ICE AGE: A MAMMOTH CHRISTMAS DVD Review ICE AGE: A MAMMOTH CHRISTMAS DVD Review    

ICE AGE: A MAMMOTH CHRISTMAS DVD Review

This post may contain affiliate links and/or Amazon Affiliate links. Please see my full disclosure policy for details.

Ice Age ChristmasA perfect family gift for the holidaysICE AGE: A MAMMOTH CHRISTMAS, now available from Twentieth Century Fox Home Entertainment and features the original voice talents of Ray Romano, Queen Latifah, John Leguizamo, Denis Leary and Sean William Scott.  Available for a low price ICE AGE: A MAMMOTH CHRISTMAS arrives on single disc DVD and a Blu-ray, DVD and digital copy combo pack with extra features, making it a great holiday stocking stuffer for the whole family to enjoy.

In ICE AGE: A MAMMOTH CHRISTMAS, America’s favorite arctic herd is busy decorating for the holiday season.  In his rush to help, Sid (John Leguizamo) destroys Manny’s (Ray Romano) favorite decorations.  Manny is so upset he convinces Sid he is now on Santa’s naughty list.  Sid, Crash, Eddie and Peaches take off for the North Pole to plead their case to Santa.  Meanwhile, Manny, Ellie and Diego, worry over Peaches’ safety and race to find her.  Back at the North Pole, Sid and his crew accidentally destroy Santa’s Workshop on Christmas Eve, and it’s up to these newfound friends to orchestrate a Christmas miracle.

Our Take: If you have reading my reviews, you know that I love holiday cartoons. While I still remain partial to the classics, i like watching all the new shows that come out. I just received this this week and have already seen it twice. All my kids watched this with me and really enjoyed it.

Take a Look Back at Previous Ice Age Shorts 

Can’t get enough of Manny, Sid, Diego and all other the other lovable prehistoric animals in the Ice Age series? Luckily, you can get yourIce Age fix before Ice Age: Continental Drift comes out next year! Ice Age: A Mammoth Christmas is the newest addition to the hilarious bunch of Ice Age short films. To celebrate its release, this feature will take a look back at the other great Ice Age short films.

Gone Nutty

 Gone Nutty is a 2002 Ice Age short, featuring the lovable character Scrat (voiced by Chris Wedge). In this short film, Scrat tries (unsuccessfully) to hoard yet another acorn, but unintentionally ends up turning his entire acorn stock into an avalanche, which sends him tumbling to the snow below and destroys some of his prized acorns. The force of his acorn avalanche also causes continental drift, which shapes the Earth’s continents. This adorable short film was nominated for the 2004 Academy Award for Animated Short Film.

 No Time for Nuts

The 2006 Ice Age short film, No Time for Nuts, also stars the beloved Scrat. In this short, Scrat stumbles upon a time machine, which transports one of his acorns. Scrat becomes angered and tries to punch the time machine, only to accidentally send himself to the Middle Ages! After an attack from some archers, Scrat is able to transport himself and his acorn to many places throughout history, including Ancient Rome, the RMS Titanic, the first Ice Age film, the French Revolution, Benjamin Franklin’s famous kite experiment, Michelangelo’s David, a wormhole, and the future. This short film was nominated for the 2007 Academy Award for Animated Short Film.

 

Surviving Sid

     Surviving Sid is a 2008 Ice Age short that stars Sid the Sloth (voiced by John Leguizamo). Sid takes a group of school children on a camping trip and – in typical Sid fashion – it ends badly. When trying to pick a flower, Sid accidentally starts a chain reaction wherein a tree falls and hits a rock, which hits larger rocks, until a large iceberg is hit. This leads to the creation of the Grand Canyon, and to traumatizing the young campers, who end up tying Sid up.

Scrat’s Continental Crack-up

RELATED:  Bob the Builder: Adventures by the Sea DVD

         The two-part short film Scrat’s Continental Crack-up was released in  2010 and 2011 (parts one and two, respectively). In this short film, Scrat is again looking for a place to safely store his acorn, this time atop an ice cap. He somehow manages to crack the ice cap and break the mountain below, and falls into the rift, traveling past all of Earth’s layers to the inner core! Scrat makes the core spin, which breaks Pangea into continents and creates new life. Scrat also alters our world by accidentally creating a Scrat Sphinx, and Scrat faces on Mount Rushmore. In the end, Scrat is discharged from the core and lands on a piece of ice, which breaks and separates him from his precious acorn.

 Ice Age: A Mammoth Christmas

      Ice Age: A Mammoth Christmas is this year’s must-see holiday special! Spend the holidays with your favorite prehistoric friends as they try to save Christmas for the whole world! After accidentally destroying Santa’s workshop, the animals must work together to save Christmas for everyone. Ray Romano, John Leguizamo, Queen Latifah, Denis Leary, and Seann William Scott all lend their voices to this hilarious tale of a group of friends out to save the holiday season.

 Stay Connected: Visit Ice Age Christmas on Facebook or Ice Age on Facebook

Buy It:  Ice Age: A Mammoth Christmas

GIVEAWAY!CLOSED

THIS GIVEAWAY IS NOW CLOSED – WINNER STEPHANIE G. – I SENT YOU AN EMAIL!

1 winner will receive  Ice Age: A Mammoth Christmas, (RV $7.98)!

To Enter: Let Me Know What Your Favorite Ice Age Cartoon Short Is!

Thank You Twentieth Century Fox Home Entertainment for this great giveaway!

Extra Entries: These are to be completed only after initial entry. All entrants that do not do the initial entry will be disqualified. Please leave a separate comment for each extra entry.

– Follow The Review Wire on Twitter

– Tweet about this giveaway by copying and pasting the tweet below and leaving me the link. Tweet daily for an extra entry every day!

#WIN  Ice Age: A Mammoth #Christmas DVD @realsid @TheReviewWire – http://bit.ly/uuwMMZ #giveaway 12/20

– If you like The Review Wire on Facebook, Leave a comment

– Blog about this giveaway, with a link to my blog. Come back and leave the link to your blog post

– Subscribe to The Review Wire by RSS Feed or FREE Email Subscription.

– Grab my button and put up on your blog. Please leave an address where it can be found.

<div align="center">
<a href="https://thereviewwire.com"
title="The Review Wire"><img src="https://thereviewwire.com/wp-
content/uploads/2011/09/125logo.jpg"
alt="The Review Wire" style="border:none;" /></a></div>

 

This giveaway is open to US Residents until 9:00 pm Eastern on 12/20/2011. The winner will be chosen using the random.org generator. The winner will have 48 hours to respond to my email before a new winner is selected. Good luck and don’t forget to leave your email if it is not on your profile. I will contact the winner via email.

Disclosure: I was provided with product for this review. All views and opinions with regard to the products or the company are my own and were not influenced by the company.

Join the Review Wire Giveaway Groupies Facebook Group Banner. 2jpg        

You Might Also Like

Previous Story
Next Story

82 Comment

  1. Avatar
    Pam L.
    December 8, 2011 at 10:35 pm

    I love Gone Nutty and I did not realize that was made in 2002, were did the time go, it seemed like yesterday

  2. Avatar
    Pam L.
    December 8, 2011 at 10:37 pm

    I Follow The Review Wire on Twitter: @pamiam04468

  3. Avatar
    Pam L.
    December 8, 2011 at 10:38 pm

    I Follow The Review Wire on FB: P Elaine Livingston

  4. Avatar
    Pam L.
    December 8, 2011 at 10:38 pm

    I Follow The Review Wire emailsc3z5

  5. Avatar
    Cheryl Abdelnour
    December 9, 2011 at 5:49 pm

    Any with that goofy squirrel! lol What a nut!!

  6. Avatar
    D Schmidt
    December 9, 2011 at 5:50 pm

    Favorite is Surviving Sid! (Ice Age 2)

    mummytotwoboys@yahoo.com

  7. Avatar
    Cheryl Abdelnour
    December 9, 2011 at 5:50 pm

    I Follow The Review Wire on Twitter as mt4cb.

  8. Avatar
    D Schmidt
    December 9, 2011 at 5:52 pm

    Email subscriber
    mummytotwoboys@yahoo.com

  9. Avatar
    Cheryl Abdelnour
    December 9, 2011 at 5:52 pm

    I tweeted—http://twitter.com/#!/mt4cb/status/145274443340582912

  10. Avatar
    D Schmidt
    December 9, 2011 at 5:53 pm

    Facebook fan as D Schmidt
    mummytotwoboys@yahoo.com

  11. Avatar
    Cheryl Abdelnour
    December 9, 2011 at 5:54 pm

    I like The Review Wire on Facebook.

  12. Avatar
    D Schmidt
    December 9, 2011 at 5:54 pm

    Twitter follower as mummytotwoboys1

  13. Avatar
    Cheryl Abdelnour
    December 9, 2011 at 5:55 pm

    I follow you on email.

  14. Avatar
    karen M
    December 9, 2011 at 7:53 pm

    When Sid tries to milk the Yak! and all the squirrels scenes when he tries to get the nut.

  15. Avatar
    karen M
    December 9, 2011 at 7:54 pm

    twitter follower-gummasplace

  16. Avatar
    karen M
    December 9, 2011 at 7:54 pm

    Like you on facebook-Gumma Medlin

  17. Avatar
    karen M
    December 9, 2011 at 7:55 pm

    email subscriber

  18. Avatar
    karen M
    December 9, 2011 at 7:55 pm

    daily tweet-http://twitter.com/#!/gummasplace/status/145305573196443648

  19. Avatar
    asha marie pena
    December 9, 2011 at 8:56 pm

    i like Gone Nutty
    asha.marie@hotmail.com

  20. Avatar
    sindy murray
    December 9, 2011 at 11:38 pm

    No time for nuts!

  21. Avatar
    sindy murray
    December 9, 2011 at 11:39 pm

    Follow you on twitter @urmariposa

  22. Avatar
    sindy murray
    December 9, 2011 at 11:40 pm

    like you on FB! Sindy Murray (starlightears4)

  23. Avatar
    sindy murray
    December 9, 2011 at 11:41 pm

    email subscriber!

  24. Avatar
    Dawn @ Guiding Light
    December 10, 2011 at 8:02 am

    I’m not sure what a “Cartoon Short” is but we love Ice Age movies.

  25. Avatar
    Dawn @ Guiding Light
    December 10, 2011 at 8:03 am

    Now following you on Twitter: GuidingLight3.

  26. Avatar
    Dawn @ Guiding Light
    December 10, 2011 at 8:04 am

    I now like you on FB.

  27. Avatar
    Jamie
    December 10, 2011 at 8:29 am

    Love the Continental Crack Up short! We love Scrat!

  28. Avatar
    Ashley K
    December 10, 2011 at 10:28 am

    We like “Gone Nutty” 🙂
    amberpebs@yahoo.com

  29. Avatar
    Jody H
    December 10, 2011 at 11:21 pm

    I think Gone Nutty is the only one I’ve seen. They are pretty clever. I know my kids would love this show.
    hickenfam at hotmail dot com

  30. Avatar
    Jody H
    December 10, 2011 at 11:21 pm

    I follow on twitter (hifam).
    hickenfam at hotmail dot com

  31. Avatar
    Jody H
    December 10, 2011 at 11:22 pm

    I follow you on fb (jody g h…).
    hickenfam at hotmail dot com

  32. Avatar
    Jody H
    December 10, 2011 at 11:22 pm

    I subscribe with google reader.
    hickenfam at hotmail dot com

  33. Avatar
    karen M
    December 11, 2011 at 1:48 pm

    daily tweet-http://twitter.com/#!/gummasplace/status/145937951463968768

  34. Avatar
    Christina D.
    December 11, 2011 at 7:28 pm

    Scrat’s Continental Crack-up is my fav. short clip:)
    annejk112233(at)yahoo(dot)com

  35. Avatar
    Christina D.
    December 11, 2011 at 7:37 pm

    I follow you on Twitter (I’m wowtotweet). annejk112233(at)yahoo(dot)com

  36. Avatar
    Christina D.
    December 11, 2011 at 7:40 pm

    I like you on Facebook (i’m anne dall on fb). annejk112233(at)yahoo(dot)com

  37. Avatar
    Rj, Jessie and Brayden
    December 12, 2011 at 12:47 am

    Gone Nutty!
    rjandjessie@yahoo.com

  38. Avatar
    Rj, Jessie and Brayden
    December 12, 2011 at 12:48 am

    I follow you on twitter!

  39. Avatar
    Rj, Jessie and Brayden
    December 12, 2011 at 12:48 am

    I like you on fb!

  40. Avatar
    Emily Dorigo
    December 12, 2011 at 12:12 pm

    Gone Nutty. My kids love that silly animal!

  41. Avatar
    Leah Baird
    December 12, 2011 at 1:10 pm

    My favorite is Sid the Sloth. lnb1191(at)aol(dot)com

  42. Avatar
    Leah Baird
    December 12, 2011 at 1:12 pm

    Follow The Review Wire on Twitter @lnb1191
    lnb1191(at)aol(dot)com

  43. Avatar
    Leah Baird
    December 12, 2011 at 1:13 pm

    Like The Review Wire on Facebook
    Leah Baird
    lnb1191(at)aol(dot)com

  44. Avatar
    deanna
    December 13, 2011 at 10:21 am

    fave: no time for nuts
    xoxoxo

  45. Avatar
    deanna
    December 13, 2011 at 10:23 am

    follow you on twitter @ dlw447
    xoxoxo

  46. Avatar
    deanna
    December 13, 2011 at 10:23 am

    like you on FB as deanna time
    xoxoxo

  47. Avatar
    deanna
    December 13, 2011 at 10:25 am

    RSS subscribed
    xoxoxo

  48. Avatar
    Allison Downes
    December 13, 2011 at 2:32 pm

    I like the Surviving Sid

    lola_violets_2010[at]yahoo[dot]com

  49. Avatar
    Allison Downes
    December 13, 2011 at 2:32 pm

    I Follow The Review Wire on Twitter

    @Olivewoodbooks

    lola_violets_2010[at]yahoo[dot]com

  50. Avatar
    Allison Downes
    December 13, 2011 at 2:32 pm

    I like The Review Wire on Facebook

    lola_violets_2010[at]yahoo[dot]com

  51. Avatar
    Allison Downes
    December 13, 2011 at 2:33 pm

    Email Subbie

    lola_violets_2010[at]yahoo[dot]com

  52. Avatar
    karen M
    December 13, 2011 at 7:39 pm

    daily tweet-http://twitter.com/#!/gummasplace/status/146750938277871616

  53. Avatar
    Stephanie Grant
    December 13, 2011 at 8:41 pm

    I personally like the Gone Nutty short the best!

  54. Avatar
    Stephanie Grant
    December 13, 2011 at 8:43 pm

    Follow The Review Wire on Twitter @sgrant2005

  55. Avatar
    Stephanie Grant
    December 13, 2011 at 8:44 pm

    I like The Review Wire on Facebook (Stephanie Petty-Grant)

  56. Avatar
    karen M
    December 14, 2011 at 11:50 am

    daily tweet-http://twitter.com/#!/gummasplace/status/146995460874309633

  57. Avatar
    Gwen Lawhorn
    December 14, 2011 at 6:37 pm

    Gone Nutty

  58. Avatar
    Gwen Lawhorn
    December 14, 2011 at 6:38 pm

    Twitter follower

  59. Avatar
    Gwen Lawhorn
    December 14, 2011 at 6:42 pm

    Like on facebook

  60. Avatar
    Gwen Lawhorn
    December 14, 2011 at 6:45 pm

    E-mail subscriber

  61. Avatar
    Stephanie Phelps
    December 14, 2011 at 7:14 pm

    I love any of them with the squirrel

  62. Avatar
    Stephanie Phelps
    December 14, 2011 at 7:16 pm

    I Follow The Review Wire on Twitter @my4boysand1

  63. Avatar
    Stephanie Phelps
    December 14, 2011 at 7:19 pm

    I like The Review Wire on Facebook (Stephanie Phelps)

  64. Avatar
    Stephanie Phelps
    December 14, 2011 at 7:20 pm

    I subscribe to your posts through Email

  65. Avatar
    Carla Aldrich
    December 14, 2011 at 7:22 pm

    My son (3yrs), husband and I like Gone Nutty!

  66. Avatar
    Carla Aldrich
    December 14, 2011 at 7:23 pm

    I am a The Review Wire Twitter follower @carla_aldrich
    carla-aldrich@hotmail.com

  67. Avatar
    Carla Aldrich
    December 14, 2011 at 7:25 pm

    I am already a Facebook friend- Carla Aldrich
    carla-aldrich@hotmail.com

  68. Avatar
    Carla Aldrich
    December 14, 2011 at 7:26 pm
  69. Avatar
    Carla Aldrich
    December 14, 2011 at 7:27 pm

    I subscribed via Feedburner email and I confirmed subscription.
    carla-aldrich@hotmail.com

  70. Avatar
    Shelle
    December 14, 2011 at 8:57 pm

    I love the parts with Buck in them! <3

  71. Avatar
    Shelle
    December 14, 2011 at 8:59 pm

    follow you on twitter. phoinexpeace

  72. Avatar
    Shelle
    December 14, 2011 at 8:59 pm

    like you on FB. missy green

  73. Avatar
    Shelle
    December 14, 2011 at 8:59 pm

    RSS feed

  74. Avatar
    Shelle
    December 14, 2011 at 9:00 pm

    email sub. phoinex911(at)yahoo

  75. Avatar
    Lawanna
    December 15, 2011 at 8:44 am

    we get a kick out of Scrat’s adventures to get the acorn.

  76. Avatar
    karen M
    December 15, 2011 at 9:48 am

    rt-http://twitter.com/#!/gummasplace/status/147327099915599872

  77. Avatar
    ACMommy3
    December 15, 2011 at 11:08 pm

    I like Gone Nutty…but they’re all great and so funny! 🙂 Would love to see this Christmas one. 🙂 creedamy [at] yahoo[dot] com

  78. Avatar
    karen M
    December 16, 2011 at 10:15 am

    rt-http://twitter.com/#!/gummasplace/status/147696251952041984

  79. Avatar
    justin castillo
    December 18, 2011 at 9:58 pm

    Surviving Sid

  80. Avatar
    justin castillo
    December 18, 2011 at 9:58 pm

    already follow on twitter at spacebarshift

  81. Avatar
    justin castillo
    December 18, 2011 at 9:58 pm

    already like on Facebook

  82. Avatar
    justin castillo
    December 18, 2011 at 10:00 pm

    already subscribe

Comments are closed.