How Things Work in the Yard Review & Bugs by the Numbers How Things Work in the Yard Review & Bugs by the Numbers    

Blue Apple Books: Bugs by the Numbers & How Things Work in the Yard Review

This post may contain affiliate links and/or Amazon Affiliate links. Please see my full disclosure policy for details.

Introducing 2 new books from Blue Apple Books, the perfect way to learn more about the great outdoors.

How Things Work in the YardHow Things Work in the Yard describes the inner workings of just about everything that’s right outside a youngster’s back door — including acorns, bubbles, puddles, ants, fireflies, clouds, birds and even dandelions (did you know they close at night and then open again in the sun?).  Just right for kids ages 4-8, creator Lisa Campbell Ernst deftly strikes the right balance of detailed yet easy-to-understand language and cleverly labeled drawings to inventively explain the functioning of objects that may seem quite ordinary to us grown-ups but rather extraordinary to our children!

My three year old really liked this book. It talks about How Things Work, like dirt. It has a picture of bugs underground like worms, snails, and raccoons. I took him out back where I was digging up a mulch bed and turned over the dirt. I showed him all the worms and tunnels and all the other creepy-crawlies, although I didn’t want to get too close!

RELATED:  SMURFS: The Lost Village Printable Activities

Bugs by the NumbersBugs by the Numbers features an amazing array of insects: butterflies to termites, dragonflies to walking sticks.  What makes this book a true stand-out is that these incredible insects are ingeniously engineered out of numerals.  Each entry also includes fascinating numeric facts about its subject — like how a flea can bite up to 400 times per day or that a queen termite can lay 1 egg every 15 seconds! This eye-catching and imaginative book for kiddos ages 6-12 features 9 die-cut gatefolds and text that is fun, funny and informative!

All my kids liked this book. The pictures of the animals all made up of numbers. For example, the dragonfly is a bunch of the number ’50s. Then the information talks about interesting facts about that number. So, the dragonfly, while flying can catch and eat about 50 mosquitos each day! Some of the pages also have fold-out pages for more information.

Stay Connected: Blue Apple on Facebook

Join the Review Wire Giveaway Groupies Facebook Group Banner. 2jpg        

You Might Also Like

Previous Story
Next Story

69 Comment

  1. Avatar
    Ann
    May 18, 2011 at 5:21 pm

    Goodnight Owl looks like a good book for my grandson

    amhengstATverizonDOTnet

  2. Avatar
    Ann
    May 18, 2011 at 5:23 pm

    i like cincinnati coupons on facebook to

    amhengst

  3. Avatar
    Ann
    May 18, 2011 at 5:27 pm

    i am subscribe t cincinnati coupons by email subscription

    amhengstATverizonDOTnet

  4. Avatar
    Steph
    May 18, 2011 at 5:29 pm

    I like Wiggle Like an Octopus and Good Morning Toucan.

  5. Avatar
    Steph
    May 18, 2011 at 5:30 pm

    I follow on Twitter (mnsteph)

  6. Avatar
    Susan C
    May 18, 2011 at 8:55 pm

    Take Care of Me looks like a sweet book.
    smchester at gmail dot com

  7. Avatar
    Kimberly
    May 18, 2011 at 9:18 pm

    Swing Like a Monkey — we LOVE monkeys!
    kcoud33 at gmail dot com

  8. Avatar
    Kimberly
    May 18, 2011 at 9:45 pm

    Follow you on Twitter (@kcoud33)
    kcoud33 at gmail dot com

  9. Avatar
    Kimberly
    May 18, 2011 at 9:46 pm

    Like you on Facebook
    kcoud33 at gmail dot com

  10. Avatar
    Kimberly
    May 18, 2011 at 9:46 pm

    Email subscriber
    kcoud33 at gmail dot com

  11. Avatar
    Nicole C.
    May 19, 2011 at 8:26 am

    I like Grandmas Wedding Album!!

  12. Avatar
    McKim
    May 19, 2011 at 10:49 am

    Bunny’s Lessons looks like a book my little grandson would like.

  13. Avatar
    McKim
    May 19, 2011 at 10:50 am

    I like Cincinnati Coupons on Facebook.

  14. Avatar
    Melissa
    May 19, 2011 at 12:24 pm

    Doodles @ Breakfast

  15. Avatar
    amy h
    May 19, 2011 at 3:05 pm

    Goodnight Owl looks like a great book

  16. Avatar
    amy h
    May 19, 2011 at 3:06 pm

    Email subscriber

  17. Avatar
    Pam L.
    May 21, 2011 at 12:33 pm

    Doggie dreams looks fun

  18. Avatar
    Pam L.
    May 21, 2011 at 12:34 pm

    I Follow CintiCoupons on Twitter, @pamiam04468

  19. Avatar
    Pam L.
    May 21, 2011 at 12:35 pm

    I Follow CintiCoupons by email

  20. Avatar
    Pam L.
    May 21, 2011 at 12:35 pm

    I Follow CintiCoupons on fb

  21. Avatar
    Wehaf
    May 21, 2011 at 5:53 pm

    “Wiggle Like an Octopus” and “Swing Like a Monkey” look awesome!

  22. Avatar
    domestic diva
    May 22, 2011 at 11:20 am

    Good Morning Toucan looks great.

  23. Avatar
    Staci A
    May 22, 2011 at 8:20 pm

    Swing Like a Monkey looks really cute too!

  24. Avatar
    Staci A
    May 22, 2011 at 8:20 pm

    I follow you on Twitter @MommaStaciA

  25. Avatar
    Staci A
    May 22, 2011 at 8:21 pm

    I liked your site on Facebook. Thanks!

  26. Avatar
    Mary J
    May 22, 2011 at 9:31 pm

    I like the Do you Know Which Ones will Grow?

  27. Avatar
    Mary J
    May 22, 2011 at 9:32 pm

    Twitter follower- maryjaco1

  28. Avatar
    Mary J
    May 22, 2011 at 9:33 pm

    I like CC on Fb-mary jaco

  29. Avatar
    Mary J
    May 22, 2011 at 9:35 pm

    Email subscriber.

  30. Avatar
    Gretta
    May 23, 2011 at 12:20 pm

    I like the book “Do you know which ones will grow” also

    bamagv at aol dot com

  31. Avatar
    sarah cooper
    May 23, 2011 at 1:12 pm

    Wiggle Like and Octopus looks super cute!

  32. Avatar
    sarah cooper
    May 23, 2011 at 1:14 pm

    Now following you on twitter as scoop500

  33. Avatar
    Cassie
    May 23, 2011 at 3:07 pm

    I would love the book: Swing Like a Monkey

  34. Avatar
    Sandy
    May 23, 2011 at 3:42 pm

    I like Balloon Toons/ Doggie Dreams.

  35. Avatar
    Raven In A Blue Room
    May 23, 2011 at 8:27 pm

    another lovely book is “Goodnight, Owl”
    Thank you for hosting this giveaway

    Louis
    schnitzomage {at} gmail {dot} com

  36. Avatar
    Raven In A Blue Room
    May 23, 2011 at 8:27 pm

    I subscribed to your feed via google reader

    schnitzomage {at} gmail {dot} com

  37. Avatar
    Raven In A Blue Room
    May 23, 2011 at 8:28 pm

    I like your blog on facebook (Louis Here)

    schnitzomage {at} gmail {dot} com

  38. Avatar
    Raven In A Blue Room
    May 23, 2011 at 8:28 pm

    following you on twitter @left_the_stars

    schnitzomage {at} gmail {dot} com

  39. Avatar
    Ed Nemmers
    May 23, 2011 at 8:37 pm

    “Good Morning, Toucan” and “Good Night, Owl”!

  40. Avatar
    Shannon Alexander
    May 24, 2011 at 1:12 am

    Playtime Party Picnic sound fun
    shannonsweep at gmail dot com

  41. Avatar
    Shannon Alexander
    May 24, 2011 at 1:13 am

    follow on fb- shannons funpage
    shannonsweep at gmail dot com

  42. Avatar
    Shannon Alexander
    May 24, 2011 at 1:13 am

    twitter follower
    MikeAWife
    shannonsweep at gmail dot com

  43. Avatar
    Sarah
    May 24, 2011 at 9:01 am

    Alphabeasties and Other Amazing Types looks interesting.

  44. Avatar
    Sarah
    May 24, 2011 at 9:02 am

    Following on Twitter @sarohioan

  45. Avatar
    susan smoaks
    May 24, 2011 at 11:12 am

    i like this one Bugs by the Numbers Blue Apple Books

    By Sharon Werner
    and Sarah Forss

  46. Avatar
    Nina
    May 24, 2011 at 11:49 am

    “Swing like a monkey” looks like fun too!

  47. Avatar
    Nina
    May 24, 2011 at 11:50 am

    Follow you on twitter (hungrymonkey09)

  48. Avatar
    Nina
    May 24, 2011 at 11:52 am

    Like you on facebook (Nina Hi)

  49. Avatar
    tina
    May 24, 2011 at 12:37 pm

    I think goodnight Owl is super cute thanks for the chance to win eaglesforjack@gmail.com

  50. Avatar
    tina
    May 24, 2011 at 12:51 pm

    I like on facebook (mrstinareynolds eaglesforjack@gmail.com

  51. Avatar
    tina
    May 24, 2011 at 12:52 pm

    I subscribe thanks

  52. Avatar
    Shelby
    May 24, 2011 at 12:56 pm

    Good Morning, Toucan looks fun. Thanks!

  53. Avatar
    Kerrie Mayans
    May 24, 2011 at 1:59 pm

    I think my daughter would like bear in pink underware.

    kerrie@mayansfamily.com

  54. Avatar
    Kerrie Mayans
    May 24, 2011 at 2:01 pm

    I follow you on twitter as kmayans

  55. Avatar
    Kerrie Mayans
    May 24, 2011 at 2:01 pm

    I subscribe to your rss feed in google reader.

    kerrie@mayansfamily.com

  56. Avatar
    Brittany Rebello
    May 24, 2011 at 2:51 pm

    i also like the little duck finger puppet book!

  57. Avatar
    Brittany Rebello
    May 24, 2011 at 2:53 pm

    followin u on twitter @deadmonkeys90

  58. Avatar
    Brittany Rebello
    May 24, 2011 at 2:54 pm

    email subscriber

  59. Avatar
    April Bever
    May 24, 2011 at 3:19 pm

    The bear in the pink underwear looks cute.

  60. Avatar
    Diane Baum
    May 24, 2011 at 3:44 pm

    “Good Morning, Toucan

  61. Avatar
    Mandy
    May 24, 2011 at 4:50 pm

    I like Goodnight Owl!

  62. Avatar
    Mandy
    May 24, 2011 at 4:51 pm

    I like you on Facebook

  63. Avatar
    Mandy
    May 24, 2011 at 4:51 pm

    I follow you on twitter

  64. Avatar
    Gianna
    May 24, 2011 at 7:25 pm

    Doggie Dreams.

  65. Avatar
    Gianna
    May 24, 2011 at 7:25 pm

    I’m an email subscriber.

  66. Avatar
    Christina anne d.
    May 24, 2011 at 7:29 pm

    “Balloon Toons/Zoe and Robot – Let’s Pretend” looks fun to me. annejk112233(at)yahoo(dot)com

  67. Avatar
    Christina anne d.
    May 24, 2011 at 7:32 pm

    I follow you on Twitter (I’m wowtotweet). annejk112233(at)yahoo(dot)com

  68. Avatar
    Christina anne d.
    May 24, 2011 at 7:36 pm

    I like u on fb. i’m anne dall on fb.
    annejk112233(at)yahoo(dot)com

  69. Avatar
    Christina anne d.
    May 24, 2011 at 7:36 pm

    I subscribe to your email. annejk112233(at)yahoo(dot)com

Comments are closed.