Modern Family Season 4: Tips for Modern Parents and Top 10 Pilisms Modern Family Season 4: Tips for Modern Parents and Top 10 Pilisms    

Modern Family Season 4: Tips for Modern Parents

This post may contain affiliate links and/or Amazon Affiliate links. Please see my full disclosure policy for details.

Modern Family Season 4

Modern Family has been one of my favorite shows to watch ever since it started. Everyone plays so well off each other. But my favorite character is Phil, the loving dad who really tries. The things he says and does are just hysterical. Do any of the characters remind you of anyone in your family?

In Modern Family Season 4, Jay and Gloria’s baby is on the way and Haley going off to college, the entire Pritchett/Dunphy clan faces some major surprises as they bicker and bond over house-flipping headaches, unwanted play dates, and everything from hot-tempered hormones to in utero karaoke. Featuring a stellar array of guest stars including Matthew Broderick, Shelley Long and Elizabeth Banks, Season Four takes a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud hilarious look at what it means to be a “Modern Family.” Out on video Sept. 24, 2013.

Back To School Tips For Modern Parents

Set Guidelines

  • Before you send off your precious son or daughter to fend for their selves in college, make sure you clearly discuss guidelines. Remind them that even though you are not there to set specific rules, they are still responsible for their actions. Claire and Phil certainly know what it’s like when your daughter calls you one night because they’ve been caught doing illegal things by the police.

Prepare Your Little One

  • Kindergarten is a huge step for your little one! Make sure they are prepared for their big day by giving them a basic educational foundation and teaching them to play well with others. When Lily heads off to kindergarten and gets in a tousle on her first day, Cam and Mitchell are put in a very awkward situation. No parent wants to be in the same situation!

Communication is Key

  • Set up specific times to continue growing as a family. There is a fine line between suffocating your college kid and staying informed about what’s going on in their life. Many families will select a certain time, for instance Sunday afternoons, to have family phone calls and catch up on the week’s happenings, even if they have talked throughout the week. Just because your son or daughter has moved out, it does not mean that your relationship has to suffer! In fact, sometimes parent-child relationships grow once the kid has left for college.

Distract Yourself

  • Plan a fun activity for yourself right after dropping your son of in his college dorm room or leaving your daughter for the first day of kindergarten. Have a distraction for yourself so that you don’t find yourself at home looking through photo albums and wondering “how did the time go by so quickly?” These steps are exciting, but certainly emotional and you don’t want to wallow in your sorrows.
RELATED:  The Drop Blu-ray

Show You Care

  • No matter what age your child is, make sure you are sharing in their excitement! Whether you have a kindergartener bringing home a painting or a college student signing up for campus activities, ask them questions about their life to their answers. Celebrate with them when they ace an exam or learn to count to 20.

Top 10 Phil-ismsTop 10 Phil-isms

  1. Always keep the rhythm in your feet and a little party in your shoulders.”
  2. When life gives you lemonade, make lemons. Life will be all like ‘Whaaat?!’”
  3. If you love something, set it free… unless it’s a tiger.”
  4. I always felt bad for people with emotionally distant fathers; it turns out I’m one of them. It’s a miracle I didn’t end up a stripper.”
  5. I’ve always said that if my son thinks of me as one of his idiot friends, I’ve succeeded as a dad.”
  6. The most amazing things that can happen to a human being will happen to you, if you just lower your expectations”
  7. Claire likes to say ‘you can be part of the problem or part of the solution.’ But, I happen to believe you can be both.”
  8. I am brave. Roller coasters? Love ’em. Scary movies? I’ve seen Ghostbusters like 7 times. I regularly drive through neighborhoods that have only recently been gentrified. So yeah I am pretty much not afraid of anything.”
  9. Always look people in the eye, even if they’re blind. Just say ‘I’m looking you in the eye.’”
  10. A Realtor’s just a ninja in a blazer. The average burglar breaks in and leaves clues everywhere. But not me. I’m completely clueless.”

 

Season 4 Blu-ray Giveaway:CLOSED

THIS GIVEAWAY IS NOW CLOSED: WINNER TIM

One reader will receive Modern Family Blu-ray {RV $60}. See form for Entry Details. Open to U.S. You must be 18 years old to enter to win. Ends 9.25.13

An email address is required to enter. The winner will be chosen randomly through Giveaway Tools and contacted via email. A reply to the winning email is required within 48 hours before a new winner is chosen. One person entering per household please. U.S. only. This giveaway ends at 11:59 PM EST on Sept 25, 2013.

Disclosure: The Review Wire is not responsible for shipment of prize. I was provided with product for this review. All views and opinions with regard to Modern Family Season 4 or the company are my own and were not influenced by the company.

Sign up to Receive FREE Daily Updates with The Review Wire Newsletter!

 

Join the Review Wire Giveaway Groupies Facebook Group Banner. 2jpg        

You Might Also Like

Previous Story
Next Story

96 Comment

  1. Avatar
    Sherry Compton
    September 11, 2013 at 7:22 am

    Claire will be fun as Halloween approaches.

  2. Avatar
    HilLesha
    September 11, 2013 at 7:26 am

    Phil is my favorite character.

  3. Avatar
    beth
    September 11, 2013 at 9:50 am

    My favorite character is Claire because she is so high-strung.

  4. Avatar
    Candice
    September 11, 2013 at 2:36 pm

    Cam is my favorite for sure!

  5. Avatar
    Sherri
    September 11, 2013 at 6:02 pm

    My favorite character on Modern Family is Phil

  6. Avatar
    Debby Chandler
    September 11, 2013 at 6:34 pm

    My favorite character on Modern Family would have to be Phil.

  7. Avatar
    Shemp DeYoung (@shempgames)
    September 11, 2013 at 6:49 pm

    My favorite cast member, by far, is Jesse Tyler Ferguson. So, I guess my favorite character is Mitchell.

  8. Avatar
    dv8
    September 11, 2013 at 7:30 pm

    My favorite Modern Family character is Gloria.

  9. Avatar
    Jackie
    September 11, 2013 at 8:08 pm

    One of my favorite characters is Manny. He is such a little man and makes me laugh.
    Thanks!

  10. Avatar
    wendy b
    September 11, 2013 at 8:34 pm

    My fave character is actually Phil….I find him endearing in an odd way.

  11. Avatar
    deanna
    September 11, 2013 at 9:47 pm

    My favorite character is Phil. He is so darn funny!
    xo

  12. Avatar
    Lucy Lopez
    September 11, 2013 at 10:11 pm

    My favorite character is Gloria.

  13. Avatar
    Will G
    September 11, 2013 at 10:15 pm

    Claire is my favorite character!

  14. Avatar
    sandra davis
    September 12, 2013 at 10:43 am

    gloria

  15. Avatar
    samantha w
    September 12, 2013 at 11:26 am

    I like Phil, he is pretty funny.

  16. Avatar
    Rebecca Orr
    September 12, 2013 at 12:16 pm

    My favorite is Phil. But Cameron is funny too. Thanks for the chance!

  17. Avatar
    Adrienne Gordon
    September 12, 2013 at 12:33 pm

    Phil is the best, he’s like a man-child.

  18. Avatar
    D SCHMIDT
    September 12, 2013 at 3:14 pm

    Our favorite character from Modern Family is Gloria.

  19. Avatar
    Michele C.
    September 12, 2013 at 3:25 pm

    Phil is my favorite character.

  20. Avatar
    Sharon Kaminski
    September 12, 2013 at 4:57 pm

    my favorite character is Claire Dunphy. She is great.

  21. Avatar
    David H.
    September 12, 2013 at 6:01 pm

    I like Luke, because he is alot smarter he than he really lets on. Also, I like Mitch as well.

  22. Avatar
    Jennifer Young
    September 12, 2013 at 6:37 pm

    My favorite character is Phil!

  23. Avatar
    Jacob LaFountaine
    September 12, 2013 at 7:20 pm

    My favorite character is Gloria. I drink your milkshake

  24. Avatar
    angie
    September 12, 2013 at 7:59 pm

    My favorite is Phil. He is always hilarious.

  25. Avatar
    xty cruz
    September 12, 2013 at 10:46 pm

    My favorite would be manny

  26. Avatar
    marian boll
    September 13, 2013 at 12:11 am

    Claire is my favorite person

  27. Avatar
    Cody
    September 13, 2013 at 6:23 am

    My favorite character is Phil!

  28. Avatar
    Cynthia C
    September 13, 2013 at 7:55 am

    My favorite character is Manny.

  29. Avatar
    sandra
    September 13, 2013 at 9:01 am

    i think my favorite is phil becuase he says the funniest things and is still relatable

  30. Avatar
    Sara Zielinski
    September 13, 2013 at 12:49 pm

    Phil is my favorite character

  31. Avatar
    Linda Bradshaw
    September 13, 2013 at 3:52 pm

    Gloria is my favorite. Love them all though.

  32. Avatar
    Debby Chandler
    September 13, 2013 at 7:09 pm

    I commented on Day Out With Thomas Cincinnati: The Go Go Thomas Tour 2013

  33. Avatar
    Victoria Carlson
    September 13, 2013 at 9:08 pm

    Cameron is my favorite modern family character! He is hilarious!!!!!

  34. Avatar
    Serge B
    September 13, 2013 at 10:39 pm

    Phil is my favorite character

  35. Avatar
    sandra davis
    September 14, 2013 at 12:18 am

    My favorite charactor from Modern Family is Cam.

  36. Avatar
    Serena Powell
    September 14, 2013 at 10:57 am

    Phil is my favorite

  37. Avatar
    tung ton
    September 14, 2013 at 4:08 pm

    I like Cam the best.

  38. Avatar
    Timmy Trafton
    September 14, 2013 at 6:49 pm

    My favorite is Phil, hilarious.

  39. Avatar
    Anastasia
    September 15, 2013 at 3:06 am

    I’m a fan of Ed O’Neill, so I have to say that Jay is my favorite character 🙂

  40. Avatar
    Lisa
    September 15, 2013 at 10:17 am

    I like Gloria. She is hilarious.

  41. Avatar
    Kimberly Schotz
    September 15, 2013 at 12:01 pm

    My favorite Modern Family character is Phil.

  42. Avatar
    danielle highley
    September 15, 2013 at 12:09 pm

    I love Cam and Phil. Seriously, when these two get together it’s so awesome! Though I do love all the characters! The show is seriously laugh out loud till you cry great!

  43. Avatar
    Kaycee
    September 15, 2013 at 2:52 pm

    I love the little girl. 😀 She makes me laugh

  44. Avatar
    Daniel M
    September 15, 2013 at 9:10 pm

    gloria is our fav character

  45. Avatar
    Renee Walters
    September 16, 2013 at 4:35 am

    Phil is my favorite character.

  46. Avatar
    Lesley F
    September 16, 2013 at 9:28 am

    Cam is my fave!

  47. Avatar
    Fawn H
    September 16, 2013 at 3:30 pm

    My favorite character on Modern Family is definitely Claire.

  48. Avatar
    June S.
    September 16, 2013 at 10:00 pm

    I like that crazy Gloria the most, she is very funny.

  49. Avatar
    Deb K
    September 17, 2013 at 2:17 pm

    Gloria is my favorite,she makes me laugh.I love her accent too!

  50. Avatar
    Amanda Price
    September 18, 2013 at 9:29 am

    Mitchell is my favorite character. Honestly I love all of them!

  51. Avatar
    Kristen
    September 18, 2013 at 1:36 pm

    I guess my favorite is probably Mitch…but I love Cam and Phil and Luke too.

  52. Avatar
    Jamie Brigham
    September 18, 2013 at 5:38 pm

    I like Phil because he is hilarious and likes to have fun with everyone.

  53. Avatar
    Kortney
    September 20, 2013 at 5:46 pm

    gloria is my favorite!

  54. Avatar
    Stephanie Larison
    September 22, 2013 at 12:23 am

    My fave has to be Phil! He’s just so hilarious.

  55. Avatar
    Chris Z
    September 22, 2013 at 2:49 pm

    Phil is the Man

  56. Avatar
    Susan Smith
    September 22, 2013 at 5:37 pm

    Gloria is my favorite character on Modern Family, she makes me laugh.

  57. Avatar
    David Carlson
    September 22, 2013 at 6:27 pm

    Manny is my favorite character – always makes me laugh.

  58. Avatar
    brookea_2006
    September 22, 2013 at 6:39 pm

    My faves are Phil and Alex. 🙂

  59. Avatar
    Tim A
    September 22, 2013 at 8:02 pm

    My favorite is Cam with Phil a close second.

  60. Avatar
    Vera P.
    September 23, 2013 at 1:38 am

    Phil is my favorite character.

  61. Avatar
    Sacha Schroeder
    September 23, 2013 at 1:14 pm

    Phil is my favorite character on Modern Family. Although, I like all of them. It is a great show!

  62. Avatar
    Jill Myrick
    September 23, 2013 at 4:28 pm

    I have always loved Modern Family and all of the characters. But I would have to say that my favorite character is Cam.

    jweezie43[at]gmail[dot]com

  63. Avatar
    Paol Trenny
    September 23, 2013 at 7:13 pm

    I like Gloria.

  64. Avatar
    Michelle Fosnaugh
    September 24, 2013 at 2:36 am

    My favorite character is Claire

  65. Avatar
    Karen Drake
    September 24, 2013 at 8:52 am

    Phil is my favorite character.

  66. Avatar
    tracey johnson
    September 24, 2013 at 1:18 pm

    Claire is my favorite

  67. Avatar
    Ed Nemmers
    September 24, 2013 at 3:26 pm

    I enjoy the work of Ty Burrell as Phil Dunphy!

  68. Avatar
    melina r
    September 24, 2013 at 7:14 pm

    My favorite character from the show Modern Family is Gloria.

  69. Avatar
    Allison
    September 24, 2013 at 10:09 pm

    Little lily is my favorite!

  70. Avatar
    Ellie W
    September 24, 2013 at 10:12 pm

    My favorite character is Manny.

  71. Avatar
    Brittney House
    September 24, 2013 at 10:50 pm

    Cam is my favorite.

  72. Avatar
    Laurie Emerson
    September 24, 2013 at 11:12 pm

    I love all of the characters but Cam is my favorite.

  73. Avatar
    laurie nykaza
    September 25, 2013 at 12:49 am

    we love Phil great show

  74. Avatar
    Matt Cavallaro
    September 25, 2013 at 12:49 am

    My favorite character is Cam, he is really funny.

  75. Avatar
    gordon
    September 25, 2013 at 12:49 am

    Ty Burell’s my fave–kindhearted, wants to be fun, a little afraid of his wife–that’s me to a tee!

  76. Avatar
    krystal wethington
    September 25, 2013 at 1:11 am

    My Favorite Modern Family Character Is Gloria.She is cool.

  77. Avatar
    Melinda Stephens
    September 25, 2013 at 1:47 am

    Phil is my favorite character. He’s not always the brightest, but he’s sweet.

  78. Avatar
    rebecca day
    September 25, 2013 at 2:18 am

    i like jay

  79. Avatar
    Mihaela Day
    September 25, 2013 at 4:01 am

    My favorite character is Claire because she is so funny 🙂

  80. Avatar
    Jan Hammersmith
    September 25, 2013 at 6:20 am

    manny

  81. Avatar
    Michaela R
    September 25, 2013 at 7:27 am

    My favorite Character on the show is Phil

  82. Avatar
    floyd bradley
    September 25, 2013 at 7:51 am

    my favorite is Claire but I like cam too 🙂

  83. Avatar
    kathy pease
    September 25, 2013 at 8:53 am

    I like cam he always makes me laugh 🙂

  84. Avatar
    Jenny S
    September 25, 2013 at 11:17 am

    My favorite characters are Phil and Lily. Phil forever, but now that she’s older, she’s freakin’ hilarious!

  85. Avatar
    Jenny
    September 25, 2013 at 1:52 pm

    My favorite character is definitely Phil!

  86. Avatar
    jules m.
    September 25, 2013 at 2:32 pm

    cameron is my favorite he is hilarious

  87. Avatar
    socratesjr
    September 25, 2013 at 4:04 pm

    I’m on Team Phil because he is so awkwardly funny — but Cam is my backup

  88. Avatar
    Kevin
    September 25, 2013 at 5:02 pm

    My favorite character is Phil. He says the dumbest things but with a good heart behind them.

  89. Avatar
    susan smoaks
    September 25, 2013 at 7:34 pm

    Cam is my favorite character on Modern Family. He is so cute and he always makes me laugh.

  90. Avatar
    Jackie Koller
    September 25, 2013 at 9:05 pm

    Phil

  91. Avatar
    Vikki Billings
    September 25, 2013 at 10:43 pm

    I love Cam because he makes me laugh a lot!

  92. Avatar
    Gianna
    September 25, 2013 at 10:57 pm

    I don’t have one, I’ve never seen it before.

  93. Avatar
    Geoff K
    September 25, 2013 at 11:14 pm

    I’m a big fan of Phil. He’s both a lovable doofus and a loving father and husband, which makes him the one character who can make me laugh and cry in the same episode.

  94. Avatar
    Michelle Tucker
    September 25, 2013 at 11:19 pm

    Gloria is my favorite character. Love her.

  95. Avatar
    Sky Kory
    September 25, 2013 at 11:28 pm

    I love Phil! He is so funny!

  96. Avatar
    Christian Alejandro
    September 25, 2013 at 11:59 pm

    Phil is the best

Comments are closed.