JBL Pulse: Wireless Bluetooth Speaker LED Light Show JBL Pulse: Wireless Bluetooth Speaker LED Light Show    

JBL Pulse: Wireless Bluetooth Speaker LED Light Show Review

This post may contain affiliate links and/or Amazon Affiliate links. Please see my full disclosure policy for details.

This post was written by Rich

JBL Pulse: Wireless Bluetooth Speaker LED Light Show

I got to spend some time with the JBL Pulse. I have to admit that the first speaker I owned for my old LCD click-wheel iPod was the round JBL On Stage, and then I added the JBL On Tour later. They both served me well and one of my kids still uses the On Tour.

I love music and have some playing whenever I can. I own a few different speakers to use with my iPhone, iPad or MacBook Pro. Even though I am a music lover, I am not a producer or a musician, and some of the reviews I read about speakers or headphones leave me shaking my head; there are lots of people who seem to have much “better” ears than me. It reminds me of wine snobs discussing the mossy undertones of a particular vintage. I can tell if something sounds bad or good to me, that’s the scale I use.

JBL Pulse

The Good/Cool: The Pulse is covered with LEDs that move with the music, you can control the color scheme, the mode, and the intensity. It is like nothing else I’ve seen — when you walk in a room it instantly catches your attention. It is plenty powerful to fill a large room and outdoors is plenty loud for those in the vicinity. I ran it for 4 hours with the LEDs at full strength no problem, its stated battery life is 5 hours with LEDs, 10 without. It charges via micro USB, but it also includes an adapter to connect the USB to a wall outlet. I love the USB, I hate proprietary adapters that in my house always disappear. The range on the Bluetooth is strong, I went all over the first floor and never lost the connection. You can also download a free app to manage the lights from your phone.

The Bad/Un-cool: Not much here – I will say that if you like window vibrating low-end bass, this isn’t for you. I enjoyed some Van Morrison, Avett Brothers, Allman Brothers and Carolina Chocolate Drops and they all sounded very good, but when I switched to some heavier sounds in rock and hip-hop you do miss the bass. If you are running the LEDs then a 5 hour run time isn’t great, but it should get you through most parties.  

The Scoop: If you have a trained ear that anything less than perfect tonality is unacceptable then there is probably some hipster brand that I’ve never heard of at three times the price that will serve you better. If you want something that will make your friends OOOOOH & AHHHHH and will fill your place with really good sounding music then you have to consider The Pulse. Let me add, that this would make a great Christmas present for any music lover with a smartphone or tablet!

Stay Connected:

RELATED:  Glider Gloves: Urban Style Touchscreen Gloves

Buy It:

 

Join the Review Wire Giveaway Groupies Facebook Group Banner. 2jpg        

You Might Also Like

Previous Story
Next Story

91 Comment

  1. Avatar
    Missie Freeman
    December 18, 2014 at 4:35 am

    I love to listen to listen to so many different kinds of music, from Guns ‘n Roses to Bing Crosby to Soundgarden to The Ray Conniff Singers to AC/Dc to Lawrence Welk. Anything but today’s country and most rap.

  2. Avatar
    Lisa Brown
    December 18, 2014 at 5:19 am

    my favorite music is classical and country, my favorite group is Foster the People

  3. Avatar
    Michelle Washburn
    December 18, 2014 at 7:45 am

    My favorite band is such a hard question. There are so many great bands. I would have to say Black Label Society is the band I love the most right now.

  4. Avatar
    Nicole Dz
    December 18, 2014 at 12:52 pm

    My favorite music right now is Christmas music, any of the old classic songs are on my playlist.

  5. Avatar
    jessica z
    December 18, 2014 at 7:25 pm

    I love fireball by pit bull for workouts right now

  6. Avatar
    Julie
    December 18, 2014 at 7:39 pm

    My fave music is 80s music the best ever..Fave band Whitesnake and Journey and well all those metal rockers..

  7. Avatar
    Sandra Watts
    December 18, 2014 at 7:56 pm

    I personally like a variety of music depending on my mood I guess. Mostly 80’s music I guess. Styx I’ve seen in concert a couple times.

  8. Avatar
    christopher sorel
    December 18, 2014 at 8:07 pm

    Smashing pumpkins and alternative rock along with some girl rockers like hole or VEruca Salt

  9. Avatar
    Heather in VA
    December 18, 2014 at 8:12 pm

    I have to admit to liking Taylor Swift both her country and pop.

  10. Avatar
    Chrystal J.
    December 18, 2014 at 8:47 pm

    My favorite band would be The Beatles, but I love all different kinds of music.

  11. Avatar
    Natalie
    December 18, 2014 at 9:22 pm

    I love to listen to listen to Christian music and I really like 10th Avenue North.

  12. Avatar
    Sarah Matos
    December 18, 2014 at 10:18 pm

    I dont really favor one genre over the other. I kinda just go what catches my attention. I really like Hozier-Take me to church, right now.

  13. Avatar
    mrsshukra
    December 19, 2014 at 2:12 am

    Love the Carpenters forever!

  14. Avatar
    Shakeia Rieux
    December 19, 2014 at 3:30 am

    My favorite song is Young Love by Teena Marie.I love all of her music

  15. Avatar
    Mercedes Cassity
    December 19, 2014 at 6:22 am

    My tastes run rather eclectic. I love death metal to pop. Dubstep and club sounds can also frequently be heard in my house. Its fun not to commit to a single style and band.
    I think my daughter’s YouTube singers are the only music I can’t stand.

  16. Avatar
    Barbara Adams
    December 19, 2014 at 6:35 am

    My son’s a DJ/producer, so our music is what he is working on presently…I’m ok with most, loke some, but if I don’t like it everyone knows

  17. Avatar
    kelly tupick
    December 19, 2014 at 7:49 am

    My favorite is the 80’s music. I love Aerosmith, Bon Jovi, and Journey. There are so many good ones out there.

  18. Avatar
    ashcat1022
    December 19, 2014 at 10:18 am

    My favorite band is The Doors!

  19. Avatar
    Dana Rodriguez
    December 19, 2014 at 10:31 am

    We like a lot of different bands.On of my favorites is Apocalyptica.

  20. Avatar
    Candice
    December 19, 2014 at 10:36 am

    I love the Foo Fighters.

  21. Avatar
    sandra
    December 19, 2014 at 10:49 am

    I am currently enthralled by taylor swift’s new album.

  22. Avatar
    Sharon Kaminski
    December 19, 2014 at 11:11 am

    My favorite song is tupelo honey by van morrison.

  23. Avatar
    Debra S
    December 19, 2014 at 11:14 am

    Arrrrgh why did it erase my reply cause I got the captcha wrong?? arrrgh! LOL I LOVE alternative music. All the way from the sixties… Bowie.. to now… Jack White, Modest Mouse, M. Ward, Avant Gardener.. endless endless good music. I have the best radio stations here in MN, kvsc and 89.3, The Current. All alt.

  24. Avatar
    Dawn Monroe
    December 19, 2014 at 12:27 pm

    Im an 80s girl! A couple of favorites are Journey and REO.

  25. Avatar
    Fawn H
    December 19, 2014 at 12:33 pm

    My favorite music is Classic Rock from the 70’s. I also love music from Kid Rock, Bad Company, and Jethro Tull to name a few others.

  26. Avatar
    Melissa Shirley
    December 19, 2014 at 4:18 pm

    I really do not have a certain band that is my favorite. I love all sorts of genres of music, But I guess my favorite of all time is Janis Joplin and my favorite song is Bobby Magee.

  27. Avatar
    Travis P
    December 19, 2014 at 7:12 pm

    I’ve always had a love for music, and at times have even tried to compose it on my own. However, while I may find the latter more pleasing, I’ve always enjoyed listening to the professionals more. I enjoy just about any genre you can think of (except for rap), and fall asleep every night to it. I rely on the speakers of my phone, and I’ve never invested a substantial amount of money into any sort of speakers, and in-turn have always relied upon built-in speakers on a device, or a pair of headphones. I’d truly love to be able to enjoy this device, as it seems both functional, and exciting to look at.

  28. Avatar
    Denise Welch
    December 19, 2014 at 7:41 pm

    I like anything Kid Rock.

  29. Avatar
    jek11
    December 19, 2014 at 8:02 pm

    That looks a lot better than the Beats Pill for sure!

  30. Avatar
    Clayton C.
    December 19, 2014 at 8:34 pm

    I listen to a lot of independent bands – everything from folk to rock and metalcore

  31. Avatar
    Darlene Carbajal
    December 19, 2014 at 8:58 pm

    My favorite song at the moment is Baby Don’t Lie by Gwen Stefani.

  32. Avatar
    jose benavides
    December 19, 2014 at 11:17 pm

    My favorite type of music is pop music and trance.

  33. Avatar
    Kelly Nicholson
    December 20, 2014 at 2:08 am

    Please use full complete sentences and tell me what your favorite music, band or song is.

    i likt the beatle and bob dylan,and me favorite is hey jude..thanks

  34. Avatar
    Linda G.
    December 20, 2014 at 8:12 am

    My favorite music is the oldies from the 60’s!!

  35. Avatar
    Carol Nine
    December 20, 2014 at 11:46 am

    My favorite music is all the oldies by Queen and most oldies from the 60’s and 70’s.

  36. Avatar
    Tyrone Macedon Sr
    December 20, 2014 at 1:33 pm

    I listen to the Music that happens to go along with the mood that I am in. I don’t have a favorite band or artists.

  37. Avatar
    Mia H
    December 20, 2014 at 7:05 pm

    I like everything from Tupac to Kenny Chesney. What I absolutely refuse to listen to is Taylor Swift. Lately, I’ve been listening to a lot of 90s hip hop and R&B, plus a lot of early 20th century blues, jazz, and standards on Pandora.

  38. Avatar
    Wendy R.
    December 20, 2014 at 11:30 pm

    I listen to mostly 80’s new wave and heavy metal, and 70’s music including disco.

  39. Avatar
    Cheryl
    December 21, 2014 at 3:43 pm

    My favorite music is Classic Rock.

  40. Avatar
    polly
    December 21, 2014 at 7:54 pm

    I really like Sam Smith…great songs!

  41. Avatar
    velder dixon
    December 21, 2014 at 9:01 pm

    i like sam smith.he have a beautiful voice

  42. Avatar
    Clayton C.
    December 21, 2014 at 11:03 pm

    I listen to a lot of indie rock, folk, alternative, and metal

  43. Avatar
    Kristen Cantwell
    December 22, 2014 at 11:45 am

    Beck!

  44. Avatar
    Brandon
    December 22, 2014 at 12:23 pm

    Love music

  45. Avatar
    ELOISE W
    December 27, 2014 at 3:19 am

    My favorite music is song by Mary J Blige…

  46. Avatar
    Michelle C
    December 27, 2014 at 4:43 pm

    Christmas music is my favorite, but at other times of the year I listen to Top 40. Thanks for the chance to win!

  47. Avatar
    Katrina
    December 28, 2014 at 1:36 pm

    I love Earth Wind and fire.

  48. Avatar
    Cristy Ridey
    December 28, 2014 at 2:29 pm

    I listen to mostly Christian or Country. My favorite artist is Mandisa because her songs are uplifting.

  49. Avatar
    Diana. C
    December 28, 2014 at 3:16 pm

    I love all types of music. I think my favorite is Latin music. I like everything from classical, pop and dub step. 🙂

    Diana C

  50. Avatar
    Linda Poplees
    December 28, 2014 at 3:29 pm

    I have always loved Earth, Wind and Fire. There music is timeless and my favorite song is September. They are still around and still sound fantastic

  51. Avatar
    Lindsey
    December 28, 2014 at 5:05 pm

    My favorite band is A-ha!

  52. Avatar
    Kamilah Berry
    December 28, 2014 at 6:44 pm

    I’m pretty much into all kinds of music. I grew up on Motown, so I guess that is my most favorite.

  53. Avatar
    Kimberly Schotz
    December 28, 2014 at 7:04 pm

    We enjoy listening to anything by the Grateful Dead.

  54. Avatar
    Pattie Salter
    December 30, 2014 at 12:33 am

    Van Morrison – Moondance.

  55. Avatar
    Mandala
    December 30, 2014 at 4:10 am

    I enjoy different kinds of music depending on the season and my mood. Right now, it’s Christmas songs. Thanks & Happy Holidays!

  56. Avatar
    steven weber
    December 30, 2014 at 5:26 pm

    My favorite band is Dave Matthews Band

  57. Avatar
    Laurie Nykaza
    December 31, 2014 at 1:09 am

    Queen is my favorite band saw them this year with Adam so good.

  58. Avatar
    rebretta
    December 31, 2014 at 9:49 pm

    My favorite band of all time is Bon Jovi, although these days I listen to Train and Matchbox 20.

  59. Avatar
    Lantana H.
    January 1, 2015 at 12:03 am

    My favorite band is Sublime, but since Brad died, I found a couple (very similar) “new” bands to follow – Pepper and Slightly Stoopid. I’m sure they fall into some type of genre but imo they are in a genre all their own!

  60. Avatar
    joe bond
    January 1, 2015 at 9:37 am

    My Favorite music is jazz. I love the music of Charlie Parker.

  61. Avatar
    Lesley F
    January 1, 2015 at 12:32 pm

    My favorite band is Theory of a Deadman!

  62. Avatar
    Amy Z.
    January 1, 2015 at 12:51 pm

    I love listening to The Beatles and Fleetwood Mac.

  63. Avatar
    Anita Kennett
    January 1, 2015 at 12:52 pm

    There is so much great music.I have never been able to say any particular one is the best.I love almost all of it.thanks

  64. Avatar
    Jessica Lewis
    January 1, 2015 at 3:50 pm

    My favorite brand of music is rock and country. I am very eclectic.

  65. Avatar
    Mary Songer
    January 1, 2015 at 5:14 pm

    I like a lot of types of music. Including a lot of 70’s stuff, even disco!

  66. Avatar
    Sara Wood
    January 1, 2015 at 5:21 pm

    I don’t have a favorite type of music but something I can dance to is always nice.

  67. Avatar
    Tamra Phelps
    January 1, 2015 at 5:22 pm

    I love lots of different styles of music, from 30s & 40s crooners to modern stuff like Adele. But I can always turn on Motown from the 60s and be happy!

  68. Avatar
    Corey Olomon
    January 1, 2015 at 6:47 pm

    My favorite song is John Lennon’s Imagine.

  69. Avatar
    Trista
    January 1, 2015 at 8:00 pm

    Love that you said full, complete sentences! At the moment we are on a Frozen kick in my class while the students are working, so ‘Let It Go’ Is my choice.

  70. Avatar
    Candie L
    January 1, 2015 at 8:25 pm

    I love Fade To Grey by Casting Crowns. Thank you

  71. Avatar
    desiree grubbs
    January 1, 2015 at 10:14 pm

    My favorite kind of music is either Texas Country or Contemporary Christian. One is a cultural love and the other is a love for my Savior!

  72. Avatar
    debbie campbell
    January 1, 2015 at 11:01 pm

    I like so many different types of music. I love Switchfoot and Train. I would love to see James Taylor and Jackson Browne in concert, too.

  73. Avatar
    Robyn Norris
    January 2, 2015 at 1:24 am

    Ben Folds is my favorite musician.

  74. Avatar
    Kari
    January 2, 2015 at 9:05 am

    I like all kinds of music. One of my favorite groups is Red Hot Chili Peppers.

  75. Avatar
    Shannon K
    January 2, 2015 at 10:14 am

    I love all of David Bowie’s albums.

  76. Avatar
    Kathleen S.
    January 2, 2015 at 10:51 am

    I love most rock from classic to today! Guns and Roses to Def Lep, to Soundgarden & STP to Three Days Grace & Avenged Sevenfold… 🙂

  77. Avatar
    crystle tellerday
    January 2, 2015 at 11:38 am

    I love taylor swift

  78. Avatar
    Thomas Murphy
    January 2, 2015 at 1:57 pm

    My favorite band is Tool.

  79. Avatar
    Cheryll Shubert
    January 2, 2015 at 2:18 pm

    This is a really hard question because I love so many different types of music and a million different singers and bands!! If I had to pick, I have always loved the Counting Crows! Every song they sing is amazing!!

  80. Avatar
    Carrie Conley
    January 2, 2015 at 3:57 pm

    I am old school…One of my favorite singers is Gladys Knight…

  81. Avatar
    Lynn R
    January 2, 2015 at 4:26 pm

    My favorite type of music is country music. Right now I don’t have a favorite song.

  82. Avatar
    Denise E.
    January 2, 2015 at 4:44 pm

    I like all genres of music EXCEPT hiphop, rap and country. Other than those, I’ll listen to anything, even opera!

  83. Avatar
    Robyn Donnelly
    January 2, 2015 at 6:21 pm

    I love anything from Def Leppard or Devil Makes Three.

  84. Avatar
    toddy
    January 2, 2015 at 6:55 pm

    I like a variety of music. Right now I would say my favorite song is blank space by Taylor Swift.

  85. Avatar
    Daniel M
    January 2, 2015 at 8:18 pm

    My favorite type of music is classic rock from the 60s-late 80s, stuff i grew up with..

  86. Avatar
    Amanda Sakovitz
    January 2, 2015 at 9:02 pm

    I love EDM and doowop music.

  87. Avatar
    Megan Zuchowski
    January 2, 2015 at 9:25 pm

    Country is my favorite kind of music!

  88. Avatar
    Kim Holsapple
    January 2, 2015 at 9:31 pm

    My favorite all time group is Journey. I just love Steve Perry.

  89. Avatar
    Rita Spratlen
    January 2, 2015 at 10:26 pm

    I love take me to church by Hosier. I was watching a rerun and heard him singing this song. I had to find out who he was. He has been around a while too. I don’t care for the meaning of the words though!!

  90. Avatar
    Lisa Williams
    January 2, 2015 at 11:34 pm

    I listen to and like many different types and styles of music from Rock to Country to Jazz. I also have many favorite songs but over the years one of my all time favorites has been Don’t Stop Believin’ by Journey.

  91. Avatar
    Lily Kwan
    January 2, 2015 at 11:57 pm

    I love Erasure!

Comments are closed.