Read The Books That Inspired Dreamwork's HOME Movie Read The Books That Inspired Dreamwork's HOME Movie    

Read The Books That Inspired Dreamwork’s HOME Movie

This post may contain affiliate links and/or Amazon Affiliate links. Please see my full disclosure policy for details.

You’ve seen the commercials for the new Dreamwork’s HOME movie. Now, find out about the author behind the books that inspired that movie!

Adam Rex is the New York Times best-selling author and illustrator of Frankenstein Makes A Sandwich.  His other books include Pssst!MoondayThe True Meaning of SmekdayFat Vampire, and Cold Cereal. He also illustrated the Brixton Brothers series, Billy Twitters and his Blue Whale Problem, and Chloe and the Lion, all by Mac Barnett and Chu’s Day by Neil Gaiman. He lives in Tucson, Arizona. Visit him at adamrex.com

HOME Movie_Smekday_Reading

Photo Credit: DreamWorks Home (c) 2015 DreamWorks Animation L.L.C.

TrueMeaningofSmekDay

ABOUT THE TRUE MEANING OF SMEKDAY – The book that inspired the HOME Movie!

It all starts with a school essay.

When twelve-year-old Gratuity (“Tip”) Tucci is assigned to write five pages on “The True Meaning of Smekday” for the National Time Capsule contest, she’s not sure where to begin. When her mom started telling everyone about the messages aliens were sending through a mole on the back of her neck? Maybe on Christmas Eve, when huge, bizarre spaceships descended on the Earth and the aliens—called Boov—abducted her mother? Or when the Boov declared Earth a colony, renamed it “Smekland” (in honor of glorious Captain Smek), and forced all Americans to relocate to Florida via rocketpod?

In any case, Gratuity’s story is much, much bigger than the assignment. It involves her unlikely friendship with a renegade Boov mechanic named J.Lo.; a futile journey south to find Gratuity’s mother at the Happy Mouse Kingdom; a cross-country road trip in a hovercar called Slushious; and an outrageous plan to save the Earth from yet another alien invasion.

RELATED:  Limeapple Sport Activewear for Girls Review

Fully illustrated with “photos,” drawings, newspaper clippings, and comics sequences, this is a hilarious, perceptive, genre-bending novel from best-selling author Adam Rex.

SmekforPresident

ABOUT SMEK FOR PRESIDENT

In this much-anticipated sequel to The True Meaning of Smekday, Tip and J.Lo are back for another hilarious intergalactic adventure. And this time (and last time, and maybe next time), they want to make things right with the Boov.

After Tip and J.Lo banished the Gorg from Earth in a scheme involving the cloning of many, many cats, the pair is notorious—but not for their heroics. Instead, human Dan Landry has taken credit for conquering the Gorg, and the Boov blame J.Lo for ruining their colonization of the planet. Determined to clear his name, J.Lo, and Tip pack into Slushious, a Chevy that J.Lo has engineered into a fairly operational spaceship, and head to New Boovworld, the aliens’ new home on one of Saturn’s moons.

But their welcome isn’t quite as warm as Tip and J.Lo would have liked. J.Lo is dubbed Public Enemy Number One, and Captain Smek knows that capturing the alien is the only way he’ll stand a chance in the Boovs’ first-ever presidential election.

With the help of a friendly flying billboard named Bill, a journey through various garbage chutes, a bit of time travel, and a slew of hilarious Boovish accents, Tip and J.Lo must fight to set the record straight—and return home in one piece.

Stay Connected: #Smekday #HOME

Activity Pages:

Join the Review Wire Giveaway Groupies Facebook Group Banner. 2jpg        

You Might Also Like

Previous Story
Next Story

36 Comment

  1. Avatar
    steve weber
    April 10, 2015 at 10:07 am

    I think this is a great movie for kids.. It teaches them about road trips. and with books they can stop and look at all the pictures and ask any questions they have.

  2. Avatar
    bill norris
    April 10, 2015 at 1:03 pm

    I havent seen the movie yet, but i saw the short before another movie and liked it. The books look very cool as well and I’d love to check them out.

  3. Avatar
    Colleen Maurinac
    April 10, 2015 at 7:36 pm

    This looks like a great movie for the whole family! I would love to take my little grandson to see it.

  4. Avatar
    Natalie
    April 10, 2015 at 7:37 pm

    Finally a family friendly movie comes out! My kids might be encouraged to read the books.

  5. Avatar
    Leigh Anne Borders
    April 10, 2015 at 8:31 pm

    We saw this the movie yesterday. It was so sweet! I would love to have these books so we can continue the fun!

  6. Avatar
    Helen Wagner
    April 10, 2015 at 9:06 pm

    Oh! My kids are anxious to see this movie! It is a movie for the whole family that is wholesome!

  7. Avatar
    Julie Bickham
    April 10, 2015 at 9:20 pm

    We have not read the books or seen the movie yet. All three of my kids wants to see the movie.

  8. Avatar
    Bonny McDevitt
    April 10, 2015 at 10:19 pm

    My daughter is so anxious to see this movie everytime a commercial for it comes on she is glued. She is a huge lover of books as well, I am positive she would love this! thanks so much for the chance!

  9. Avatar
    Teresa Richards
    April 10, 2015 at 11:19 pm

    My grandson wants to see this movie. He has been telling me so, since they started previews of it on TV. He is 6 and picks only a rare few movies to be his favorites. He has chosen this one. Thanks for this. 🙂

  10. Avatar
    Jan Lee
    April 11, 2015 at 12:22 am

    The movie looks cute for kids that are a little older. I don’t think toddlers would understand the concept of a new world and aliens taking over. They might laugh at the funny creatures and things they do, but I think it’s more for kids in the 3rd to 6th grade range and older 🙂

  11. Avatar
    Pamela Gurganus
    April 11, 2015 at 1:00 am

    These books sound great! My niece would absolutely love them. She’s coming to visit next week for her spring break and we’re going to see HOME in the theater. I can’t wait!

  12. Avatar
    Heather in VA
    April 11, 2015 at 10:04 am

    I loved this book and am very excited to see the movie. I know my two girls will really like it.

  13. Avatar
    Sharon Kaminski
    April 11, 2015 at 10:10 am

    I would love to have the movie and books for us and the grandkids to watch and read. It looks like a good one.

  14. Avatar
    Holly Thomas
    April 11, 2015 at 3:23 pm

    i am looking forward to taking my nieces to see this.

  15. Avatar
    Melissa Shirley
    April 11, 2015 at 5:31 pm

    I have never read the books or seen the movie. I do think that I would love the movie because I love Jim Parsons and believe that this movie looks so cute from the movie trailers that have been advertised.

  16. Avatar
    Beth T.
    April 12, 2015 at 1:27 am

    I think this looks like a good family movie. I am always looking for a movie with a non-princess-y female protagonist.

  17. Avatar
    Debbie Welchert
    April 12, 2015 at 12:57 pm

    I have never seen the movie. It sounds like a great family movie to watch with my grandchildren.

  18. Avatar
    sandra davis
    April 13, 2015 at 1:53 am

    This really looks like a cute movie for the whole family to watch. I love that it has Jim Parsons in it.

  19. Avatar
    Wendy R.
    April 13, 2015 at 4:01 am

    I think the movie looks really fun and imaginative. Both my husband and I really enjoy the animated movies.

  20. Avatar
    David Fultner
    April 13, 2015 at 5:15 pm

    This looks very cute. I will take my niece to see it.

  21. Avatar
    Alison Tolar
    April 13, 2015 at 7:43 pm

    I’m thinking this movie will be cute and funny. I think my nephews would love both the books and movies.

  22. Avatar
    Barbara Montag
    April 13, 2015 at 11:05 pm

    The movie and books would be great reading.
    I know the grand daughters would love them!
    A clean interesting movie.
    thank you

  23. Avatar
    Ashley S
    April 15, 2015 at 9:41 am

    The movie looks really cute and I can’t wait to see it! I like to see family friendly movies.

  24. Avatar
    Cynthia R
    April 16, 2015 at 9:31 am

    The books sounds cute and so does the movie. We haven’t seen it or read the books yet but look forward to it.

  25. Avatar
    Emily Endrizzi
    April 17, 2015 at 12:11 am

    I haven’t seen this movie yet, but my kids saw it with their dad. They absolutely loved it. They would be thrilled to own a copy of their own.

  26. Avatar
    Diana
    April 17, 2015 at 6:35 am

    This movie and book look so cute. I didn’t know it was based on a book. I like Jim Parsons on BBT and Rihanna acts well from what I’ve seen so far in the ads.

  27. Avatar
    Julie Waldron
    April 18, 2015 at 2:52 pm

    I haven’t seen the movie yet but I’ve heard it’s cute. I didn’t realize it was based on a book.

  28. Avatar
    Robin Abrams
    April 20, 2015 at 8:19 pm

    We have not read the books or seen the movie yet. My granddaughter would love the books she loves to read

  29. Avatar
    Michelle R
    April 23, 2015 at 7:57 am

    My kids are avid readers. I would love to give them the books because they really don’t get much of a chance to go to the movies.

  30. Avatar
    Mary Songer
    April 23, 2015 at 5:02 pm

    I haven’t seen the movie yet but the promos are great. Jim Parsons is terrific and very talented. It’s nice to see good movies for kids being made. Ones that the whole family can watch without the adults cringing because of inappropriate content.

  31. Avatar
    Laurie Nykaza
    April 23, 2015 at 11:58 pm

    We have not read the books or seen the movie but the family would love to all together.

  32. Avatar
    laurie murley
    April 24, 2015 at 12:58 pm

    I love to read these books. I would really love to see this movie.

  33. Avatar
    Susan Smith
    April 24, 2015 at 8:40 pm

    My kids want to see this movie. It looks so colorful and the characters look so cute.

  34. Avatar
    Margot C
    April 24, 2015 at 9:17 pm

    This book and film both look so charming. The author is so clever,

  35. Avatar
    Lily Kwan
    April 24, 2015 at 11:12 pm

    The books and the movie look very interesting. Thanks for the great giveaway!

  36. Avatar
    Sarah L
    April 24, 2015 at 11:35 pm

    I think it’s fun for kids to be interested enough in a movie to want to read the book. I’m reading The Longest Ride.

Comments are closed.