100 Perfect Pairings: Main Dishes to Enjoy with Wines You Love Review 100 Perfect Pairings: Main Dishes to Enjoy with Wines You Love Review    

100 Perfect Pairings: Main Dishes to Enjoy with Wines You Love Review

This post may contain affiliate links and/or Amazon Affiliate links. Please see my full disclosure policy for details.

100 Perfect Pairings: Main Dishes to Enjoy with Wines You Love By Jill Silverman Hough helps you prepare main dishes that will perfectly complement the wines of your choice. An ideal resource for both casual dinners and special occasions, this handy book presents 100 main dish recipes that pair deliciously with favorites like Chardonnay (Roast Chicken with Potatoes) and Merlot (Mixed Mushroom Pappardelle). Organized into 12 chapters (six for white, six for red) and illustrated with 40 lush color photos, 100 Perfect Pairings makes it easy to match a variety of main dishes with your favorite wines.100 Perfect Pairings: Main Dishes to Enjoy with Wines You Love

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again now: writing and publishing a successful cookbook is not an easy task as the market is saturated with tens of thousands of cookbooks and it seems a new one arrives every hour of the day.

But let me say right now that ‘100 Perfect Pairings’ is a good cookbook; it is well thought out and the recipes are well detailed and if you read them through and follow them the end result is very delicious.

This cookbook is all about pairing wines with foods, but I discovered that even if you forget about pairing the wines, the recipes are very, very good. They range from up-scale sandwiches to full-blown entree’s. Colorful illustrations make you want to rush into the kitchen and get working.

‘Hosin Pork Tenderloin with Asian Salad’ is an excellent recipe with a very nice photograph of the finished dish, mouth-watering enough that I wanted to prepare it for lunch, not wanting to wait for dinner. The ‘onion and apple tart’ is a must! Once again the accompanying photograph makes your mouth water and your soul long for it and although at first blush the recipe looks somewhat complicated it is very detailed and it works out very well, easy to do, producing a final product worthy of a five-star rating!

RELATED:  Travel Foods and Products for Both Parents and Kids

‘Pork Loin Roast with dried cranberry Stuffing’ is also a mouth-watering, certain to please entrée; while appearing somewhat complicated it is easy to prepare if you read through the instructions on how to prepare the loin before you begin. Having a good, very sharp knife is a must for this recipe.

This cookbook is good for experienced as well as beginning cooks as the recipes are so well thought out and detailed. And if you like wines, you’ll discover the suggested pairings are also very well thought out and make great companions for the recipes. The author obviously knows her wines and is an accomplished cook; the fact that she took the time to make the recipes easy to follow and easy to transform into appealing, delicious food that every cook will be pleased to offer is a genuine accomplishment.

‘100 Perfect Pairings” definitely belongs in your kitchen or on the shelf next to your other cookbooks. It’s a real keeper, one you’ll turn to again and again.

Buy It:

  • You can pick up your own copy at Wiley
  • 100 Perfect Pairings is available on Amazon
Join the Review Wire Giveaway Groupies Facebook Group Banner. 2jpg        

You Might Also Like

Previous Story
Next Story

54 Comment

  1. Kimberly
    May 18, 2011 at 8:49 pm

    International Cuisine looks great!
    kcoud33 at gmail dot com

  2. Kimberly
    May 18, 2011 at 8:50 pm

    Follow you on twitter (@kcoud33)
    kcoud33 at gmail dot com

  3. Kimberly
    May 18, 2011 at 8:51 pm

    Like you on Facebook
    kcoud33 at gmail dot com

  4. Kimberly
    May 18, 2011 at 8:52 pm

    Email subscriber
    kcoud33 at gmail dot com

  5. Susan C
    May 18, 2011 at 8:58 pm

    Cake Decorating for Dummies looks good!
    smchester at gmail dot com

  6. Nelly Rodriguez
    May 19, 2011 at 12:53 am

    I liked How to Cook Everything Vegetarian: Simple Meatless Recipes for Great Food
    by Mark Bittman! 🙂

  7. Nelly Rodriguez
    May 19, 2011 at 12:55 am

    I liked you on FB!

  8. Nelly Rodriguez
    May 19, 2011 at 12:55 am

    I follow you on twitter (nella22)

  9. Melanie B
    May 19, 2011 at 2:54 am

    grilling for dummies!

  10. Melanie B
    May 19, 2011 at 2:55 am

    twitter @kaiasmommy

  11. Mama Zen
    May 19, 2011 at 11:49 am

    I would love to have Canning & Preserving All-in-One For Dummies!

  12. Deborah Wellenstein
    May 19, 2011 at 2:04 pm

    Another book I would like to have is How to Eat: The Pleasures and Principles of Good Food. Thanks!

    dwellenstein at cox dot net

  13. Deborah Wellenstein
    May 19, 2011 at 2:05 pm

    I like you on Facebook as Debbi Otto Wellenstein.

    dwellenstein at cox dot net

  14. Deborah Wellenstein
    May 19, 2011 at 2:06 pm

    I am an email subscriber.

    dwellenstein at cox dot net

  15. Alissa A
    May 19, 2011 at 9:03 pm

    I like Weight Watchers In 20 Minutes. captainliss40(at)gmail(dot)com

  16. Pam L.
    May 21, 2011 at 12:38 pm

    Grilling For Dummies

  17. Pam L.
    May 21, 2011 at 12:40 pm

    I Follow CintiCoupons on Twitter @pamiam04468

  18. Pam L.
    May 21, 2011 at 12:41 pm

    I Follow CintiCoupons on fb, P Elaine Livingston

  19. Pam L.
    May 21, 2011 at 12:41 pm

    I Follow CintiCoupons via email

  20. Emmy
    May 21, 2011 at 11:28 pm

    I’m interested in the Student’s Vegetarian Cookbook For Dummies

  21. Emmy
    May 21, 2011 at 11:29 pm

    I’m a Twitter follower (@emmycoffee)

  22. Emmy
    May 21, 2011 at 11:34 pm

    I’m a facebook fan (@emmy coffee)

  23. Mary J
    May 22, 2011 at 7:37 pm

    This cookbook is something I could use: So-Easy Slow Cooker

  24. Mary J
    May 22, 2011 at 7:43 pm
  25. Mary J
    May 22, 2011 at 7:46 pm

    I follow on twitter-maryjaco1

  26. Mary J
    May 22, 2011 at 7:49 pm

    Email subscriber.

  27. Mary J
    May 22, 2011 at 7:49 pm

    I like you on Fb-mary jaco

  28. lisa
    May 23, 2011 at 9:15 am

    also like Better Homes and Gardens Garden Fresh Meals

  29. Erin O'Riordan
    May 23, 2011 at 10:41 am

    Wiley has so many food and drink books that I would love: Students’ Vegetarian Meals For Dummies, the Encyclopedia of Jewish Food, God in the Cup (the one about the perfect cup of coffee)…I could go on and on!

    I must know the recipe for apple and onion tart!!

  30. Erin O'Riordan
    May 23, 2011 at 10:42 am

    I recommended this post on Facebook.

  31. Rebecca
    May 23, 2011 at 12:27 pm

    I would also enjoy the ‘So Easy Slow Cooker’ cookbook.

  32. Rebecca
    May 23, 2011 at 12:27 pm

    I follow you on twitter (@RebeccaFH).

  33. Sandy
    May 23, 2011 at 3:39 pm

    I would like the Better Homes and Gardens New Cookbook because my old one is in pieces!

  34. ashley r.
    May 23, 2011 at 4:37 pm

    The weight watchers in 20 minutes would be nice to have!

  35. Rosey
    May 23, 2011 at 5:27 pm

    Pillsbury Fast & Healthy Cookbook: Delicious family meals in 30 minutes or less
    by Pillsbury Editors

  36. sarah
    May 23, 2011 at 6:15 pm

    I’d like to have the Pillsbury Fast & Healthy Cookbook: Delicious family meals in 30 minutes or less

  37. Raven In A Blue Room
    May 23, 2011 at 8:12 pm

    I subscribed to your feed via google reader

    schnitzomage {at} gmail {dot} com

  38. Raven In A Blue Room
    May 23, 2011 at 8:13 pm

    I like your blog on facebook (Louis Here)

    schnitzomage {at} gmail {dot} com

  39. Raven In A Blue Room
    May 23, 2011 at 8:14 pm

    following you on twitter @left_the_stars

    schnitzomage {at} gmail {dot} com

  40. Ed Nemmers
    May 23, 2011 at 8:38 pm

    “The Ultimate Casseroles Book”!

  41. susan smoaks
    May 24, 2011 at 10:59 am

    i would like the Student’s Vegetarian Cookbook For Dummies
    by Connie Sarros
    June 2011

  42. Michelle H.
    May 24, 2011 at 1:59 pm

    I am interested in “Sandra Lee Semi-Homemade Money-Saving Slow-Cooking: 129 Quick-to-Cook Meals”.

  43. Michelle H.
    May 24, 2011 at 2:00 pm

    Email subscriber.

  44. Kerrie Mayans
    May 24, 2011 at 2:07 pm

    I would like either Every Meal Easy or Comfort Food Fix

    kerrie@mayansfamily.com

  45. Kerrie Mayans
    May 24, 2011 at 2:09 pm

    I follow you on twitter as kmayans.

    kerrie@mayansfamily.com

  46. Kerrie Mayans
    May 24, 2011 at 2:09 pm

    I subscribe to your rss feed in google reader.

    kerrie@mayansfamily.com

  47. Brittany Rebello
    May 24, 2011 at 2:59 pm

    i like grilling for dummies

  48. Brittany Rebello
    May 24, 2011 at 3:00 pm

    fb fan of u brittany r

  49. Brittany Rebello
    May 24, 2011 at 3:00 pm

    followin u on twitter @deadmonkeys90

  50. Brittany Rebello
    May 24, 2011 at 3:01 pm

    email subscriber

  51. April Bever
    May 24, 2011 at 3:22 pm

    I like the Weight Watchers In 20 Minutes.

  52. Gianna
    May 24, 2011 at 7:26 pm

    Better Homes and Gardens Garden Fresh Meals.

  53. Gianna
    May 24, 2011 at 7:27 pm

    I’m an email subscriber.

  54. Veronica Garrett
    May 24, 2011 at 8:53 pm

    I think I would enjoy International Cuisine.

Comments are closed.