MARS NEEDS MOMS - The Review Wire MARS NEEDS MOMS - The Review Wire

Mars Needs Moms

This post may contain affiliate links and/or Amazon Affiliate links. Please see my full disclosure policy for details.

Mars Needs Moms (In Disney Digital 3D™ and IMAX® 3D) blasts into theaters March 11, 2011!

Take out the trash, eat your broccoli—who needs moms, anyway?  Nine-year-old Milo (Seth Green) finds out just how much he needs his mom (Joan Cusack) when she’s nabbed by Martians who plan to steal her mom-ness for their own young. Produced by the team behind “Disney’s A Christmas Carol” and “The Polar Express,” “Mars Needs Moms” showcases Milo’s quest to save his mom—a wild adventure in Disney Digital 3D™ and IMAX® 3D that involves stowing away on a spaceship, navigating an elaborate, multi-level planet and taking on the alien nation and their leader (Mindy Sterling). With the help of a tech-savvy, underground earthman named Gribble (Dan Fogler) and a rebel Martian girl called Ki (Elisabeth Harnois), Milo just might find his way back to his mom—in more ways than one.

“>

So How Did The Movie Mars Needs Mom Come About?

IT ALL STARTED WITH A 4-YEAR-OLD, A MOM AND A DISAGREEMENT. Pulitzer Prize-Winning Cartoonist Berkeley Breathed Finds Inspiration at Home;

Famed cartoonist Berkeley Breathed was moved to write the book that inspired the film after an eventful dinner at home. “One night my son Milo threw his broccoli into the air and stormed from the table—a scene depicted with more civility in the movie,” says Breathed. “Upon leaving, he said something about his mother too vile to repeat here—which would only result in expensive therapy later if he ever remembered.  From out of nowhere came my next line: ‘You might think differently about your mom if she were kidnapped by Martians.’ I spun on my heels and wrote the book that night.  The rest is Disney history.”

ImageMovers Digital and the Disney team embraced the project, tapping Simon Wells to direct and co-write the script with wife Wendy Wells. The writing partners have been married for 23 years, and daughters Meredith and Teagan are featured as Hatchlings in the movie.The film follows in the footsteps of ImageMovers Digital’s roster of well-received family fare, “The Polar Express” and “Monster House,” bringing the story to the big screen in 3D via performance capture. The technique digitally captures the performances of the actors with computerized cameras in a full 360 degrees, allowing filmmakers to transport audiences to Mars—and back—creating elaborate out-of-this-world settings and characters while capitalizing on the expert performances of the cast.

The director says the action and adventure and humor will explode on the big screen—thanks in no small part to the fact that it’ll be presented in 3D and shown on IMAX screens. But Wells says it’s the heart of the film that first attracted them. “This film has an amazing center to it which is the mother’s love for the child and the child’s realization about that love,” says Wells. “And that really spoke to me. It spoke to my wife and writing partner, Wendy. And we built the whole thing around that central moment, which was the whole reason why Berkeley wrote the original book in the first place.”

Producer Jack Rapke says the idea of aliens coming to Earth in search of our mothering expertise is a rich one. “The women who are running Mars are very totalitarian and very OCD—not maternal at all,” says Rapke. “They know that in the solar system, there is a planet called Earth, with a species of humans whose moms seem to be able to control offspring. So they need one every 25 years or so and they send their Martian raiders down to Earth to get one—who, this time, just happens to be Milo’s mom.”

Filmmakers decided to expand the reach of the book when it hit the big screen. “We wanted to age the characters up slightly,” says Wells. “And we realized we were going to spend much longer on Mars. So you travel around an alien world, meet new beings and see the different aspects of that world.”

Filmmakers found that they were tapping the imaginations of millions of people who have wondered for generations if there is life on Mars. In the 1880s telescopes revealed strange markings on Mars, which convinced masses of people that Mars had canals built by an alien race. Today, NASA is constructing a six-wheel-drive rover called MSL (Mars Science Lab) that will be the largest, fastest, most intelligent rover ever deployed to Mars. Two Martian rovers, Spirit and Opportunity, currently roam the Martian surface, and the rover depicted in “Mars Needs Moms” is actually modeled after them.

But our rovers wouldn’t detect the Martians showcased in the film—they’re hidden safely underground and controlled by a strict leader. “Our Martian society is Orwellian in a way,” says producer Steve Starkey. “All the color has been taken out of it, it’s very strict, it’s very rigid. But there’s a few renegades lying below the surface.”

Wells, who’s the great grandson of sci-fi author H.G. Wells, says the film capitalizes on the audience’s natural curiosity about outer space and thirst for action. “You’re shot at and chased and you discover things. You get to experience environments that you would never in your normal lives get to see. You get to travel on a huge heroic journey in pursuit of the noblest cause of all, which is to save your mum because you love her.”

Learn to Speak Martian:

  • “Beel-ah-tee! Puck-u-lo, lo?” – “You there! Where are you going?”
  • “Nee-lay-koka-poosh-a-tay!” – “Stop them!”
  • “N’whoa, chanka-tuh-koh!” – “You there, you are under arrest!”
  • “Boo-Pah Nah Dut (Morlow)” = “Happy Birthday (to You)
  • ”Boo-Pah = variation on the word for “Dancing” or “Dance” (Hairy Tribe), adapted by civilized Martians to mean “happy” or “happiness”Nah = hatchling or birthDut (Doot) = present time or day
RELATED:  Spookley the Square Pumpkin

~Courtesy of Stephen Kearin, the official curator of the Martian-language archives

Stay Connected:

Buy It:

  •  Mars Needs Moms is available on Amazon

GIVEAWAY! CLOSED

THIS GIVEAWAY IS NOW CLOSED – WINNER MELISSA M – I SENT YOU AN EMAIL!

 

1 winner will receive a MARS NEEDS MOMS Prize Pack (MARS NEEDS MOMS T-Shirt (Adult Size), MARS NEEDS MOMS T-Shirt (Youth Size) and MARS NEEDS MOMS Temporary Tattoos (3-pack), (RV $35)!

To Enter: Visit MARS NEEDS MOMS and let me know what your favorite Disney Movie Is

Thank You Disney for this great giveaway!

This giveaway is open to US Residents until 9:00 pm Eastern on 3/8/2011. The winner will be chosen using the random.org generator. The winner will have 48 hours to respond to my email before a new winner is selected. Good luck and don’t forget to leave your email if it is not on your profile. I will contact the winner via email.

Disclosure: I was provided with product for this review. All views and opinions with regard to the products or the company are my own and were not influenced by the company.

   

You Might Also Like

Previous Story
Next Story

87 Comment

  1. Cindi A
    March 2, 2011 at 10:42 am

    Follow CintiCoupons on Twitter
    sweeper123

  2. Cindi A
    March 2, 2011 at 10:45 am

    Signed up for our Forums Board and create a new topic!
    lucinda_asquith@comcast.net

  3. Cindi A
    March 2, 2011 at 10:46 am

    Like Cincinnati Coupons on FB.
    cindi asquith

  4. Cindi A
    March 2, 2011 at 10:48 am

    Subscribed to Cincinnati Coupons by RSS Feed or FREE Email Subscription.
    lucinda_asquith@comcast.net

  5. Cindi A
    March 2, 2011 at 10:54 am

    Favorite Disney Movie Is Lion King

  6. Ashley
    March 2, 2011 at 12:46 pm

    I will have to say our favorite Disney movie is still Lion King! We still watch it all the time and know the words by heart! Thank you Disney for this great giveaway and the GREAT movies!
    amberpebs@yahoo.com

  7. Ashley
    March 2, 2011 at 12:47 pm

    I Follow CintiCoupons on Twitter
    amberpebs@yahoo.com

  8. Ashley
    March 2, 2011 at 12:50 pm

    I like Cincinnati Coupons on Facebook and thanked them for the great giveaways!
    Ashley K
    amberpebs@yahoo.com

  9. Ashley
    March 2, 2011 at 12:53 pm

    I have your button! Well it was I copied, it came out a different.
    http://ashleysfreebietime.blogspot.com/
    amberpebs@yahoo.com

  10. Ashley
    March 2, 2011 at 12:55 pm

    I Subscribe to Cincinnati Coupons by RSS Feed and FREE Email Subscription
    amberpebs@yahoo.com

  11. kelly
    March 2, 2011 at 11:43 pm

    i LOVE the little mermaid

  12. kelly
    March 2, 2011 at 11:44 pm

    EMAIL SUBSCRIBER

  13. Debra Hall
    March 3, 2011 at 12:35 am

    i follow on facebook

  14. ANDY
    March 3, 2011 at 1:51 am

    lion king

  15. Kimberly
    March 3, 2011 at 7:57 am

    Visited MARS NEEDS MOMS and my favorite Disney Movie is UP.

  16. Kimberly
    March 3, 2011 at 7:59 am

    I follow you on twitter.
    @winsome6

  17. Kimberly
    March 3, 2011 at 8:02 am

    Like you on Facebook.

  18. Kimberly
    March 3, 2011 at 8:02 am

    Email subscriber.

  19. Shirley Carr
    March 3, 2011 at 9:08 am

    Cars 2

  20. Shirley Carr
    March 3, 2011 at 9:11 am

    I follow you on twitter!
    shirleyacarr

  21. Shirley Carr
    March 3, 2011 at 9:12 am

    I twitted this giveaway!
    shirleyacarr

  22. Shirley Carr
    March 3, 2011 at 9:13 am

    I like you on facebook!
    mythreesonsandababy

  23. Shirley Carr
    March 3, 2011 at 9:14 am

    I grabbed your button!
    mythreesonsandababy.blogspot.com

  24. Cindi Asquith
    March 3, 2011 at 9:27 am

    Tweeted giveaway… 3/3
    @sweeper123

  25. susan varney
    March 3, 2011 at 11:06 am

    i’ve always liked the classic snow white and the seven dwarfs
    mverno@roadrunner.com

  26. Tammy
    March 3, 2011 at 12:43 pm

    My favorite Disney Movie is Enchanted.

  27. Tammy
    March 3, 2011 at 12:43 pm

    following on Twitter – @threedifferent

  28. Melissa M
    March 3, 2011 at 2:14 pm

    My favorite movie is Beauty and the Beast!

  29. milo johnston
    March 3, 2011 at 7:12 pm

    i thought it was cute the main characters name is milo like mine, but i am a girl 🙂

  30. milo johnston
    March 3, 2011 at 7:13 pm

    i follow you on twitter
    smilo143

  31. milo johnston
    March 3, 2011 at 7:14 pm

    i follow you on fb
    laneand miloannjohnston

  32. Karen
    March 4, 2011 at 2:06 am

    I still love The Lion King and Fantasia 🙂

  33. Katrina
    March 4, 2011 at 10:09 am

    I just love The Lion King!

  34. crystle tellerday
    March 4, 2011 at 10:25 am

    all the little mermaid and tinkerbell movies

  35. Vicki Wurgler
    March 4, 2011 at 11:53 am

    Favorite Disney Movie is Bambi

  36. Stacy
    March 5, 2011 at 9:28 am

    Toy Story is one of my favorite Disney movies
    nrdunningATgmailDOtcom

  37. Stacy
    March 5, 2011 at 9:30 am

    I Follow CintiCoupons on Twitter (ohstac)
    nrdunningATgmailDOTcom

  38. Stacy
    March 5, 2011 at 9:31 am
  39. Mia J
    March 5, 2011 at 11:43 pm

    I like Toy Story.

  40. SaraLee
    March 6, 2011 at 11:41 pm

    Favorite Disney Movie Is Tangled

  41. SaraLee
    March 6, 2011 at 11:42 pm

    I follow CintiCoupons on Twitter @s8r8l33

  42. SaraLee
    March 6, 2011 at 11:45 pm

    I like Cincinnati Coupons on Facebook

  43. Sarah
    March 7, 2011 at 9:58 am

    I like Bambi.

  44. Sarah
    March 7, 2011 at 9:58 am

    Following you on Twitter @sarohioan

  45. Ellie W
    March 7, 2011 at 1:35 pm

    My favorite Disney movie is Toy Story, the original one.

  46. Ellie W
    March 7, 2011 at 1:36 pm

    I follow you on Twitter @eswright18

  47. Ellie W
    March 7, 2011 at 1:38 pm

    I follow you on FB (Ellie W)

  48. evelyn
    March 7, 2011 at 2:57 pm

    looks great im in

  49. AEKZ2
    March 7, 2011 at 4:11 pm

    My favorite movie is Mulan.

  50. AEKZ2
    March 7, 2011 at 4:11 pm

    Email subscriber

  51. sarah t
    March 7, 2011 at 7:49 pm

    I LOVE THE LITTLE MERMAID

  52. Denise S
    March 7, 2011 at 7:51 pm

    My favorite is Finding Nemo.
    lazybones344 at gmail dot com

  53. Denise S
    March 7, 2011 at 7:52 pm

    I follow Cinti Coupons on Twitter: @lazybones344

  54. DANIELLE
    March 8, 2011 at 1:06 am

    I loved Wall-E i laughed and cried watching that movie what a great one, but of course i have loved all the movies Disney has put out.

    texaswaitress (at) live (dot) com

  55. Kristen Davis
    March 8, 2011 at 1:58 am

    My favorite disney movie is The Lion King.

  56. Kristen Davis
    March 8, 2011 at 2:00 am

    I Follow CintiCoupons on Twitter (mzattitudeprblm)

  57. Jeana
    March 8, 2011 at 2:35 am

    My favorite Disney Movie is Beauty and the Beast.

  58. Jeana
    March 8, 2011 at 2:37 am

    I follow you on twitter as @StuffSmart

  59. Jeana
    March 8, 2011 at 2:40 am

    I “liked” Cincinnati Coupons on Facebook,

  60. pamela james
    March 8, 2011 at 7:40 am

    my favorite disney movie is bambi
    pjames330 at aol dot com

  61. Diana Bradford Hatch
    March 8, 2011 at 8:34 am

    I love the Toy Story movies

  62. Diana Bradford Hatch
    March 8, 2011 at 8:35 am

    I follow Cincinnati Coupons on Twitter

  63. Diana Bradford Hatch
    March 8, 2011 at 8:36 am

    I like Cincinnati Coupons on FB

  64. Leslie S.
    March 8, 2011 at 9:16 am

    Bambi is my all time favorite Disney movie.Thanks!
    lstanziani(at)yahoo(dot)com

  65. cindy
    March 8, 2011 at 9:29 am

    my favorite disney movie is the lion king

  66. Pauline M
    March 8, 2011 at 9:37 am

    My favorite Disney movie is an oldy but a goodie…. Monsters, Inc. It’s just fun!
    My kids have also been watching the preview of this on the website and are really looking forward to seeing this.

  67. Pauline M
    March 8, 2011 at 9:37 am

    I follow on twitter (pauline15)

  68. Pauline M
    March 8, 2011 at 9:38 am

    I’m a facebook fan (paulinemendes)

  69. Teresa Young
    March 8, 2011 at 12:22 pm

    Our favorite Disney movie is Wall-e

  70. Teresa Young
    March 8, 2011 at 12:23 pm

    twitter follower – tmy56

  71. Teresa Young
    March 8, 2011 at 12:25 pm

    like you on FB

  72. kathy pease
    March 8, 2011 at 12:50 pm

    my fave is old yeller

  73. kathy pease
    March 8, 2011 at 12:52 pm
  74. kathy pease
    March 8, 2011 at 12:55 pm

    rss google feed subscriber
    kathypease(at)gmail(dot)com

  75. Mandy
    March 8, 2011 at 12:57 pm

    Beauty and the Beast

  76. Mandy
    March 8, 2011 at 12:58 pm

    I follow on twitter @jeffandmandy

  77. Mandy
    March 8, 2011 at 12:59 pm

    I like you on FB

  78. susan smoaks
    March 8, 2011 at 1:38 pm

    my favorite disney movie is bambi

  79. susan smoaks
    March 8, 2011 at 1:54 pm

    email subscriber

  80. susan smoaks
    March 8, 2011 at 1:55 pm

    your fb fan tony l smoaks

  81. DanV
    March 8, 2011 at 4:53 pm

    My favorite Disney Movie Is Lion King

  82. DanV
    March 8, 2011 at 4:54 pm

    I Follow CintiCoupons on Twitter

  83. Lori
    March 8, 2011 at 8:22 pm

    My favorite Disney Movie is Mary Poppins

  84. Lori
    March 8, 2011 at 8:23 pm

    Email subscriber!

  85. Sand
    March 8, 2011 at 8:33 pm

    Mulan is my favorite Disney movie.

  86. Veronica Garrett
    March 8, 2011 at 8:41 pm

    The Lion King is my favorite movie.

Comments are closed.