Spookley the Square Pumpkin Spookley the Square Pumpkin

Spookley the Square Pumpkin

This post may contain affiliate links and/or Amazon Affiliate links. Please see my full disclosure policy for details.

This month Kidtoon Film’s is proud to present: Spookley the Square Pumpkin

Spookley

In a world where “the only good pumpkins are round pumpkins,” Spookley the Square Pumpkin is often teased by the other pumpkins because of his square shape. Soon, Spookley is befriended by Edgar, Allan and Poe, three hilarious spiders, who convince Spookley that, square or not, he has a right to be the “Pick of the Patch” on Halloween. A square pumpkin the “Pick of the Patch”? Not if mean round pumpkins Big Tom and Little Tom can help it. These two bullies tease and taunt Spookley because of his square roots. Although he is encouraged to continue to become the “Pick of the Patch” by kindly Jack Scarecrow and his bat sidekicks, Boris and Bella, Spookley isn’t sure he has what it takes until a mighty storm threatens to destroy the entire patch. As the storm rolls the round pumpkins across the patch towards a raging river below, Spookley’s square shape helps him save the day.  Spookley realizes “it’s fine to be round while the weather is fair, but there are times it’s better to be a square!”

RELATED:  Hasbro Angry Birds Star Wars Game Review: Millennium Falcon Bounce Game

The film is about being different and learning to accept those differences.  Spookley is square in a world where every other pumpkin is round, and that makes him ashamed.  Through the story, he learns that it is this very uniqueness that enables him to save the day for all other pumpkins.  This story can be used to illustrate many kinds of differences that your kids may see in their own lives: disabilities, race, language or cultural traditions.

  • By learning to accept someone who is not like them, the other pumpkins learn that being different is not better or worse, it’s just different.
  • Finally, there’s an important lesson here about understanding that actions can cause hurt feelings.  When Big Tom and Little Tom tease and embarrass Spookley, it makes him want to quit the Jack-A-Lympics.  Luckily he doesn’t because it’s Spookley who comes to rescue when the storm hits.  The pumpkins come to understand Spookley’s unique value and apologize for their hurtful behavior, which is a great example for your kids.
   

You Might Also Like

Previous Story
Next Story

91 Comment

  1. Robin
    October 6, 2011 at 11:49 pm

    I learned about their b-day club

  2. ♡♥♬ Raven In A Blue Room ♡♥♬
    October 7, 2011 at 2:23 am

    I learned that Kidtoons play in my hometown

    Thank you for hosting this giveaway

    Louis
    pumuckler {at} gmail {dot} com

  3. ♡♥♬ Raven In A Blue Room ♡♥♬
    October 7, 2011 at 2:23 am

    I added your feed to my google reader

    pumuckler {at} gmail {dot} com

  4. ♡♥♬ Raven In A Blue Room ♡♥♬
    October 7, 2011 at 2:24 am

    I like your blog on facebook (Louis Here)

    pumuckler {at} gmail {dot} com

  5. ♡♥♬ Raven In A Blue Room ♡♥♬
    October 7, 2011 at 2:24 am

    following you on twitter @left_the_stars

    pumuckler {at} gmail {dot} com

  6. Janet W.
    October 9, 2011 at 5:11 pm

    I learned their office is out of Woodland Hills, CA!

  7. Janet W.
    October 9, 2011 at 5:11 pm

    I follow the review wire on twitter @jwatson50

  8. Janet W.
    October 9, 2011 at 5:12 pm

    I subscribe to your emails.

  9. Janet W.
    October 9, 2011 at 5:13 pm

    I like your blog on facebook – Janet Watson

  10. Jenny
    October 9, 2011 at 5:43 pm

    I learned that Kidtoons is a great way for parents and kids to connect. Also information is provided online for parents to decide what features are appropriate for their child.

  11. Jenny
    October 9, 2011 at 5:44 pm

    I follow on twitter!

    jenny_anwar

  12. Jenny
    October 9, 2011 at 5:45 pm

    I like The Review Wire on facebook.

    Jenny ‘Lemke’ Anwar

  13. Jenny
    October 9, 2011 at 5:46 pm

    I subscribe to your emails.

  14. Kimberly Schotz
    October 9, 2011 at 7:30 pm

    I learned we have no Kidtoon Theaters around my area.
    Kims2312@verizon.net

  15. Kimberly Schotz
    October 9, 2011 at 7:31 pm

    Email follower
    Kims2312@verizon.net

  16. Kimberly Schotz
    October 9, 2011 at 7:32 pm

    I like you on FB
    Kimberly Schotz
    Kims2312@verizon.net

  17. Kimberly Schotz
    October 9, 2011 at 7:32 pm

    I follow you on twitter as kims2312
    Kims2312@verizon.net

  18. Kristie
    October 10, 2011 at 8:39 pm

    I learned that he is an unlikely hero 🙂

  19. Vicki Wurgler
    October 10, 2011 at 10:33 pm

    I read that they have fun giveaways for the kids, stickers, temporary tattoos, activity books or toys after every film.

  20. Vicki Wurgler
    October 10, 2011 at 10:35 pm

    e-mail subscriber

  21. rebecca carrillo
    October 11, 2011 at 11:00 am

    my grandkids we love these

  22. Terri
    October 12, 2011 at 8:12 am

    I learned that it is not playing in our town, the closest town in an hour and 30 minutes away. Yikes.

  23. Janet
    October 14, 2011 at 9:15 pm

    I didn’t know about any of the products other than the book.

  24. Francine Anchondo
    October 15, 2011 at 11:42 am

    i learned that they launched the Kidtoons program to enable families to enjoy movies on the big screen on a regular basis.

  25. odessa f
    October 15, 2011 at 3:28 pm

    I didn’t know Spookley was playing in the theater!!! My kids love this movie!
    odessafreyATyahooDOTcom

  26. odessa f
    October 15, 2011 at 3:36 pm

    I follow on FB ( Odessa Frey )
    odessafreyATyahooDOTcom

  27. odessa f
    October 15, 2011 at 3:54 pm

    Following on Twitter @bocomomma
    odessafreyATyahooDOTcom

  28. Debbie jackson
    October 15, 2011 at 5:42 pm

    they have a location in hannibal mo and are based in ca
    debbie jackson
    djackson1958 at hotmail dot com

  29. Debbie jackson
    October 15, 2011 at 5:42 pm

    emailsub
    debbie jackson
    djackson1958 at hotmail dot com

  30. Debbie jackson
    October 15, 2011 at 5:42 pm

    fblikeu as
    debbie jackson
    djackson1958 at hotmail dot com

  31. Debbie jackson
    October 15, 2011 at 5:43 pm

    twu as jacksondeb
    debbie jackson
    djackson1958 at hotmail dot com

  32. Jamie Brigham
    October 15, 2011 at 11:56 pm

    I learned that Kidtoons has a birthday club and offers children a free ticket to see a movie of theirs within a certain time frame of their birthday

  33. Jamie Brigham
    October 15, 2011 at 11:56 pm

    I am following You on Twitter- @cinderella10383

  34. Jamie Brigham
    October 16, 2011 at 12:00 am

    I am a fan of Yours on Facebook- Jamie Brigham *FB Name*

  35. Jamie Brigham
    October 16, 2011 at 12:01 am

    I am subscribed via RSS through Google Reader
    Jamie Brigham *Google Reader Name*

  36. Amy W.
    October 17, 2011 at 9:18 pm

    I learned that you can have birthday parties there.

  37. Amy W.
    October 17, 2011 at 9:19 pm

    I like you on facebook.

  38. Melissa R.
    October 18, 2011 at 3:37 pm

    I learned that they launched so families can watch movies on the big screen

  39. Melissa R.
    October 18, 2011 at 3:38 pm

    twitter follower @giveawaymommy

  40. Melissa R.
    October 18, 2011 at 3:39 pm

    facebook follower

  41. Jody H
    October 20, 2011 at 9:30 am

    I love their coloring pages and contests for the kids. I like that this encourages you to take your children to the movies together.
    hickenfam at hotmail dot com

  42. Jody H
    October 20, 2011 at 9:31 am

    I Subscribe to The Review Wire by RSS Feed.
    hickenfam at hotmail dot com

  43. Jody H
    October 20, 2011 at 9:31 am

    I Follow The Review Wire on Twitter – hifam.
    hickenfam at hotmail dot com

  44. Jody H
    October 20, 2011 at 9:32 am

    I like The Review Wire on Facebook – jody g h…
    hickenfam at hotmail dot com

  45. pmj
    October 20, 2011 at 10:53 pm

    they have coloring sheets and a coloring contest
    pjames330 at aol dot com

  46. pmj
    October 20, 2011 at 10:55 pm

    twitter follower
    pj436
    pjames330 at aol dot com

  47. pmj
    October 20, 2011 at 10:56 pm

    fb fan
    pamela j
    pjames330 at aol dot com5

  48. pmj
    October 20, 2011 at 10:56 pm

    rss feed sub
    pjames330 at aol dot com

  49. april yedinak
    October 23, 2011 at 10:12 am

    I learned that they have printable coloring sheets
    ape2016(at)aol(dot)com

  50. april yedinak
    October 23, 2011 at 10:13 am

    twitter follower
    @ape2016
    ape2016(at)aol(dot)com

  51. april yedinak
    October 23, 2011 at 10:13 am

    follow via FB
    april yedinak
    ape2016(at)aol(dot)com

  52. april yedinak
    October 23, 2011 at 10:14 am

    email subscriber
    ape2016(at)aol(dot)com

  53. Stephanie Grant
    October 23, 2011 at 7:06 pm

    I learnt that you can print out coloring pages of Spookley at the Kidtoons website 🙂

  54. Stephanie Grant
    October 23, 2011 at 7:08 pm

    I follow via twitter @sgrant2005

  55. Stephanie Grant
    October 23, 2011 at 7:09 pm

    I “like” your blog on Facebook (Stephanie Petty-Grant)

  56. Ashley K
    October 23, 2011 at 7:17 pm

    I learned they have sing alongs before each movies and a birthday club!
    amberpebs@yahoo.com

  57. Ashley K
    October 23, 2011 at 7:18 pm

    I Follow The Review Wire on Twitter
    amberpebs
    amberpebs@yahoo.com

  58. Ashley K
    October 23, 2011 at 7:24 pm

    I like The Review Wire on Facebook
    Ashley P Hucks
    amberpebs@yahoo.com

  59. Ashley K
    October 23, 2011 at 7:26 pm

    I am a subscriber via email
    amberpebs@yahoo.com

  60. Ashley K
    October 23, 2011 at 7:48 pm
  61. Dabney H
    October 23, 2011 at 10:02 pm

    I learned about the Birthday club, coloring pages and sing alongs that go along with the movies.
    danbeyhucks@yahoo.com

  62. Dabney H
    October 23, 2011 at 10:04 pm

    I Follow The Review Wire on Twitter
    Dababodabney
    dabneyhucks@yahoo.com

  63. Dabney H
    October 23, 2011 at 10:07 pm

    I subscribe via email
    dabneyhucks@yahoo.com

  64. Dabney H
    October 23, 2011 at 10:08 pm
  65. Dabney H
    October 23, 2011 at 10:16 pm
  66. Nicole Sender
    October 24, 2011 at 12:51 am

    I learned Kidtoons has a coloring contest.

  67. Nicole Sender
    October 24, 2011 at 12:52 am

    follow you on twitter @minibea

  68. Nicole Sender
    October 24, 2011 at 12:54 am

    Liked you on fb (Nicole Sender) and posted a comment on your wall.

  69. Nicole Sender
    October 24, 2011 at 12:55 am

    Rss feed subscriber

  70. Deb K
    October 25, 2011 at 2:09 am

    I learned that they have a Birthday Club!

    deb55106{at}gmail{dot}com

  71. Deb K
    October 25, 2011 at 2:09 am

    I Follow with Twitter~Deb55106

    deb55106{at}gmail{dot}com

  72. tina reynolds
    October 25, 2011 at 11:21 am

    i found out they our having a great coloring contest thanks for the chance to win eaglesforjack@gmail.com

  73. tina reynolds
    October 25, 2011 at 11:22 am

    I follow you on twitter @eaglesforjack thanks for the chance eaglesforjack@gmail.com

  74. tina reynolds
    October 25, 2011 at 11:22 am

    I subscribe to your blog eaglesforjack@gmail.com

  75. shirley
    October 25, 2011 at 11:23 am

    Ilearned-Theyeven have fun giveaways for the kids, such as stickers, temporary tattoos, activity books or toys after every film.

  76. tina reynolds
    October 25, 2011 at 11:23 am

    I like you on facebook (jackcarlyandthorsmommy thanks for the chance to win eaglesforjack@gmail.com

  77. shirley
    October 25, 2011 at 11:24 am

    Follow The Review Wire on Twitter-@countrynest411

  78. shirley
    October 25, 2011 at 11:25 am

    Like The Review Wire on FB-shirley e

  79. shirley
    October 25, 2011 at 11:27 am

    email subscriber

  80. Ashley H.
    October 25, 2011 at 11:34 am

    I learned they give away fun goodies at the end of the films.

  81. Ashley H.
    October 25, 2011 at 11:35 am

    I like you on facebook.

  82. Lily Kwan
    October 25, 2011 at 7:02 pm

    I learned that the company is located in Woodland Hills, California.

  83. Lily Kwan
    October 25, 2011 at 7:12 pm

    I follow you on Twitter under the username likwan.

  84. Farrah Shumway
    October 25, 2011 at 8:05 pm

    I learned that they have a different movie/theme every month. Also there are activities for kids before the shows

    farrah_jo@yahoo.com

  85. Farrah Shumway
    October 25, 2011 at 8:07 pm

    Follow you on Twitter
    @farrah_jo

    farrah_jo@yahoo.com

  86. Farrah Shumway
    October 25, 2011 at 8:08 pm

    Like you on FB
    Farrah Shumway

    farrah_jo@yahoo.com

  87. Farrah Shumway
    October 25, 2011 at 8:08 pm

    Email Subscriber

    farrah_jo@yahoo.com

  88. Farrah Shumway
    October 25, 2011 at 8:09 pm

    Subscribe RSS Feed
    My Yahoo

    farrah_jo@yahoo.com

  89. Lily Kwan
    October 25, 2011 at 8:50 pm

    I follow you on Facebook under the username likwan.

  90. Lily Kwan
    October 25, 2011 at 8:55 pm

    I subscribed by email.

Comments are closed.