Book of Big Brain Games

  24. Anne
    February 18, 2011 at 8:35 am

    My daughter would like “dance first, think later”

  25. Anne
    February 18, 2011 at 8:37 am

    I am a facebook fan (Anne Jolly)

  26. Anne
    February 18, 2011 at 8:37 am

    I follow on twitter, lunaj1456

  27. Kim
    February 18, 2011 at 8:41 am

    Dance First, Think Later. Thanks!

  28. Steph
    February 18, 2011 at 2:10 pm

    I liked The Little Book of Big Brain Games.

  29. Steph
    February 18, 2011 at 2:11 pm

    I follow you on Twitter (mnsteph)

  30. Steph
    February 18, 2011 at 2:11 pm
  31. Diane R.
    February 18, 2011 at 10:40 pm

    I liked Amazing Cows. Humor appeals a lot to my grandkids.

  32. Amanda
    February 18, 2011 at 11:14 pm

    I would like the Little Book of Big Brain games.

  33. Steph
    February 19, 2011 at 7:56 am
  34. Tiffany
    February 19, 2011 at 11:27 am

    The indestructibles books look really cute.

  35. MamaHen
    February 19, 2011 at 5:09 pm

    I would love to have all the Sandra Boyton books. They are so fun!

  36. Amy
    February 19, 2011 at 7:50 pm

    The Little Book of Big Brain Games looks up my kids alley

  37. Amy
    February 19, 2011 at 7:50 pm

    Like on facebook

  38. Amy
    February 19, 2011 at 7:50 pm

    Follow on Twitter

  39. Amy
    February 19, 2011 at 7:51 pm

    Subscribe to email

  40. Sarah
    February 20, 2011 at 6:44 am

    “knit your own dog” looks interesting

  41. Sarah
    February 20, 2011 at 6:45 am

    Following on the Twitter @sarohioan

  42. dianad
    February 20, 2011 at 6:56 am

    1,000 places to See Before You Die is another book of interest. Thanks for the wonderful giveaway

  43. Jackie Watson
    February 20, 2011 at 3:28 pm

    I would love to have the Around the Corner Crochet Borders By Edie Eckman book.

  44. Jackie Watson
    February 20, 2011 at 3:28 pm

    I follow on twitter (at kroshey)

  45. Jackie Watson
    February 20, 2011 at 3:29 pm

    I like you on Facebook.

  46. Tammy Darling
    February 20, 2011 at 11:37 pm

    I like 365 Simple Science Experiments with Everyday Materials !

  47. Tammy Darling
    February 20, 2011 at 11:39 pm

    I follow you on twitter!
    ymmat83

  48. Crystal
    February 21, 2011 at 9:26 am

    I like the Generation T book
    Thanks!!

  49. Crystal
    February 21, 2011 at 9:27 am

    email subscriber

  50. Lauren
    February 21, 2011 at 1:04 pm

    papertoy monsters sounds good

  51. Lauren
    February 21, 2011 at 1:04 pm

    follow you on twitter – shootingstarmag

  52. Lauren
    February 21, 2011 at 1:05 pm

    i like you on facebook

  53. Melissa M
    February 21, 2011 at 2:29 pm

    I like the paper toy monsters too!

  54. Rachel
    February 21, 2011 at 2:52 pm

    I would like Amazing Cows

  55. Katie S.
    February 21, 2011 at 4:04 pm

    dammit, stupid capcha… I had a lovely message typed out, but it got cleared. Screw it.

    I’d also want “Real Happiness”.

  56. amie d
    February 21, 2011 at 7:19 pm

    My son would also love the book Papertoy Monsters! Thanks!

  57. amie d
    February 21, 2011 at 7:21 pm

    twitter follower amied027.

  58. amie d
    February 21, 2011 at 7:22 pm
  59. amie d
    February 21, 2011 at 7:22 pm

    FB follower a rene denning.

  60. Ed Nemmers
    February 21, 2011 at 9:33 pm

    My books of choice are “Dance First. Think Later” and “The Earthbound Cook”!

  61. theodore esteghamat
    February 22, 2011 at 12:33 am

    I like the 3650 jokes book.

    theolotto@yahoo.com.au

  62. theodore esteghamat
    February 22, 2011 at 12:42 am

    Email subscriber.

    theolotto@yahoo.com.au

  63. Elsie
    February 22, 2011 at 7:21 am

    Perfect giveaway for a new science teacher!!

    Also I see the book National Book Award-winner :
    “Doctors” by Sherwin B. Nuland…
    a history of medicine written by a surgeon, sounds excellent and inspiring!

  64. debi jackson
    February 22, 2011 at 8:59 am

    i woukld like amazing cows

  65. debi jackson
    February 22, 2011 at 8:59 am

    email sub

  66. debi jackson
    February 22, 2011 at 9:01 am

    fb like

  67. debi jackson
    February 22, 2011 at 9:02 am

    follow on tw as jacksondeb

  68. Shelley C
    February 22, 2011 at 11:55 am

    I’d love to get the Have-More Plan garden book. Thanks

  69. DanV
    February 22, 2011 at 11:56 am

    I like Indestructibles: Hickory Dickory Dock

  70. Shelley C
    February 22, 2011 at 11:57 am

    I follow you on twitter @mrspoofa. Thanks

  71. susan smoaks
    February 22, 2011 at 12:36 pm

    I also like the Indestructibles: Frere Jacques book

  72. Jennifer M
    February 22, 2011 at 1:08 pm

    I’d like

    Big Box of Boynton
    By Sandra Boynton

  73. Jennifer M
    February 22, 2011 at 1:09 pm

    Twitter follower as jennem1.
    http://twitter.com/jennem1

  74. Jennifer M
    February 22, 2011 at 1:17 pm

    Facebook follower as Jennifer Maslowski

  75. kathy pease
    February 22, 2011 at 1:41 pm

    i like jacket image for 100 Flowers and How They Got Their Names

  76. kathy pease
    February 22, 2011 at 1:48 pm
  77. kathy pease
    February 22, 2011 at 1:53 pm

    rss google feed subscriber
    kathypease(at)gmail(dot)com

  78. Amanda
    February 22, 2011 at 2:03 pm

    I like Creep Crawl indestructible book.
    jandrmom2009 at gmail dot com

  79. Amanda
    February 22, 2011 at 2:04 pm

    I am an email subscriber
    jandrmom2009 at gmail dot com

  80. amber
    February 22, 2011 at 2:06 pm

    I liked the perfect piggies book.

  81. Mandy Agnello
    February 22, 2011 at 4:35 pm

    A litle book of big brain games

  82. Mandy Agnello
    February 22, 2011 at 4:36 pm

    I like you on facebook

  83. Mandy Agnello
    February 22, 2011 at 4:36 pm

    I follow you on twitter @jeffandmandy

  84. Shelby
    February 22, 2011 at 5:06 pm

    They have so many cookbooks that I would love to try. Thanks!

  85. Leah Walker
    February 22, 2011 at 5:20 pm

    I would also love to have 10 Herbs for Happy Healthy Dogs and 8 Simple Rules for Dating My Teenage Daughter.

    lewalk(at)hotmail(dot)com

  86. Kimberly
    February 22, 2011 at 5:20 pm

    I’ve been wanting The Indestructibles books for my 17 month old – she tears everything she gets her hands on!

  87. Leah Walker
    February 22, 2011 at 5:20 pm

    Follow you on twitter.

    lewalk76

  88. Kimberly
    February 22, 2011 at 5:21 pm

    Follow you on twitter (@kcoud33)

  89. Leah Walker
    February 22, 2011 at 5:22 pm

    Like you on FB.

    lewalk76

    Leah W.

  90. Leah Walker
    February 22, 2011 at 5:23 pm

    Email subscriber.

    lewalk(at)hotmail(dot)com

  91. Kimberly
    February 22, 2011 at 5:24 pm
  92. Kimberly
    February 22, 2011 at 5:26 pm

    Like you on Facebook

  93. Kimberly
    February 22, 2011 at 5:26 pm

    Email subscriber

  94. linda bryant
    February 22, 2011 at 5:30 pm

    the papertoy monster would be a big hit, we love paper fun.

  95. Diane Baum
    February 22, 2011 at 5:44 pm

    The Little Book of Big Brain Games!!

  96. Mary J
    February 22, 2011 at 6:06 pm

    I need the Be Thrifty book.

  97. Mary J
    February 22, 2011 at 6:07 pm

    Email subscriber.

  98. Mary J
    February 22, 2011 at 6:08 pm

    I like CC on FB.-Mary Jaco.

  99. heather c
    February 22, 2011 at 7:47 pm

    WoodsWalk and Oh, Yuck! would be appreciated around here.

  100. heather c
    February 22, 2011 at 7:47 pm

    I follow you on twitter – choochoo428

  101. heather c
    February 22, 2011 at 7:49 pm
  102. Chandra Morse
    February 22, 2011 at 8:29 pm

    The Making Felted Friends Book looks like it would be Fun!

  103. Chandra Morse
    February 22, 2011 at 8:33 pm

    I subscribe to your email.

  104. Chandra Morse
    February 22, 2011 at 8:34 pm

    I like you on FB!

  105. Chandra Morse
    February 22, 2011 at 8:35 pm

    I follow you on twitter
    (ChandraM0123)

  106. Veronica Garrett
    February 22, 2011 at 8:44 pm

    Cake Doctor sounds interesting.

Comments are closed.