The Food Lover’s Guide to Wine | The Review Wire The Food Lover’s Guide to Wine | The Review Wire    

The Food Lover’s Guide to Wine Book Review

This post may contain affiliate links and/or Amazon Affiliate links. Please see my full disclosure policy for details.

FOOD LOVER’S GUIDE TO WINE by Karen Page and Andrew Dornenburg

The Food Lover's Guide to Wine

Even if you don’t enjoy wine, this book is a very informative source of wine down through the ages. It offers a history and also pairs various foods with wines. Well written and enjoyable to read, this is really the everyman’s guide to wine. It is neither pretentious nor short-sighted. It is just a very good basic book about wine and about food.

The two authors say they are food lovers before they are wine lovers and it shows. They do not pretend that learning about wine has to be a time consuming, long drawn out process. They simply tell you what to look for and appreciate. Don’t get me wrong, the book contains plenty of detail and includes a bibliography of wines from different countries.

I like the way the book is laid out, as a reference manual. You can learn something valuable from the very first page. Or you can skip to the bibliography and drill into a particular wine from a particular country or region of the country.

As a very experienced cook, I don’t know a lot about wine and I don’t want to. But when entertaining, it’s nice to have a quick reference to note what type of wine should be paired with dinner or appetizers; after all, your get together or dinner party will include people who are very serious about wine. And who wants to disappoint friends or associates.

RELATED:  Review | Nipozzano Riserva 2008 Wine

One thing I learned from ‘The Food Lover’s Guide to Wine’ is that a good wine does not have to be an expensive wine. Far from it. The quality of a given wine is all about the grapes and the cultivation of the grapes and how and when the grapes are cultivated and how the wine is prepared before it ferments. And that doesn’t mean it has to cost a gazillion dollars a bottle.

This book deserves room on your bookshelf. It’s well done and very straightforward.

Review by Larry

 Buy It: The Food Lover’s Guide to Wine

Disclosure: I was provided with product for this review. All views and opinions with regard to The Food Lover’s Guide To Wine Book Review or the company are my own and were not influenced by the company.

Join the Review Wire Giveaway Groupies Facebook Group Banner. 2jpg        

You Might Also Like

Previous Story
Next Story

29 Comment

  1. Leah Baird
    November 26, 2011 at 11:12 am

    My moms favorite is Pinot Nior. lnb1191(at)aol(dot)com

  2. Leah Baird
    November 26, 2011 at 11:39 am

    Follow The Review Wire on Twitter @lnb1191
    lnb1191(at)aol(dot)com

  3. Leah Baird
    November 26, 2011 at 11:56 am

    Like The Review Wire on Facebook
    Leah Baird
    lnb1191(at)aol(dot)com

  4. Pam L.
    November 28, 2011 at 12:38 am

    I like a sweet white wine like catawba wine

  5. Pam L.
    November 28, 2011 at 12:39 am

    I Follow The Review Wire emails

  6. Pam L.
    November 28, 2011 at 12:39 am

    I Follow The Review Wire on twitter: @pamiam04468

  7. Pam L.
    November 28, 2011 at 12:40 am

    I Follow The Review Wire on FB: P Elaine Livingston

  8. Carla Aldrich
    November 30, 2011 at 2:27 pm

    My favorite wine is Merlot…I usually just buy cheap wine because I don’t really know the first thing about “good” wine!

    1. Carla Aldrich
      November 30, 2011 at 2:28 pm

      Forgot my email
      carla-aldrich@hotmail.com

  9. Carla Aldrich
    November 30, 2011 at 2:28 pm

    I am a The Review Wire Twitter follower @carla_aldrich
    carla-aldrich@hotmail.com

  10. Carla Aldrich
    November 30, 2011 at 2:29 pm

    I already liked you on Facebook (as Carla Aldrich) and left a comment
    carla-aldrich@hotmail.com

  11. Carla Aldrich
    November 30, 2011 at 2:29 pm

    I already subscribed to you via RSS Google Reader
    I also already subscribed via Feedburner email and I confirmed subscription.
    carla-aldrich@hotmail.com

  12. Carla Aldrich
    November 30, 2011 at 2:30 pm
  13. Dana Beeman
    December 8, 2011 at 11:57 am

    My favorite wine of all time is sparkling & from Italy, Rosa Regale by Banfi. It smells like roses, tastes like strawberries, and costs around $22 a bottle.
    Dana Beeman: danabeeman(at)gmail(dot)com

  14. Dana Beeman
    December 8, 2011 at 11:58 am

    @hazelfinn follows @TheReviewWire on Twitter.
    Dana Beeman: danabeeman(at)gmail(dot)com

  15. Dana Beeman
    December 8, 2011 at 11:59 am

    Liked The Review Wire on FB.
    facebook.com/danabeeman/
    Dana Beeman: danabeeman(at)gmail(dot)com

  16. Dana Beeman
    December 8, 2011 at 11:59 am

    Subscribed via email.
    Dana Beeman: danabeeman(at)gmail(dot)com

  17. Jessica
    December 8, 2011 at 8:54 pm

    chocolate wine is my favorite

  18. Jessica
    December 8, 2011 at 8:54 pm

    email subscriber

  19. Jessica
    December 8, 2011 at 8:55 pm

    like you on FB as Jessica McGhee

  20. Jessica
    December 8, 2011 at 8:55 pm

    twitter follower as jmcghee2024

  21. Ladytink_534
    December 9, 2011 at 8:08 am

    Merlot

  22. Ladytink_534
    December 9, 2011 at 8:08 am

    I follow you on Twitter (@Ladytink_534)

  23. Ladytink_534
    December 9, 2011 at 8:10 am

    I LIKE you on FB~ Jen Tink

  24. Ladytink_534
    December 9, 2011 at 8:10 am

    Google Reader subscriber

  25. Lily Kwan
    December 9, 2011 at 2:39 pm

    My favorite wine is Shiraz.

  26. Lily Kwan
    December 9, 2011 at 2:42 pm

    I follow you on Twitter under the username likwan.

  27. Lily Kwan
    December 9, 2011 at 2:44 pm

    I follow you on Facebook under the username likwan.

  28. Lily Kwan
    December 9, 2011 at 2:44 pm

    I subscribed by email.

Comments are closed.