Clinton St. Baking Company Cookbook Review- The Review Wire Clinton St. Baking Company Cookbook Review- The Review Wire

Clinton St. Baking Company Cookbook Review

This post may contain affiliate links and/or Amazon affiliate links; I will be compensated if you make a purchase after clicking on my links. Please see my full disclosure policy for details.

Clinton St. Baking Company Cookbook Review:

Clinton St. Baking Company Cookbook

Like many cooks, baking scares me. Baking is science. Baking means everything from the amount of the ingredients to timing has to be very precise. Even techniques have to be exact and just so. Still, who doesn’t like to eat warm from the oven baked goods?

As a cook and cookbook collector, I took to ‘Clinton St. Baking Company’ with enthusiasm because the book goes out of its way to offer simple easy to follow recipes. Even the techniques required are easy to follow. For example, I’ve been making homemade pancakes for years, but the recipe in the book offered a unique way to incorporate egg whites into the batter and the end result were the best pancakes I’ve ever made!

How many recipes have you seen for buttermilk biscuits? Thousands? But the recipe in ‘Clinton Street Baking Company’ is exceptional and produces a high, light, buttery and flaky biscuit, one of the best I’ve ever made. And the recipe is quick and easy to follow.

Written by DeDe Lahman and Neil Kleinberg, the cookbook is filled with high color, expertly shot photographs of selected recipes. And although the book offers many recipes for baked goods, it includes egg, soup and sandwich recipes. The recipe for Split-pea Soup is very good; I like split pea soup and this one is right up there with the best.

The dessert section contains some really excellent recipes like classic white birthday cake; then there’s black and white cake and flourless chocolate cake.

Some of the recipes appear to be over simplistic, but then these are recipes for the experienced cook and the beginner, all written to be relatively quick, fun and enjoyable.

‘Clinton Street Baking Company’ deserves to be included in your collection and deserves a spot in your kitchen book rack, at least until you’ve tried half a dozen of the recipes.

A Cookbook review by Larry Garascia

Buy It: Clinton St Baking Company Cookbook can be found at Hachette Book Group

GIVEAWAY! CLOSED

THIS GIVEAWAY IS NOW CLOSED – #48 TERESA Y. – I SENT YOU AN EMAIL!

RELATED:  Star Wars Reads Day 2015 Books and Activities

1 winner will receive Clinton St. Baking Company Cookbook , (RV $29.99)!

To Enter: Let me know what your favorite cookie recipe is

Thank You Hachette Book Group for this great giveaway!

This giveaway is open to US Residents until 9:00 pm Eastern on 1/18/2011. The winner will be chosen using the random.org generator. The winner will have 48 hours to respond to my email before a new winner is selected. Good luck and don’t forget to leave your email if it is not on your profile. I will contact the winner via email.

Disclosure: I was provided with product for this review. All views and opinions with regard to the products or the company are my own and were not influenced by the company.

Join the Review Wire Giveaway Groupies Facebook Group Banner. 2jpg        

You Might Also Like

Previous Story
Next Story

111 Comment

  1. Avatar
    Maureen
    January 12, 2011 at 10:45 am

    I found a recipe that is from the B&B Foothill House in Calistoga Ca and they have a great chocolate Chip cookie called Sweet Dreams.

  2. Avatar
    Jennifer Barr
    January 12, 2011 at 2:09 pm

    My favorite cookie recipe is for sugar cookies

    chevybelair1 at juno dot com

  3. Avatar
    Jennifer Barr
    January 12, 2011 at 2:21 pm

    Follow CintiCoupons on Twitter
    @jennifer57

  4. Avatar
    Jennifer Barr
    January 12, 2011 at 2:26 pm

    like Cincinnati Coupons on Facebook,

  5. Avatar
    erin
    January 12, 2011 at 4:55 pm

    My favorite recipe is a mock Samoas recipe very similar to the girl scout cookies. Yum!

  6. Avatar
    Tina W
    January 12, 2011 at 7:41 pm

    I love oatmeal chocolate chip or white chocolate macadamia nut cookies. And homemade fig newtons. And gingersnaps. And…….ok I’m a cookie glutton.
    And a biscuit recipe that is quick and easy to follow? count me in (I am a good baker, but biscuits are always an epic fail for me!)

  7. Avatar
    Tina W
    January 12, 2011 at 7:42 pm

    Very happy email subscriber!

  8. Avatar
    jessie mayer
    January 12, 2011 at 11:11 pm

    My favorite cookie recipe is the nestle toll house recipe for chocolate chip cookies! They always turn out perfect and everyone always asks for the recipe! LOL

  9. Avatar
    jessie mayer
    January 12, 2011 at 11:12 pm

    follow you on twitter @raggedybabygift

  10. Avatar
    jessie mayer
    January 12, 2011 at 11:12 pm

    subscribe to your emails

  11. Avatar
    jessie mayer
    January 12, 2011 at 11:13 pm

    FB fan as Jessie Jones Mayer

  12. Avatar
    Rebecca
    January 13, 2011 at 10:09 am

    I love the chocolate chip cookies from the Fannie Farmer Cookbook.

  13. Avatar
    nancy
    January 13, 2011 at 10:20 am

    My favorite cookie recipe is my Mom’s date pinwheel cookies.

    nblexp (at) gmail (dot) com

  14. Avatar
    nancy
    January 13, 2011 at 10:21 am

    I follow you on twitter as c5519

    nblexp at gmail dot com

  15. Avatar
    kelly
    January 13, 2011 at 3:55 pm

    chocolate chip cookies

  16. Avatar
    kelly
    January 13, 2011 at 3:55 pm

    email subscriber

  17. Avatar
    Teslaca
    January 13, 2011 at 5:08 pm

    My favorite cookies are the old standby, chocolate chip. But I really love brownie cookies too.

  18. Avatar
    Karen Dorris
    January 13, 2011 at 10:15 pm

    My favorite (and easiest) cookie recipe is the one that starts out with a box of cake mix. I add whatever is on hand………..nuts, M&Ms, chocolate chips………………..

    kpintn / at/hotmail/dot/com

  19. Avatar
    Karen Dorris
    January 13, 2011 at 10:17 pm

    Follow you on FB as Karen D—–

    kpintn / at/hotmail/dot/com

  20. Avatar
    Karen Dorris
    January 13, 2011 at 10:18 pm

    I subscribe to your emails!

    kpintn / at/hotmail/dot/com

  21. Avatar
    felecia
    January 14, 2011 at 10:25 am

    My fav is chocolate chip cookies with pecans

  22. Avatar
    felecia
    January 14, 2011 at 10:26 am

    email subscriber

  23. Avatar
    Amanda
    January 14, 2011 at 3:45 pm

    My favorite recipe for cookies is Nestle Tollhouse chocolate chip cookies

  24. Avatar
    Amanda
    January 14, 2011 at 3:46 pm

    I am an email subscriber

  25. Avatar
    Tami Vollenweider
    January 14, 2011 at 4:41 pm

    I have a Recipe for Cocoons! Love Them!

  26. Avatar
    Tami Vollenweider
    January 14, 2011 at 4:43 pm

    Email Subscriber!

  27. Avatar
    Tami Vollenweider
    January 14, 2011 at 4:46 pm

    Fan of Cicinnati Coupons!

  28. Avatar
    Jessica M.
    January 15, 2011 at 12:53 am

    My favorite is chocolate no bake cookies! Thank you!

  29. Avatar
    Alissa
    January 15, 2011 at 6:11 pm

    I like plain old chocolate chip! captainliss40(at)gmail(dot)com

  30. Avatar
    LeAnn V
    January 15, 2011 at 6:35 pm

    My favorite cookie recipe is for Five chip cookies, found in the Taste of Home Cookies cookbook. LKVOYER at aol dot com

  31. Avatar
    Amber
    January 15, 2011 at 6:36 pm

    My grandma’s dark chocolate walnut cookie recipe is my favorite!

  32. Avatar
    Amber
    January 15, 2011 at 6:37 pm

    I follow you on Twitter – I’m @AmberGoo

  33. Avatar
    LeAnn V
    January 15, 2011 at 6:37 pm

    Following on Twitter @dancersmom69.

  34. Avatar
    Amber
    January 15, 2011 at 6:37 pm

    I like you on Facebook – my FB name is Amanda Moore

  35. Avatar
    LeAnn V
    January 15, 2011 at 6:39 pm

    Like you on FB (leann brandner voyer)

  36. Avatar
    LeAnn V
    January 15, 2011 at 6:40 pm

    Email subscriber. LKVOYER at aol dot com

  37. Avatar
    Teresa Young
    January 15, 2011 at 7:56 pm

    My favorite cookie recipe is Betty Crocker’s Chocolate Crinkles

  38. Avatar
    Teresa Young
    January 15, 2011 at 7:57 pm

    I follow CintiCoupons on Twitter – tmy56

  39. Avatar
    Teresa Young
    January 15, 2011 at 8:00 pm

    I like Cincinnati Coupons on FB

  40. Avatar
    Vicki Wurgler
    January 15, 2011 at 8:11 pm

    I have a recipe for banana oatmeal cookies that we love

  41. Avatar
    Kathy Eyre
    January 15, 2011 at 8:46 pm

    Toll House!

  42. Avatar
    Kathy Eyre
    January 15, 2011 at 8:48 pm

    Following on Twitter

  43. Avatar
    DebbyM
    January 15, 2011 at 9:23 pm

    I love “egg cookies”….its an italian cookie recipe made with eggs, flour and anisette….yum. very light, not too sweet and tasty. My aunt gave me the recipe.

    Thanks!

  44. Avatar
    DebbyM
    January 15, 2011 at 9:25 pm

    I subscribe to e-mail.

    Thanks!

  45. Avatar
    ky2here
    January 15, 2011 at 9:29 pm

    I have a bootleg graeter’s chocolate chunk cookie recipe!

    ky2here at msn dot com

  46. Avatar
    ky2here
    January 15, 2011 at 9:31 pm

    TWitter follower ky2here1.

    ky2here at msn dot com

  47. Avatar
    Miranda
    January 15, 2011 at 10:20 pm

    My favorite cookie recipe is for oatmeal cherry cookies
    crazyhippiegirl1@aol.com

  48. Avatar
    Miranda
    January 15, 2011 at 10:22 pm

    Following you on twitter (eponine367)
    crazyhippiegirl1@aol.com

  49. Avatar
    Miranda
    January 15, 2011 at 10:23 pm

    Liked you on fb (Miranda Marchese)
    crazyhippiegirl1@aol.com

  50. Avatar
    Miranda
    January 15, 2011 at 10:24 pm

    email subscriber
    crazyhippiegirl1@aol.com

  51. Avatar
    Denise B.
    January 16, 2011 at 12:51 pm

    My favorite are chocolate chip cookies.

  52. Avatar
    crystle tellerday
    January 16, 2011 at 1:53 pm

    my mothers sugar cookie recipie

  53. Avatar
    Aisling
    January 16, 2011 at 4:49 pm

    My favorite cookie recipe is for Snickerdoodles. mcgillrmcgill(at)charter(dot)net

  54. Avatar
    Kate
    January 16, 2011 at 6:18 pm

    Toll House Chocolate Chip cookies are always awesome! Thanks for the opportunity to win!

  55. Avatar
    Rachel
    January 16, 2011 at 8:22 pm

    I love mollasses or gingerbread cookies

  56. Avatar
    Nina@The One Fantastical
    January 16, 2011 at 9:35 pm

    My favorite cookie recipe is white chocolate chip & macademia nut!

  57. Avatar
    Raven In A Blue Room
    January 16, 2011 at 10:39 pm

    I like vanilla almond crescents
    Thank you for hosting this giveaway

    Louis
    schnitzomage {at} gmail {dot} com

  58. Avatar
    Raven In A Blue Room
    January 16, 2011 at 10:40 pm

    I subscribed to your feed via google reader

    schnitzomage {at} gmail {dot} com

  59. Avatar
    Raven In A Blue Room
    January 16, 2011 at 10:40 pm

    I like your blog on facebook (Louis Here)

    schnitzomage {at} gmail {dot} com

  60. Avatar
    Raven In A Blue Room
    January 16, 2011 at 10:40 pm

    following you on twitter @left_the_stars

    schnitzomage {at} gmail {dot} com

  61. Avatar
    koco & viking
    January 17, 2011 at 1:26 am

    Our favorite cookie recipe is one we created… Red Velvet Crackle. YUM! thank you!

    info[at]kocoandviking[dot]com

  62. Avatar
    Nancy Meyer
    January 17, 2011 at 11:48 am

    I like to make the Nestle Tollhouse chocolate chip cookie recipe!

    nancymeyer1 at gmail dot com

  63. Avatar
    Jason
    January 17, 2011 at 4:30 pm

    My favorite cookie recipe is for holiday wreathes using cornflakes, marshmallow, and red hots. They are awesome!

    jason(at)allworldautomotive(dot)com

  64. Avatar
    Jason
    January 17, 2011 at 4:32 pm

    Facebook Fan

    Parker Ozgood

    jason(at)allworldautomotive(dot)com

  65. Avatar
    Jason
    January 17, 2011 at 4:32 pm

    Subscriber

    jason(at)allworldautomotive(dot)com

  66. Avatar
    Pamela S
    January 17, 2011 at 5:09 pm

    My favorite cookie recipe is triple chocolate chunk

  67. Avatar
    charline
    January 17, 2011 at 6:21 pm

    My favorite cookie recipe is for sugar cookies, yummy
    stanleybilly(at)bellsouth(dot)net

  68. Avatar
    Ed Nemmers
    January 17, 2011 at 6:30 pm

    Oatmeal Scotchies!

  69. Avatar
    Monte
    January 17, 2011 at 7:32 pm

    I love chocolate chip with extra chunky chips!

  70. Avatar
    Darcy Bishop
    January 17, 2011 at 9:20 pm

    My favorite cookie recipe is:
    double almond cookies recipe

    1/2 cup shortening
    1/2 cup butter
    3 cups flour
    1 cup sugar
    1 egg
    2 T milk
    1 t vanilla
    1/2 t baking soda
    1/4 t salt

    in mixing bowl beat butter and shortening until soft–add half flour and all ingredients to butter/shortening mixture beat till mixed well–add rest of flour—shape dough into 2 8 inch rolls wrap in saran wrap and put in freezer for at least 2 hours—

    topping
    1 8oz can almond paste
    1/3 c sugar
    1/4 cup milk
    2/3 cup sliced almonds

    in medium bowl crumble almond paste add milk and sugar beat with electric mixer until smooth

    cut dough into 1/4 inch slices place 2 inches apart on ungreased cookie sheet–spread about 1 teaspoon of almond topping on each cookie and sprinkle with several sliced almonds bake at 375 for 8 to 10 minutes or till edges are firm and bottoms are lightly browned–remove and cool on wire rack

    kakihararocks@gmail.com

  71. Avatar
    Molly K
    January 17, 2011 at 9:32 pm

    My favorite is something called Angel cookies. They are a cross between snickerdoodles and sugar cookies.

  72. Avatar
    Molly K
    January 17, 2011 at 9:33 pm

    I follow on twitter as RunningAFamily

  73. Avatar
    Colleen S
    January 17, 2011 at 9:37 pm

    I’m a snickerdoodle girl.

  74. Avatar
    Angela Winesburg
    January 17, 2011 at 11:06 pm

    I love peanut butter blossoms, thanks!

  75. Avatar
    chris sorel
    January 18, 2011 at 8:13 am

    my kids love snow ball cookies

  76. Avatar
    chris sorel
    January 18, 2011 at 8:15 am

    like you on facbook

  77. Avatar
    JoAnn L.
    January 18, 2011 at 8:21 am

    My favorite cookie recipe is Tea Cake cookies, my aunt used to make them and of course she had no recipe. She couldn’t read or write so I had to play around with the recipe until I got it exactly like hers.

  78. Avatar
    Alicia C.
    January 18, 2011 at 9:18 am

    My very favorite cookie is a family recipe for “Granny T’s Sugar Cookies.” Unfortunately, this isn’t one of those recipes that you just decide to make and you have cookies in 1/2 hour. You have to let the dough sit in the fridge overnight, roll it out, and keep an eye on the oven every second they are in there because they burn very easily. So, my favorite “I Need Cookies NOW” recipe is the one you make with cake mix. 1 box of devil’s food cake mix (I’ve tried other flavors and this one always turns out best), 2 eggs, and 1/2 c. oil or melted butter. Mix it all together, make walnut-sized balls, plop them on a parchment-lined baking sheet and toss into the oven @ 350 degrees for about 10 minutes, or until the tops look cracked. You can mix in anything you want – chocolate chips, nuts… I often make little mini-cookies and make sandwich cookies out of them with buttercream icing.
    Geez… you DID want an actual recipe, right?! LOL
    ohmiss14 at yahoo dot com

  79. Avatar
    Alicia C.
    January 18, 2011 at 9:26 am

    I follow you on Twitter – amccrenshaw
    ohmiss14 at yahoo dot com

  80. Avatar
    Dorothy
    January 18, 2011 at 9:33 am

    My favorite is a sugar cookie made with powered sugar instead of granulated.

  81. Avatar
    chris sorel
    January 18, 2011 at 9:56 am

    follow you on twitter @cjsorel

  82. Avatar
    Kat Emerick
    January 18, 2011 at 10:52 am

    My fave is the Apricot Horns ( a old family recipe)

  83. Avatar
    Mendy
    January 18, 2011 at 10:52 am

    My favorite cookie recipe is for cut-out sugar cookies

  84. Avatar
    Mendy
    January 18, 2011 at 10:54 am

    My favorite cookie recipe is for cut-out sugar cookies.

  85. Avatar
    Susan D
    January 18, 2011 at 11:18 am

    Here’s another vote for the Nestle Toll House Chocolate Chip Cookie recipe, which they include on their chocolate chip packages

  86. Avatar
    tanya
    January 18, 2011 at 11:50 am

    My favorite cookie recipe is an old time called Melting Moments, the cookie itself is like a sugar cookie but with much more cornstarch and cream of tarter. Then it’s topped with a cream cheese frosting. LOVE these! They really do melt in your mouth.
    I’d LOVE to have this cookbook, went there when I visited NY with my mom. We had to wait over 2 hours for a table, but it was well worth it. Thanks so much for the chance!

  87. Avatar
    Mildred
    January 18, 2011 at 12:23 pm

    My Christmas sugar cookies are a family favorite, with my peanut butter cookies being a close second

  88. Avatar
    kathy pease
    January 18, 2011 at 1:13 pm

    OLD FASHIONED OATMEAL COOKIES

    Read more about it at http://www.cooks.com/rec/view/0,1832,158170-225196,00.html
    Content Copyright © 2011 Cooks.com – All rights reserved.

    1 c. soft butter
    1/2 c. packed brown sugar
    1/2 c. granulated sugar
    2 eggs
    2 tsp. vanilla
    2 c. flour
    1 tsp. baking soda
    1 tsp. salt
    1 tsp. cinnamon
    1/4 tsp. nutmeg (optional)
    1/2 c. milk
    1 c. raisins
    1 c. chopped nuts
    2 c. Quaker oats

    Beat butter and sugar until fluffy. Beat in eggs, vanilla and milk. Add combined flour, baking soda, salt and spices. Mix well. Stir in oats, raisins and nuts. Drop by rounded teaspoonsful onto ungreased cookie sheet. Bake at 375 degrees for 10-15 minutes.

  89. Avatar
    susan smoaks
    January 18, 2011 at 1:49 pm

    my mother’s sugar cookie recipe is my favorite!

  90. Avatar
    Alex
    January 18, 2011 at 3:59 pm

    I love Cook’s Illustrated chocolate chip cookie recipe.

  91. Avatar
    Alex
    January 18, 2011 at 4:03 pm

    I follow you on Twitter! @loook0

  92. Avatar
    Diane Baum
    January 18, 2011 at 4:32 pm

    My all time favorite is chocolate chips

  93. Avatar
    carole
    January 18, 2011 at 5:06 pm

    My favorite cookie to make is Thumbprint cookies
    Carole
    gram122@comcast.net

  94. Avatar
    Alex
    January 18, 2011 at 5:20 pm

    I like CC on FB!

  95. Avatar
    Shannon
    January 18, 2011 at 5:39 pm

    my favorite is chocolate chip cookies

  96. Avatar
    Shannon
    January 18, 2011 at 5:40 pm

    I’m subscribed

  97. Avatar
    Mary J
    January 18, 2011 at 5:49 pm

    I like basic sugar cookies.

  98. Avatar
    Mary J
    January 18, 2011 at 5:50 pm

    Email subscriber.

  99. Avatar
    Mary J
    January 18, 2011 at 5:51 pm

    FB liker of CC.

  100. Avatar
    Michelle H.
    January 18, 2011 at 7:59 pm

    I have several cookie recipes that I love. I would say that chocolate chip cookies are one of my comfort foods, so I would guess it is one of my good chocolate chip cookie recipes.

  101. Avatar
    Veronica Garrett
    January 18, 2011 at 8:15 pm

    Chocolate Chip Cookie recipe is my favorite.

  102. Avatar
    Jessica
    January 18, 2011 at 8:44 pm

    I like Peanut Butter Cookies with a Hershey Kiss.

  103. Avatar
    Gladys Parker
    January 18, 2011 at 8:48 pm

    Chocolate chip
    sueparks2003@gmail.com

  104. Avatar
    Jessica
    January 18, 2011 at 8:50 pm

    I follow on Twitter@Macmomof3

  105. Avatar
    Gladys Parker
    January 18, 2011 at 8:50 pm

    Follow on Twitter
    @sueparks2003
    sueparks2003@gmail.com

  106. Avatar
    Gladys Parker
    January 18, 2011 at 8:51 pm

    Tweeted
    @sueparks2003
    sueparks2003@gmail.com

  107. Avatar
    Gladys Parker
    January 18, 2011 at 8:52 pm

    Follow on Feed
    sueparks2003@gmail.com

  108. Avatar
    Sand
    January 18, 2011 at 8:54 pm

    My favorite are oatmeal chocolate chip with milk and dark chocolate.

  109. Avatar
    Gladys Parker
    January 18, 2011 at 8:54 pm

    Like on FB
    Gladys Parker
    sueparks2003@gmail.com

  110. Avatar
    Gianna
    January 18, 2011 at 9:52 pm

    I love big, soft sugar cookies.

  111. Avatar
    Gianna
    January 18, 2011 at 9:53 pm

    I’m an email subscriber.

Comments are closed.