Motorola Talkabout MS350R Two-Way Radio | Ends 8/31 - The Review Wire Motorola Talkabout MS350R Two-Way Radio | Ends 8/31 - The Review Wire    

Motorola Talkabout MS350R Two-Way Radio

This post may contain affiliate links and/or Amazon Affiliate links. Please see my full disclosure policy for details.
Motorola’s Talkabout MS350 is a high performance, ultra durable waterproof radio that’s right for the extreme outdoors. With a range of up to 35 miles and is packed with every possible radio feature.
Motorola Talkabout MS350R Two-Way RadiosIf you spend any amount of time doing activities you need a decent pair of handheld two way radios.
Sure we all have mobile phones but nothing beats the quick and easy back and forth of two way radio when you are camping, hiking or exploring.

The pair that Motorola provided for us to review are top of the line, loaded with almost every feature you could want. The most obvious and in my opinion, best overall feature is the weatherproof case.

Motorola claims these radios will float in water and will survive a dip in up to three feet of water. That feature alone is worth the higher than average cost ($99 MSRP). We have ruined a handful of radios after leaving them out in the yard during rain storms. These units would manage that with ease.

The radios are larges than many but not unwieldy. They come with detachable belt clips, a loop to connect a lanyard and a rather large, semi flexible rubber antenna. A benefit to the large size is that they take AA vs AAA alkaline cells. This permits longer run time and less of a risk of depleting power in the middle of an activity. The combo pack provided for testing included rechargeable batteries and a desktop, drop in charger. I only tested with the included rechargeable and thus cant comment on run time vs AA cells. We managed to get a full day of intermittent use from the pair while on an overnight camping trip. The units have separate HI and LO power push to talk buttons. In theory using the LO PTT button should allow for longer run time. Again, we didn’t test the impact of this. Please remember that terrain, channel setting and other factors will all impact overall run time.

The units are equipped with NOAA weather button to grab a fast local weather forecast. The display screen is backlight to view in low light and all there is an included LED flashlight. This small light is bright enough to see inside a dark tent or dig through a pack.

The supplied case is bright yellow and can be changed if accessory covers are purchased.

You can also use Motorola accessories such as microphones and chargers to enhance the functionality of the units.

While the cost is higher than other units on the market I believe these units are a strong value because they are weather proof. You can take them outdoors and near water with no worry of damage. Again, they even float so rafters and boaters can feel comfortable packing these.

WATERPROOF – SURVIVES WATER DUNKS AND HEAVY DOWNPOURS

  • Fishing, kayaking, swimming or simply heading for a great day of fun with family or friends near the water? The Motorola MS350 2-Way waterproof radio is a must have to ensure you have a reliable means of communication under harsh weather conditions. Don’t worry about transmission failure when it makes contact with water. Its IP-67 standard withstands constant submersion of up to 1m for 30 minutes and repels the heaviest of rain droplets.
RELATED:  Tea Collection Fall Favorites for Picture Day

IT FLOATS – MAKES FOR EASY RECOVERY

  • If your MS350 radio happens to fall into the water, don’t despair, the radio floats and is visible on the water surface. Once recovered, use your MS350 radio to keep talking and listening.

HEADSET CONNECTOR – USE WITH YOUR FAVORITE MOTOROLA AUDIO ACCESSORIES

  • Hands-free devices provide you with many advantages, the main ones being discreet communication, sound enhancement in noisy environments, and the ability to multitask.

ERGONOMIC DESIGN – FUNCTIONAL BUT SLEEK

  • It’s hourglass shape fits snugly into the palms of your hands reducing fatigue and discomfort. The non-slip ridges, on its base housing, eliminate annoying hand slips.

REPEATER FUNCTION – IMPROVES YOUR COVERAGE BEYOND THE HORIZON

  • Maximize your camping, sporting or hunting experience by improving your radio transmission coverage when talking to family or group members who sometimes wander far beyond the line of sight. Thanks to the built-in repeater channels, the MS350 works well with a local repeater station to carry your signal further. Take advantage of this value-added feature by switching to GMRS channels 15R-22R, but don’t forget you’ll need a GMRS license and an accessible repeater station to take advantage of this unique feature.

NOAA WEATHER CHANNELS

  • Want to keep in touch with changing weather conditions during your family camping adventure? No need to stop the fun — weather alerts will provide your group with warnings of incoming storms or dangerous conditions. And, by tuning in to one of 7 NOAA channels (National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration) on your MS350, you will always know what to pack with continuous local and regional weather broadcasting.

Buy It:

Motorola Talkabout MS350R Two-Way Radios:CLOSED

THIS GIVEAWAY IS NOW CLOSED – SEE BELOW FOR WINNER

1 Winner Will Receive the Motorola Talkabout MS359R! Open to U.S. residents only. You must be 18 years old to enter to win. See Rafflecopter for entry details. Ends 8/31

a Rafflecopter giveaway
Back To School Hop

Welcome to the Back To School Spree!

Make sure to hop though all the blogs to enter to win some great back to school goodies!

An email address is required to enter. The winner will be chosen randomly through Rafflecopter and contacted via email. A reply to the winning email is required within 48 hours before a new winner is chosen. One person entering per household please. U.S. only. This giveaway ends at 11:59 PM EST on Aug. 31, 2012.

Disclosure: I was provided with product for this review. All views and opinions with regard to the Motorola Talkabout MS350R Review, products or the company are my own and were not influenced by the company. Formula Mom, 7 on a Shoestring, and the Back to School Spree bloggers are not responsible for sponsors that fail to fulfill their prizes.

Sign up to Receive FREE Daily Updates with The Review Wire  Newsletter!


Join the Review Wire Giveaway Groupies Facebook Group Banner. 2jpg        

You Might Also Like

Previous Story
Next Story

47 Comment

  1. Avatar
    Kathy (Kangaroo Mama)
    August 17, 2012 at 5:31 am

    I would love to win them for my nephew, he would have a blast with them!

  2. Avatar
    Kathy Ross
    August 17, 2012 at 10:47 am

    It would be easier than yelling upstairs. lol

  3. Avatar
    Audra Weathers
    August 17, 2012 at 2:15 pm

    These would make a great Christmas gift for a hunter I know.

  4. Avatar
    polly
    August 17, 2012 at 4:54 pm

    my nephew would love them!

  5. Avatar
    Debbie W.
    August 17, 2012 at 10:20 pm

    I would like to win them for my nephew and his daughter!

  6. Avatar
    Cara
    August 18, 2012 at 10:29 am

    I would like them for backing my boat up

  7. Avatar
    Kristie
    August 18, 2012 at 4:43 pm

    I’d like to win these so we can carry them around when we’re shopping and I can find those I’m with if we get separated. (I don’t have a cell phone.)

  8. Avatar
    Mia J
    August 18, 2012 at 5:44 pm

    I would like to win these for my daughter.

  9. Avatar
    Amanda
    August 18, 2012 at 7:35 pm

    I want to win these for my husband.

  10. Avatar
    Ann Fantom
    August 19, 2012 at 1:30 pm

    I would like to win these radios for when we go to amusement parks so we can stay in touch with each other

  11. Avatar
    Amy W.
    August 19, 2012 at 2:57 pm

    I’d like to win these for my son.

  12. Avatar
    susan
    August 19, 2012 at 4:53 pm

    I’d love to win them for my hubby.

  13. Avatar
    Traci Lynn Butler
    August 19, 2012 at 5:31 pm

    Would like to have these for when we go hiking

  14. Avatar
    Stephanie Hungerford
    August 19, 2012 at 8:16 pm

    I would love to have these so that I can leave on with a friend near by so that I can have an added measure of safety since this Two-way radio is water proof this would add a measure of safety in case I fell in the tub. I have a cell phone but I keep it as far away from the water as possible. This could be placed on the edge of the tub with out fear.

  15. Avatar
    Brynn
    August 19, 2012 at 9:35 pm

    I would win these for my uncle!

  16. Avatar
    Kristen
    August 19, 2012 at 9:56 pm

    I’d like to win them for a friend who stages alot of events and could really use these to keep track of the team.

  17. Avatar
    Terri P
    August 19, 2012 at 11:13 pm

    I’d love to win these radios for my husband — he’s a Land Surveyor!

    Terri P
    pr4gatheringroses AT gmail DOT com

  18. Avatar
    Sandy VanHoey
    August 20, 2012 at 4:54 am

    I would like to win for my grandson

  19. Avatar
    felecia
    August 21, 2012 at 12:08 pm

    I would like to win them for my son.

  20. Avatar
    carol roberts
    August 21, 2012 at 8:04 pm

    my son hed love these id could talk to him outside

  21. Avatar
    Sherry S.
    August 23, 2012 at 6:47 am

    These would be great for my nephews.

  22. Avatar
    Tamra H
    August 23, 2012 at 1:41 pm

    I’d love to win these for my dad, he’s always mentioned how he would love to have a pair for traveling. Would make his day! 🙂

  23. Avatar
    marci h
    August 23, 2012 at 1:55 pm

    i would like to win them for my kids cause we always go on nature walks and i could know where they were at all times 🙂

    marci h
    tristatecruisers at yahoo dot com

  24. Avatar
    Sacha Schroeder
    August 23, 2012 at 2:43 pm

    We live in the country and these would be perfect when the kids are playing in the woods on their adventures!

  25. Avatar
    Cassandra Eastman
    August 23, 2012 at 5:14 pm

    I’d love to use these with my 3 year old son! He’d love to use them while he plays in the backyard so I can keep an extra eye on him!

  26. Avatar
    kelly nicholson
    August 23, 2012 at 5:23 pm

    Tell me why you would like to win these walkies. Or who you would like to win them for.

    i want to snoop on people

  27. Avatar
    Sherrie C.
    August 23, 2012 at 10:03 pm

    I would love to win these for my son.

    Thanks for the giveaway 🙂

    callawishes(at)hotmail(dot)com

  28. Avatar
    Mary Withrow
    August 24, 2012 at 2:53 am

    We love to go camping and horse back riding and 4 wheeling on weekends in the area rec parks. We have serveral within a 5 hour radius. We go our own ways and meet friends and these would be fantastic to use!

  29. Avatar
    Kimberly B.
    August 24, 2012 at 10:21 am

    I’d like to win these for my husband.

  30. Avatar
    Ron Casteel
    August 24, 2012 at 12:12 pm

    they would make a great gift for my grandson

  31. Avatar
    Tracy Awalt Juliano
    August 26, 2012 at 4:33 pm

    I’d love to win these for my daughter.

  32. Avatar
    Selinda
    August 27, 2012 at 8:09 pm

    I think my 8 year old would love to share a set of these with his best friend a few blocks away!

  33. Avatar
    Paul T/Pauline T
    August 29, 2012 at 12:23 am

    I would like to win this for my hubby and son who go camping alot – – – Paul T/Pauline T aka Paul Tran….. emscout9 at Hotmail dot com

  34. Avatar
    Michele Behlen
    August 29, 2012 at 11:31 pm

    i would like them for my husband when he is hunting.

  35. Avatar
    Cheryl Free
    August 30, 2012 at 4:56 am

    It would be easy to keep in touch with Scott 🙂 *Thanks* for the giveaway!

  36. Avatar
    micheal dale grim
    August 30, 2012 at 5:52 am

    i want to win these for my 2 kids !!!

  37. Avatar
    jodi lasher
    August 30, 2012 at 8:04 am

    I would love this for my step daughter. We live in a trailer park and she is a little young for a cell phone yet. This would be nice for her to have for when she walks up to her friends house, i would still be able to get a hold of her and make sure she is ok

  38. Avatar
    Jessica Barnett
    August 30, 2012 at 9:23 am

    my husband could use these for work. these are very awesome !

  39. Avatar
    Jeni Mitchell
    August 30, 2012 at 1:56 pm

    I would like to win these for my dad so we can communicate with him when he’s out working on the lawn. He doesn’t always know when to come in and these would allow us to tell him when it’s time to get off the toys (tractor) and to come inside.

  40. Avatar
    Betsy Rubendall Barnes
    August 30, 2012 at 5:13 pm

    I would like to win these because we live outside of town around of Christmas tree farms, so my son goes riding his motorbike on trails and these would be nice for him to keep in touch with me at home 🙂

  41. Avatar
    richelle bowers
    August 30, 2012 at 8:43 pm

    id like to win in for my husband

  42. Avatar
    Lauren
    August 30, 2012 at 8:53 pm

    i’d love to win these for my cousin and his dad to use

  43. Avatar
    Jessica K
    August 30, 2012 at 10:36 pm

    I want the walkies so I can play with my son with them

  44. Avatar
    meme
    August 31, 2012 at 1:10 am

    This would be for my older boys who would use them all the time I’m sure

    sorry I hit wrong button on rafflecopter I am a email subscriber but not rss

  45. Avatar
    Sonya
    August 31, 2012 at 8:51 am

    they would be great for camping

  46. Avatar
    Vadim
    August 31, 2012 at 7:54 pm

    i would love to take them camping or boating.

Comments are closed.