ION Audio: iCade Mobile Review ION Audio: iCade Mobile Review    

ION Audio: iCade Mobile Review

This post may contain affiliate links and/or Amazon Affiliate links. Please see my full disclosure policy for details.

ION Audio: iCade Mobile Review

Do you like playing video games old school style? The iCade Mobile will let you play close to 100 of them that way. With the iCade Mobile, you insert your iPhone or iPod Touch 4/4s or earlier, into the rubber holder located in the center. My nine year old just received an iPod Touch 5 for Christmas and was upset that it was too long and did not fit. This then gives you buttons on the top (like a Nintendo), a directional pad to the left and buttons on the right. The iDevice holder does rotate for both landscape and portrait playing modes too.

ION Audio: iCade Mobile Review

Next your device needs to be paired with the iCade. I had a tough time setting it up, even my 13 year old had a hard time getting it connected, so I knew that I was going to have to call for customer support! During the set up process, you do need to go into your Bluetooth settings and make sure that Bluetooth is turned on. You then need to pair the device so that Bluetooth can pick it up. This is where I ran into problems, the phone is suppose to show a passcode that needs to be entered into the iCade Mobile device. I never received one. Even after calling in for help, I never had to enter a code. But once it finally got connected, the iCade Mobile said “paired” on my iPhone and I was ready to go.

ION Audio does offer a list of compatible games. This was the second problem I encountered. I downloaded several of the games only to turn out they actually weren’t compatible. Come to find out the developer had “listed” them wrong on the site but now they have been updated. There is a good mix of free and paid apps that can be used with the iCade. A few free titles we played were: Don’t Run With a Plasma Sword, Fix It Felix Jr., Zombie Meatballs. The kids favorites seem to be Temple Run and Nyan Cat both of which we had before we received the iCade. But don’t expect to see any of the latest and greatest apps, most are titles we had never heard of.

RELATED:  Alizay, Pirate Girl App Review

Bottom line: While the iCade is a neat idea, I would only recommend if you are a BIG fan of the classic style arcade games. At a price point of $50, the limited game availability was a downside. Plus my kids didn’t really enjoy having to go through the set up process just to be able to play a game.

 

iCade Mobile Giveaway:CLOSED

THIS GIVEAWAY IS NOW CLOSED – CONGRATS TO Lisa B & Lisa W

2 Winner’s Will Each Receive an iCade Mobile {RV $50}. See form Entry Details. Open to U.S.  You must be 18 years old to enter to win. Ends 3/29

Disclaimer: An email address is required to enter. The winner will be chosen randomly through Giveaway Tools and contacted via email. A reply to the winning email is required within 24 hours before a new winner is chosen. One person entering per household please. U.S. only. This giveaway ends at 11:59 PM EST on March 29, 2013. I was provided with product for this review. All views and opinions with regard to iCade Mobile review or the company are my own and were not influenced by the company.  

 

 

Sign up to Receive FREE Daily Updates with The Review Wire Newsletter!

 

Join the Review Wire Giveaway Groupies Facebook Group Banner. 2jpg        

You Might Also Like

Previous Story
Next Story

48 Comment

  1. Avatar
    Peggy Greco
    March 13, 2013 at 1:49 pm

    I like brick attack.

  2. Avatar
    Carrie Phelps
    March 13, 2013 at 7:20 pm

    Pac Man!

  3. Avatar
    Curtis
    March 13, 2013 at 8:08 pm

    Spy Hunter

  4. Avatar
    jeanette sheets
    March 13, 2013 at 9:49 pm

    pac man

  5. Avatar
    Ron Miller
    March 13, 2013 at 10:36 pm

    Pac Man!

  6. Avatar
    DFogel
    March 13, 2013 at 11:36 pm

    Zelda II: The Adventure of Link!

  7. Avatar
    steve weber
    March 13, 2013 at 11:55 pm

    Pong.

  8. Avatar
    Janet
    March 13, 2013 at 11:57 pm

    Centipede!

  9. Avatar
    sandra davis
    March 14, 2013 at 8:33 am

    pac man

  10. Avatar
    Desiree Dunbar
    March 14, 2013 at 10:43 am

    Pac Man and Sonic the Hedgehog…I love!!

  11. Avatar
    loyri halliburton
    March 14, 2013 at 4:47 pm

    My all time favorite video game is Mario Brothers.

  12. Avatar
    Jessica
    March 14, 2013 at 5:31 pm

    Mario for the original Nintendo

  13. Avatar
    Tonya
    March 15, 2013 at 2:41 pm

    Mario Bros.

  14. Avatar
    Colleen Boudreau
    March 15, 2013 at 5:46 pm

    Sonic!

  15. Avatar
    Katia
    March 16, 2013 at 1:21 am

    Mario Bros.

  16. Avatar
    Tabathia B
    March 16, 2013 at 1:58 am

    asteroids

  17. Avatar
    Susan Johnson
    March 16, 2013 at 7:54 pm

    Good old Super Mario Brothers was my favorite, aside from Space Invaders.

  18. Avatar
    Lisa Burk
    March 16, 2013 at 8:59 pm

    I have always liked any Mario games!

  19. Avatar
    Austin Baroudi
    March 16, 2013 at 9:43 pm

    Sonic The Hedgehog, Super Mario Bros, and of course Pacman are among the list of my favorites!

  20. Avatar
    meagan paullin
    March 18, 2013 at 4:13 am

    Pac Man!

  21. Avatar
    Michele P.
    March 18, 2013 at 1:56 pm

    toss up between Ms Pac Man and Centipede

  22. Avatar
    Courtney
    March 20, 2013 at 4:55 am

    Super Mario and Street Fighter has to be my faves.

  23. Avatar
    Daniel M
    March 20, 2013 at 8:11 pm

    galaga

  24. Avatar
    Rob Blatt
    March 21, 2013 at 4:49 pm

    Bubble Bobble

  25. Avatar
    clark roberts
    March 21, 2013 at 7:06 pm

    Pac Man!

  26. Avatar
    Lisa R
    March 22, 2013 at 2:05 pm

    Spy Hunter

    sibabe64 at ptd dot net

  27. Avatar
    Patty S.
    March 22, 2013 at 7:10 pm

    Atari!

  28. Avatar
    Edna Williams
    March 22, 2013 at 9:20 pm

    I love Mario Brothers.

  29. Avatar
    Sylvia Zajis
    March 22, 2013 at 10:06 pm

    Super Mario Brothers here too

  30. Avatar
    Darlene Jones-Nelson
    March 23, 2013 at 10:40 pm

    centipede

  31. Avatar
    Lesley M.
    March 23, 2013 at 11:34 pm

    Pac Man!

  32. Avatar
    Caroline B
    March 24, 2013 at 3:17 pm

    Mario Brothers

  33. Avatar
    Megan Parsons
    March 25, 2013 at 12:14 am

    tetris!

  34. Avatar
    latanya
    March 25, 2013 at 11:37 am

    mario brothers

  35. Avatar
    julie murphy
    March 25, 2013 at 1:11 pm

    asteroids

  36. Avatar
    Chrissylynn
    March 25, 2013 at 6:29 pm

    Favorite Classic video game hands down is FROGGER!

  37. Avatar
    Carrie Conley
    March 25, 2013 at 6:39 pm

    PacMan

  38. Avatar
    amber carroll
    March 25, 2013 at 6:43 pm

    duckhunt!

  39. Avatar
    lisa
    March 26, 2013 at 8:18 am

    Sonic The Hedgehog

  40. Avatar
    Ashley S
    March 26, 2013 at 12:01 pm

    Mario for sure!

  41. Avatar
    Tina Demarco
    March 27, 2013 at 11:36 pm

    mario is my all time fave!

  42. Avatar
    Claudia
    March 28, 2013 at 11:59 am

    Pac Man.

  43. Avatar
    mack
    March 29, 2013 at 4:07 pm

    Croix

  44. Avatar
    Angela Yeremenko
    March 29, 2013 at 5:44 pm

    Mario

  45. Avatar
    Pauline M
    March 29, 2013 at 5:45 pm

    For me it’s anything with mario bros!

  46. Avatar
    Julie Lynn Bickham
    March 29, 2013 at 6:19 pm

    Tetris was my fav!!

  47. Avatar
    Lorayne Gothard
    March 29, 2013 at 7:21 pm

    space invaders was the best!!

  48. Avatar
    Lu
    March 29, 2013 at 7:24 pm

    I do appreciate your reviews. Thank you.
    I subscribed to the “Free” cosmetics but when postage is due for a sample it is not free.
    I noticed mostly there were giveaways with the posts. I didn’t notice any without a free item attached.

Comments are closed.