National Geographic Kids Books National Geographic Kids Books

National Geographic Kids Books: Weird But True, Almanac 2011 & The Big Book of Fun

This post may contain affiliate links and/or Amazon affiliate links; I will be compensated if you make a purchase after clicking on my links. Please see my full disclosure policy for details.

My 7 and 11-year-old love The National Geographic Kids Magazine. They have all the back issues stacked up and leaf through them while having a snack or when they are bored. My oldest loves saying, ” mom did you know…” or regaling me of some off-beat fact that only Nat Geo would research. So when I received these three awesome books; Weird But True, The Big Book Of Fun and The 2011 Almanac, I knew I would hear tons of trivia and facts.

Weird But True

Weird But True – Based upon the hugely popular page in the National Geographic Kids magazine, kids will definitely say “wow!,” “cool!” and “gross!” as they flip through the 301 outrageous facts and learn, for instance, that peanut butter can be converted into a diamond, an elephants tooth can weigh as much as a bowling ball and a dog can make about 100 different facial expressions!

In Weird But True did you know: If you run in the rain, you will get about 50% wetter than if you stand still? Or A hundred-year-old chocolate bar sold for nearly $700.

The Big Book of Fun

The Big Book of Fun – Featuring National Geographic’s signature photography and vivid graphics, this interactive game book includes over 75 games, mazes, fill-in-the-blank stories, trivia tests and more.

In The Big Book of Fun, my boys took this book on vacation. It kept them occupied in the car and at restaurants and even in the hotel before bed. Betcha didn’t know that it took 570 gallons of paint to paint the White House or in 1987 American Airlines saved $40,000 by eliminating ONE olive from each salad served in first class, and there is cell phone reception at the summit of Mt. Everest.

RELATED:  Treasure Buddies Printable Activities

National Geographic Kids Almanac 2011

National Geographic Kids Almanac 2011 – Introduced last year and updated for 2011, this best-selling almanac has quickly become the gold standard.  Kids will love the more than 50 puzzles, projects, and cool experiments, the 500 pictures of our planet and all that’s on it and the more than 5,000 fun and amazing facts.  Parents will love it because its chapters on science, geography, and history — plus more than 15 homework-helper sections — is a terrific way to kick-start their kids’ brains as the new school year approaches.

I looked through The Almanac 2011 and just kept flipping through it, I couldn’t put it down. It is divided into several sections like Wonders of Nature, Awesome Adventure and History Happens. With over 300 pages, it is sure to keep your kids entertained.

Buy It: You can purchase all The National Geographic for kids books at The National Geographic Store or on Amazon

Disclosure: I was provided with product for this review.  All views and opinions with regard to the National Geographic Kids Books or the company are my own and were not influenced by the company.

Get Email Updates! 

Sign up to Receive the Latest with The Review Wire Newsletter!

Join the Review Wire Giveaway Groupies Facebook Group. 2jpg        

You Might Also Like

Previous Story
Next Story

68 Comment

  1. Avatar
    Jennifer Barr
    September 1, 2010 at 9:08 am

    I learned national geographic has a magazine geared towards kids

  2. Avatar
    Jennifer Barr
    September 1, 2010 at 9:08 am

    Follow Cincinnati Coupons on Twitter
    @jennifer57

  3. Avatar
    Jennifer Barr
    September 1, 2010 at 9:09 am

    like Cincinnati Coupons on Facebook,

  4. Avatar
    Jennifer Barr
    September 1, 2010 at 9:09 am

    like National Geographic Kids on Facebook,

  5. Avatar
    Jennifer Barr
    September 1, 2010 at 9:10 am

    Subscribe to Cincinnati Coupons by RSS Feed

  6. Avatar
    Karen
    September 1, 2010 at 9:19 am

    The average American uses 2000 gallons water/day !

  7. Avatar
    Karen
    September 1, 2010 at 9:20 am

    I subscribe to your RSS feed

  8. Avatar
    Sharen
    September 1, 2010 at 12:18 pm

    I learned that Australia is the only country that covers the entire continent.

  9. Avatar
    Sharen
    September 1, 2010 at 12:18 pm

    I already follow you on @twitter

  10. Avatar
    Sharen
    September 1, 2010 at 12:22 pm

    I tweeted about this giveaway on @twitter

    “I’ve justed entered to winn @CincinnatiCoupons National Geographic Prize Pack!! RT@CincinnatiCoupons”

  11. Avatar
    Ria
    September 1, 2010 at 1:40 pm

    Here is a green tip for back-to-school that i learned from ngk –
    Use refillable pens and pencils.
    rmartinclarke at gmail dot com

  12. Avatar
    Ria
    September 1, 2010 at 1:41 pm

    i follow cc on twitter- rsmc1
    rmartinclarke at gmail dot com

  13. Avatar
    Ria
    September 1, 2010 at 1:44 pm

    cc fb fan- ria clarke
    rmartinclarke at gmail dot com

  14. Avatar
    lori
    September 1, 2010 at 3:29 pm

    I learned that our stretched out digestion system is about 30 feet!

  15. Avatar
    lori
    September 1, 2010 at 3:29 pm

    email subscriber!

  16. Avatar
    Victoria Zumbrum
    September 1, 2010 at 5:35 pm

    I am an email subscriber. Please enter me in contest. Tore923@aol.com

  17. Avatar
    Jo
    September 1, 2010 at 9:40 pm

    I learned that I could subscribe for $15/year
    strezo@sbcglobal.net

  18. Avatar
    Jo
    September 1, 2010 at 9:40 pm

    email subscriber
    strezo@sbcglobal.net

  19. Avatar
    Christie
    September 3, 2010 at 12:19 pm

    email subscriber

  20. Avatar
    Christie
    September 3, 2010 at 12:19 pm

    South Africa’s nickname is rainbow nation

  21. Avatar
    Christie
    September 3, 2010 at 12:19 pm

    fb fan

  22. Avatar
    Amanda
    September 3, 2010 at 6:00 pm

    Puffins “fly” through the water, they use their webbed feet to steer

  23. Avatar
    Amanda
    September 3, 2010 at 6:00 pm

    I like Cincinnati Coupons on facebook

  24. Avatar
    Amanda
    September 3, 2010 at 6:01 pm

    I subscribe via email

  25. Avatar
    Kathryn
    September 5, 2010 at 10:51 pm

    I learned that the T-Rex could eat more than 500 lbs of meat in one bite!

  26. Avatar
    Kathryn
    September 5, 2010 at 10:51 pm

    I subscribe by email.

  27. Avatar
    Kathryn
    September 5, 2010 at 10:51 pm

    I am a FB fan

  28. Avatar
    april yedinak
    September 6, 2010 at 6:23 pm

    I learned that National Geographic Kids is having a photo contest for children.
    ape2016(at)aol(dot)com

  29. Avatar
    april yedinak
    September 6, 2010 at 6:24 pm

    follow you on twitter
    @ape2016

  30. Avatar
    april yedinak
    September 6, 2010 at 6:24 pm

    like you on FB
    Fb ID april yedinak

  31. Avatar
    april yedinak
    September 6, 2010 at 6:25 pm

    i like National Geographic kids on FB
    FB ID april yedinak

  32. Avatar
    april yedinak
    September 6, 2010 at 6:25 pm

    subscribe via email

  33. Avatar
    katklaw777
    September 7, 2010 at 1:20 am

    I learned that they are celebrating 35 years of the National Geographic Kids magazine! thanks

  34. Avatar
    felecia
    September 7, 2010 at 11:36 am

    I learned that the there are four new lions at the National Zoo in Washington, D.C.

  35. Avatar
    felecia
    September 7, 2010 at 11:37 am

    email subscriber

  36. Avatar
    Heather
    September 7, 2010 at 11:47 am

    I learned that most water we consume is actually through our food we eat. And the “stump your parent” section was great!!!

  37. Avatar
    shawn'l
    September 7, 2010 at 1:48 pm

    I am an email subscriber.

  38. Avatar
    shawn'l
    September 7, 2010 at 1:50 pm

    oops, forgot to post about what I learned. I didn’t know NG had a kids mag. Who knew?! Now I have one Christmas gift taken care of this year. My 3 boys will love this!

  39. Avatar
    shawn'l
    September 7, 2010 at 1:51 pm

    already liked you on FB!!!

  40. Avatar
    shawn'l
    September 7, 2010 at 1:52 pm

    Liked NGKids on FB and found out they are celebrating 35 years of this mag. WOW!!!

  41. Avatar
    shawn'l
    September 7, 2010 at 1:53 pm

    Chnaged my FB status to : NationalGeographicGiveaway@CincinnatiCoupons
    Love that you have so many ways to enter your giveaways.

  42. Avatar
    Lina
    September 7, 2010 at 2:53 pm

    I learned that leatherback sea turtles have been around for 100 million years but now they’re critically endangered =(

  43. Avatar
    Lina
    September 7, 2010 at 2:53 pm

    Follow CIncinnati Coupons on twitter @lkim496

  44. Avatar
    gala
    September 7, 2010 at 3:09 pm

    there are a lot of activities for kids on their website

  45. Avatar
    Kerrie Mayans
    September 7, 2010 at 3:26 pm

    I learned that National Animal day is being celebrated at various zoos and online on their animal jam website.

  46. Avatar
    Kerrie Mayans
    September 7, 2010 at 3:29 pm

    follow on twitter as kmayans

  47. Avatar
    Christina Anne D.
    September 7, 2010 at 3:55 pm

    I learned that royal jelly is what bees feed the future queen bee to help her grow into the job of queen bee. Wow!!! we can buy royal jelly in the health food store and I didn’t even know what it really was til now:) annejk112233(at)yahoo.com

  48. Avatar
    Christina Anne D.
    September 7, 2010 at 3:57 pm

    I’m following Cincinnati Coupons on Twitter. annejk112233(at)yahoo(dot)com

  49. Avatar
    Christina Anne D.
    September 7, 2010 at 3:58 pm

    I tweeted about your giveaway (wowtotweet) annejk112233(at)yahoo.com

  50. Avatar
    Christina Anne D.
    September 7, 2010 at 3:58 pm

    I like Cincinnati coupons on FB. annejk112233(at)yahoo.com

  51. Avatar
    Christina Anne D.
    September 7, 2010 at 3:59 pm

    I like National Geographic for Kids on FB. annejk112233(at)yahoo(dot)com

  52. Avatar
    Christina Anne D.
    September 7, 2010 at 4:00 pm

    I subscribed to your email. annejk112233(at)yahoo(dot)com

  53. Avatar
    Christina Anne D.
    September 7, 2010 at 4:22 pm

    I changed my FB status to as follows: EducationOutdoorsGiveaway@CincinnatiCoupons

    annejk112233@yahoo.com

  54. Avatar
    Kerrie Mayans
    September 7, 2010 at 4:43 pm

    I subscribe to your rss feed with google reader.

  55. Avatar
    Beckee
    September 7, 2010 at 5:34 pm

    I follow you on Twitter @beckee13

  56. Avatar
    Shelby
    September 7, 2010 at 5:44 pm

    I learned that there are four new lions at the DC Zoo!
    Thanks!

  57. Avatar
    hannah
    September 7, 2010 at 5:53 pm

    I learned that it is an awesome resource site for kids, with games, activities, videos, stories and other things to keep your kids active!
    I learned that one of the games is called “Plan It Green” and is about choosing eco-friendly options for a town

    aigcanada7 at hotmail dot com

  58. Avatar
    hannah
    September 7, 2010 at 5:57 pm

    subscriber via email

    aigcanada7 (at) hotmail [dot] com

  59. Avatar
    hannah
    September 7, 2010 at 5:58 pm

    follow you on twitter (achrissmile)

    aigcanada7 at hotmail [dot] com

  60. Avatar
    hannah
    September 7, 2010 at 5:58 pm

    “like” you on facebook (hannah kn..)

    aigcanada7 (at) hotmail [dot] com

  61. Avatar
    hannah
    September 7, 2010 at 5:59 pm

    “like” national geographic on facebook (hannah kn..)

    aigcanada7 (at) hotmail [dot] com

  62. Avatar
    Susan
    September 7, 2010 at 8:46 pm

    I learned they have activities for you to do with your kids on their site!

  63. Avatar
    Susan
    September 7, 2010 at 8:46 pm

    I follow on Twitter (@CravingSavings).

  64. Avatar
    Susan
    September 7, 2010 at 8:47 pm

    I like you on Facebook.

  65. Avatar
    Susan
    September 7, 2010 at 8:47 pm

    I like National Geographic on Facebook.

  66. Avatar
    Susan
    September 7, 2010 at 8:48 pm

    I’m an email subscriber.

  67. Avatar
    Heather S
    September 7, 2010 at 10:29 pm

    I learned that bison dung was used for fuel for cooking and heating by the settlers.

  68. Avatar
    Heather S
    September 7, 2010 at 10:30 pm

    I follow you on twitter as hell_0kitty

Comments are closed.