ROOM the Movie | The Review Wire ROOM the Movie | The Review Wire

ROOM the Movie (2015)

This post may contain affiliate links and/or Amazon affiliate links; I will be compensated if you make a purchase after clicking on my links. Please see my full disclosure policy for details.

ROOM opens in Theaters November 6, 2015

Both highly suspenseful and deeply emotional, ROOM is a unique and unexpectedly tender exploration of the boundless love between a mother and her child under the most harrowing of circumstances.

ROOM movie still

Jack (Jacob Tremblay) and Ma (Brie Larson) are pictured in a scene from “The Room”(Caitlin Cronenberg, courtesy of A24)

ROOM tells the extraordinary story of Jack (Jacob Tremblay), a spirited 5-year-old who is looked after by his loving and devoted Ma (Brie Larson).  Like any good mother, Ma dedicates herself to keeping Jack happy and safe, nurturing him with warmth and love, and doing typical things like playing games and telling stories. Their life, however, is anything but typical—they are trapped—confined to a windowless, 10-by-10-foot space, which Ma has euphemistically named “Room.” Ma has created a whole universe for Jack within Room, and she will stop at nothing to ensure that, even in this treacherous environment, Jack is able to live a complete and fulfilling life. But as Jack’s curiosity about their situation grows, and Ma’s resilience reaches its breaking point, they enact a risky plan to escape, ultimately bringing them face-to-face with what may turn out to be the scariest thing yet: the real world.

 

At once a taut narrative of captivity and freedom, an imaginative trip into the wonders of childhood, and a profound portrait of a family’s bonds and fortitude, ROOM is a beautifully transcendent experience based on the award-winning global bestseller by Emma Donoghue. Director Lenny Abrahamson (FRANK) remains faithful to the novel while bringing Jack, Ma, and their entirely singular world to heart-pounding and intensely cinematic life. ROOM demonstrates the triumphant power of familial love even in the darkest of circumstances and is sure to take its place among the most emotionally affecting films to ever explore the bond between parents and children.

RELATED:  SpongeBob SquarePants: Extreme Kah-Rah-Tay DVD

Behind the Scenes:
EMMA DONOGHUE

Screenwriter and Novelist Emma Donoghue will share highlights from her journey in turning her best-selling novel into a feature film. She will post twice a week (Tuesdays and Thursdays) on the official ROOM website, sharing thoughts from before, during, and after the shoot. Each post will include never-seen pictures or behind the scenes videos from set. Take a look at her first posts below and tune in every Tuesday and Thursday for her latest post! RoomMovie.com/EmmasCorner 

Download a ROOM 7 Page Faith Discussion Guide, just click on the image!

ROOM Faith Discussion Guide

Stay Connected#ROOMmovie

Buy It: ROOM along with other Emma Donoghue novels can be found on Amazon

Disclosure: This is a sponsored post on behalf of Review Wire Media for A24. I received information to facilitate my review as well as a promotional item to thank me for my participation.

Get Email Updates! 

Sign up to Receive the Latest with The Review Wire Newsletter!

Join the Review Wire Giveaway Groupies Facebook Group. 2jpg        

You Might Also Like

Previous Story
Next Story

41 Comment

  1. Avatar
    Margot C
    October 23, 2015 at 2:27 am

    Picket Fence is producing a 502 (Bad gateway) error, so you aren’t getting your votes!

    1. Avatar
      Dena
      October 24, 2015 at 6:55 am

      Thanks, it looks like they are no longer in business. I removed that option.

  2. Avatar
    Natalie
    October 23, 2015 at 8:26 am

    I have never heard of this book before but it looks like something I would enjoy reading! I would love to see the dynamic between Jack and his mom

  3. Avatar
    June S.
    October 23, 2015 at 8:45 am

    I have been reading some very good things about this book, I really want to read it.

  4. Avatar
    Carol
    October 23, 2015 at 9:32 am

    I never heard of the book before. I thought the trailer looked good.

  5. Avatar
    shelly peterson
    October 23, 2015 at 12:27 pm

    I have not heard of the book nor read it. This looks like a really good movie.

  6. Avatar
    bill norris
    October 23, 2015 at 12:48 pm

    I have not had a chance to read it. But it does sound like a good read.

  7. Avatar
    Naomi
    October 23, 2015 at 1:17 pm

    I heard an interview with the author on NPR and it sounded like such an unusual take on a sensationalistic story. I am curious to see the film but I’d like to read the book first.

  8. Avatar
    Margot C
    October 23, 2015 at 4:41 pm

    I have been reading nothing but unreserved praise for this film, and Larson’s performance is said to be getting Oscar buzz. I really want to see it and read the book.

  9. Avatar
    Jackie
    October 23, 2015 at 7:20 pm

    I have been wanting to read the book, and am looking forward to seeing the movie. It’s getting good reviews.
    Thank you!

  10. Avatar
    Sandra Watts
    October 23, 2015 at 7:33 pm

    This looks really good. I would love to read it.

  11. Avatar
    Elena
    October 23, 2015 at 7:37 pm

    I have not heard of this book before. I would like to see the movie, sounds good

  12. Avatar
    Pamela Gurganus
    October 23, 2015 at 7:41 pm

    I have heard of the book, but haven’t read it yet. I’d like to read the book and then see the movie. I think the trailer looks great.

  13. Avatar
    sarah k
    October 23, 2015 at 8:00 pm

    I haven’t heard of the book before, I saw the trailer and the strength that the mom had really pulled on my heart strings and has me wanting to read and watch the movie.

  14. Avatar
    Kasee Johnson
    October 23, 2015 at 10:23 pm

    My mom read the book and keeps bugging me to read it. I’ve put it off and put it off. I don’t even know why! I need to read it.

  15. Avatar
    Steven weber
    October 23, 2015 at 11:12 pm

    This is the first time I’m hearing of this movie.. I didn’t even know it was made from a book.

  16. Avatar
    jeanette sheets
    October 24, 2015 at 2:58 am

    OI AHVE NEVER HEARD OF THIS UNTIL NOW,!!I SO WANT TO SEE IT SEEMS TO BE VERY GOOD MOVIE !!

  17. Avatar
    Deborah D
    October 24, 2015 at 3:34 am

    I have never heard of the book. The movie trailer looks great!

  18. Avatar
    Stacy
    October 24, 2015 at 10:45 am

    I have heard of the book, but have not read it yet. I will definitely read it before the movie comes out, because I always have to read the book first.

  19. Avatar
    Laura J
    October 24, 2015 at 2:42 pm

    I really want to read this book! I am anxious to see how they do when they escape….sounds like a very emotional story!

  20. Avatar
    Leigh Anne Borders
    October 24, 2015 at 7:02 pm

    This looks such an intense movie. We love movies like this so we are looking forward to seeing it.

  21. Avatar
    jessica zj
    October 24, 2015 at 8:39 pm

    I have never read the book. I would love to read this!

  22. Avatar
    Sue Hull
    October 24, 2015 at 10:56 pm

    I want to read the book and see the movie. Im not able to do some of the entries. It says site is down. Thank you for the chance 🙂

  23. Avatar
    sandra davis
    October 25, 2015 at 2:54 am

    I have not read the book. But it seems like a very powerful story that I am very interested in seeing the movie.

  24. Avatar
    Natalie Brown
    October 25, 2015 at 7:40 am

    I haven’t heard of this book but, wow, it sounds like a great story. My favorite books/movies are true stories in which people overcome great obstacles and I would truly love to learn more about this tragic situation. Thank-you for this opportunity.

  25. Avatar
    Jennifer Rogers
    October 25, 2015 at 9:25 am

    I did see a trailer for the movie. It looked very good and truly frightening in the sense, is this for real!

  26. Avatar
    Sara Zielinski
    October 26, 2015 at 3:27 pm

    I have not heard of this book or movie. The trailer looks awesome though.

  27. Avatar
    sandra
    October 26, 2015 at 7:55 pm

    I have yet to read the book but have heard good things about it. I’ve also heard good things about the movie

  28. Avatar
    David Fultner
    October 27, 2015 at 9:50 pm

    I had not heard of this before now. Thank you for sharing the information.

  29. Avatar
    Tracy Robertson
    October 28, 2015 at 5:44 am

    Yes, I read this book and it was excellent! I took it with me everywhere because I couldn’t wait to read what would happen next. I’m always in the process of reading some book or another, but it takes a great one for me to carry it everywhere I go. I like the trailer and I hope this film comes to a theater near me because I will definitely go see it!

  30. Avatar
    Cynthia R
    October 29, 2015 at 11:41 am

    I have heard of the book and have it on my shelf but I haven’t had a chance to read it. I heard it was excellent though and I’m looking forward to both the book and the movie.

  31. Avatar
    shelly peterson
    October 30, 2015 at 1:44 pm

    I hadn’t read the book or heard of it until just recently. This looks like a really good movie.

  32. Avatar
    rochelle haynes
    November 3, 2015 at 7:37 am

    Love to see the movie
    and to read this book sounds good

  33. Avatar
    Stacy Renee
    November 5, 2015 at 7:12 am

    I’ve had this book in my huge tbr pile for a while but didnt realize it was beingbmade into a movie until this month! Im going to start it soon so I can eventually watch the film!

  34. Avatar
    denise low
    November 5, 2015 at 3:51 pm

    I have heard of the book but have not read it yet. Lots of people I know say it great.I am looking forward to reading it.

  35. Avatar
    Jane Ritz
    November 5, 2015 at 9:06 pm

    I had heard of this unfortunate happening. I didn’t know there was a book. It’s so amazing that she has bounced back as well as she has.

  36. Avatar
    Amanda Sakovitz
    November 6, 2015 at 2:33 pm

    Ive read the book and loved it. I can’t wait to see the movie.

  37. Avatar
    Betsy Rubendall Barnes
    November 6, 2015 at 6:46 pm

    I have not heard of the book or movie until now. It looks like it is a very interesting story. I would like to read the book before seeing the movie. 🙂

  38. Avatar
    Amy Z.
    November 6, 2015 at 9:14 pm

    I had not heard of the book before. I’ve seen good reviews for the move though, and the mother-son relationship looks really moving.

  39. Avatar
    Jerry Marquardt
    November 6, 2015 at 9:56 pm

    I have not read this yet. I would love to read this very soon.

  40. Avatar
    Lily Kwan
    November 7, 2015 at 12:05 am

    I haven’t heard of the book before. I thought the trailer was very interesting!

Comments are closed.