Girls Guide to Planning Perfect Parties by Capstone Young Readers Girls Guide to Planning Perfect Parties by Capstone Young Readers

A Girls Guide to Planning Perfect Parties by Capstone Young Readers

This post may contain affiliate links and/or Amazon affiliate links; I will be compensated if you make a purchase after clicking on my links. Please see my full disclosure policy for details.

Planning Perfect Parties:  The Girls’ Guide to Fun, Fresh, Unforgettable Events by Capstone Young Readers gives girls all the tools they need to have a fun and festive time with friends on any occasion.

Planning Perfect Parties

Planning Perfect Parties walks readers through every step of the planning process, making it a breeze to host anything from a small sleepover to an event for the whole class.  Parents will appreciate the practicality of the shopping lists, budget guides, and invitation etiquette tips as much as girls enjoy the party themes, quizzes and craft-it-yourself decorations. The interactive book is created for the digital age, with QR codes sprinkled throughout that provide access to free online content such as customizable invites, recipes and downloadable decor — as well as a Mizz Manners’ blog offering free advice on hostess do’s and don’ts, monthly contests, and new party themes.

Designed with an eye toward pre-teen tastes, the pages are filled with bright colors, fun graphics, and illustrative photos.  Each of the funky themes offered — from a ‘Stache Bash to a fun twist on game night entitled You’ve Got Game — provides everything from invitation designs and party favors to recipes and games, making the step-by-step guide the perfect gift for girls of all ages.

Stay Connected:

Buy It: 

Giveaway:CLOSED

THIS GIVEAWAY IS NOW CLOSED – WINNER Abedabun Dawn

Planning Perfect Parties Prize Pack

One reader will receive a Rock and Roll Party Pack that has all the party essentials for a Rock Star themed bash, which is featured in the book.  The Rock and Roll Party Pack includes a copy of Planning Perfect Parties:  The Girls’ Guide to Fun, Fresh, Unforgettable Eventsrockin’ sunglasses (6), plastic martini glasses for “mocktails” (set of 6), a $10 iTunes gift card to create the ultimate playlist, a plastic guitar and metallic pen for a guest book and limited edition temporary tattoos! {$60}. See form for Entry Details. Open to U.S. residents. You must be 18 years old to enter to win. This giveaway ends at 11:59 PM EST on 7.30.14.14

Keeping-Cool Hop

Welcome to the Keeping Cool in the Sun Giveaway Hop 

This hop is hosted by the Blogging Mamas Network. The temperatures are hot, but we’re keeping things cool with some great Summer-themed giveaways! Check out all the bloggers and their fabulously cool giveaways in the linky below and don’t forget to enter to win a pair of Long Sleeve Performance Crews from Montauk Tackle Company in the Grand Prize!

RELATED:  Books About the Zoo for Kids from Peter Pauper Press

All entries will be verified. Only one entrant per mailing address per giveaway. If you have won the same prize on another blog, you will not be eligible to win it again. The winner will be chosen randomly through Giveaway Tools and contacted via email. A reply to the winning email is required within 48 hours before a new winner is chosen. One person entering per household, please. The Review Wire is not responsible for shipment of prize.

So Easy Being Green, Viva Veltoro, the Blogging Mamas Network, and the Keeping Cool in the Sun participating bloggers are not responsible for sponsors who do not fulfill prize obligations.

Join the Review Wire Giveaway Groupies Facebook Group. 2jpg        

You Might Also Like

Previous Story
Next Story

87 Comment

  1. Avatar
    Leanne M
    July 16, 2014 at 12:30 am

    My kids and their friends go on and on about the Ghostbusters party we had. My husband and his friend dressed up like Ghosts and the kids were armed with silly string and blasted them.

  2. Avatar
    Julie Ernst
    July 16, 2014 at 2:03 am

    One of my suggestions is to give a decent camera to somebody that can capture those special moments when no body is paying attention. These photos can easily be put into an album or scrapbook ad a moment of their special day! Some of these random shots taken when no one is really paying attention are the best!

  3. Avatar
    marnie ward
    July 16, 2014 at 4:00 am

    My best party planning tip is in the party theme. When I throw a party for one of my kids I know that the first thing that will make the party will be in the decorations and the second thing that will make it a hit will be the party favors. I always make the party favors match the theme of course but I come up with a favor that is extra special not just something that you buy at the party store.

  4. Avatar
    laura revilla
    July 16, 2014 at 9:19 am

    i would love to win

  5. Avatar
    Laura DeLuca
    July 16, 2014 at 10:18 am

    My son is having a Thomas the train party. It’s all he;s talked about for months

  6. Avatar
    Tamara N
    July 16, 2014 at 10:33 am

    My kids most memorable birthday party was a western themed one in which we have cowboy hats and bandanas to all the guests, hay bales in the yard to sit on and great barbeque foods.

  7. Avatar
    Tiffany Schmidt
    July 16, 2014 at 10:44 am

    I think one things that makes a party theme memorable for you and your child is if you make something together, instead of just buying all decorations, favors, etc. at a party store.

  8. Avatar
    Jennifer Hiles
    July 16, 2014 at 11:06 am

    My best tip is to plan ahead. Leave lots of time for things you may have overlooked. Last minute planning is too stressful.

  9. Avatar
    KV
    July 16, 2014 at 11:29 am

    Get them involved if they are old enough so they can enjoy the excitement.

  10. Avatar
    Senny
    July 16, 2014 at 12:04 pm

    I always make sure that I have a hand made parting gift for everyone to take home!

  11. Avatar
    Maria B
    July 16, 2014 at 12:34 pm

    My surprise 30th birthday party. My friend blindfolded me and I was completely surprised.

  12. Avatar
    D Schmidt
    July 16, 2014 at 12:44 pm

    My best tip is to have a party with something creative happening, my kids love to paint and color so we have hosted pottery decorating parties.

  13. Avatar
    Jessie C.
    July 16, 2014 at 5:16 pm

    My best party tip is to make a list and stick to it. Ask for help, potluck party is always great.

  14. Avatar
    Audra watts
    July 16, 2014 at 7:07 pm

    My daughter had a bowling party for her 4th birthday. She had a blast!

  15. Avatar
    Dawn Monroe
    July 16, 2014 at 7:09 pm

    My granddaughter is having a Frozen 6th birthday party. She is so excited.

  16. Avatar
    Leigh Anne Borders
    July 16, 2014 at 7:37 pm

    The best party we ever had was one that we got the Game Truck. My son still talks about the fun he had that day!

  17. Avatar
    wendy c g
    July 17, 2014 at 1:47 am

    My kids went on and on about a Lego birthday party we had for the 2 of them. Nonstop lol

  18. Avatar
    Mia Hicks
    July 17, 2014 at 3:09 pm

    Best party planning tip- write out your plan (what you’ll be having to eat drink, doing, ect.) that way you know what you need to buy or get together and nothing is left out.

  19. Avatar
    heather eg kaufman
    July 18, 2014 at 10:13 am

    Do as much as you can before the day, to prepare for it.

  20. Avatar
    Paol Trenny
    July 18, 2014 at 2:38 pm

    My daughter went to a birthday party at the New Orleans Zoo two years ago and she is still talking about it because the children were able to pet and gotten a close look at some of the the animals that day.

  21. Avatar
    Mia J
    July 18, 2014 at 7:56 pm

    My Tip is to have some creative craft for the kids to take home that can be the main goodie bag gift.

  22. Avatar
    Kimberly Schotz
    July 18, 2014 at 8:09 pm

    My daughter went to a Spa Party in 2nd grade. She loved it.

  23. Avatar
    jeanette sheets
    July 19, 2014 at 12:15 am

    my 40 th party ,my friends rented a boat and had it all decorated and i was so suprised ,we were only suppossse to be looking and touring boats ,so yeah that awesome

  24. Avatar
    Jackie
    July 19, 2014 at 4:52 pm

    My best tip is to do as much of the work (including food prep) before the party, so you can enjoy the party too.
    Thank you!

  25. Avatar
    Jordan
    July 19, 2014 at 6:22 pm

    Always have structure.

  26. Avatar
    marian boll
    July 19, 2014 at 9:38 pm

    Start early in the planning and keep notes!!!!

  27. Avatar
    Chris Martinez
    July 20, 2014 at 12:18 am

    My best party planning tip is to take detailed notes on EVERYTHING. You can never be too prepared.

  28. Avatar
    Kim Pinch
    July 20, 2014 at 12:33 am

    I do things as far ahead as possible, especially the food prep.

  29. Avatar
    Tandi Cortez-Rios
    July 20, 2014 at 2:37 am

    My party planning tip is to plan in advance. Parties are supposed to be fun, if you’re throwing it together last minute… It’s just all kinds of stress!

  30. Avatar
    Robin M
    July 20, 2014 at 11:41 am

    I don’t know why, but my kid loves his party at Chuck E. Cheese

  31. Avatar
    tara darity
    July 20, 2014 at 11:47 am

    my tip would be to keep it simple so it doesn’t get overwhelming!

  32. Avatar
    Sharon Kaminski
    July 20, 2014 at 12:28 pm

    Our child loved her birthday party where most of her friends were invited including kids from school. Everyone had a great time and were very happy.

  33. Avatar
    Lana Bradstream
    July 20, 2014 at 1:15 pm

    My best tip is keep the kids busy! It’s less stress for you on party day.

  34. Avatar
    Shawn
    July 20, 2014 at 3:42 pm

    My best tip is to prepare as much as possible ahead of time. It makes everything go a lot more smoothly.

  35. Avatar
    Kristi C.
    July 20, 2014 at 4:10 pm

    This past year we had a TMNT themed birthday party and it was a blast. The kids had fun and the adults enjoyed it too. I LOVE party planning 🙂

  36. Avatar
    Luna S
    July 20, 2014 at 4:26 pm

    It is best to have people RSVP that way you can make sure you buy enough supplies.

  37. Avatar
    Carly D.
    July 20, 2014 at 7:34 pm

    My friend threw a fairy party and everything was part of the theme. Even the snacks and foods! The girls all dressed up with wings and outfits and got their faces painted. It was the cutest party ever!

  38. Avatar
    Sarah Jestings
    July 20, 2014 at 10:43 pm

    My best advice would be to serve food that you can make ahead of time. I always try to make all the food the day before so I only have to take it out or warm it up before the party. For me that takes a lot of stress away on the day of the actual party.

  39. Avatar
    Elizabeth
    July 21, 2014 at 8:55 am

    I’m pretty low-key about parties. I figure if there’s adequate seating, enough beverages, and tons of food, then everyone is good to go. 🙂

  40. Avatar
    Tara
    July 21, 2014 at 10:32 pm

    Our son’s Star Wars party where we made lightsabers out of pool noodles was a huge hit with all the kids!

  41. Avatar
    Sherry Compton
    July 22, 2014 at 8:24 am

    My granddaughter keeps talking about her birthday party. She wants Lalaloopsy and a blueberry cake.

  42. Avatar
    sandra
    July 22, 2014 at 12:49 pm

    i like to know at least a month in advance so i can book a place

  43. Avatar
    happi shopr
    July 22, 2014 at 3:35 pm

    Our daughter loved her “you” themed party. All the gifts were labeled like Fit You, Scentual You, Rockin’ You, etc.

  44. Avatar
    crystal sheckles-gibson
    July 23, 2014 at 12:47 pm

    I do all the preparations the day before if possible. I also use the crock pot for food. I have a 3 pot crock pot that I used at my daughters party. I had bbq turkey meatballs, small ears of corn on the cob and little smokies.

  45. Avatar
    Lynsay Leitner
    July 23, 2014 at 3:30 pm

    relax and have fun

  46. Avatar
    Robert Pyszk
    July 23, 2014 at 3:37 pm

    We had a birthday party at our local Chuck E Cheese. Always a big hit!

  47. Avatar
    christine j
    July 23, 2014 at 5:12 pm

    my best tip is to always look online for party supplies. I have found it is usually cheaper and more unique

  48. Avatar
    Sara Stegeman
    July 23, 2014 at 9:36 pm

    I think it’s important to have a plan for a kids party… involve your child in planning, so they feel like they have input, but make sure there is a plan!

  49. Avatar
    kristen mcclary
    July 23, 2014 at 10:03 pm

    my daughter wont stop talking about her dave and busters birthday her next birthday is 9 months away and she is already planning it there again

  50. Avatar
    Katie Rose
    July 24, 2014 at 10:54 am

    For a big party that uses disposable cups I keep a Sharpie Marker at the drink station to reduce the likelihood of people getting a new drink because they don’t recall which was theirs.

  51. Avatar
    amanda whitley
    July 24, 2014 at 10:09 pm

    my daughter keeps going on about her birthday party from a few years ago when her birthday fell on easter.

  52. Avatar
    Kelley Roach
    July 24, 2014 at 11:31 pm

    I always make sure that I have a hand made parting gift for everyone to take home!

  53. Avatar
    Mary Songer
    July 25, 2014 at 12:08 am

    I like to plan some special treat for every party, like a christmas party based on Dicken’s A Christmas Carol.

  54. Avatar
    Noreen
    July 25, 2014 at 12:32 am

    A frozen sleepover, they has karaoke, snowball fight (cotton balls), ice cream cake, frozen crafts and more.

  55. Avatar
    Diane Hamel
    July 25, 2014 at 2:54 pm

    Big family,,25 of us,,gag gifts for everyone

  56. Avatar
    NANCY CHIPRIANO
    July 25, 2014 at 4:04 pm

    Here is my best party tip- MAKE/DO AHEAD! Anything that you can prep ahead of time is less you have to stress about on the day of the party. then maybe you can enjoy yourself too!

  57. Avatar
    Natalie Nichols
    July 26, 2014 at 1:11 am

    I like to use twine and make things look pinteresty. 🙂

  58. Avatar
    Megan Parsons
    July 27, 2014 at 12:54 am

    My kids always talk about their birthday cakes that I make them every year!

  59. Avatar
    Raina DelRio
    July 27, 2014 at 9:02 am

    My best party planning tip is make a budget and STICK to it! It is so easy to spend more than you anticipated (especially if it is a milestone birthday or event!)

  60. Avatar
    amelia carrington
    July 27, 2014 at 10:14 am

    awesome giveaway….planning a party with the help and input of my gkids and one of them taking notes is essential. thanks!

  61. Avatar
    Erin Madigan
    July 27, 2014 at 3:12 pm

    My party planning tip is to be creative and have fun with your theme! Don’t get too bogged down in little details!

  62. Avatar
    Nancy
    July 27, 2014 at 5:16 pm

    One of our most successful birthday parties was a summer Olympics party held in the backyard with Olympic style events. One hint is to keep the guest list fairly small!

  63. Avatar
    Jenny Stanek
    July 27, 2014 at 10:39 pm

    My best tip is to pick a theme and just run with it. I love creating a plan to incorporate everything around a central idea. And don’t send home crappy goodie bags!!

  64. Avatar
    Stacy
    July 28, 2014 at 8:31 am

    My tip is to pick a theme and stick with it! For my Mom’s 60th birthday, we kept it simple with a “black and white” theme. All the decorations and the cake were black and white and we asked everyone to dress in black and white. It was so much fun and everything looked so classy.

  65. Avatar
    Jill Myrick
    July 28, 2014 at 11:21 am

    My daughter went to a Hawaiian party at a friends house and loved it. So for her upcoming birthday we have decided to have a luau.

    jweezie43[at]gmail[dot]com

  66. Avatar
    rejina williams
    July 29, 2014 at 2:23 am

    My party tip is to always plan in advance.

  67. Avatar
    tina reynolds
    July 29, 2014 at 12:04 pm

    I make a list and plan out everything well ahead of time. I have different activies to keep the kiddos enertained

  68. Avatar
    Sarah
    July 29, 2014 at 12:24 pm

    Do as much ahead of time as you can! I love make-ahead recipes for drinks, desserts, appetizers, etc.

  69. Avatar
    lindsay hess
    July 29, 2014 at 12:44 pm

    My best party tip is that gift bags are great for any kind of party!!

  70. Avatar
    abedabun dawn
    July 29, 2014 at 2:04 pm

    My best tip is simple, just keep it fun! A party does not have to be expensive, but it does have to be fun.

  71. Avatar
    Teresa Thompson
    July 29, 2014 at 2:43 pm

    She keeps talking about a Pokémon birthday.

  72. Avatar
    Edna Williams
    July 29, 2014 at 7:55 pm

    My party tip is to make notes about what your child loves and plan ahead!

  73. Avatar
    Linda Madden
    July 29, 2014 at 10:44 pm

    My daughter went to a party last month with the movie Frozen as the motif. She has been driving me crazy wanting the same for her birthday party in September. 🙂

  74. Avatar
    Rhonda Martin
    July 29, 2014 at 11:26 pm

    If at all possible make it an outside party. That gives children room to play and your house doesn’t get destroyed. Someone spills a drink no one has to clean the grass but if it’s inside someone has to clean the floor. Kids are going to be kids and accidents happen. By taking it outside you take the stress out of worrying about what if’s when it comes to accidents in the house. Involve the birthday girl or boy in the planning. It always makes it that much more special for them. After all it is their birthday.

  75. Avatar
    Christine Summers
    July 30, 2014 at 1:02 am

    My best tip is to have the kids all make something they can take home with them. It doesn’t have to be expensive. It keeps them busy and gives them a party favor instead of a bag full of candy and junk!

  76. Avatar
    Barbara S
    July 30, 2014 at 9:10 am

    just planned and executed my sons graduation party. Had a candy buffet and had to do some serious comparison shopping for the candy.

  77. Avatar
    Samantha Plotkin
    July 30, 2014 at 2:24 pm

    Don’t try to do too much! Focus on one or two memorable parts – a fun game and a special cake, for example.

  78. Avatar
    Melissa Mazzur
    July 30, 2014 at 7:31 pm

    I always figure out a theme first. Then I spend hours on Pinterest finding the best ideas for every aspect of the party. I can usually do it on the cheap!

  79. Avatar
    Crystal Rose
    July 30, 2014 at 8:28 pm

    My daughter went to a party at a gymnastics gym. She loves it.

  80. Avatar
    liz l
    July 30, 2014 at 8:32 pm

    We did a disney themed party and all the kids loved it. So nice to have everyone dress in fav character attire

  81. Avatar
    Kassie Brown
    July 30, 2014 at 8:52 pm

    My best tip is to stock up on different foods and drinks for peoples dietary needs.

  82. Avatar
    Carissa Joslyn
    July 30, 2014 at 9:31 pm

    If we are having a themed party, I do a few think of that theme (say, angry birds) but then the rest I do in just matching colors so it isn’t as expensive! I’m a single mom of two so we don’t really have much money. got to budget when i can 🙂

  83. Avatar
    K. Finn
    July 30, 2014 at 9:35 pm

    I like the idea of freezing water balloons and then adding them to your beverage bin to keep drinks cold.

  84. Avatar
    sandra davis
    July 30, 2014 at 10:48 pm

    I love entertaining

  85. Avatar
    Nikki Lynn Hanna
    July 30, 2014 at 10:51 pm

    one tip I would have would be learn what everyone likes that is coming to the party and try to have different options on hand

  86. Avatar
    Lily Kwan
    July 31, 2014 at 6:17 am

    My tip is check the Internet for party planning ideas.

  87. Avatar
    abedabun dawn
    August 1, 2014 at 2:06 pm

    Doing the happy dance now!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Thank you so much!!!!

Comments are closed.