MARS NEEDS MOMS - The Review Wire MARS NEEDS MOMS - The Review Wire    

Mars Needs Moms

This post may contain affiliate links and/or Amazon Affiliate links. Please see my full disclosure policy for details.

Mars Needs Moms (In Disney Digital 3D™ and IMAX® 3D) blasts into theaters March 11, 2011!

Take out the trash, eat your broccoli—who needs moms, anyway?  Nine-year-old Milo (Seth Green) finds out just how much he needs his mom (Joan Cusack) when she’s nabbed by Martians who plan to steal her mom-ness for their own young.

Mars Needs Moms

Produced by the team behind “Disney’s A Christmas Carol” and “The Polar Express,” “Mars Needs Moms” showcases Milo’s quest to save his mom—a wild adventure in Disney Digital 3D™ and IMAX® 3D that involves stowing away on a spaceship, navigating an elaborate, multi-level planet and taking on the alien nation and their leader (Mindy Sterling). With the help of a tech-savvy, underground earthman named Gribble (Dan Fogler) and a rebel Martian girl called Ki (Elisabeth Harnois), Milo just might find his way back to his mom—in more ways than one.

So How Did The Movie Mars Needs Mom Come About?

IT ALL STARTED WITH A 4-YEAR-OLD, A MOM AND A DISAGREEMENT. Pulitzer Prize-Winning Cartoonist Berkeley Breathed Finds Inspiration at Home;

Famed cartoonist Berkeley Breathed was moved to write the book that inspired the film after an eventful dinner at home. “One night my son Milo threw his broccoli into the air and stormed from the table—a scene depicted with more civility in the movie,” says Breathed. “Upon leaving, he said something about his mother too vile to repeat here—which would only result in expensive therapy later if he ever remembered.  From out of nowhere came my next line: ‘You might think differently about your mom if she were kidnapped by Martians.’ I spun on my heels and wrote the book that night.  The rest is Disney history.”

ImageMovers Digital and the Disney team embraced the project, tapping Simon Wells to direct and co-write the script with wife Wendy Wells. The writing partners have been married for 23 years, and daughters Meredith and Teagan are featured as Hatchlings in the movie.The film follows in the footsteps of ImageMovers Digital’s roster of well-received family fare, “The Polar Express” and “Monster House,” bringing the story to the big screen in 3D via performance capture. The technique digitally captures the performances of the actors with computerized cameras in a full 360 degrees, allowing filmmakers to transport audiences to Mars—and back—creating elaborate out-of-this-world settings and characters while capitalizing on the expert performances of the cast.

The director says the action and adventure and humor will explode on the big screen—thanks in no small part to the fact that it’ll be presented in 3D and shown on IMAX screens. But Wells says it’s the heart of the film that first attracted them. “This film has an amazing center to it which is the mother’s love for the child and the child’s realization about that love,” says Wells. “And that really spoke to me. It spoke to my wife and writing partner, Wendy. And we built the whole thing around that central moment, which was the whole reason why Berkeley wrote the original book in the first place.”

Producer Jack Rapke says the idea of aliens coming to Earth in search of our mothering expertise is a rich one. “The women who are running Mars are very totalitarian and very OCD—not maternal at all,” says Rapke. “They know that in the solar system, there is a planet called Earth, with a species of humans whose moms seem to be able to control offspring. So they need one every 25 years or so and they send their Martian raiders down to Earth to get one—who, this time, just happens to be Milo’s mom.”

Filmmakers decided to expand the reach of the book when it hit the big screen. “We wanted to age the characters up slightly,” says Wells. “And we realized we were going to spend much longer on Mars. So you travel around an alien world, meet new beings and see the different aspects of that world.”

Filmmakers found that they were tapping the imaginations of millions of people who have wondered for generations if there is life on Mars. In the 1880s telescopes revealed strange markings on Mars, which convinced masses of people that Mars had canals built by an alien race. Today, NASA is constructing a six-wheel-drive rover called MSL (Mars Science Lab) that will be the largest, fastest, most intelligent rover ever deployed to Mars. Two Martian rovers, Spirit and Opportunity, currently roam the Martian surface, and the rover depicted in “Mars Needs Moms” is actually modeled after them.

But our rovers wouldn’t detect the Martians showcased in the film—they’re hidden safely underground and controlled by a strict leader. “Our Martian society is Orwellian in a way,” says producer Steve Starkey. “All the color has been taken out of it, it’s very strict, it’s very rigid. But there’s a few renegades lying below the surface.”

Wells, who’s the great grandson of sci-fi author H.G. Wells, says the film capitalizes on the audience’s natural curiosity about outer space and thirst for action. “You’re shot at and chased and you discover things. You get to experience environments that you would never in your normal lives get to see. You get to travel on a huge heroic journey in pursuit of the noblest cause of all, which is to save your mum because you love her.”

Learn to Speak Martian:

  • “Beel-ah-tee! Puck-u-lo, lo?” – “You there! Where are you going?”
  • “Nee-lay-koka-poosh-a-tay!” – “Stop them!”
  • “N’whoa, chanka-tuh-koh!” – “You there, you are under arrest!”
  • “Boo-Pah Nah Dut (Morlow)” = “Happy Birthday (to You)
  • ”Boo-Pah = variation on the word for “Dancing” or “Dance” (Hairy Tribe), adapted by civilized Martians to mean “happy” or “happiness”Nah = hatchling or birthDut (Doot) = present time or day
RELATED:  Adventures of Bailey DVD: A Night in Cowtown

Courtesy of Stephen Kearin, the official curator of the Martian-language archives

Stay Connected:

Buy It:

  •  Mars Needs Moms is available on Amazon
Join the Review Wire Giveaway Groupies Facebook Group Banner. 2jpg        

You Might Also Like

Previous Story
Next Story

75 Comment

  1. Avatar
    Cindi A
    March 2, 2011 at 10:42 am

    Follow CintiCoupons on Twitter
    sweeper123

  2. Avatar
    Cindi A
    March 2, 2011 at 10:45 am

    Signed up for our Forums Board and create a new topic!
    lucinda_asquith@comcast.net

  3. Avatar
    Cindi A
    March 2, 2011 at 10:46 am

    Like Cincinnati Coupons on FB.
    cindi asquith

  4. Avatar
    Cindi A
    March 2, 2011 at 10:48 am

    Subscribed to Cincinnati Coupons by RSS Feed or FREE Email Subscription.
    lucinda_asquith@comcast.net

  5. Avatar
    Cindi A
    March 2, 2011 at 10:54 am

    Favorite Disney Movie Is Lion King

  6. Avatar
    Ashley
    March 2, 2011 at 12:46 pm

    I will have to say our favorite Disney movie is still Lion King! We still watch it all the time and know the words by heart! Thank you Disney for this great giveaway and the GREAT movies!
    amberpebs@yahoo.com

  7. Avatar
    Ashley
    March 2, 2011 at 12:47 pm

    I Follow CintiCoupons on Twitter
    amberpebs@yahoo.com

  8. Avatar
    Ashley
    March 2, 2011 at 12:50 pm

    I like Cincinnati Coupons on Facebook and thanked them for the great giveaways!
    Ashley K
    amberpebs@yahoo.com

  9. Avatar
    Ashley
    March 2, 2011 at 12:55 pm

    I Subscribe to Cincinnati Coupons by RSS Feed and FREE Email Subscription
    amberpebs@yahoo.com

  10. Avatar
    kelly
    March 2, 2011 at 11:43 pm

    i LOVE the little mermaid

  11. Avatar
    kelly
    March 2, 2011 at 11:44 pm

    EMAIL SUBSCRIBER

  12. Avatar
    Debra Hall
    March 3, 2011 at 12:35 am

    i follow on facebook

  13. Avatar
    ANDY
    March 3, 2011 at 1:51 am

    lion king

  14. Avatar
    Kimberly
    March 3, 2011 at 7:57 am

    Visited MARS NEEDS MOMS and my favorite Disney Movie is UP.

  15. Avatar
    Kimberly
    March 3, 2011 at 7:59 am

    I follow you on twitter.
    @winsome6

  16. Avatar
    Kimberly
    March 3, 2011 at 8:02 am

    Like you on Facebook.

  17. Avatar
    Kimberly
    March 3, 2011 at 8:02 am

    Email subscriber.

  18. Avatar
    Cindi Asquith
    March 3, 2011 at 9:27 am

    Tweeted giveaway… 3/3
    @sweeper123

  19. Avatar
    susan varney
    March 3, 2011 at 11:06 am

    i’ve always liked the classic snow white and the seven dwarfs
    mverno@roadrunner.com

  20. Avatar
    Tammy
    March 3, 2011 at 12:43 pm

    My favorite Disney Movie is Enchanted.

  21. Avatar
    Tammy
    March 3, 2011 at 12:43 pm

    following on Twitter – @threedifferent

  22. Avatar
    Melissa M
    March 3, 2011 at 2:14 pm

    My favorite movie is Beauty and the Beast!

  23. Avatar
    milo johnston
    March 3, 2011 at 7:12 pm

    i thought it was cute the main characters name is milo like mine, but i am a girl 🙂

  24. Avatar
    milo johnston
    March 3, 2011 at 7:13 pm

    i follow you on twitter
    smilo143

  25. Avatar
    milo johnston
    March 3, 2011 at 7:14 pm

    i follow you on fb
    laneand miloannjohnston

  26. Avatar
    Karen
    March 4, 2011 at 2:06 am

    I still love The Lion King and Fantasia 🙂

  27. Avatar
    Katrina
    March 4, 2011 at 10:09 am

    I just love The Lion King!

  28. Avatar
    crystle tellerday
    March 4, 2011 at 10:25 am

    all the little mermaid and tinkerbell movies

  29. Avatar
    Vicki Wurgler
    March 4, 2011 at 11:53 am

    Favorite Disney Movie is Bambi

  30. Avatar
    Stacy
    March 5, 2011 at 9:28 am

    Toy Story is one of my favorite Disney movies
    nrdunningATgmailDOtcom

  31. Avatar
    Stacy
    March 5, 2011 at 9:30 am

    I Follow CintiCoupons on Twitter (ohstac)
    nrdunningATgmailDOTcom

  32. Avatar
    Mia J
    March 5, 2011 at 11:43 pm

    I like Toy Story.

  33. Avatar
    SaraLee
    March 6, 2011 at 11:41 pm

    Favorite Disney Movie Is Tangled

  34. Avatar
    SaraLee
    March 6, 2011 at 11:42 pm

    I follow CintiCoupons on Twitter @s8r8l33

  35. Avatar
    SaraLee
    March 6, 2011 at 11:45 pm

    I like Cincinnati Coupons on Facebook

  36. Avatar
    Sarah
    March 7, 2011 at 9:58 am

    I like Bambi.

  37. Avatar
    Sarah
    March 7, 2011 at 9:58 am

    Following you on Twitter @sarohioan

  38. Avatar
    Ellie W
    March 7, 2011 at 1:35 pm

    My favorite Disney movie is Toy Story, the original one.

  39. Avatar
    Ellie W
    March 7, 2011 at 1:36 pm

    I follow you on Twitter @eswright18

  40. Avatar
    Ellie W
    March 7, 2011 at 1:38 pm

    I follow you on FB (Ellie W)

  41. Avatar
    evelyn
    March 7, 2011 at 2:57 pm

    looks great im in

  42. Avatar
    AEKZ2
    March 7, 2011 at 4:11 pm

    My favorite movie is Mulan.

  43. Avatar
    AEKZ2
    March 7, 2011 at 4:11 pm

    Email subscriber

  44. Avatar
    sarah t
    March 7, 2011 at 7:49 pm

    I LOVE THE LITTLE MERMAID

  45. Avatar
    Denise S
    March 7, 2011 at 7:51 pm

    My favorite is Finding Nemo.
    lazybones344 at gmail dot com

  46. Avatar
    Denise S
    March 7, 2011 at 7:52 pm

    I follow Cinti Coupons on Twitter: @lazybones344

  47. Avatar
    DANIELLE
    March 8, 2011 at 1:06 am

    I loved Wall-E i laughed and cried watching that movie what a great one, but of course i have loved all the movies Disney has put out.

    texaswaitress (at) live (dot) com

  48. Avatar
    Kristen Davis
    March 8, 2011 at 1:58 am

    My favorite disney movie is The Lion King.

  49. Avatar
    Kristen Davis
    March 8, 2011 at 2:00 am

    I Follow CintiCoupons on Twitter (mzattitudeprblm)

  50. Avatar
    pamela james
    March 8, 2011 at 7:40 am

    my favorite disney movie is bambi
    pjames330 at aol dot com

  51. Avatar
    Diana Bradford Hatch
    March 8, 2011 at 8:34 am

    I love the Toy Story movies

  52. Avatar
    Diana Bradford Hatch
    March 8, 2011 at 8:35 am

    I follow Cincinnati Coupons on Twitter

  53. Avatar
    Diana Bradford Hatch
    March 8, 2011 at 8:36 am

    I like Cincinnati Coupons on FB

  54. Avatar
    Leslie S.
    March 8, 2011 at 9:16 am

    Bambi is my all time favorite Disney movie.Thanks!
    lstanziani(at)yahoo(dot)com

  55. Avatar
    cindy
    March 8, 2011 at 9:29 am

    my favorite disney movie is the lion king

  56. Avatar
    Pauline M
    March 8, 2011 at 9:37 am

    My favorite Disney movie is an oldy but a goodie…. Monsters, Inc. It’s just fun!
    My kids have also been watching the preview of this on the website and are really looking forward to seeing this.

  57. Avatar
    Pauline M
    March 8, 2011 at 9:37 am

    I follow on twitter (pauline15)

  58. Avatar
    Pauline M
    March 8, 2011 at 9:38 am

    I’m a facebook fan (paulinemendes)

  59. Avatar
    Teresa Young
    March 8, 2011 at 12:22 pm

    Our favorite Disney movie is Wall-e

  60. Avatar
    Teresa Young
    March 8, 2011 at 12:23 pm

    twitter follower – tmy56

  61. Avatar
    Teresa Young
    March 8, 2011 at 12:25 pm

    like you on FB

  62. Avatar
    kathy pease
    March 8, 2011 at 12:50 pm

    my fave is old yeller

  63. Avatar
    kathy pease
    March 8, 2011 at 12:55 pm

    rss google feed subscriber
    kathypease(at)gmail(dot)com

  64. Avatar
    Mandy
    March 8, 2011 at 12:57 pm

    Beauty and the Beast

  65. Avatar
    Mandy
    March 8, 2011 at 12:58 pm

    I follow on twitter @jeffandmandy

  66. Avatar
    Mandy
    March 8, 2011 at 12:59 pm

    I like you on FB

  67. Avatar
    susan smoaks
    March 8, 2011 at 1:38 pm

    my favorite disney movie is bambi

  68. Avatar
    susan smoaks
    March 8, 2011 at 1:54 pm

    email subscriber

  69. Avatar
    susan smoaks
    March 8, 2011 at 1:55 pm

    your fb fan tony l smoaks

  70. Avatar
    DanV
    March 8, 2011 at 4:53 pm

    My favorite Disney Movie Is Lion King

  71. Avatar
    DanV
    March 8, 2011 at 4:54 pm

    I Follow CintiCoupons on Twitter

  72. Avatar
    Lori
    March 8, 2011 at 8:22 pm

    My favorite Disney Movie is Mary Poppins

  73. Avatar
    Lori
    March 8, 2011 at 8:23 pm

    Email subscriber!

  74. Avatar
    Sand
    March 8, 2011 at 8:33 pm

    Mulan is my favorite Disney movie.

  75. Avatar
    Veronica Garrett
    March 8, 2011 at 8:41 pm

    The Lion King is my favorite movie.

Comments are closed.