THE MARVELS by Brian Selznick THE MARVELS by Brian Selznick    

THE MARVELS by Brian Selznick

This post may contain affiliate links and/or Amazon Affiliate links. Please see my full disclosure policy for details.

Marvels_Cover

THE MARVELS by Brian Selznick

About the Book

From the Caldecott Medal–winning creator of The Invention of Hugo Cabret and Wonderstruck comes a breathtaking new voyage. 

In this magnificent reimagining of the form he originated, two stand-alone stories—the first in nearly 400 pages of continuous pictures, the second in prose—together create a beguiling narrative puzzle.

The journey begins on a ship at sea in 1766, with a boy named Billy Marvel. After surviving a shipwreck, he finds work in a London theatre. There, his family flourishes for generations as brilliant actors until 1900, when young Leontes Marvel is banished from the stage. 

Nearly a century later, Joseph Jervis runs away from school and seeks refuge with an uncle in London. Albert Nightingale’s strange, beautiful house, with its mysterious portraits and ghostly presences, captivates Joseph and leads him on a search for clues about the house, his family, and the past.

THE MARVELS art workTHE MARVELS art work

 

A gripping adventure and an intriguing invitation to decipher how the two narratives connect, The Marvels is a loving tribute to the power of story from an artist at the vanguard of creative innovation.

 

MarvelsTeaserTourYOU EITHER SEE IT OR YOU DON’T
Unlock the mystery of THE MARVELS. Join Joseph, a young boy in 1990 London, as her pieces together clues found in his uncle’s mysterious house. Who are the Marvels? And how are they connected to Joseph?

Follow the YOU EITHER SEE IT OR YOU DON’T tour to hear mysterious recordings by Brian Selznick, get a sneak peek at artwork from the book, and discover souvenirs from inside THE MARVELS house. What do they mean? You either see it or you don’t.

Stay Connected: #TheMarvels

RELATED:  May the 4th Be With You on this Star Wars Day! Check Out These Cool Star Wars Crafts #MayThe4thBeWithYou

The Marvles Giveaway

 

Giveaway:CLOSED

THISGIVEAWAY ISNOW CLOSED: WINNER Sheila K.

One reader will receive A copy of The Marvels, A custom The Marvels jigsaw puzzle and $25 Visa gift card. See form for Entry Details. Open to U.S. residents. You must be 18 years old to enter to win. This giveaway ends at 11:59 PM EST on 9.18.15

 

All entries will be verified. Only one entrant per mailing address per giveaway. If you have won the same prize on another blog, you will not be eligible to win it again. The winner will be chosen randomly through Giveaway Tools and contacted via email. A reply to the winning email is required within 48 hours before a new winner is chosen. Void where prohibited by law. One person entering per household please. The Review Wire is not responsible for shipment of prize.

 

Get Email Updates! 

Sign up to Receive the Latest with The Review Wire Newsletter!


Join the Review Wire Giveaway Groupies Facebook Group Banner. 2jpg        

You Might Also Like

Previous Story
Next Story

22 Comment

  1. Avatar
    Elena
    September 4, 2015 at 3:25 pm

    My son would love this book. The mysterious story line sounds exciting.

  2. Avatar
    Amy Z.
    September 4, 2015 at 4:03 pm

    The mystery and the London/sea settings sound intriguing. And the illustrations look wonderful!

  3. Avatar
    Candie L
    September 4, 2015 at 7:22 pm

    I love the look and the feel of the book. This is a classic book that needs to be up the library. Thank you

  4. Avatar
    Sandra Watts
    September 4, 2015 at 7:26 pm

    I want to unlock the mystery. This sounds like a good book and I love the cover.

  5. Avatar
    Fee Roberts
    September 4, 2015 at 7:34 pm

    I like that you have to find out how the two stories connect and the mystery involved. I also like the idea of pictures to go along with the story that might hold clues to the mystery. Sounds so intriguing.

  6. Avatar
    Pamela Gurganus
    September 4, 2015 at 7:39 pm

    What excites me the most about this book is the pictures and the story line. This is definitely a book my entire family would enjoy reading!

  7. Avatar
    Natalie
    September 4, 2015 at 7:50 pm

    What intrigues me most about this book is that this is a book I can read with my nephew! I also love to read mysteries, especially those set back in history.

  8. Avatar
    Leigh Anne Borders
    September 4, 2015 at 10:35 pm

    This author is fabulous! I fell in love with his books when he wrote Hugo. Such a beautiful story and the illustrations and two stories weaving together–I love it! I also love his book called Wonder that is set in the same style too. I can’t wait to read this new book. I am already singing up to see him in person as he is traveling to Atlanta to promote this book!

  9. Avatar
    Holly Thomas
    September 5, 2015 at 3:28 am

    I would like to add this book to my collection because of it’s beauty alone.

  10. Avatar
    Julie Lundstrom
    September 5, 2015 at 12:29 pm

    My son loves marvel. He loves to read and I want him to read as much as possible. He would like to read these books.

  11. Avatar
    Cynthia R
    September 8, 2015 at 9:43 am

    Besides the gift card, I am most excited about the beautiful book, I love the cover. It’s so intricate and pretty.

  12. Avatar
    steve weber
    September 8, 2015 at 12:46 pm

    I’m excited because I can really dig deep into the history of these comics.. plus with full color it will bring the comics to life.

  13. Avatar
    heather
    September 8, 2015 at 8:13 pm

    We would love to add this book to our shelf. I think the mysterious story line would be our favorite part.

  14. Avatar
    Laura J
    September 9, 2015 at 1:02 am

    I am most excited because of the two stand-alone stories—the first in nearly 400 pages of continuous pictures, the second in prose! That sounds so neat and I cannot read and see how they come together!

  15. Avatar
    Mary Bearden
    September 11, 2015 at 7:56 am

    I love reading books that have nothing to do with my life or this life in general. I read fantasy type books so that I can escape into a world where it doesn’t involve me and I can just enjoy the story and not worry about anything, because it’s all make believe.

  16. Avatar
    Jane Ritz
    September 14, 2015 at 2:14 pm

    I like the look of the book. The cover is intriguing. It looks like it would be a great mystery,

  17. Avatar
    Shannon
    September 16, 2015 at 1:51 am

    It sounds like a really good plot! The cover really pulls me to the book as well…

  18. Avatar
    Jerry Marquardt
    September 17, 2015 at 4:35 am

    I love Marvel so much, especially The Incredible Hulk. I would buy this collection, because it looks like a great collection.

  19. Avatar
    Shakeia Rieux
    September 17, 2015 at 6:31 am

    It’s the story line that excites me

  20. Avatar
    amanda sakovitz
    September 17, 2015 at 10:28 am

    The storyline really excites me. I can’t wait to see what happens.

  21. Avatar
    Hannah C
    September 17, 2015 at 7:42 pm

    What excites me most about this book is the mysteriousness. I love mystery books and movies.

  22. Avatar
    Lily Kwan
    September 18, 2015 at 9:11 am

    The storyline excites me the most. I’ll definitely check out this book!

Comments are closed.