Real Steel Movie Fun Facts | The Review Wire Real Steel Movie Fun Facts | The Review Wire

Real Steel Movie Fun Facts

This post may contain affiliate links and/or Amazon affiliate links; I will be compensated if you make a purchase after clicking on my links. Please see my full disclosure policy for details.

Real Steel

 Real Steel from Dreamwork Pictures Hits the Theaters October 7:

A gritty, white-knuckle, action ride set in the near-future where the sport of boxing has gone high-tech, “Real Steel” stars Hugh Jackman as Charlie Kenton, a washed-up fighter who lost his chance at a title when 2000-pound, 8-foot-tall steel robots took over the ring. Now nothing but a small-time promoter, Charlie earns just enough money piecing together low-end bots from scrap metal to get from one underground boxing venue to the next. When Charlie hits rock bottom, he reluctantly teams up with his estranged son Max (Dakota Goyo) to build and train a championship contender. As the stakes in the brutal, no-holds-barred arena are raised, Charlie and Max, against all odds, get one last shot at a comeback.

FUN FACTS

  • “Real Steel” is set in the near future, where robots have replaced boxers in the ring, and is directed by Shawn Levy (“Night at the Museum,” “Date Night”).
  • “Real Steel” stars Hugh Jackman (“X-Men Origins: Wolverine,” “The Prestige”) as Charlie Kenton, a financially strapped, risk-taking former boxer who now makes his living on an underworld robot boxing circuit, operating the metal pugilists that made his human profession obsolete.
  • The robots each have a distinctive look, personality and color scheme and range in size from 7’6” to 8’5” in height. Based on human form, they each have two legs, two arms, a torso, and a head—with the exception of a two-headed bot aptly named “Twin Cities.”
  • In addition to their distinctive personas, every robot has a specific sound personality. When a robot lands a punch there’s a sound specific to his skeletal material, his mechanisms, his bulk, and his mass and there’s also an aura sound so that just merely by being turned on every robot has a whir or a whoosh or an engine hum or the sound or a computer.
  • Evangeline Lilly (“Lost”), who plays Bailey, never saw herself making a boxing film, but when she read the heartfelt script she was won over.
  • Toronto-native Dakota Goyo was chosen from thousands of 10-year-old boys who auditioned for the role of Max, Hugh Jackman’s on-screen son, as part of an international casting search.
  • Filming the robot boxing scenes were done with both motion-capture technology and practical-built, full-scale robots. The motion-capture elements were performed and shot months earlier on a stage in Los Angeles. Fighters were put in the ring wearing data-capturing jumpsuits and as they fought, their motions were converted into robot avatars in the computer and instantaneously appeared on the monitors on set. Then, during principal photography, the filmmakers lined up their cameras on an empty ring and the motion-capture data streamed through their cameras, allowing them to watch and frame the robot fighting in the ring in real-time.
  • Sugar Ray Leonard was hired by the filmmakers to serve as the film’s boxing consultant and to train Hugh Jackman for his appearance in the ring.
  • “Real Steel” costume designer Marlene Stewart created a wardrobe for Hugh Jackman’s character Charlie that was inspired by looks from the 1960s, drawing from rugged Americana styles. Even his sunglasses are retro.
  • In “Real Steel” there is a clear delineation between the two worlds of robot boxing. There is the official league (the WRB); it’s corporate-sponsored, with big money, sanctioned venues, and strict rules. Then there is the underworld, which has unsanctioned venues, with no rules, no restrictions—the robots fight to the death.
RELATED:  Free: The LEGO Movie Coloring Pages, LEGO Face Masks and LEGO Movie Valentine's Day Printables

Buy It: Real Steel Deluxe Feature Figures

Join the Review Wire Giveaway Groupies Facebook Group. 2jpg        

You Might Also Like

Previous Story
Next Story

44 Comment

  1. Avatar
    Karen
    October 5, 2011 at 5:41 pm

    I would like to win for my husband and kids

  2. Avatar
    Karen
    October 5, 2011 at 5:41 pm

    I receive your rss feed

  3. Avatar
    Robin
    October 7, 2011 at 12:01 am

    I’d win this for my husband

  4. Avatar
    Robin
    October 7, 2011 at 12:03 am

    FOllowing you on FB

  5. Avatar
    Robin
    October 7, 2011 at 12:04 am

    Following Real Steel on FB

  6. Avatar
    Robin
    October 7, 2011 at 12:04 am

    Tweeted about it

  7. Avatar
    Robin
    October 7, 2011 at 12:04 am

    Following you on twitter

  8. Avatar
    ♡♥♬ Raven In A Blue Room ♡♥♬
    October 7, 2011 at 2:20 am

    looks like a cool movie but I might go with my husband, since my kids are too young for it, he would love the swag for sure

    Thank you for hosting this giveaway

    Louis
    pumuckler {at} gmail {dot} com

  9. Avatar
    ♡♥♬ Raven In A Blue Room ♡♥♬
    October 7, 2011 at 2:20 am

    I added your feed to my google reader

    pumuckler {at} gmail {dot} com

  10. Avatar
    ♡♥♬ Raven In A Blue Room ♡♥♬
    October 7, 2011 at 2:21 am

    I like your blog on facebook (Louis Here)

    pumuckler {at} gmail {dot} com

  11. Avatar
    ♡♥♬ Raven In A Blue Room ♡♥♬
    October 7, 2011 at 2:21 am

    I like Real Steel on facebook (Louis Here)

    pumuckler {at} gmail {dot} com

  12. Avatar
    ♡♥♬ Raven In A Blue Room ♡♥♬
    October 7, 2011 at 2:21 am

    following you on twitter @left_the_stars

    pumuckler {at} gmail {dot} com

  13. Avatar
    Jenny
    October 9, 2011 at 5:47 pm

    I would like to win this for my husband.

  14. Avatar
    Jenny
    October 9, 2011 at 5:48 pm

    i follow on twitter. jenny_anwar

  15. Avatar
    Jenny
    October 9, 2011 at 5:49 pm

    I like The Review Wire on facebook.

    Jenny ‘Lemke’ Anwar

  16. Avatar
    Jenny
    October 9, 2011 at 5:49 pm

    I like Real Steel on facebook.

    Jenny ‘Lemke’ Anwar

  17. Avatar
    Jenny
    October 9, 2011 at 5:50 pm

    I subscribe to your emails.

  18. Avatar
    Charlotte Varner
    October 10, 2011 at 9:21 am

    I’d like to win this for the family. There’s something there for each of us!!

  19. Avatar
    Charlotte Varner
    October 10, 2011 at 9:22 am

    Following you on twitter *CharLuvsAbby3*

  20. Avatar
    Charlotte Varner
    October 10, 2011 at 9:22 am

    “Like” you on fb

  21. Avatar
    Charlotte Varner
    October 10, 2011 at 9:23 am

    Already a fan of Real Steel on fb

  22. Avatar
    Charlotte Varner
    October 10, 2011 at 9:24 am

    Email subscribed

  23. Avatar
    Tiffany A
    October 10, 2011 at 11:57 am

    I’d say my 12 year-old, but to be honest, my husband is probably more excited about this movie.

  24. Avatar
    Tiffany A
    October 10, 2011 at 11:58 am

    I like The Review Wire on Facebook

    Tiffany Ahotaeiloa

  25. Avatar
    Tiffany A
    October 10, 2011 at 11:58 am

    I like Real Steel on Facebook

    Tiffany Ahotaeiloa

  26. Avatar
    Tiffany A
    October 10, 2011 at 12:00 pm

    I subscribe via email

  27. Avatar
    Jamie Brigham
    October 10, 2011 at 4:47 pm

    I would like to win this for my nephew

  28. Avatar
    Jamie Brigham
    October 10, 2011 at 4:48 pm

    I am following You on Twitter- @cinderella10383

  29. Avatar
    Jamie Brigham
    October 10, 2011 at 4:49 pm

    I am a Fan of Yours on Facebook- Jamie Brigham *FB Name*

  30. Avatar
    Jamie Brigham
    October 10, 2011 at 4:49 pm

    I am a fan of Real steel movie on Facebook- Jamie Brigham

  31. Avatar
    Jamie Brigham
    October 10, 2011 at 4:49 pm

    I am subscribed via RSS through Google Reader
    Jamie Brigham *GR Name*

  32. Avatar
    Catalina P.
    October 10, 2011 at 5:54 pm

    I would like to win this for ♥ my daughter ♥. We both love action movies,and contest She’s away at Basic Training right now. So this would be fun to tell her about.

  33. Avatar
    Vicki Wurgler
    October 10, 2011 at 10:49 pm

    I’d like to win this for my son

  34. Avatar
    Vicki Wurgler
    October 10, 2011 at 10:49 pm

    e-mail subscriber

  35. Avatar
    Janet
    October 14, 2011 at 9:16 pm

    My husband and kids

  36. Avatar
    Rhonda M.
    October 14, 2011 at 10:46 pm

    I’d like to win this for my son.

  37. Avatar
    Rhonda M.
    October 14, 2011 at 10:46 pm

    Following on Twitter.

    @YummyBoyMummy

  38. Avatar
    Rhonda M.
    October 14, 2011 at 10:46 pm

    Like the Review Wire on Facebook

  39. Avatar
    Rhonda M.
    October 14, 2011 at 10:47 pm

    I like Real Steel on Facebook

  40. Avatar
    Rhonda M.
    October 14, 2011 at 10:47 pm

    Following via RSS

  41. Avatar
    Sarah Ulfers
    October 18, 2011 at 9:57 am

    FOllowing you on FB

  42. Avatar
    Sarah Ulfers
    October 18, 2011 at 9:57 am

    I liked Real Steel on Facebook

  43. Avatar
    Melissa
    October 18, 2011 at 6:04 pm

    I would like to win this for my son.

  44. Avatar
    Melissa
    October 18, 2011 at 6:13 pm

    I am a RSS feed subscriber!

Comments are closed.