San Antonio Shoemakers: Sanibel Sandal Review San Antonio Shoemakers: Sanibel Sandal Review    

San Antonio Shoemakers: Sanibel Sandal Review

This post may contain affiliate links and/or Amazon Affiliate links. Please see my full disclosure policy for details.

I have not heard of SAS until recently. San Antonio Shoe Makers has 208 stores in the US and in 12 countries worldwide…how did I miss a shoe store?! Walking into the store, you feel like you stepped into another time period! 

SAS Store 6

SAS offers old fashion service with a personalized fitting. Since the shoes are made in the USA, you really need to head to the store to be properly fitted. While I normally wear a size 8, I measured a size 7. I was glad I had the chance to be measured in the store because the size 8 was way too big and would not have provided me the proper support.

The SAS Advantage:

  • They use the softest leather and quality materials
  • Their shoes are designed with innovative Tripad® comfort cushions for the three pressure points of the foot: inside the ball, outside ball and the heel
  • Flexible, lightweight sole provides maximum shock absorption, allowing for all-day wear
  • Wide variety and sizes and widths to choose from to ensure correct fit

Take a step back in time at the SAS Store:

SAS StoreSAS Store 2SAS Store 3SAS Store 5

 

I was able to pick out a pair of shoes while at the store and I just loved the Orange Sanibel sandal, it is a nice and summery color. This just happened to be a Limited Edition color so I was glad they had my size! The other Limited Edition colors include Lemon, Bluebonnet, Kiwi, and Raspberry. They are available in eight everyday colors as well.

RELATED:  Little Kids Toys Review: No Spill Bubbles

San Antonio Shoes

 

The Sanibel offers a broad contoured footbed that is covered in soft suede along with cushioned arch support. Because not all insteps are created equal, the buckle adjustment allows for customization of the fit; the buckle at the toe area is a special SAS feature which allows superior comfort.

I usually wear my shoes around the house for a while to ensure they fit properly and don’t bother my feet. Well, I took a risk and wore these out because they matched my outfit perfect! Not expecting to be out all day, I ended up on my feet the whole day running errands, carting the kids around and then heading to baseball games. My feet did not hurt at all at any point of the day. These shoes cradled my foot and gave me the support I needed. They are indeed comfortable!

SAS Sanibel Shoes

 

Me and my new SAS Sanibel Shoes – what do you think?

Sanibel Sandal 

Stay Connected:

Buy It:

  • While SAS shoes are not sold on their site, you can use the SAS store locator to find a location near you. If you happen to be in San Antonio, you can visit SAS Shoe Factory and General Store where tours are available.
Join the Review Wire Giveaway Groupies Facebook Group Banner. 2jpg        

You Might Also Like

Previous Story
Next Story

36 Comment

  1. Avatar
    Rebecca Parsons
    July 1, 2014 at 11:54 am

    I love the look of these shoes and the three point comfort solution.

  2. Avatar
    Kim C
    July 1, 2014 at 12:47 pm

    I love the cushioned arch support, this is great for sandals..especially when I have always heard that sandals can be bad for your feet. Also i like the buckle adjustment..great way to fit my feet.

  3. Avatar
    Sara Zielinski
    July 1, 2014 at 1:25 pm

    I like the fact that these shoes have great support, sounds like they would be great for me since I have foot problems and I have a very hard time finding shoes in my size at the big box shoe stores.

  4. Avatar
    Mary Beth 4767
    July 1, 2014 at 7:22 pm

    These sandals look great. I wish I could wear them. My feet don’t work in sandals… thanks for making new styles SAS!!!

  5. Avatar
    Leora
    July 1, 2014 at 8:21 pm

    I love mine too! I noticed one day at the mall my feet didn’t hurt when usually they would! The orange look great on you!

  6. Avatar
    Wehaf
    July 1, 2014 at 9:31 pm

    Those sandals look much more comfortable than my flip-flops (and better made, too!). I like that they have shoes in different widths – lots of brands don’t, and as a wide-footed person I find it very frustrating.

  7. Avatar
    Lois
    July 1, 2014 at 9:57 pm

    SAS have always been my favorite shoes and now the new styles and colors have made me like them even more. Thanks for your wonderful workmanship!

  8. Avatar
    Jane Ritz
    July 1, 2014 at 10:40 pm

    I had no idea SAS was out of San Antonio. I like that they use the softest leather. I have back problems and their shoes to help me walk better. Your review is wonderful. I learned a lot.

  9. Avatar
    Melissa S
    July 1, 2014 at 10:46 pm

    Those are really cute sandals, love the color. I browsed their catalog and they have quite a few cute styles.

  10. Avatar
    Christy H
    July 2, 2014 at 12:14 pm

    I love that they care enough about their customers to do a custom fit! That’s amazing.n5nm

  11. Avatar
    Gail Williams
    July 2, 2014 at 1:20 pm

    I am a little older and remember when every shoe store
    measured your foot. SAS cares enough to fit the shoe properly. I will get this brand in the future.

  12. Avatar
    Helga
    July 2, 2014 at 8:21 pm

    I love wearing sandals and these look so comfortable!

  13. Avatar
    Natalie Brown
    July 3, 2014 at 9:07 am

    These sandals are so cute! I’ve never heard of them either but I found that they are sold near me. It’s great that they use the softest leather & are made for comfort. Thank-you for the information & review!

  14. Avatar
    Sherry Compton
    July 4, 2014 at 4:39 pm

    It’s great that they are made in the USA. I love it when I can buy American. Sounds like these use great quality materials, and I like the you get them custom fit. I don’t always know what size to order.

  15. Avatar
    Anita
    July 5, 2014 at 7:53 pm

    You have made me and all my girl’s customers,thanks for sharing.

  16. Avatar
    linda moore
    July 7, 2014 at 11:28 am

    These are great looking sandles!They look so comphy and soft.Thank you for the post.

  17. Avatar
    Cindy McElwee
    July 7, 2014 at 2:44 pm

    Wonderful product, looks so comfortable. Handcrafted makes them even better. Great design.

  18. Avatar
    Heather McKenzie Carter
    July 9, 2014 at 12:31 pm

    I had no idea I had a store so close to me- that offered this kind of serious customization. This looks like a company that is serious about giving their customer the best shoe, that fits perfectly in serious quality materials.

  19. Avatar
    Jennifer Tarver
    July 11, 2014 at 8:59 am

    These look so comfortable. I used to wear SAS shoes in the 80’s, but I didn’t know they still made shoes.

  20. Avatar
    Amber Mejia
    July 11, 2014 at 9:25 am

    These sandals are adorable. I like that they are made in the USA and that they are comfortable to wear.

  21. Avatar
    Nelda Gay
    July 11, 2014 at 10:05 am

    I am so glad that you mentioned the sizing. It is always great to be measured for a proper fit. I wouldn’t want to order these online and get a pair way too big because that would be very disappointing. The shoes are so nice!!

  22. Avatar
    June S.
    July 11, 2014 at 10:49 am

    They have so many wonderful pairs of good comfortable shoes to wear. I use to wear their shoes when I worked at Red Lobster waiting tables years ago. They really helped my sore and tired feet too.

  23. Avatar
    Priscilla
    July 11, 2014 at 12:42 pm

    Love the color you picked! Bluebonnet sounds really pretty. I’d love to see more of their colors and other styles.

  24. Avatar
    Merry Wise
    July 11, 2014 at 9:26 pm

    SAS shoes are the most comfortable and long-lasting shoes I have ever worn. Love them!

  25. Avatar
    jenn huey
    July 12, 2014 at 4:18 pm

    We have a SAS store near us but its not as cute as the store in your photos, with the general store etc. I love the color shoe you chose and I would choose the same color

  26. Avatar
    Marcy
    July 12, 2014 at 4:36 pm

    SAS shoes are the most comfortable in the world!

  27. Avatar
    Bethany
    July 12, 2014 at 5:52 pm

    I bought a pair of these last summer and have enjoyed them. We always like to stop at at SAS store when we are in San Antonio.

  28. Avatar
    Sandra Efstathiou
    July 12, 2014 at 5:54 pm

    I will take the sanibel if I win.

  29. Avatar
    Sandee Wright
    July 13, 2014 at 8:18 am

    My mother told me about SAS and I’m glad she did! Love my huaraches. Hope I win the drawing. 🙂

  30. Avatar
    Mary Jo Kupsch
    July 13, 2014 at 12:02 pm

    Love my SAS shoes!!! So comfortable and don’t hurt my feet and that is something I can’t say too often about other shoes.

  31. Avatar
    Christina
    July 13, 2014 at 12:04 pm

    Beautiful new line. Why would you wear anything else?

  32. Avatar
    Natalie Nichols
    July 13, 2014 at 12:21 pm

    I like the look of everything. It looks really rustic and the shoes look perfect.

  33. Avatar
    Tami Hammack
    July 13, 2014 at 8:07 pm

    I love SAS shoes! I’ve been wearing them for over 20 years. They are the only kind of shoes I buy because they are so comfortable & fit my long feet.

  34. Avatar
    Jennifer Hiles
    July 15, 2014 at 2:32 pm

    I really love the designs they have on their site. I love that they are made from leather and the Tripad® comfort cushions sounds interesting. I had never heard of SAS until now so thank you for introducing me to a new company that is made in the USA!

  35. Avatar
    Nancy
    July 15, 2014 at 10:11 pm

    SAS makes great shoes that are so comfy. As you found, they also have wonderful customer service!

  36. Avatar
    Just B
    July 15, 2014 at 11:13 pm

    I love SAS shoes. They are so comfortable. I have several pair and will continue purchasing them.

Comments are closed.