Playing for Keeps Giveaway Playing for Keeps Giveaway

Playing for Keeps Review & Blu-ray DVD

This post may contain affiliate links and/or Amazon affiliate links; I will be compensated if you make a purchase after clicking on my links. Please see my full disclosure policy for details.

In Playing for Keeps, a retired soccer star, Gerard Butler, attempts to rebuild the relationship with his son and ex-wife, Jessica Biel, by coaching the soccer team. Although I like Gerard Butler, (I think it is the accent) when I saw the previews for this in the theaters it didn’t really seem like a movie I would like. Being that I don’t particularly like soccer or several of the stars in the movie, I was ready to write this one-off. Then I received a screener…


 
I really wouldn’t call this a romantic movie, but one where the moms of the soccer kids all think George is just all that and they all want a piece of him. But all he really wants is to do right by his son since he hasn’t been around and rekindle the relationship with his ex-wife who is now engaged to be married. This is a movie that I think people will be able to relate to the theme of returning home, soul searching, and having to grow up and finally becoming an adult.

RELATED:  Jingle All the Way 2 Blu-ray #JingleInsiders

Playing for Keeps
DVD and Blu-ray bonus features include: 

  • Seven deleted scenes
  • Two featurettes:
  •     “The Playbook: Making Playing for Keeps” features filmmakers and cast discussing what it was like to shoot the   film
  •      “Creating an All-Star Team: The Cast of Playing for Keeps” offers a peek behind the camera for a look at the cast and filmmakers exploring what made each star perfect for their role

Stay Connected:

Join the Review Wire Giveaway Groupies Facebook Group Banner. 2jpg        

You Might Also Like

Previous Story
Next Story

73 Comment

  1. Avatar
    steve weber
    March 21, 2013 at 5:19 pm

    volleyball.. no I’ve never played professionally.

  2. Avatar
    Tammy S
    March 21, 2013 at 5:51 pm

    I was into track more then any other sport here.

  3. Avatar
    Will G
    March 21, 2013 at 6:14 pm

    Football. Definitely not… I am athletically challenged, though i do have fun playing anyways!

  4. Avatar
    Jackie
    March 21, 2013 at 6:30 pm

    Baseball is my favorite sport. I never played a sport professionally

  5. Avatar
    Lisa B.
    March 21, 2013 at 6:53 pm

    I like swimming and gymnastics! I did both when I was younger.

  6. Avatar
    Sacha Schroeder
    March 21, 2013 at 9:18 pm

    My favorite sport is football and I have never played a sport in any professional way!

  7. Avatar
    Cynthia R
    March 21, 2013 at 10:09 pm

    my favorite is football, never played any professional sports

  8. Avatar
    Susan Johnson
    March 22, 2013 at 3:02 am

    I am definitely a spectator more than an athlete, I haven’t played any sports for decades now, and have never played professionally.

  9. Avatar
    Susan Johnson
    March 22, 2013 at 3:04 am

    Oops, I do like soccer, and football.

  10. Avatar
    amyc
    March 22, 2013 at 8:44 am

    Football. Never played professional sport.

  11. Avatar
    Daniel M
    March 22, 2013 at 2:40 pm

    football never played professionally

  12. Avatar
    felecia
    March 22, 2013 at 3:01 pm

    Basketball, no way.

  13. Avatar
    Cheryl Abdelnour
    March 22, 2013 at 9:46 pm

    ALL 4 OF MY SONS PLAYED SOCCER. I TRULY ENJOYED WATCHING THEM PLAY. ME PLAY?? NO, I DIDN’T.

  14. Avatar
    Amy Orvin
    March 22, 2013 at 10:23 pm

    I like soccer and just played on teams as a kid.

  15. Avatar
    Sharon
    March 23, 2013 at 1:11 am

    my fave sport is the olympics, i guess it’s not a sport but a host event of all kinds of sports, both summer and winter.

  16. Avatar
    Kim Henrichs
    March 23, 2013 at 4:27 pm

    tennis is my favorite sport – love to play and watch

  17. Avatar
    Michael
    March 23, 2013 at 10:15 pm

    Professional wrestling. No, never.

  18. Avatar
    Lindsay
    March 24, 2013 at 1:38 am

    Soccer. no.

  19. Avatar
    Devin
    March 24, 2013 at 2:39 am

    baseball, i saw someone play it professionally

  20. Avatar
    meredith
    March 24, 2013 at 10:53 am

    I like college football!

  21. Avatar
    Monica P
    March 24, 2013 at 4:20 pm

    I love volleyball! I am athletically challenged but I love watching!

  22. Avatar
    Kathie Craig
    March 24, 2013 at 7:04 pm

    A long time ago I competed in track

  23. Avatar
    Tami Vollenweider
    March 24, 2013 at 7:25 pm

    I like football

  24. Avatar
    Heather
    March 24, 2013 at 10:07 pm

    I was a college rower!

  25. Avatar
    Jeana O'donnell-Murphy
    March 25, 2013 at 7:50 am

    I played fast pitch softball but not professionally.

  26. Avatar
    Alvina Castro
    March 26, 2013 at 3:50 am

    basketball

  27. Avatar
    Ashley S
    March 26, 2013 at 11:57 am

    I love basketball.. just played in school

  28. Avatar
    Lauren Becker
    March 26, 2013 at 5:47 pm

    I liked playing soccer when I was younger…nowadays, I’m mostly into hockey (when I can go to the game!)

  29. Avatar
    Luna Lolas
    March 27, 2013 at 6:23 am

    I would have to say Softball.. I use to play when i was in high school.

  30. Avatar
    amy williams
    March 27, 2013 at 8:55 am

    I never played sports but love watching my boys play baseball.

  31. Avatar
    sandra davis
    March 28, 2013 at 2:59 am

    my favorite sport is football though i never played professionally i do enjoy playing some with the kids

  32. Avatar
    Maria B
    March 28, 2013 at 9:20 pm

    Football and never played professionally though.

  33. Avatar
    JenVDM
    March 29, 2013 at 3:36 pm

    loved playing sports growing up

  34. Avatar
    carol
    March 29, 2013 at 5:06 pm

    soccer, never was a pro

  35. Avatar
    Carol W
    March 30, 2013 at 8:29 am

    I love to watch basketball. my sons play. thanks

  36. Avatar
    Yesenia
    March 31, 2013 at 1:10 pm

    I am not a big sports fan but soccer and tennis are sports I do enjoy following.

  37. Avatar
    Barb K
    March 31, 2013 at 8:16 pm

    My favorite sport is Football. I don’t play soccer. My cousin does.

  38. Avatar
    Noelle B.
    April 1, 2013 at 5:31 pm

    Yoga! Just for fun

  39. Avatar
    Hannah McNally
    April 1, 2013 at 5:35 pm

    My favorite sport is skiing – unfortunately I had a wrist injury/surgery which made it impossible for me to really do it as much as I did before without pain. I’ve never done it professionally though!

  40. Avatar
    Ellen Anderson
    April 1, 2013 at 10:18 pm

    I like Rugby and I have not played professionally. I just like to watch the game!

  41. Avatar
    Heather S.
    April 2, 2013 at 11:48 am

    Football. I’ve never played any sport professionally.

  42. Avatar
    Karen Propes
    April 2, 2013 at 6:50 pm

    Football is my favorite, but have never played professionaly.
    ncjeepster@aol.com

  43. Avatar
    Jenny
    April 2, 2013 at 11:43 pm

    My favorite sport is basketball. I have never played professionally. 🙂

  44. Avatar
    rebecca shockley
    April 2, 2013 at 11:50 pm

    I like Softball and no, never professionally

  45. Avatar
    Sheryl
    April 3, 2013 at 6:35 pm

    Football is my favorite. No I never played any sport professionally.

  46. Avatar
    Kathy D
    April 3, 2013 at 9:14 pm

    I like golf and I have played it but never well…..

  47. Avatar
    Jeni Monroe
    April 3, 2013 at 9:50 pm

    volleyball and no I never have played professionally

  48. Avatar
    kelly nicholson
    April 3, 2013 at 11:13 pm

    What is your favorite sport?

    GOLF…DONT PLAY IT ENOUGHT TO BE GOOD AT IT

  49. Avatar
    Allison
    April 3, 2013 at 11:42 pm

    Tennis

  50. Avatar
    Lesley F
    April 4, 2013 at 6:08 am

    Volleyball and I have never played professionally

  51. Avatar
    Nancy
    April 4, 2013 at 8:34 am

    I like to watch gymnastic and I’ve never personally been a gymnast at any level!

  52. Avatar
    Emily Adams
    April 4, 2013 at 9:00 am

    I would have to say gymnastics is my favorite! I have never participated but I love to watch it!

  53. Avatar
    kathy dalton
    April 4, 2013 at 9:09 am

    my favorite sport is nascar, and ive never played any sport professionally

  54. Avatar
    Lacey Galicia
    April 4, 2013 at 10:14 am

    I played basketball and softball in Highschool! I don’t think that counts as professionally though.

  55. Avatar
    Rhonda Martin
    April 4, 2013 at 10:19 am

    My favorite sport that I played is Basketball. My favorite sport to watch and wish I could of played (no girls allowed) is and was football. If there had been a swim team I definitely would of been swimmer. I only played sports in High school and I have never played as a professional in any kind of sport.
    Thanks for sharing this review and giveaway with all of us~!

  56. Avatar
    Jennifer Clay
    April 4, 2013 at 11:10 am

    Football

  57. Avatar
    Diana Hatch
    April 4, 2013 at 11:56 am

    I love watching baseball

  58. Avatar
    Carmen S
    April 4, 2013 at 12:41 pm

    Basketball, I haven’t played on a team since middle school, but I enjoy watching it.

  59. Avatar
    Claire
    April 4, 2013 at 1:08 pm

    Soccer, I’m terrible at it though lol

  60. Avatar
    Nikki Lynn Hanna
    April 4, 2013 at 2:04 pm

    My favorite sport is tennis, although I never played professionally

    greenday14fan@yahoo.com

  61. Avatar
    sonya
    April 4, 2013 at 2:47 pm

    beach volleyball never played professionally but love to watch!

  62. Avatar
    Deborah Mireles
    April 4, 2013 at 4:01 pm

    Im not really a sports fan but I will watch baseball with my husband occasionally

  63. Avatar
    In the Hammock
    April 4, 2013 at 4:42 pm

    i like most sports and i have definitely not played professionally!!

  64. Avatar
    K.Pugh
    April 4, 2013 at 5:19 pm

    Baseball is my favorite sport and I’ve never played professionally.
    Thanks for the chance.

  65. Avatar
    Pam
    April 4, 2013 at 7:03 pm

    My favorite sport is gymnastics. No, I have never played professionally – thankfully.

  66. Avatar
    Wendy Price
    April 4, 2013 at 7:14 pm

    I don’t care for sports but I did softball as a kid.

  67. Avatar
    julie murphy
    April 4, 2013 at 8:57 pm

    softball but not professional

  68. Avatar
    mary renshaw
    April 4, 2013 at 9:25 pm

    I love playing volley ball. I played in high school and college but never professionally. But I LOVE HOCKEY!!!!!

  69. Avatar
    Vicki Hale
    April 4, 2013 at 9:37 pm

    I played volleyball in high school, but I like watching baseball games now. Vicki

  70. Avatar
    Tami Valentine
    April 4, 2013 at 10:43 pm

    My favorite sport is soccer as all 3 of my kids have played for many years!

  71. Avatar
    Lu
    April 4, 2013 at 10:49 pm

    I was into volleyball but not professionally.

  72. Avatar
    Sue Hull
    April 4, 2013 at 11:39 pm

    Football not professional.I watch for the players.Thank you 🙂

  73. Avatar
    Lily Kwan
    April 5, 2013 at 9:50 am

    I don’t have a favorite sport and have never played professionally.

Comments are closed.